Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Wuppertal City This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Hofaue 4, 42103 Wuppertal, Germany

#15 of 37 hotels in Wuppertal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 736 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.0
    not satisfy at all
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed itself is not what i expect, bed for couple should double not two single bed, pillow and towel are to small,, no facillities or equipment to make hot drinks.

    the light fittings are good, nice clean walk in bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    -friendly people at the reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there is nothing I don't like :)

    -friendly people at the reception -superb breakfast for only 11 euro -central location; just opposite of schauspielhaus, 2-3 minutes to the centre, 5 minutes to hauptbahnhof -comfortable and large beds -bright and wide room -bright and clean bathroom -a very nice place for an absolutely wonderful weekend experience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.3
    Not a good experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was not connected and the hotel could not resolve the problem for the 2 days I stayed over inspire of their note in the room "we solve all your problems in 15 mins' as a business traveller you are handicapped if you are unable to connect to internet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent except for WiFi issue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mention of free WiFi by the hotel, only that I had to choose a price scale. Access from station difficult due to long term reconstruction works at station.

    Very quiet and clean hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    clean , its open since last august :D so mostly everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    paid 20 $ to have single large bed , my room was 2 single beds ,and its me and my wife , to fix this I had to pay extra ( kind of silly )

    clean , its open since last august :D so mostly everything is brand new , next to the flying tram station , walking distance from the train station as well , no sounds whats so ever , so good sleeping is guaranteed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    5.4
    It shows that the parking space is available on the page.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It shows that the parking space is available on the page. But actually it doesn't. The staff told me that the hotel's underground is not for guest but for the nearby residents. Whah???

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    Clean, modern and good bar area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking, got a parking ticket on the road as I don’t understand German parking signs (my fault). However they do offer parking in the cinema over the road, they don’t open the gates until 7.30am which is no good when you need to leave at 5am to drive home or catch a flight and return your higher car....

    Clean, modern and good bar area. Breakfast as good as I’ve had anywhere in Germany

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.8
    Would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were far too hot with no way to switch off heating other than open the window but then it was too noisy.

    Breakfast buffet was generous, coffee really good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    We had a lovely stay, But more information available about the city would have been nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 2 small bath towels in bathroom, needed hand towels, they seem to forget that ladies like to wash their hair and need a separate towel. Would have been nice to have a kettle and tea/coffee in room.

    Friendly staff, decent sized room, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was sufficient but not exceptional for the cost. Good secure parking. Within easy walking distance of everything you needed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.9
    Great waffle maker at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Insufficient towels. Very thin pillows. Lift took ages to come sometimes.

    Great waffle maker at breakfast. Staff were good at calling cabs/ giving directions. The beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.1
    Pretty satisfying
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    High prices due to exhibition period in Dusseldorf, breakfast could have been richer

    Silent place in general which is quite important, walking distance to the centre of town (15 min.),

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    8.8
    Close to Wuppertal's centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to Wuppertal's centre. Supermarket open to 22:00 a couple of streets away. Near to central station and public transport. Close to city centre pedestrian zone.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    7.5
    Pleasant hotel for a short stay in Wuppertal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would be nice to have extra pillows. There was some noise from the back of the restaurant next door - but that's outside the hotel's control.

    The hotel is located within easy reach of central Wuppertal and a stone's throw from a Shwebebahn station. The room was a good size and the staff were helpful with information.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    7.1
    Nice, clean room and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To get internet connection in the room you have to pay extra! No water or other refterments available in price.

    Nice, clean room and bathroom. TV in the room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    8.8
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was unusually hot during my stay and the air conditioning did not work sufficiently well to make the room temperature comfortable.

    As usual great Ibis facilities and very central location. Very friendly staff no problem refunding a prebooked night after my plans changed.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Location and easy to get to, plenty of parking.
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and easy to get to, plenty of parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Location is beyond awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some noise from neighboring rooms you can hear.May be the walls are not thick :P

    Location is beyond awesome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    All we needed and sought
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The duvets were too heavy in hot weather

    The excellent comprehensive breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    it was pleasant and clean and friendly stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    that there was no kettle to do coffee or tea

    flakey and fresh and good mattress

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Everything was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    I had to travel , therefore I had to stay in the hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is very little of interest nearby

    It was very close to Elberfelt , it was close to transport connections

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location near to the two stations made travel easy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    I would stay again, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would stay again. Near to Schwebebahn station. Very good location, central, clean hotel, helpful staff, everything was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    3.3
    Didn’t enjoy it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from other rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Best hotel so far.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    The beds are very comfortable, everything is really clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are very comfortable, everything is really clean and the bedroom is spacious enough. Great buffet breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    Made my stay an adventure
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful and friendly person at the reception desk

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    It's very cosy hotel for family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's very cosy hotel for family. Clean and Comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    4.6
    the coffee machine was out of work and there was no...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the coffee machine was out of work and there was no workaround or alternative for the breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice city hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not so comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    8.8
    A quick one night stop in Wuppertal, good location and nice hotel for the money!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very quiet room, comfortable beds and a nice breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.8
    Best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of tea coffee making facilities in the room

    Location, Design, Comfort rooms, Breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.2
    Rooms were very hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very hot

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    8.3
    good value hotel in the centre of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was good. The rooms were a little clinical in appearance but the beds were very comfy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.9
    Nice rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a smell when i arrived. I guess it was a cleaningagent.

    Nice rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    we enjoyed it.
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had a family do and would have liked a corner in the breakfast room for our own

    The friendliness of the staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast was terrible
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was terrible

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    More car park
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room

    More car park

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Excellent staff, clean rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent staff, clean rooms. Good location. I will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    everything
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.9
    Location,breakfast abd comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location,breakfast abd comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.3
    It is a very efficient room with a good bed and shower.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was across the street in a parking garage.

    It is a very efficient room with a good bed and shower. Breakfast is also well taken care of.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.2
    clean and efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There could have been more plug sockets and tea making facilities would have been nice

    The room was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.9
    Good value of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful staff Location Suberb breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.9
    Lack of parking place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of parking place

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    10
    First time in Wuppertal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn t like the fact we could stay at the hotel three days only.

    What I liked mosy was the breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    9.2
    Staff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed more variety of food for breakfast

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.2
    Happy to have booked a room there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Central situation, with covered parking, confortable and quiet room, next to a station, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    9.6
    Cheap luxury
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pay at arrival

    Great location and great room for what I wanted. Good value for money

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    7.1
    Helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.5
    Convenient and good value for money!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much to do in the surroundings.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    2.5
    Rude and unhelpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really rude staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    7.1
    Quilts aren't healthy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quilts aren't healthy. I am all sweat out!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    6.7
    Tolerable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    underground car park difficult with small van, heaby doors on stairs and a very slow or unreliable lift

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    7.1
    Keys not working several times went to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Keys not working several times went to

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    9.6
    Cleanliness
    • Couple

    The room was a good temperature but the air may have been rather dry (with the air con?) and I think this affected an existing tear duct problem in my eyes. Asked for advice on English speaking channels on TV and two staff had no idea which surprised us! The remote control on the TV may have needed a new battery- it seemed poor at communicating with the TV We borrowed a kettle and cups in order to have a hot drink a.m. and late p.m. This was something we missed in the bedrooms but maybe this has also been a result of offering the room at a low cost? The WiFi and printer- very good.

    Cleanliness Good insulation - very little outside noise reached us

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    7.5
    The price and location was good.
    • Couple

    There is zero parking, even though on the website and in my reservation, I specifically asked for parking. Internet is tricky. The Breakfast is pretty pricey for what is offered

    The price and location was good. The staff is friendly and helpful. The room was clean.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    7.1
    breakfast was good and more complete that i ate in ibis...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the bathroom and toilet are very small. moreover the whole hotel is not so clean. you can find cleaner hotel with this price.

    breakfast was good and more complete that i ate in ibis style.

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2015

    8.3
    I was accommodated very well.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Slow breakfast. I was under pressure for time and the breakfast took a while to prepare. (Spätaufsteherfrühstück)

    I was accommodated very well. I needed to borrow a hole puncher and print a few documents and it was easy and simple to do. Friendly staff and very comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    9.2
    Very good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the sound isolation is not perfect so a lot of noise from the corridor might come in if the hotel has many guests (or you try to sleep until late)

    Very good value for money. Comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    3.3
    nothing
    • Business trip
    • Group

    unfriendly staff, you need to pay everything seperately and in advance, we needed to rebook our room because of extremist démonstrations in Wuppertal, last time, we will never come back, breakfast room to small,

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    4.6
    the bed, i needed it!
    • Business trip
    • Group

    the very unfriendly staff, unable to add rooms, breakfast and drinks on one company, you have to pay for everything seperatly, and Wuppertal is a mess with roadworks and extremist demonstrations

    the bed, i needed it!

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    7.5
    When choosing a chain hotel, you know the quality, and this...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast cost 10 EUR and for me it was too much for what was served.

    When choosing a chain hotel, you know the quality, and this one is in the line of any other IBIS family hotels, so you get what you expected to get in an IBIS hotel.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    9.2
    No fridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No fridge

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    7.9
    Breakfast was not included in the room price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking in the hotel hasn´t sufficient capacity.

    Breakfast was not included in the room price.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    8.8
    clean hotel, close to centrum, staff ok, breakfast ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    clean hotel, close to centrum, staff ok, breakfast ok. There is a Schwebebahn station, close to Dusseldorf airport.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    9.2
    The bathroom was amasing!
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The room temperature was too hot for me and I missed the fridge.

    The bathroom was amasing!

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    7.9
    It was a typical ibis, so comfortable with no surprises.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was a bit further from the city centre than I expected, down a not too salubrious road.

    It was a typical ibis, so comfortable with no surprises.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    8.8
    value for money, close to city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    value for money, close to city centre

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    7.5
    Everything apart from the rain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything apart from the rain

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    7.5
    The location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is great! There is a Schwebebahn station nearby. And as well as the cinemaxx and the city shopping center.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    8.3
    The staff were excellent and the room was comfortable .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Traffic noise.

    The staff were excellent and the room was comfortable . Well worth what we paid.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    5.4
    Close to overhead railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All a bit ho hum

    Close to overhead railway station

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.1
    Very difficult to find due to road closures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very difficult to find due to road closures.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    8.8
    Location, Facilities, Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location, Facilities, Staff.

There are also 37 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: