Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Hotel Kassel 2 stars

Heinrich-Hertz-Str. 3, Waldau, 34123 Kassel, Germany

#36 of 54 hotels in Kassel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 932 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite far from Kassel Town Centre. Foreign visitors like me could have difficulty commuting around Kassel. However the Kassel efficient transport service was a consolation.

    I really liked the receptionists especially Ms. Olga at Ibis Kassel. They were so sincere and caring. With them around I felt no fear or strange staying and dining in the hotel although we were the only foreigners at the time. They kept us feeling at home. Also I admire their pleasant nature. I hope they would keep up with the good job.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the air conditioner did not work very at all. I set it at 19 and went to get something to drink from the bar and came back about 20 minutes later and the room had not cooled down as I expected it to have..

    The bed was very comfy and the shower cubical was very clean. room nice and clean. The breakfast bar was laid out well with a wide selection of choice. The staff were very helpful and approachable. Very good English and fast service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at reception desk was not cooperative and was very slow (for check-in), however I used this hotel couple of times and it is usually OK.

    Excellent breakfast for 2** hotel, close proximity to highway, but still very quiet place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We used the hotel for a night stay while on the road to Poland. The hotel is very conveniently located to the main road network. Parking just outside, hotel lobby spacious and welcoming. We were greeted by very friendly, English speaking receptionist. The room with the shover en suit was very clean and comfortable. As is normal on the continent, there was no hospitality tray in the room. The evening meal and the breakfast were very tasty and satisfying. Menu well marked for allergens. Gluten Free bread was available at breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located in business district on outskirts of Kassel. Inexpensive night for typical Ibis room. Adjacent city (5 minute drive) used for dinner and then breakfast at 24-hour McDonald's.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist was very kind and helpful. The hotel is small but that means everything you need is right there. The room was nice and adequate. Parking was free of charge and in front of premises. It is pretty close to the highway so that is very convenient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Full parking, high price, they didnt write corect invoice for my company, no free wi-fi

    Very good breakfast, kindly staff, 24h reception, we book in at 2h in the morning, clean room, good location, open bar all night

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing I can remember that bothered me.

    The bed was extra comfortable, the blanket very soft. I slept very well in the hotel. The rooms was large enough, big and long mirror in the room. Easy location, enough parking places, friendly staff, quiet location, no noise from the street. The hotel has a very large open space entrance with reception and restaurant area. You can also sit outside for a beer before going to bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - We were given a single hand towel for 2 persons, and a bath mat was missing. But for some reason they changed the towels every day, even though we left them hanging. - WIFI connection really bad, unusable. You have to ask for the new password (per device) every 24 hours. Every time you get a new piece of paper. - Located in an industry park, you are almost obliged to take a taxi every time you need to visit a city center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom smelled of a sewer and because it is in an industrial park, the wi-fi internet was basically so slow as to be useless. The only way into the city without a car is a taxi.

    Bed was very comfortable, shower was good, and breakfast was impressive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not like the location of the hotel that much, because it is in a quite industrial quarter of the city and we had to take the car to get to the citycentre fast. There was no opportunity to get a third bed, because they have no additional beds and the price at the hotel itself was pretty high.

    The staff was a bit stressed when we arrived, but stayed friendly. We liked the opportunity to decide at the morning wheter we would like to have breakfast or not. For the price we got on booking.com we loved the stay. It was easy to access the rooms from downstairs all through the night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms don't have air conditioning and do get warm in the summer.

    Good location, close to the Autobahn. The area felt safe, parking is in a private setting, the individual parking spaces are ok but not large. Rooms are fairly clean and the soundproofing is OK. The reception area/restaurant is nice and clean. There's an elevator. Good selection in the breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    THE internet was very slow and the booking was wrong: two rooms instead of one.the lady at the reception was not very interested,perhaps her firstt day?

    Normal

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A strong smell in the bathroom from the shower, but it was enough to fill the water into the dry drain and it was OK again

    Dinner at 8 pm in the hotel restaurant the same building

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is way out of the town and I had to call a cab every time just to get to the city. The staff was OK except one lady at the reception who was rude and very unwelcoming.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to get to from motorway. Family and dog friendly place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small tv

    O silencio e atmosfera onde esta implantado o hotel Silence and atmosphere were the hotel is located

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Perfectly adequate room and facilities. Staff polite and helpful and would recommend the hotel to others.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic breakfast, friendly staff, great little hotel with plenty of parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very poor internet connection

    Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel very clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is in the middle of nothing, poorly close to Public Transportation, Breakfast offers few options, Room is too small for the paid price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice clean hotel with 24 hour bar and great breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Nice staff Great breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air condition/heater was windy and very noisy all nigth.

    Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    food

    all ok

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very far from city.

    Free parking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have cat allergies and I think that the room was not so well cleaned..

    Quick checkin, good bed and shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No internet, no tissues , no bottle of water

    The room was good, but it was not clean. However the staff are very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some unfriendly staff, Bad Wifi, The manager didn't keep the promise.

    small but clean. We can use restaurant until 23:00

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was just for one night, and we just needed a bed and a place to rest. Cheap and comfort.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Typical Ibis hotel. Mediocre standard. Food and breakfast was also ok.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is far from the city center and there is a bus only every 30mins. Small room, bathroom with bad odor.

    Staff was willing to help

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly despite being understaffed. Rooms quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception was too bad, this people don't deserve to be at reception, parking too bad, wc was no fresh air,

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The draft beer was not good.

    Great for travellers to stay just overnight. Close to highway.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many parking spots

    Clean & confy

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    friendly staff, good breakfast, comfortable bed

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very convenient if you're visiting a factory on the estate it's on. It's quite a way out of Kassel town centre

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Industrial area, expensive breakfast, exceptionally mediocre room

    Location near the autobahn

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet was useless.

    Location, close to motorway.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very, very slow wifi.

    Overall OK.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location by motorway to make coming and going easy

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed comes as two connected ones.

    Very good Bittburger beer in the reception;)

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location of the hotel was main point for me. Staff was very friendly and helpful at the arrival. Very pleased with hotel and stay.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location out of town so dining options are limited but onsite food was great

    Very nice for an Ibis.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is located in an industrial area with limited Public transport. I cannot recommend the hotel for visiting Kassel. Very bad internet connection. Rooms are a bit old fashioned and carpet a little bit worn out.

    Parking free of charge

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioning only goes down to 19 which felt too warm on a very hot day!

    Excellent location - just off motorway. Ideal for a stop over - but also quiet. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experiences really, good value for the price.

    After a very long drive it was a pleasant experience to arrive to Ibis hotel. After a good night sleep we could continue our journey trough Europe.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Family with young children

    The lady from reception did not ask whether I wanted to pay in Euro or UK pounds while paying with my credit card. The receipt clearly states that I should have been given this option ( and get lower bill on credit card). Beware then if you paying by non Euro card. The hotel room was overheated and we were unable to reduce the temperature with air conditioning . Had to keep window open for the whole cold April night

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Heating was broken and that is bad in Kassel during winter. In-house dining option was really bad, reason being Christmas Hols according to staff but I find that excuse a tad lame

    You get what you pay for, almost

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Not far from the Messe. Clean and in a good industrial area. Many places to walk your dog.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Complicated approach.

    Comfortable bed, quiet at night.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioning did not work

    The food was good

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location but only for overnight stay so no problem

    Everything breakfasts

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: