Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Imperial This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Barthelstr. 93, Ehrenfeld, 50823 Cologne, Germany

#67 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 208 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon checkout, the front desk could not properly read my reservation and was about to charge me twice. Had I not had my email printout, or have had to leave before the desk opened; I would have been charged twice.

    The quietness of the neighborhood.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have liked a safe in the room as I felt the my room could possibly been have accessed by the flat roof leading to the window. Overall clean , but the shelves in the wardrobe were dusty and my dark items of clothing kept on there ended up with a layer of dust.

    Breakfast: Good selection of breads, cooked meat and cheeses . Liked the scrambled eggs in particular. I enjoyed the coffee too. 10/10 for me. Room: The room and bathroom were spacious. The bathroom is fairly modern with a good shower and general facilities. Staff: Very friendly and helpful staff. One of the owners who is also the chef, was chatty and had a great attitude. Just the sort of person for such a family run business. Forgot to say, I enjoyed the beer there too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I had wished was that it was closer to the center, but we walked from the hotel to the center and got to see quiet a bit of Cologne. If you don't like to walk, there is public transportation but we didn't use it. Driving the car in the center is not advisable.

    The gentleman that helped us was fabulous. He took the time to get us settled. We arrived in the morning and he helped us park the car checked us in although we couldn't get to the room until after 2pm. The parking was in the property of the hotel so we left all our staff in the car. We returned that evening at 8pm after spending the day in Cologne. The next morning the same gentleman helped us check out and exit the parking garage. Excellent service. He gave us maps and explained all the best places to go.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were told breakfast was included on our arrival, then charged at the end. The room was cleaned on our last full day but they did not replace complimentary water, we asked for some and were told it was chargeable. They did remove it from the bill however. Also we arrived back at hotel at 11pm one evening hoping to have a last drink only to be told firmly that the bar was closed, even though all info relating said it was open until 11.30

    Room was good, breakfast staff very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good value breakfast. Off-road parking. In quiet residential area, but still within very easy reach of the city centre (public transport options within a short walk).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a bit too hard and they creaked when I moved. And the breakfast could use a bit of improvement.

    The employees at the hotel were extremely nice and professional. They were without a doubt the best part of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive

    The staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    breakfast choices

    hotel facilities. staff are professional and very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mini bar contained only water, would have been nice to have had tea making facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room air was a bit dusty

    The size of a double room was quite good, but the bathroom was huge / "imperial"

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is too far from central

    Clean and beautiful environment

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    excellent hotel, great staff . great room, I think I will stay there if will be visiting Cologne next time

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst room for highest price because of convention in köln.

    Staff is very friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is far from center , the blankets are too small and are not comfortable enough

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at check-in not very helpful.

    Staff at restaurant for breakfast and lunch very good. The room was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows

    Clean and quiet

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the price is kinda high..

    Perfect location, not too far from downtown Cologne, comfortable rooms, everything is very clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was someone smoking in our floor that was supposed to be smoke free. It was a guest, so I am not sure if the hotel could do something about it? Not pleasant, though.

    The bed was comfortable and the shower was amazing! The staff was helpful and kind.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We did not like the pillows (too soft) The hotel should mention in advance you should leave your keys if you want to use the parking. Therefore we had to use a nearby parking, as I'm not allowed to let others drive with my car...

    Good value for money Nice breakfast Very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hard to find Parking

    Location

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Narrow garage

    Nice people , reasonable price

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Family run business, everybody extremely helpful and friendly

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Guests also reviewed these properties: