Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Ulm City This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Neutorstr. 12, 89073 Ulm, Germany

#30 of 42 hotels in Ulm

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 857 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    When you book with Ibis you know what you're going to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you book with Ibis you know what you're going to get. A modern, comfortable room with all the basics, but no luxuries. Totally adequate for the budget traveller. City Ulm is about a ten minute walk from the historic centre of Ulm where there plenty of eating options. It is also near to the main railway station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent! Welcoming, helpful staff, will come again!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very welcoming, breakfast is a great seection of lovely food. The room vas very nice at this price. Will stop on the way back on our trip to Ireland!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.1
    Parking was possible for a surcharge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At night there was noise in the hotel as well as outside. The room was very small, the bed uncomfortable and the sheets were not properly attached to the blanket.

    Parking was possible for a surcharge. Easy check-in and check-out. It is very close to the city center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.8
    A comfortable hotel near the train station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The "free" WiFi was artificially throttled to about 70 kbyte/s, which is way too slow for todays standards. Also, you can buy a "premium" service which is supposed to be faster, but it would still be an unencrypted connection. So I used my cellphone provider instead, which managed to deliver about 7 mbyte/s to my room. Apart from that it is still a good hotel, so I can still recommend it if you don't care much about the slow WiFi.

    The room was very quiet when the window was closed, and also well cleaned. The bed was also very comfortable, so no complaints here. :-)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not enough electric light in the room in the evening. Also would be nice to have kettle in the room for making tea.

    Friendly staff,good breakfast, location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.8
    Good quality, fair price, good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Bed was comfortable, the room was clean and a good size. For my purposes it was a perfect location near to the city centre and close to the main Train station. The breakfast was a continental breakfast with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.5
    Convenient stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities in room although bar open in reception area.

    Convenient stop off on way to skiing in Austria as near to motorway. Quiet location at weekend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    Perfect spot to stay at when visiting Ulm!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in a great spot! Close to public transport and the train station. The city centre is just a few mins of a walk from the hotel. There's also plenty of eating options in just a couple of mins walk. For the price you pay, it's definitely good value for money! We love staying here whenever we visit Ulm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    Good IBIS hotel, in line with most
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Private parking was full (Dec 22nd), and is not very easy to find (requires some driving around), we parked at a public underground parking nearby for an added fee

    - Very good value for money - Very good breakfast (both warm and cold, plus pancakes!) till 11AM - Clean room, nothing fancy but comfortable, and in line with most Ibis hotels

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    6.7
    Staff could focus more on facing guests in a welcoming and...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could focus more on facing guests in a welcoming and friendly manner. Indifference was apperent. Shower not fit for comfortable use. But generally ok for short stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    The ambience is good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ambience is good. Room is vide and suitable for single occupancy. Good breakfast. I like to ginger lemon tea and German breads. Being vegetarian, its suits my requirements.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    3.8
    I am a disabled person and the hotel only had one lift,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am a disabled person and the hotel only had one lift, which was fine BUT the MAJOR problem was that the lift had broken down. I was in a room on the 5th floor and it was extremely painful for me to have to use the stairs (10 flights). The so called priority lift repair took 2 days to perform. It was repaired 15 mins before I checked out on the second morning of my stay. I am extremely angry about my experience. I advise all potential bookers to bear this is mind and AVOID this hotel like the PLAGUE . I will never stay at an Ibis ever again. It ruined my stay in Ulm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    Good value stay in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Major roadworks outside hotel with no signposted diversion meant that we couldn't access the hotel and it took a few attempts of driving round the town before we found a way in from the back. Hotel reception, when asked, said they were going to mention this in their website but every guest should be getting an email about it before their stay. No family rooms in this hotel. We had to book 2 double rooms to accommodate 2 adults and a child.

    Great breakfast. Our son particularly enjoyed the waffle-making machine. Rooms are fairly spartan but comfortable. Good mattresses. Good value for money stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    6.7
    Nice, clean hotel with parking facilities under the building.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a smaller room because we stayed only one night. But compared to the price I payed for the room, it was really little. Difficult to reach the hotel due to the intensive road reconstruction on two sides of the hotel.

    Parking facilities under the building. Really friendly staff. Clean room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel in complicated location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Massive construction site around hotel made access a daily challenge.

    Very comfortable bed. Good shower. Friendly staff. Great variety on breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    9.6
    The ibis hotel ulm is very clean friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    that there was no kettle and cups in the room

    The ibis hotel ulm is very clean friendly. a excellent location for on words travel will stay there again 30/12 16 Sheila/ jim scotland

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    9.2
    Good to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't believe when my friend ordered Radler beer ( suppose to be beer with Lemon). The staff just mixed normal beer with Sprite !

    Very near the train station 24 hr staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    7.1
    Location is quite good: 5 minutes on foot from the central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was quite small. Shower was blocked when we arrived. But when we told that at the reception it was fixed on the same day and worked fine thereafter. It is ok, but just not greatest value for money.

    Location is quite good: 5 minutes on foot from the central station and 5 minutes walk to Ulmer Munster and old town.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    7.5
    Good location on edge of old town;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Currently major roadworks make access difficult. but that will only be temporary

    Good location on edge of old town; hotel parking (though for extra charge); helpful staff; was travelling alone, but would be excellent value for money for couple.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    6.5
    A nice budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lot of construcsion work in the street (October 2016).

    Feels like tidy hostel. The shower was nice and clean. 24 hours reception. *Don't get confused with the other hotel ''Ibis Budget'' which is located next door.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.8
    A goods stopever hotel in Ulm
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't think of anything negative to say about my time in the Ulm Ibis. Everything was as expected and in good condition. The hotel was even well placed for an evening wander about the city centre.

    I found the hotel very easily; it is visible from the raised road bridge over the railway tracks as you enter Ulm city centre from the motorway. It was a very short drive from the main road to the hotel, and exiting Ulm next morning was just as easy and quick. As in all Ibis hotels I've used, the staff were pleasant and efficient while the room and other facilities were as advertised and well maintained. The basement garage was spacious, well-lit and totally secure. I didn't eat at the hotel but staff pointed out several useful places mearby. As at all Ibis hotels in Germany, the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, around 500m walk into the city. Very convienient parking garage. Good breakfast buffet - we liked the waffle maker.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Very friendley and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendley and helpful staff. Very good location. walking distance to centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.7
    Near city
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less food

    Near city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Excellent value in a brilliant location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location near station and city centre. Very helpful staff. Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.1
    Location close to train station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff could be more attentive. No free parking for visitors who come to meet me in hotel.

    Location close to train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Excellent. Keep it up!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was of a high standard. No complaints at all

    Everything as expected from many visits to Ulm

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    6.3
    Good price/quality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean and can be quite noisy at night.

    Good price/quality!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location of Ulm railway station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    The location is fantastic.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Adequate for our purposes but not brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy - from AC and water in pipework. People movement noise in corridor also.

    Clean. tidy and well positioned in town

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dusty. Even the mirror. Mold in the shower

    Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    6.3
    near station,some guys are friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    near station,some guys are friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    quick accomodation
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast should be a bit more variated

    quick accomodation

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.8
    the breakfast was great .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    better lighting in the room

    the breakfast was great ..in fact I ate too much

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.9
    Good location, very close to the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, very close to the city center

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    We loved the staff''s attention, specially at Christmas Eve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.1
    Good for short term visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to city center

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    The attention
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attention

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.5
    Toll. Sehr gut
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road repair work was going on.so had difficulty in parking

    Reception was very freindly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    Good location,staff very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location,staff very nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    IBIS is always IBIS
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Famous IBIS price/quality ratio. All was great. Location, bed and breakfast. Will return again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    The breakfast is awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is malfunction. The breakfast costs a little bit higher

    The breakfast is awesome. Service is also wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    5.8
    Position
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can enter in the garage with car only after check in. Very uncomfortable.

    Position

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.3
    Located in the center of Ulm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All functions well, but the room is very basic.

    Located in the center of Ulm.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Nice stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above. all good ...

    Nothing to complain about. :-)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.3
    Easy walking distance to old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy walking distance to old town. Small room but fine for a short stay. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    8.8
    Used before code to station
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Used before code to station

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.2
    in Ulm and um Ulm herum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all good

    Friendly welcoming staff. Good location close to the town centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Prima Hotel in der City
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ---

    Alles gut.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have the most comfortable beds in th world I swear. And their breakfast is just a whole different story - it was very good and yammie.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    8.8
    Meet all our requirements
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room

    Comfortable beds, clean room. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    9.2
    THE STAFF WAS GREAT.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    NEEDED MORE RESTAURANTS AROUND HOTEL. NO FOOD ON A SNOWY NIGHT SO ATE OUR RAISONS AND NUTS FOR DINNER.

    THE STAFF WAS GREAT. COULDNT WORK TV . MAN UP IN THREE MINUTES. I MISSED CONNECTIONS AND THEY DID NOT CHARGED ME FOR EXTRA DAY. GOOD EXPERIENCE.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    7.9
    What can I say about a Ibis hotel? First it's a step up...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    What can I say about a Ibis hotel? First it's a step up from Ibis Budget, but that's all. The location in Ulm is very good, just a few minutes from the motorway and a 10/15 minutes walk from the city center. The hotel is quiet and the breakfast, if you pay extra, is good. I only wish the hotel would advise clients where the covered garage is located as it is a bit confusing(by the way it is in Bessererstrasse, at the back of the hotel and it is a oneway street). The staff at the reception is very good and all in all I may stay there again if I pass Ulm on my travels.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    7.5
    Very nice breakfast, good location (you can walk to the old...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lights in the room (quite dark), no restaurant. At this price (plus not so cheap breakfast and parking) one can expect more.

    Very nice breakfast, good location (you can walk to the old part of Ulm city), parkplace in the underground, fast WiFi and comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    7.5
    Location near amenities, restaurants, tourist and shopping...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location near amenities, restaurants, tourist and shopping area. The hotel is also clean and comfortable room. I really appreciate the friendly and attentive staffs. There is also good selection of breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    7.1
    Convenience, only a few minutes walk from the main train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our TV didn't work, thin walls, 12 euros for one nights parking.

    Convenience, only a few minutes walk from the main train station, and garage parking provided. Good value for money, comfortable nights sleep, with free WiFi included.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    7.9
    Location,staff friendly,room clean and fairly well appointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A kettle would have been good !! However beer made up for it !

    Location,staff friendly,room clean and fairly well appointed.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    7.5
    great breakfast buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Charge for parking

    great breakfast buffet

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    7.5
    It's a shame that there is no kettle in the room to make...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's a shame that there is no kettle in the room to make hot drinks.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    8.3
    We have used this hotel before as very close to railway...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We have used this hotel before as very close to railway station and to the town. It is easy to find and the staff were helpful

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    7.1
    Noisy and very very standard rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noisy and very very standard rooms

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    7.5
    confortable, clean and a few minutes from the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    confortable, clean and a few minutes from the city center.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    8.8
    Good position, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small size room

    Good position, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    10
    Fantastic location and a wonderful city to explore!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Fantastic location and a wonderful city to explore!

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    8.8
    Next to train station and old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very thin towels.

    Next to train station and old town. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room cramped.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    8.3
    Wifi password war problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi password war problem.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    8.3
    Few minutes walk from station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Few minutes walk from station. Quiet room (at back of hotel - front may be less quiet). Comfortable. Clean. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    8.3
    hard conection on wifi
    • Group

    hard conection on wifi

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    7.5
    I would have felt more good if all rooms equipped with a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I would have felt more good if all rooms equipped with a microwave oven. ;)

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Browse ibis Ulm City traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: