Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel INNdependence This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Gleiwitzer Str. 4, Oberstadt, 55131 Mainz, Germany

#11 of 30 hotels in Mainz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 607 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is well planned, with easy access in all facilities. Very friendly and service-oriented staff. Good basic buffet breakfast with all necessary ingredients. Well organised room with large bathroom and balcony. Location close to main roads, easy access by car, but still very peaceful location in a residential area and close to green areas of the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable, and barrier-free roms, quiet hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, breakfast and drinks selection was very good. Everything that you would find in the large chain hotels as well, except for the outrageous pricing there. This is the socially conscientious travel of the future. I will seek out this hotel, and any other hotel of the Embrace hotels movement for future travel. Support inclusion and barrier-free environments!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no kettle, although it was mentioned in some reviews, maybe available in premium rooms?

    We stayed in the standard rooms. Equipment is basic, but OK, the price not high, it was what we have expected. The room was quiet. Breakfest OK: selection of cereals, fruit, meat, cheese and fresh bread. Coffee from espresso machine available. Hotel is easy to reach from the central train station: tram or taxi for appr. 10 E. Internet works. The staff was very helpfull, thank you!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    as above

    Room was good size, very clean and newly refurbished. My partner had struggled with the hard mattress and uncomfortable pillow, and I found though the bathroom door was new glass door, it wasn't soundproof and right by the bed. I think it was a bit overpriced but was very convenient location for us as we were visiting family. Breakfast was nice. Staff mostly friendly. Weather was good against forecast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was WIFI but only for one device at the time. The breakfast led to stomach problems later during the morning (twice).

    Easy parking, clean and relaxed atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the hotel is about 15-20 minute walk into the heart of the city (and most restaurants). There is a restaurant in the hotel but pretty simple (but with a wonderful breakfast buffet). If you have your walking shoes on, this hotel location is nice enough to endure the walk.

    Every now and then you walk into a hotel and are pleasantly surprised. This is the case with Hotel INNdependence. The place has newly remodeled rooms are spacious and the breakfast buffet was more than enough. The staff helped get us oriented to the city and provided a good map. The hotel is in a quieter part of town. Free parking is available on site and easy to find in the neighborhood.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom sink in delux room. Wardrobe hanging hooks in standard room were poor design, leaving not enough hanging space. Black tea bags at breakfast were not to my liking. Showers left water over entire bathroom floor and bathroom steamed up excessively.

    Close proximity to people I was visiting and walking distance to town centre. Staff friendly and helpful. Cleanliness.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was in this hotel twice, but, even if I booked a room (for me and my wife) with double bed, twice I received a room with two twin single bed near, but with side rail between the beds....this kind of rooms on the web-site are classified for people with disabilities and there are also some pictures. The first time I was not sure to have read well the room description on web-site and on booking.com, so to avoid polemics with employees I didn't claim anything (also the second time). Considered the price (not very cheap) I believe that should be mentioned on the room-description, because they have also standard rooms with double bed.... from all this my no good rate

    The breakfast, the employees very kind and available

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Do learn some basic German phrases as the only English spoken is at reception.

    We ordered a taxi which did not come and the Manager drove us to the station instead. Fantastic! Really helpful and kind

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A really minor point: lighting in rooms was not very comfortable.

    Not quite central but relatively close to the centre of Mainz with easy connection via tram line. The staff in this seemingly small hotel are very kind and accommodating. I would certainly stay again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Refrigerator would have been great .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely bad Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was very hot (30 'C) and without air condition nights was challenging

    Breakfast was good, beds comfortable, balcony was also good addition

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I travelled in christmas time. Probably that is the reason for renting room with high price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very poor

    Clean rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non

    Staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of something now.

    Everything. Great location with park .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliness of staff, spacious room, balcony, free parking, breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad wifi connection... Housekeeping took all the towels were still being used unreasonably...

    Clean and large rooms, good breakfast...

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    reception and restaurant staff could have been a little friendlier - room staff were excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lumpy bed, dirty uncomfortable bedding, no lip on the shower so that the water covered the entire bathroom floor, no upper sheet

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel. Friendly staff, nice breakfast, good quality-to-price!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Lack of air-conditioning in the rooms.

    the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You need a car to get there and around.

    Breakfast was excellent, buffet style, fresh bread. We wanted to stay near Frankfurt and Darmstadt to visit friends, and the location is quite convenient for both places. Mainz was a nice little town too with a few things to see.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we booked a double room and were given a twin room, after a complaint they got us a double room despite initial hesitation. In the morning we were explained that they have only few double rooms, most are twin with beds far apart. Parking on the street!

    The morning staff, breakfast, cleanlines

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast always the same

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff are collaborative

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast wasn't very good, little choice. Far from city centre

    Clean and modern

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    terrible smell in hallway, bathroom gives also a smell. So please do something about those smells

    big room

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor staff attitude as we were leaving. Liquid soaps were all empty. No aircpn.

    Clean

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Browse Hotel INNdependence traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: