Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Köln Centrum This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Neue Weyerstr. 4, Altstadt-Sued, 50676 Cologne, Germany

#164 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2021 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    What you need for a short-term stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the rooms. Bathroom is quite tiny.

    Rich and large breakfast, with tasty self-made waffles! Reliable wi-fi. Staff were friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location, everything you'd expect from Ibis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water temperature was inconsistent and would go from extremely hot to cold at times. The gaps in the shower doors are quite large and so you have to be mindful of the water stream to avoid soaking the floor. The towels are really small and only one for each guest is provided. You have to go down to reception each time you want extra towels.

    The room and bathroom were kept very clean and was done in the late morning/afternoon while we were out. The location is great, it's only a 2 minute walk across the road to Barbarossaplatz and a Kurzstrecke will take you to Neumarkt or the Central Station every few minutes. It is also close to a kiosk, bakeries, fast food restaurants, an Apotheke and a Rewe where you can cash in your Pfand for your bottles. Staff were friendly and easy-going. Were very tolerant and clearly spoken to allow me to try check in and out using my limited German. They also speak English well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    Short Break in Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could of had the basics in the room such as a kettle with tea and coffee, extra pillows and a wardrobe.

    Fantastic staff and very clean hotel. Perfect for just a few nights break and really quiet even though on a dual carriageway. The power shower was incredible, nobody likes a weak hotel shower but these are amazing!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.3
    Cologne stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning was poor. 30 degrees outside and not much different in the room,...even with the window open,

    Ideal location in the city, although signs and directions to the car park could be better and more clearer. You could drive around all day looking for the entrance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent city hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only drawback was the twenty minute walk to the centre in the oppressive heat but that wouldn’t normally be a problem!

    This hotel ticked all the boxes for a city break. The staff were all welcoming and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and with the heatwave the air conditioning was a pleasure! A great variety for breakfast made a good start to the day. I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Good. I recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    My only restriction is with the internet connection. The first night it was impossible to connect it. The door woman had told me that it was only necessary to click "Ibis wi fi" and accept the normal requirements. However, I did this several times and the internet was not accessible. In the day after, I complained about with another door man and order him to locate me in a room close to the router. However, he suggested me using another login e gave several passwords (all of theme freely), one for each day. From this moment on, the internet has worked very well. So, my recommendation to guests is to ask for this kind of connection.

    The hotel is good, at least if we consider the relation between benefit-cost. It is a good hotel for the price we are charged.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    Well located for the tram into the City Centre, or you can...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon in the rooms isn't the best, there are some renovations ongoing however.

    Well located for the tram into the City Centre, or you can walk in around 30 minutes. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice and neat, a misser on informing about renovations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact that we were not informed upfront about renovations. This resulted in early wakeup on Monday though we had late checkout for a reason.

    The location and the help from the staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to pay for parking and the car park is very small if you have a big car. The rooms and bathroom was quite small.

    They have a good breakfast on offer

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    3.8
    Never staying there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water in the shower changed from ice cold to boiling hot a number of times, this burned me in a serious way. Also I had requested a late checkout at booking, we were not contacted by the hotel but were told we could have a late checkout, at 17.00 hrs. I specifically asked, you mean 5 oclock in the afternoon?, the desk clerk said yes. Following morning we were called at 14.00 why we hadn't checked out. The woman clerk basically called me a liar and that we had not booked a late check out. She further told us that late check out was at three. After a whole discussion we just left in which we were felt like the clerk accused us of lying. Not a good feeling to leave with. The hotel was also renovating and they started drilling into the walls at 11.00, ridiculous time especially that they finished at 12.00. Should have been planned later in the day.

    the cleanliness of the room was perfect, very clean and fresh.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Ibis was having renovations during our stay on the same floor as our room (5th). It was very loud and went from early to late. It would have been great if the floor was sold at a discounted rate or left empty during the period of disruption due to the renovations.

    Breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location for exploring Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing and highly recommend. While it is described as central it is a 25 minutes walk to the train station and cathedral. While it is both a pleasant and direct walk it may not suit everyone if you believe it to be in the centre.

    This is a very clean and well presented hotel. It is about 1km out of the Centre but close to the major shopping streets. The direct tram to the central train station is only a few seconds walk away. The hotel is quiet and has comfortable rooms. Excellent WiFi throughout the building. I don’t normally pay for hotel breakfasts but was really please I made the decision to try on this occasion as it was great value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    The reception staff were extremely helpful and efficient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise outside the rooms on Saturday night of our stay,at 4-5 am young people shouting,arguing,banging doors etc. Curtains let in light early in the morning,blackout curtains/blinds etc would be far better .

    The reception staff were extremely helpful and efficient,particularly the tall,young man with glasses. The breakfast was very good with a wide choice available and no rush to move people out. The kitchen staff worked very hard,and were friendly whilst providing food and clearing away used plates,cutlery etc. Good transport system into Cologne centre,only a 2 minute walk to nearest tram station and 4 stops into the centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    I highly recommend the place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not very close to the city center but is easy to rich by tram or by foot 35 minutes

    Confortable and clean hotel. It is amazing the attention of the staff. They are very helpful. The breakfast is tasty and ample.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    The friendliness of the staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately there was a continuous humming noise from something like a ventilation fan all night; what appeared to be a ventilation shaft is present across the corner of the room. I have to say that this hotel does not quite match the quality or the location of the Ibis Hotel am Dom, where I stayed last year (booked by Booking.com)

    The friendliness of the staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.7
    Good location, not that good inside
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are super tiny, low celling, too little space for two people, outlet only at one side of bed, leaking shower, no sound isolation, instant draught in bathroom

    Not so far from city center, nice served breakfast, friendy reception guys

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel with disappointing wifi policy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi. There are 2 options, free and slow or pay for fast. I think having to pay for fast internet in a country like Germany is crazy. It is a good hotel but I would not go back here purely because of the wifi policy.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. Easy access to public transport and many eating places within a 5 minute walk. Good breakfast with a waffle maker.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Simple, easy, relaxed ))
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside there was no fridge in the room.

    In overall good experience, I'm happy that we stayed in here. Young man at the reception was really friendly and relaxed in a good way )) really good atmosphere. The room we had wan't something extra ordinary but seemed clean and fresh but for this price I think is fair. Location is also fine, plenty of places to go around. Thanks to the hotel and the team we had a sweet stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Basic, clean room with excellent location in the city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was a little too soft and the room was a bit noisy with the comings and goings of immediate neighbours. No tea/coffee-making facilities in the room.

    Very convenient location to get to from Cologne's central station with a tram stop just outside. Good accessibility to restaurants and a buzzing, lively neighbourhood. The room was very basic but the shower was excellent and hot and a hair-dryer was provided.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were very poor. They were tiny and lumpy and only one per person.

    I was impressed with the lighting - usually it can be a bit dark but there were multiple options.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    Because of the price and location, it's a very good hotel to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small. Especially the toilet. It's the smallest toilet I have ever seen. In addition, there were two lights in my room that are not working. The room was a little bit cold.

    The location is great. If you are looking for a place to stay with easy connection to the city center and the Messe, here is the right place. You can find several restaurants and supermarkets nearby. It's very convenient. The staffs are very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    5.4
    Very poor guest experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception stuff was not nice. We got there 50min before check-in time, so the reception informed us that our room is not ready yet and we have to wait for 50 min till 3pm, which is fine of course. But in the meantime two German guests showed up and they got their keys right away. When receptionist saw my confused and angry face, decided to give us a key. All of a sudden magic happend and our room was ready 30min before real check-in time. To sum up i really think that they should give reception lessons to improve service, and all guest should be treated equal, aren`t they? And of course the internet - what internet i would say actually? It was sooo poor, that it was impossible to use.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.3
    Absolutely fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When checking in the receptionists ignored us and then made us wait whilst they sorted paperclips!

    Exactly what it said on the tin. Very suitable, very functional. Really well connected for transport links into town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    Fine
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No kettle or other facilities for making drinks (a significant failure in my world). The area is full of junctions and pedestrian crossings, which means getting anywhere on foot can be frustratingly slow - the launderette is about twenty yards away as the crow flies, but typically takes a good five minutes to reach.

    Location was convenient for Koeln Sud and the university area. Various reasonably-priced restaurants nearby as well as plenty of useful shops. Reasonable access to Dusseldorf airport via Koeln Sud and changing at Koeln Hauptbahnhof. Launderette across the road.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.3
    Its a good hotel, clean, good and helpful staff, good...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Clean, staff, breakfast

    Its a good hotel, clean, good and helpful staff, good breakfast thought it should have been included in the price. Small rooms and the shower temperature was not steady.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    Room was ok, just very noisey
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy, can hear every door on my floor and one above open and close with a loud thump. People in room above played music until around 4.30am. Also, the phone wasn't plugged in, just sitting on the table.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.1
    立地が良く静かなホテル
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    * Hand soap and body wash/shampoo was not checked daily to ensure there is enough for the next day * Nothing else springs to mind

    * Friendly staff * Check out at 12 noon * Close to Barbarossaplatz Ubahn station, so easy access from Koeln Hauptbahnhof, and close to other Ubahn stations * Close to local bakeries, restaurants and supermarket

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.5
    the over all experience was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the over all experience was great. with the transport system travel to amsterdam was a breeze which made the hotel a great bargin. would gladly book again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My expectation was that the place would be modern and new. We stayed there twice. The first time we got a very nice room, but too little. When we asked for an upgrade for the second stay, we got it. But the room was minimalistic and it seemed like an old place with old and a bit daged furniture. Its not a problem if you go to sleep wake up and get out. But after a long day, i wanted to relax and i feel better in a nice place.

    The location was awesome and close to everything we wanted to do and visit. Plus we've been told that the new town center is there and it was. Full of places to go out and enjoy ourselves. The design in the lobby is cute and makes us feel welcomed and in a warm place. the staff was really professional and helpful, and gave us an upgrade although we didnt pay for it. I would definitely go back

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My expectation was that the place would be modern and new. We stayed there twice. The first time we got a very nice room, but too little. When we asked for an upgrade for the second stay, we got it. But the room was minimalistic and it seemed like an old place with old and a bit daged furniture. Its not a problem if you go to sleep wake up and get out. But after a long day, i wanted to relax and i feel better in a nice place.

    The location was awesome and close to everything we wanted to do and visit. Plus we've been told that the new town center is there and it was. Full of places to go out and enjoy ourselves. The design in the lobby is cute and makes us feel welcomed and in a warm place. the staff was really professional and helpful, and gave us an upgrade although we didnt pay for it. I would definitely go back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.1
    Thorougly average hotel, small rooms close to public transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower temperature varied. Ventilation outside the room was noisy. The room smelled a bit stuffy.

    Curtains were good. Layout of the building is intuitive. Cleaning service is impeccable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.7
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were rude and the room was small.

    Good location - very close to a metro stop and walking distance (20mins) to main attractions. It was good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.4
    Very disappointed, probably won't be using Ibis again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I decided not to book the Ibis budget because I was there for more than 1 night and I thought I'd pay the extra ... Absolutely no point it was worse than any Ibis budget i've ever stayed in, the room was tiny and the bathroom even smaller, half the lights didn't work and the bathroom window wouldn't close properly. I was so disappointed as Ibis has always been a go-to hotel for me as they are an excellent standard for the price you pay... Well not this one unfortunately.

    Very good shower (very powerful) Only a 3 min walk to the tram station to get to the centre of Cologne Staff were the saving grace of the stay as they were helpful, polite and very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.4
    Have to find another hotel while staying in Cologne.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Peeling paint on the bathroom's ceiling, shower was broken so the water was all over the place but not on m breakfast was tasty but it was the same every day, beds are terrible, the room is extremely small, wifi is poor.

    The location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.0
    Hotel was fine overall but not amazing. But it was definitely sufficient for a 2 day stay in Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom is extremely small. I couldn't connect to the wifi with my laptop. Room not very noise proof

    Staff was very friendly, overall I liked the room and the location of the hotel is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.5
    The website says that the rooms are soundproof but on both...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The website says that the rooms are soundproof but on both nights I was there I could clearly hear people's conversations in the corridor. I was woken up by the noise on both nights. Breakfast, which I chose to avoid, is overpriced. The twin room was very small but OK for a short stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Location was perfect for getting anywhere in the city, price...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing of note

    Location was perfect for getting anywhere in the city, price was very good and the facilities were perfect for someone who only really needs a hotel for a bed at night

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Clean and modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kid bed in the family room was a rather uncomfortable fold away thing

    Great breakfast and the hotel is clean, modern with onsite parking and easy access to the teams into town

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior of the room was broken. One of the lamps didn’t work, the furniture seemed broken at points. The heating wasn’t properly working either. Only worked in the bathroom for the first minute and then stopped fully. The bedsheets felt like paper.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    A great base to explore the city of Cologne and surrounding areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was clean, tidy and looked new and fresh. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bed was very comfortable and made for a good nights sleep. The hotel is a minutes walk from public transport or about a 10-15 minute walk to the city centre, old town and River Rhine. A great base to explore the city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No decent restaurants nearby No drink making facilities in room. One rude female member of staff on reception/bar on at weekend nights

    Modern clean hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Great hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the pillows, but I asked for more and they gave me more without any problem!

    The hotel was perfect, clean and location great! I didn’t take more photos of the room because I forgot. The location is perfect for night drink and non tourist area. Cologne is not a big city, so being in this hotel you can walk at night for a drink and during the day move to more touristic areas.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    Overall it was a good experience, and super good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minor thing, but the upper halls had a weird scent.

    The location is quite good, you can even reach main locations (city center) by foot (15-20 min walk). On the other hand, if you're not up for a walk, public transport is very accessible as well, just across the street. The room was super cozy and well furnished. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom had a good flow of hot water (super important during winter!). The hotel also has a private parking lot, which is super handy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower is not very nice because doors can't stop water to wet the floor. The size of the room is very small. They didn't change our shower towels everyday.

    Comfortable bed. Nice wi fi connection. Nice air conditioning system.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Helpful friendly staff, room was clean and comfortable. The shower was excellent, powerful and always instantly hot. The hotel was about a 15 minute walk from the main shopping area and 25 minute walk from the main train station. About a 5 minute walk away was a few bars/ restaurants which seemed full of local people. The food served was plentiful and good value. Try Brauhaus Reissdorf for a great atmosphere, good food and excellent service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    Our room was very clean and contained everything you should...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have a kettle in the room, for coffee and such. We also found the underground parking to be a bit expensive, seeing as it was still a ways away from the centre of town.

    Our room was very clean and contained everything you should need for a short stay. It was close to the centre... about 15min walk. The breakfast was lovely. The staff were very friendly and I can recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    6.3
    Little Bit disappointing overall!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and no ammenities besides a soap for all purposes in a tube... Bed was really uncomfortably hard with tiny, tiny head cushions... We were in the non refurbished part of the hotel. Don't know how the new rooms look. If you consider this hotel, better ask for a new room, might be better...

    Breakfast was good, quite al lot choice. Location was a little out centre, but still you could easily walk to the sites.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    5.8
    Breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist was super unhelpful and careless. On the hotel site it says parking is free, but when we asked him, he replied with disdain: "If so, it was a mistake. You can write to Booking."

    Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.1
    The room and bathroom were very clean and warm enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows were dreadful and had to be changed. Why are they charging an extra tourist tax when they don't even provide a kettle in the room? Bit too far from centre to walk.

    The room and bathroom were very clean and warm enough. The staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.9
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A slightly larger bedroom with more storage but it was OK for 3 nights.

    The beds were really comfy, we were provided with extra pillows, it was all very clean and the included breakfasts were great. We went for the Christmas Markets and had an amazing few days.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was a little small with a compact bathroom. Not as we expected from some of the photos on the website.

    Good location with great transport connections to centre of the city and to the airport. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.3
    Good for transport, warm and cosy, if a bit small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was freezing (outside) when we stayed, it would have been nice to have coffee-making facilities in the room.

    The room was lovely and warm on arrival and the shower was hot and powerful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is very convenient for Cologne centre, and local shops etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had inward facing refurbished rooms, and that was just perfect. The bar is very good, and the breakfast very good also. Staff were very helpful and very pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.2
    Really amazing city, Christmas markets are wonderful and customer service at hotel was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small.

    Extremely comfy bed and nice powerful hot shower. Most importantly the customer service from the staff was absolutely excellent, very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.5
    A bit disappointing, but met the purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door didn't close properly unless pretty much slammed, on one occasion the cleaner had been and the door hadn't locked so the door could just be pushed open. The facilities were pretty basic for the price. small bathroom with what looked to be mould growing. A lot of water escaped through the handles on the shower doors. The only clothes storage space was 5 hangers attached to the wall and two shelves.

    Close to public transport and a walkable distance to main shopping areas. Space made available for bags to be stored - even though check in was not for another few hours. Hotel was relatively quiet - didn't hear much noise throughout the night. Water temperature and pressure was good in shower. Room was cleaned daily to a good standard.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.3
    Convenient location just a few stops away from the old town...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was too small, especially the bathroom which had almost no space to move properly. Shower is leaking through the glass panels. Could hear the noise from other rooms through the room ventilation system.

    Convenient location just a few stops away from the old town center.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As rooms are small wouldn't want to stay more than 2-3 nights.Charged full day rates for car parking regardless of length of use.

    Clean rooms although on the small side but at the price acceptable. Beds offer decent level of comfort. Good location in the city with access to public transport. Locally some good bars and restaurants within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    5.0
    Probably the smallest and most basic hotel room I've...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small, cramped, uncomfortable room. First room I've stayed in for 40 years that didn't even have a kettle and tea/coffee.

    Probably the smallest and most basic hotel room I've ever stayed in, including many third world countries, and definitely the poorest value for money. If you pay £15 in Kathmandu you don't expect much; however, if you pay over £100 in Koln you expect more.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice rooms, good bar. Location, whilst away from altstadt/ Dom area had a lot of bars and restaurants nearby. Local transport easily accessible. Staff were excellent- very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    Great value for many with a convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain about. The hotel is a solid option for those who seek value for money and do not plan to spend much time at the hotel but rather enjoy the city.

    Good choice if you have to spend 2-3 days in Cologne for either business or leisure visit. Our room was not that big, however, it was clean and with a comfy bed. The bathroom was also nice. The breakfast was good, with a rather wide selection of food options.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Close to centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is too small. Breakfast is a bit expensive at Eur11 each.

    We stayed here for one night on our journey round Germany. Not far from the town centre too so within walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.1
    Handy for city centre so did not have to worry about city parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sat on a very Busy road with continual trams buses and road traffic all night

    Good breakfast plenty to eat lots of fresh coffee. Pleasant bar with light snacks

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.0
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has not the quality that i expected from an Ibis hotel. I have been in a number of countries using this hotel franchise (México, Belgium, Rusia) and I like it coz it is pet friendly and the rooms are modern, simple and updated. This was not nice at all, lamps were old, the toilet was not so clear (mirror was a bit rusted) I felt like in a hotel with an 80's decor.

    The staff is friendly and they are very helpful when it requested information.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    2.9
    Dissapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't clean, also the bathroom was disguisting. Room was too small for 3 persons. They said there was enough place for 3 people but there wasn't also out window couldn't open fully so we were quite isolated. Also i heard the neighbours snorring out loud in the middle of the night! They said we had a room were we could hear nothing from others?! also the breakfast was dissapointhing? Only 1 type of bread no croissants and nobody wanted to help to make waffles? Also there was 1 type of cheese normally in IBIS you have way more choices. No i dont prefer IBIS Germany. Stayed twice in a ibis hotel in germany and twice it was very disappointing. IBIS holland is great! They should follow them! oh and ibis köln isn't neat the center!

    to be honest there wasn't a positive thing....

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.5
    Ibis Köln Centrum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, it's a good Ibis so you know more or less what to expect.

    Really close to the tram stop - just a 2 minute walk. Staff friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Everything was amazing, enjoyed the food and that there was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food could have been made a little quicker.

    Everything was amazing, enjoyed the food and that there was food available 24 hours. ibis has become our favourite place to stay while we travel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    6.7
    Location and had secure parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel claims to have soundproofed rooms. They definitely are Not soundproofed. I had noisy neighbours who partied until 3am!!

    Location and had secure parking

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    Air Con was great, location superb with local shops as well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was a little smaller than expected, the shower was not sealed properly so water leaked on to floor making it very slippery and potentially an accident waiting to happen

    Air Con was great, location superb with local shops as well as tram stop only a very short walk away, only a short tram ride from train station, old town, and main attractions. Staff very helpful and spoke good English

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.5
    Due to a change in plans, our booking was made quite late...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not so much a dislike - rather an observation (for a well-balanced review).. There are few restaurants near this hotel - for good restaurants (other than fast-food establishments) you need to go to the Altstadt on the west bank of the Rhine - a 20-minute walk away or a €10 taxi ride - we took the latter option to get there as we were hungry and then strolled back after eating (and drinking). For this reason we need to rate the location as only "fair" - in all other aspects there were no problems.

    Due to a change in plans, our booking was made quite late (for us) - we just needed a room for two nights and the IBIS stood out from the other choices available (mainly on cost grounds). The IBIS brand can be expected to provide a good hotel and this IBIS conformed to what we expected. Excellent and very helpful reception staff. A good breakfast was provided. We had a pleasant room at the front of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    4.2
    crummy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For the price, one would expect something better. It is pretty basic, the mattress is a cheap one laid on top of the springbox, you can hardly turn around in the bathroom, and there is no soundproofing so you hear everything when groups come in at night. I also got bug bites while there. It is on an unattractive main road at looks out over a back lot. Basically, it is acceptable if you need somewhere to crash while on a work gig, but not at all the kind of place you would go for fun and certainly not as a treat or a holiday.

    It is perfectly practical and just four tram stops from the main station and the cathedral, equal distance in the other direction to get to the university.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    They go the distance!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less hard bed and working air con

    Staff were incredibly helpful and accomodating. Felt very welcome from checking in. Excellent location and customer service

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.1
    Walk to Brauhaus Reissdorf
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good clean business hotel. You have all you need in the room! And the best thing at this hotel is that Ibis is near to the best restaurant at Cologne that I visit Brauhaus Reissdorf. Great German kitchen and good atmosphere! I like it!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.3
    A wonderful German experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was a bit small and the view wasn't great. But this wouldn't put me off re-visiting.

    Close but not too close to the centre, which meant we were able to visit more local restaurants and bars. We found a great little place just round the corner from where we were staying, it was a true german local experience and we loved every minute of it!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.5
    A typical Ibis Hitel ehere you would know what to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 2 star hotel and location I think it is a bit overpriced for €285+€88 for bed and breakfast inclusive of City tax for 4 nights.

    Breakfast was very good, clean room, good location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel in the city center with extremely small rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Size of the room was too small and some minor details made this even worse: - tap was on the side of the washbasin, which made in not comfortable to wash hands - window in the toilet was locked and could not be opened - window in the room could be opened only partially - hanger for the toilet paper was located right in front of the toilet, which left too few space for my hips. It would be much better if it was 20cm to the side

    Staff was very nice and towels were clean. Apart from the small size room was pretty good. Hotel is located in a place with pretty poor view (also when outside), but pretty close to the city center and some really good restaurants

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse ibis Köln Centrum traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: