Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel im Rheintal

Rheinufferstrasse 79a, 56341 Kamp-Bornhofen, Germany

#10 of 11 hotels in Kamp-Bornhofen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 364 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    5.4
    Clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the middle of nowhere and staff were not very friendly on arrival. Breakfast was at another hotel further down the road about 5 min walk. The service there was terrible with one member of staff very rude and made us feel uncomfortable. We had no coffee on the table on two occasions and we felt like we were a nuisance when asking for some. In fact we did ask for milk and it was slammed on the table !! Would not visit here again.

    Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    6.7
    Beds where good and the restaurant had a lot of vegetarian...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not served in the hotel, we had to go to another hotel for that. The food in the restaurant was not that good. Our room was at the ground floor next to the busy rood.

    Beds where good and the restaurant had a lot of vegetarian options. Wifi was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.4
    While booking it was written as River view, but what I got...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While booking it was written as River view, but what I got was not review view room. It is ok for a 1 night stay or for work, not as a vacation stay for more days.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.3
    The rooms and the cleaning was ok.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms and the cleaning was ok. No aeras outside the room to spend time in. The brekfast was served on an other hotel so we had to go 500m to get brekfast. The reception wasent open when it was time to check out so there was no chance to get help. Had to ask an other costumer about where to leave the key.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    Hotel Rheinkonig down the street is the actual hotel. Excellent service and food. Small but comfy rm
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived, we were told to go down the street. This is where the rooms were. The hotel in your pictures is only a restaurant. The person at the restaurant told us the hotel down the street is where our room is. So, the actual hotel is Hotel Rheinkonig NOT Im Rheintal.

    I am used to larger rooms in the United States, so these rooms would be considered very small. However, that seems to be the case with most European rooms. The free breakfast was awesome! We also ate dinner there one night and this was excellent as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Everything I needed for an uncomplicated stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't mind it as I like walking, but their breakfast was served at a sister hotel about a 5-minute walk away. The train stop is at least a 10-minute walk if you are a fast walker and the only real grocery store in town is at least 20-minutes if not more by foot. Also, there are no elevators, so you'll need to request a ground floor room if you have climbing issues. A general word of warning for train users: the train station does not have a ticket machine so you will need to find the ticket controller as soon as you get on the train. If you don't do that, you could face a 60 Euro fine. I was able to claim ignorance and get out of it once, but it depends who you get.

    I stayed at this hotel for 10 days in November and was quite happy with every part of it. I had a single cozy room that was clean and quiet(though it was off-season at the time). It did not have very much of a view, but that wasn't of concern to me. You might have to specifically tell them if you want a room looking out over the Rhein. I ate at the restaurant almost every night and the food was very good. It's Italian fare. There was one main man who was my "go-to" person the entire stay and I found him accommodating and always willing to help. They can definitely speak English - I'm not sure about the other hundreds of languages there are in the world. One thing I was first concerned about is the possibility of hearing the train as my window was facing the train lines(they were covered by trees and a wall but you could see the electrical lines above the wall). At least with the window closed it was hardly noticeable...only a faint rumbling sound.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    3.8
    cheap and nasty
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    it was not as stated on booking confirmation, the room was stated to be on ground floor instead it was up 4 flights of stairs, the on sight parking was 200mts away at sports centre.On arrival I was told your room is up there and left to find it myself. The fixtures and fittings were at least 30yrs out of date . I could definitely not recommend this hotel.

    the breakfast was good and so was staff at breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Location: right near Rhine and within waling distance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel is superb. However, the restaurant (kept by the same people) has a very strong smell of stale oil. It was not one day, it was this way all the time I stayed there. Stay in the hotel, just find some other place for the dinner. Don't eat in the hotel's restaurant.

    Location: right near Rhine and within waling distance to pleasure boats, within easy biking distance to the ferry to Boppard.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    I can well recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing not to like about this hotel, even the roadworks outside were never a problem

    The entire stay was an comfortable and enjoyable experience, well located to explore the surrounding areas of the Rhine valley, good breakfast, clean, pleasant rooms, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    2.5
    Terrible is an understatement...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's a restaurant, not a hotel. This is just the beginning of their false claims advertisement on booking.com. They also claimed on booking.com to be nearer to Koblenz 15 km, in reality it is more. They claimed they are nearer to train station, which is 1.1 km away, definitely not worth the walk. We informed them of late check-in due to train delay, asked them about possible pickup / taxi, the owner simply laughed and put down the phone! We didn't know at that time that what was else in store for us! When we reached there at 12 with tired group of seniors and children, there was no one at the reception. In fact, there is NO RECEPTION AREA in the hotel, and we were lucky to receive our keys from an Italian guy who listened nothing - that we had kids, and seniors who could not climb 40 steps - 2 floors up!. We had to resort to their choices of rooms despite having booked quite early. We had clearly communicated our group details, and received no response from them. We should have understood it by then! The rooms were clumsy, too small to walk. The bathrooms worse, no water outlet. The water from the tap which they claimed drinkable smelt horrible. They proudly say on booking.com that "we speak your language" but in reality no one does! All of them speak German. All they do is stare at us, scoff at us being outsiders, and come to us wherever they need to explain their rules, but never understand our concerns! The only handlers of things were restaurant officials who were present some 2-3 hours in the morning that we knew of. They never cared to ask us how we felt, what we liked, but were quick to bill us 24 hours before checkout because it was the day they were closed. On top of everything, despite having breakfast included, they made us walk 500 m every morning to get our breakfast at the other property, which in effect killed the whole purpose of having breakfast at the hotel.

    It's on the bank of Rhine as advertised, but no real view of Rhine due to obstructing trees all around.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.8
    Convenient location for hiking around the Rhine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is only possible on the main road in front of the Hotel, it was hard to find an empty spot.

    Convenient location for hiking around the Rhine. Value for money. Wall mounted TV set -- out of reach for children. Cheap dining in the Hotel's restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.5
    Restaurant served very nice food and big portions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a long walk down the road to a sister hotel. Directions were given in German and we would not have found it if we had not followed a member of staff on foot to get there. Noisy school party were staying below us. Rooms were nice enough, but were basic and had a 'hostel' feel about it.

    Restaurant served very nice food and big portions.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    4.6
    Never again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Upon arrival our room changed on smaller one (double room with additional bed for kid poked in) because of we have had cat. The room was not prepared. It was known by the host in advance that there were no central heating working. In spite of this, we were accommodated there with the promises that it will be all settled. Whole night it was terribly frizzing in such an extent that we slept in sweaters. We requested additional blankets, we had got only vain promises. It was a small room and there was only ventilation through the window, which could be opened only if it was warm. After one day and night they changed our room. This time heater was working hard so we barely suffocated in the night. Upon leaving we tried to negotiate to reduce the price since we did book larger room (triple room). But the answer was that you had three beds so it was triple room. There was only one guy among personnel who tried to make amendments, but it seems he could not help it.

    It was clean and in general has well designed interior.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Well worth a visit when yr in the arra
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Great all round expieriance would be happy to stay there again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean..Location is perfevt

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    6.3
    quiet location, nice walk along Rhine river
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff don't speak English. Breakfast place is little far from the Hotel

    quiet location, nice walk along Rhine river

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.5
    Julia and Sabrina very helpful employees
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Julia and Sabrina very helpful employees

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    6.3
    Resting on the Rhine
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extremely warm and had no air conditioning. A simple fan would be very useful.

    The Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.6
    Great spot on the Middle Rhein
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for exploring the Rhein Gorge area. Nicely decorated and well kept. Restaurant was good and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    9.6
    Very very clean, nice stuff, beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very very clean, nice stuff, beautiful place

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    5.8
    food good bed a little lumpy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    single room very small noise from train

    breakfast very good variety dinner good choice and good value

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    7.9
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and comfy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    3.8
    Truly hideous decor in the bedroom, including very weird...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Truly hideous decor in the bedroom, including very weird slippery sheets and pillows which were more like floppy, lumpy duvets. Worst of all was the noise from the railway which is right outside the windows at the rear of the hotel. It's a main line so trains are frequent. Do not underestimate how bad this will be for your sleep and general relaxation!

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    7.9
    Situation, restaurant, litterie
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Train a proximite

    Situation, restaurant, litterie

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    9.6
    Great location in a quiet little Rhine Valley town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was really hot when we were there, and almost no hotels in northern Europe have AC or even fans.

    Great location in a quiet little Rhine Valley town

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    3.8
    The room was not same room in picture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room was not same room in picture. It was too small. Therefore we did not stay in the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    4.6
    Free wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Horrible beds. No heating. Bad quilts. Asked for double bed offered twin beds.

    Free wifi

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: