Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Hotel Hamburg St. Pauli Messe This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Simon-von-Utrecht-Str. 63, St. Pauli, 20359 Hamburg, Germany

#154 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1012 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

  • Paid WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 74

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom made of plastic (walls and even ceiling) is somehow interesting and I assume a standard ibis solution but it can be strange for the guest.

    Nice and clean, parking nearby for very good price (with huge discount provided during check in). Service at the reception is very helpful. Typical continental breakfast - no surprise here which is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty convenient location close by restaurants and bars!! Few feet away from the city center plus a helpful staff and amazing breakfast selection!! Definitely staying here on my next stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For EUR 200 per night it certainly is not value for money. Cold bacon and overcooked scrambled eggs and some undercooked bread as the mainstay for breakfast? Nothing shone out. Noisy rooms - from above and beside.

    Bed is comfortable - I have to say that!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double bed had only one mattress and one blanket and was therefore quite uncomfortable for two people.

    Perfect choice to stay at St. Pauli, but still rather quiet. Everything as expected from the chain. Good and generous breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I missed having a kettle in the room but apart from that I honestly have no complaints. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

    The room was nice and clean, comfy bed and pillows. Large bathroom with a good shower. The young man who worked in the bar both nights I was there, was absolutely lovely. He was polite, cheerful and helpful, nothing was too much bother and we were there until the small hours. He made great hot snacks, I just wish I could remember his name!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some complimentary water for the room would have been appreciated, however glasses were provided so this was not an issue.

    Rooms were clean and well presented. Breakfast was basic but sufficient. Staff were very friendly. Location for the Reeperbahn was perfect. We were exceptionally happy with our stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was disappointed that there were no tea / coffee making facilities in my room.

    My room was clean, warm, comfortable, quiet. The hotel was in an excellent location for restaurants etc., and to explore Hamburg, whether on foot or by the public transport services.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were too small. No cots available. Bathroom was almost a separate structure that was very odd.

    Central location to the Reeperbahn and the Stadium

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is quite close to the Reeperbahn so the area is a bit "dodgy" in the evenings especially to the other end of the S-v-U street ... but it didn't bother us; I would maybe just not necessarily recommend it to travellers with kids.

    The bed was very comfortable. We had our room on the 6th floor and it was very calm. Great location, city centre is all in walking distance. Everything was clean; the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 1 night

    windows had to be kept shut, otherwise it would have been too loud due to traffic outside.

    directly in the centre of St. Pauli, next to subway station, one minute from Reeperbahn, 5 minute walk from music venue. very nice and clean room with wooden floor, WiFi working flawlessly and simple, breakfast very varied, adequate price, also open until 12 am.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom made of plastics. No power outlets close to bed.

    Comfortable bed, okayish breakfast including waffles (self service maker, though dough was bit too sweet for my taste - still cool and uncommon).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got a handicap room even if we didnt order it. Extra spaicious i think. Superb breakfast and the location is great just behind Reperbahn and close to the U-Bahn station.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi is a bit slow, the public computers in the lobby even slower

    Location is great, it's only a 10-15min walk to the center. Bathroom is a bit small but has a great shower. Breakfast was really nice, a lot of choice, loved the waffle bar!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little expensive for what is quite a basic room without breakfast (also 9 euro charge for parking). The member of staff who checked us in didn't give us any helpful information about the location and didn't explain the parking ticket process to us - a very helpful member of staff helped us the next morning.

    Clean room, fairly central location - easy walk to restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lady at check in charged me not according to my reservation but according my ROOM NUMBER. I was surprised and asked her, of course it was a mistake, she corrected it and charged me again by 30 eur too much, she corrected it again. this is embarrassing. outside the hotel unbelievable loud, drunken people, homeless people and a lot of traffic, but inside it is quiet.

    Location was great, rooms clean, total hotel quite new

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is quite expensive. There is no restaurant in the hotel. And no kettle or tea- coffee arrangements in the room. This could be of really value point for me.

    It was clean and basic room comfort was there.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cleaners coming in quite early

    great location, good value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s close to the main night life, but still very quite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee facilities in the room. No safe in room either.

    Very clean room, shower was excellent and loacation for a friends holiday was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bit too expensive

    Location Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I was booking out I had to pay for a breakfast that I never had

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The town rather then the hotel

    Hotel that did what it said on the tin... pity about the area of the town

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It absolutely unacceptable to find towels in my rook with dust.

    Location is great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge or kettle in room.

    Comfortable bed, friendly staff, excellent location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasnt the strongest but it was free so im not complaining

    The beds were very comfy and the staff friendly, everything i expected and a bit more

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldn’t have minded at least 1 English speaking television channel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed mattress comfort was moderate.

    Very good location near Reeperbahn, near center and near Elbe harbour. Also excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everthing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom and behind the Reeperbahn. Probably wouldn't stay there again because of this.

    Clean and tidy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The furniture sims cheap, bed is only ok. No kettle in the room, nor teas.

    I liked breakfast a lot.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The room was clean - The persons of the reception and the bar are extremly kind - I enjoyed my stay so much

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels would be soft.

    Wheelchair room and nearest to be ubahn.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Perfect location. spotlessly clean and friendly hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom too small

    Hotel location Comfortable bed Wifi access Local attractions and places to visit

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eggs were damp

    Bacon

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good shower and good breakfast on until 12pm. Very helpful and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was kind of small

    The location was great, and the breakfast was fantastic

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine

    We've stayed here many times and the standard is always very good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosy room🦁

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to public transport. Clean, standard Ibis hotel room. OK breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    waffle bar in the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very quiet, clean and comfortable with excellent constant hot water in the shower.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room and tiny shower

    Great location Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free wifi signal was poor and the "shampoo-hand cream-soap" all in one product.

    Location is convenient, rooms are clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Very good location in the center of the city, you can walk to any of the most popular attractions, but you don't hear all that noice from Reeperbahn. Clean compact rooms. Good value for this price.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing! Its a truly perfect hotel in every respect!

    Everything!...From location to cleanliness...from value for money to staff friendliness/ Helpfulness...The Ibis Hamburg Messe has it all! Thanks to all the staff for making me feel so welcome! See you all again in August! :)

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I d introduce a possibility to buy some bottled drinks after bar closing hours ( e.g.out of the automat)

    Very helpful hotel staff - reception above all :)

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast could have been better given it was EUR 11

    Great location given we were there for the purpose of a stag party. 30 seconds walk from Reeperbahn and 5-10min walk from station connecting the area with the airport.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The warm water did not have a consistent temperature and you could hear the cleaning of adjacent rooms. But these issues were only minimal.

    Very friendly staff and absolutely clean rooms. Street noise was unexpectedly almost non-existent and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location is outside of central Hamburg but that is where I was visiting. It is very near the U-bahn so if you did want to visit central Hamburg then it is easy to get to

    Standard Ibis fayre but very good all the same. Very convenient for the U-bahn system.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms Bathroom was rather small

    Location was near Reeperbahn but really quiet Rooms are a good size (we were on floor 4) and very clean Really comfy beds Good shower

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Stayed for 2 nights. Cleaning personnel took as their business to remove wines and candy I had bought as business gifts , while I was out for meetings after the first night. They were never to be found again and me and my associate were offered "a free beer at the hotel bar" as compensation for over 30€ of goods.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is perfect, right next to the Reeperbahn area and bear to st Pauli district. The room was clean and had everything we needed for a few nights stay

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    room rate for those 2 days was too high, for a 2 stars hotel. But, Hamburg hotel's rate are more than higher, everywhere...

    Standard Ibis hotel, but is a new one. So, everything looks well done, as Ibis rule. Big parking underground, right price. Good breakfast, for a 2* accomodation.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location was excellent - near the Reperbahn without being in the middle of it. Very close to an underground stop. Individually controllable air conditioning too.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The "do not disturb" signs is only in German and it was not so clear if it was indicating "please make the room" on its second side. In the end my room didn't get cleaned.

    Location Rooms Staff

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not given twin beds, although these are available in some rooms.

    Central location, easy check in and check out. Secure entry to hotel. If going for a stag weekend then why pay for an expensive hotel? Let's be honest, how much time are you actually going to spend in the hotel with the Reeperbahn right on the doorstep!

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing to dislike

    the location was excellent 2 min walk from u-station and 25 min from airport on public transport. staff very helpfull and professional. hotel clean and modern with nice bar and very good wi-fi.hotel close to reeperbahn area of city but not close enough to be noisey.the rest of the city is easy to reach on the u-train

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    3pm check in is a bit late. They did take our bags though.

    Near the party zone reepherbahn but in a quiet backstreet. Near St pauli stadium.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi connection is slow en breakfast rather expensive (EUR 11)

    Good hotel at good location. Friendly staff and comfortable rooms

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location and a reasonable price.

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Fantastic location for where I needed to be. Excellent staff, could not possibly be more helpful.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing really

    Wifi, position, breakfast, very quite room

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast is little expensive

    Very friendly staffs and good location

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No tea/coffee making facilities in the room

    The beds were very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bathroom was much smaller compare to pictures in website Parking price was bigger than written in website

    Location Stuff

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I have to be honest no faults

    Nice hotel everything we needed was avalible

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No safe or tea or coffee facilities. Found it too basic. I have spent the same amount on more equipped hotels before

    the location was fine

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Can't think of anything

    Good location, at the end of the strip but bars on the way. Clean hotel for 2 star and comfy. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    none

    Peaceful and convenience

There are also 53 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 74

Guests also reviewed these properties: