Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Köln Frechen This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Europaallee 3A, 50226 Cologne, Germany

#139 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 812 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 73

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too far from the center without many options of public transport. Probably it's only good for travelers with car.

    I loved the staff and the hotel itself. Very good facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Retail park location, only 24 hr food service close by is a McDonald's ( out the front of hotel and across car park of retail outlet opposite, 5-10 min walk)... that I found ...

    Convenient location on south western edge of Cologne, close to A4. 30 Euro taxi to centre of city. Relatively recent Ibis hotel build at a guess, friendly staff easy to communicate with and good services overall. Good parking facilitates for car and trailer, even the larger trailers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I dont know if the air con works or not but wgen set the temperature to 23 degrees it always go back to 20 degrees. So feel little bit cold inside.

    I like how simple and neat the room. So far we like to stay there. It’s near from center Köln, shopping and restaurant is in the near.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great.

    Excellent stay, after all this was the reason for choosing Ibis (we had another option which we have cancelled on the day). Clean, warm rooms, nice staff, close to motorway, close to some restaurants and to a shopping mall (which was closed due to being Sunday). Definitely recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We travel a lot. Usually Ibis hotel provide an extra bed for children. I was surprised to learn that they do not have extra beds in rooms. Our child (9 y.o.) slept in our bed. Hotel need to be renovated (shower).

    Very quiet room. Very easy to find. Very easy to take train to Koln. Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    tea/coffee facilities in room would have been nice, air conditioning was poor and not very effective

    Lovely friendly hotel, convinient for shopping and sightseeing, rooms adequate and clean, small restaurant with tasty fair priced food , bar always open, great staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dinner catering. We only sampled it once but that was enough. Subsequent evenings we ate in restaurants in Cologne.

    Reasonable comfort of the rooms. Friendliness of staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All food and drink a bit expensive, considering it is a budget hotel, eg 11 Euro for Continental breakfast.

    Very close to motorway, but you could not hear thetraffic. Aircon worked well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location: really far outside. Nothing around. Highway. Shower pressure was weak.

    The price is really ok. There is McDonald or Burger King in walking distance. Staff was really friendly Free apples

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location in relation to Koln was fine. Easy access to tram and the hotel staff were pleased to help you find it. But the hotel is on a trading estate and in the evening there is nothing, you can't get anywhere without your car. We came back to the hotel after a day in Koln and felt somewhat isolated and lost for something to do.

    It's an Ibis. You know what you are getting from a hotel group and it delivered.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything. Exactly what I needed. It is not a luxury hotel, but it has everything I required for an overnight stay on a long journey.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Decent restaurant with nice selection of meals. Comfortable bed. Great shower. It was exactly what I needed. Location near the main A4 motorway, good night sleep and decent food. This was a rescue after hotel Alexander was closed, despite my confirmed booking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While most of the staff was well behaved, courteous and helpful. There was this one person from their staff who behaved very badly, and at a point the person actually yelled, it was a very bad experience, something you don't expect in hospitality.

    The hotel had put details of Christmas markets and public transport on display.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not have breakfast, but the staff were helpfull and it is clean and comfortable. Good retaurant. Plenty of parking. 15mins on foot to trains to cologne.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi was a bit slow and did stop working one day, but was attended to and fixed by the same evening

    nice comfortable hotel, friendly staff rooms adequate size and clean, showers powerful and hot water always available good meal and drink selection at the bar plenty of car parking available

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No problems.

    Friendly staff even late at night. Good to have an open bar on arrival. Lots of parking places. Stayed for one night and didn't sample breakfast. Easy check out.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were advised at the point of booking that our daughter of 11 could stay in the room with us. Upon arriving we were told that there was no single bed that could be provided for our daughter in our room and that she had to share our bed, causing a lot of back pain for my wife. Only to be told when checking out and complaining about this, were we made aware that this was available but just not on our 1st night as it was already being used by another guest. Also unfriendly approach when checking in regarding breakfast and we were told that 'the hotel could not buy in advance for 300 guest everyday'and 'we would have to help in the kitchen if we were not booking in advance for breakfast if there were too many guests turning up booking breakfast on the morning itself'.

    The overall experience of the hotel and our stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing in particular.

    Ideal location,just off the main Autobahn,half hour journey by tram to centre of Cologne,helpful and friendly staff,comfortable room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good parking for large vehicle , comfy quiet room , lovely staff, food better than the ibis average

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The airco

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We picked the wrong locality As we had no car,had to taxi to trains & trams first,

    The staff very very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be better to improve the quality of cleaning-I had somebody's hair in the bathtub and dust under the bed

    Personnel was nice and very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved scrambled eggs! Not often enough is this on a breakfast buffet in Germany. And they let me have coffee in off times and take it to my room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Took a while to find it! Could not spot the Ibis sign in the dark and wet.

    Good location and restaurant was open till 10pm when we arrived late.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower cabine (Bath in bathroom). Everything inside is a little bit old.

    Good breakfast, nice view, helpful staff, clean room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Clean, quiet with good parking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from train station.

    Was close to amenities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and quiet room, good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell from shower drain

    Good breakfast, nice room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast, nice and comfortable room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wash rooms are too small

    Staff is v nice and helpful.location is good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location with ample parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing in the bathroom needs attention.

    Excellent stop over. Not far from koln city. Basic hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too small for two adult and a child,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Breakfast... Not there for that many hours...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect

    Easy to find big shopping mall right next to it and enough to eat even an american diner

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no comments

    Close location to the motorway and the friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good for one night stop, location is not ideal,but you get for what you pay and noting more. Overall fair.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was difficult

    Free parking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing is negative... Good staff

    Room was spacious. Excellent air conditionong All facilities are in walking distence.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - inside equipment remembers ETAP times - slow wifi - poor money value

    - friendly crew - reach breakfast - parking and access

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean and tidy rooms and a quiet stay

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is a bit more expensive that we would have liked.

    easy to find, very clean and staff friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charged a higher rate on arrival than what was actually booked in booking.com

    Very comfy bed

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great stay

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in an industrial area

    Very comfortable and close to the autobahn. Not too far from the city by tram

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower booth : drain too slow, door with gap

    Cleanliness, Nice bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not many things to see or visit in the nearby area.

    Friendly staff, breakfast ok, not far from Koln.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is not a very good.

    It is a very good location, close to Koln, especially when you come by car. Reliable hotel, I know what I can expect.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    none

    Convenient location, shopping and restaurants near by, polite staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing in particular

    Clean and comfortable hotel,friendly staff,room had all mod cons and bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing serious really.

    All good there, especially restaurant downstairs. Location convenient once travelling with car.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant on site and food was excellent. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location, behind the shopping center, was a bit difficult to locate, at first.

    This was an excellent hotel for the price. We arrived earlier than expected, but were still allowed to check in. The staff members were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi not too good , strange for an Ibis . If you were visiting Cologne for a tourist holiday - would not recommend due to location .

    Parking , proximity to motorway , nice beer in bar . Location on a shopping complex so not too much around at night - but great for a stop off .

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff were efficient rather than friendly and helpful

    Great price for a clean and comfortable room Excellent location if you have a car. Close to the Autobahn and football stadium

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing we did not like.

    The welcome we received from the male member of the reception staff was brilliant, he spoke good English and was very helpful. The location of the hotel was ideal with it being just off the motorway. We enjoyed the shopping at the locations nearby.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel staff were wonderfully welcoming. The room, while basic, was perfect for an overnight stop. Breakfast offered was an extensive continental buffet. We took our own food for the evening, but would happily have eaten in the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Obviously there was no kitchen/microwave/coffee maker, but there was really good food available around the clock just down the hall, you just had to pay for it. It was more expensive than I expected, but still reasonable. It would have been nice to just been able to get coffee in the morning for say, one euro and not 3, but all of Germany seems to have premium espresso machines. Their food options were a bit limited as we are vegetarian.

    Staff was extremely accommodating and concerned with the quality of our comfort. One of our luggage bags didn't make it to Frankfurt airport and so my sister had literally the clothes off her back for our 10 stay. The front desk helped us out and kept an eye on the arrival of the bag (although it never showed up.) They were also available 24/7 to help with issues like a clogged shower drain at 6am in the morning. While the technicians were fixing the faulty shower drain part, one of them discovered that our bathroom door didn't close properly and promptly came back to fix it without us having to ask. Room cleaning service came every day to change linens/towels; everything was always clean. and if we were still there in the morning when they arrived, they'd come back later. Free parking and free wi-fi was a godsend.We never had to ask for anything and although the accommodations were smaller than us Americans are used to, we were more than comfortable. Free parking and free wi-fi was a godsend. If we ever make it back to Cologne, we'll be booking Ibis.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Expensive breakfast; a car is a must -- not a "walkable" area; business/industrial area

    Comfortable beds, clean, friendly staff, large parking area, easy access off Autobahn; connecting rooms available (but request them early!)

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location !

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect!

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Nice hotel with small restaurant serving food food

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Tiny room ,super small bed

    Eazy to connect near everything

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Great location, close to main highway but quiet at night, so had a good sleep.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Relatively quiet (with room pointing away from motorway), good breakfast, parking lot, easy access to western area of Cologne.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Good budget hotel just off autobahn. A bit better than the average budget place.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect!

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was not that great. Weird skinny mattress? Maybe a European thing?

    Front desk spoke English well.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location

    The price

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great value also easy to locate

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    some areas were smokey

    Told yes where to find a great place to eat, which was very good

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    15 minutes walk to the train station, but P+R is available to the train station as well

    Friendly and efficient staff, cheap room price

There are also 38 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 73

Guests also reviewed these properties: