Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Köln-Leverkusen This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Lichstrasse 72, 51373 Leverkusen, Germany

#11 of 20 hotels in Leverkusen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 662 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.5
    Not too bad, but not value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room equipment is poor, no glass, no kettle, no iron, no fridge. To iron the clothes you need to go to the laundry room in another building.

    Parking, friendly staff, cleanliness

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic facilities and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit out of the way in terms of location but wasn’t too bad just a 15 minute walk to the station. Not a nice street to walk down in the dark if you don’t know where you are.

    Nice lovely clean room which was comfortable and had no real issues with. Staff very friendly as spoke good English to us which was very nice of them to help isn’t out. Let us check in early too as we were in a rush.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.1
    My stay was okay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No refrigerator or drinking water in room. No food or snacks. No ATM onsite. I paid too much for what I received, I had to pay for early check-in.

    Wifi, cleanliness, and non-smoking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.1
    Good centralized location makes it easy to walk to local...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I enjoy sleeping with my window open, but it was quite noisy (all night!) so I ended up having to close the window - despite the use of earplugs.

    Good centralized location makes it easy to walk to local restaurants for dinner. Also, close to Rhein river, allowing for easy access to the adjacent walking/running/biking trail.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    6.7
    Overall good, but improvements required.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Three Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be nice to have at least a jug for coffee/Tea preparation and cups. A plate and spoon in case needed. 1 complementary water bottle every day.

    Bed was good, bathroom was good. overall very clean. Service was good and quick as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.9
    Great location to visit the Leverkusen Christmas Market!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small; alright for 1-2 people, but no more than that.

    Location! Several restaurants and a grocery store within a 7-min walk from the hotel. A bike path only 2-min away where I could walk my dog. And the Leverkusen Christmas Market less than a 10-minute walk down the street. Breakfast had a good variety!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    6.3
    Just normal hotel but staff is rude
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The person at the reception desk. He was really rude and his behavior was strange. He was like I do not like your country, I hate your people etc. Very suprising behaviour to me when I tried to check in.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    5.4
    Nice for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is poor and overpriced. Rooms are not very soundproofed and you can hear everything from the outside. Bathroom is average.

    Location was good. Hotel has a parking with CCTV, so it feels safe when you travel by car.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    7.5
    A good one nighter
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction works going on nearby. Breakfast a bit expensive

    Friendly and helpful staff. Room was basic but was adequate for a one night stay. Good location for shopping centre and near enough to the football stadium.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    7.0
    leverkusen 2 koln
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coming back at the evening and asking for room key the door bell started did not understand and he want to start check-in procedure (maybe because the customer before me had done check-in). He asked passport and when I said is in my room , please come with me he gave (finally) the room key.

    hotel located at walking distance from railways. good choice to avoid Koln Low Emission Zone access problems

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    9.2
    Nice place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    a bit far from the train station and the new building is without elevate when you travel with heavy luggage pls do ask to stay at the main house

    overall is good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    5.0
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff weren't the best. Woke up at 6am both mornings with the sound of drilling from the construction site right next to the hotel.

    Clean, comfy beds.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast, parking, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak water pressure

    Breakfast, parking, staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.6
    Very good fir what we required.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Three Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good fir what we required.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.3
    For a more expensive area this was good value but no air...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning

    For a more expensive area this was good value but no air conditioning on a day of 34 degrees led to a sticky night

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    The staff were really helpful despite the slight language...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really helpful despite the slight language barrier.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Was easy to go from hotel to summerjam and very close.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was good but I was missing katle

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit soulless more set up for business travellers than tourists.

    Good location for train station. Cologne is only 20 mins by train. Good parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    just stayed one night
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    hotel drinks were quite pricey

    room was visualy clean. Staff was friendly according to german standarts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    A friendly receptionist gave us free beers which was widely...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A friendly receptionist gave us free beers which was widely appreciated after 8hour drive. Also the breakfast was sehr gut.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Staff was welcoming and hotel super clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit too expensive

    Room was extra clean!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    I was passing through and was helped out a lot by the staff here. The stay was pleasant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't change anything.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location - good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast - significantly above normal IBIS standards

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    Staff, cleanses, near transportation and shopping area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I got a room like under 2 ladders (room 410) which was not comfortable at all for moving inside

    Staff, cleanses, near transportation and shopping area

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.9
    Very correct chain hotel,good for pro stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very correct chain hotel,good for pro stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.3
    Nice breakfast with Bretzels
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice breakfast with Bretzels Close to BayArena

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable stay with excellent access into the centre of Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spotlessly clean with a comfortable bed. Very good location to get into the centre of Cologne.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    6.7
    During my whole stay I could not use the WIFi in my room...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    During my whole stay I could not use the WIFi in my room (last floor).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Good room, everything working, fast check-in and check-out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking log was full, had to park around 300 meters from the hotel (in a snowy night...)

    Good room, everything working, fast check-in and check-out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.8
    Close to market place and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Close to market place and restaurants. Short walk to public transport bus stops. Clean and comfortable room, paid parking in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    neighborhood

    friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.5
    Was certainly good for short stay or pass by.
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast can be bit better for the the price.

    Great Location and availability. Close to CHEMPARK.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    ibis is wonderful hotel to stay
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    Staff was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    Very clean place with friendly stuff
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean place with friendly stuff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.9
    Easy to find comfortable hotel
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location excellent for us. Easy walk to centre and staff very helpful especially when my husband injured himself and need physical assistance.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    6.3
    The bed was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think you can find something better for this price.

    The bed was good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    7.5
    Clean and cozy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's construction site in front of the hotel blocking some nice view.

    Clean and cozy

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    2.5
    PARKING RIP OFF
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was not told of the car parking charges until I was checking out, there is a sign but it is not prominent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    9.6
    variety of display was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    variety of display was good. Tasty. friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    8.3
    Spurs away at the ibis ⚽️
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building site opposite 😬

    The cost great value £50 each on Champions League nights #Coys

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    6.7
    Ok. And that is it.
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. No refrigerator.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.6
    could not be better
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nice comfort clean and in good location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    8.8
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    My room was just above the smoking area at the entrance i was woken a couple of times during the night with people talking very loudly whilst smoking, it was well past 2am...

    The location was great. The staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms clean. The town is a bit sleepy at night but a fair bit going on during the day.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    6.3
    There is no lift.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    There is no lift. We stayed in a non-smoking room but the smell was everywhere (even in the bed). We asked for another room but they didn't move us.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    2.5
    Nothing!
    • Solo traveller

    The staff. A good hotel needs good staff and the staff were the rudest I've ever encountered. Especially Mr Vucinic, who will do nothing to help a female guest in distress except bully her... The manager Mrs Helm is the worst manager I've ever come across. If your a lone female traveller do not stay at this hotel, it's unsafe. On the first night I arrived I was put in an annex building which I had to find my own way to across two car parks, very lonely and isolated, and my room was hidden in a secluded corner of a breakfast room, very unsafe for a solo female ! I was moved the next day, after much persuasion. The only thing this hotel cares about is Bayer employees, because Bayer is what keeps this hotel going. If you don't work for Bayer do not consider this hotel. Especially if you are a female. Ibis quote a 15 minute rule to solve any problem... They should start with the staff...they are the problem, they are the rudest people I've ever met.

    Nothing! No customer service at all.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.2
    Close to the Köln Triathlon start area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing close by for eating (especially on Sunday) Need car to get to Cologne

    Close to the Köln Triathlon start area Friendly staff Parking Breakfast good Easy access to motorway

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    8.3
    Cleanness and staff friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There should be refrigerators or ac. Unfortunately the weather was extremely hot and so there was a lot of discomfort with no resolution. Ice was not readily available for use as and when required.

    Cleanness and staff friendly

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    10
    sadly we stayed here for a funeral.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    sadly we stayed here for a funeral. But the staff were friendly. Every need we had was accommodated. The hotel was clean, the beds comfortable, enough space in the room and a great breakfast. The breakfast buffet set us up for a long and tiring day. Would recommend the Ibis for a cheap local hotel.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2015

    7.9
    24h reception
    • Business trip
    • Group

    nothing to complain in general about the hotel itself, just the location next to Bayer has its own issues with regards the air population/smell

    24h reception

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    7.5
    internet doesn't work 100%
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    internet doesn't work 100%

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    7.5
    Location was good and area was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The wifi wasn't the greatest. Continental breakfast not worth the 11 euro

    Location was good and area was good

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    7.1
    friendly stuff and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the noise frm other guest which the whole night outside talking n laughing.

    friendly stuff and clean

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    9.2
    Great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great breakfast! Great staff! Great bed!

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    9.6
    It was very clean, smoke free and as advertised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was very clean, smoke free and as advertised.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    7.1
    The staff was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking is expensive.

    The staff was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    7.5
    Good budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It would be nice to have tea / coffee in the room

    Good budget hotel

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    6.7
    nearby Bayer factory
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    parking

    nearby Bayer factory

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    9.6
    A+++
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A+++ all perfect!

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    3.3
    Centrally located
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unfriendly staff. Room smelt of cigarrettes

    Centrally located

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    7.1
    Comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    10
    Comfortbale Beds, close to Bayer Leverkusen football ground
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing, everything was great

    Comfortbale Beds, close to Bayer Leverkusen football ground

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unfriendly reception at check in. Room smells badly if smoke.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    10
    24 hour bar
    • Group

    Nothing

    24 hour bar

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    6.7
    Good place for a short trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Personal was very serious. No smiles, just doing their job.

    Good place for a short trip.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly staff, good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Very friendly staff, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    7.5
    WI fi not working
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WI fi not working

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    8.3
    Helpful staff, all speaking perfect English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had to use (dirty) iron & ironing board, in a basement.

    Helpful staff, all speaking perfect English.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.9
    Some staff are friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms not cleaned, just change of towels

    Some staff are friendly

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    8.3
    Good value and near to the S Bahn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No tea or coffee making facilities in room.

    Good value and near to the S Bahn.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    8.8
    Would prefer.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Would prefer. Hot breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    7.5
    Nice staff
    • Family with older children

    The bed was not comfortable.

    Nice staff

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    9.6
    Friendly people good services very good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly people good services very good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    9.2
    Thestaff is so kind and they're a professional in thier...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The room a little small and don't have saving box

    Thestaff is so kind and they're a professional in thier work especially the reception people

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    8.3
    Late check in no problemen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Late check in no problemen. Comfy beds. Nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    6.3
    room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    wifi, stairs, location

    room

There are also 47 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse ibis Köln-Leverkusen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: