Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Insel-Hotel Heilbronn This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Willy-Mayer-Brücke, 74072 Heilbronn, Germany

#4 of 22 hotels in Heilbronn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 464 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 69

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.7
    We enjoy the atmosphere of Heilbronn and the location of the hotel means we make the most of this.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We like this hotel very much, however, they are carrying out major work the parking areas, both underground pay and surface free, with limited spaces available (my car was coated in a thick layer of dust). Also the aircon in the room was at best very poor (reported to the management). We have stayed here three years running now but prices have risen considerably and with breakfast charged separately it will no longer be first choice.

    We like the location and quality of the hotel, especially the breakfast. Room service for make up could not be faulted.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    Room and shower were fine.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price I would absolutely expect a small fridge and tea/coffee option in the room! And breakfast included!

    Room and shower were fine. Bed was comfy. Location perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    Under Renovation- Wait until complete to book your stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was hard. The Room was to hot!! The hotel is under renovation and they are having problems with the air conditioning. They offered a fan, but we were there for 3 days, and it never arrived in the room, even though we asked daily. Willy's Breakfast Manager (women) appears to have an attitude with English only speaking guests. We attempted to speak in basic German which annoyed her even more.

    The room was lovely. The pool and spa area well maintained and relaxing. Excellent massage by Nicole!! Young Man -Breakfast Staff- makes excellent waffles and is a JOY!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    A lovely hotel with nice amenities and location, and excellent, friendly service.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had asked for a quiet room, but had trouble sleeping due to road noise and noise from above (we were in room 306). There was a conference room above us, and I was awakened in the middle of the night, and in the morning, by the staff walking around and moving furniture while setting up for an event. The sofa in the room was made up as a bed, which seemed odd and we therefore didn't use the sofa. In the restaurant our steaks were not cooked the way we had asked for (although the food and presentation were very good at every meal). At checkout we had a long wait due to one of our dinners not being included in the final bill. We had to insist that we owed more money and after the front desk clerk contacted the restaurant again, they finally researched and found that we were correct. The parking is limited during the renovation of the parking garage, but we had a reservation (we paid Euro 15 for 2 nights) so it was no problem for us.

    We had a lovely view of the river from our room, which was clean and bright. The staff were very friendly, attentive, and professional, from the front desk to the cleaning personnel. The restaurant had a nice atmosphere, with windows open to the terrace, and traditional decoration - a nice place to spend the evening. The terrace was also lovely for a pre-dinner drink or a coffee. We also felt quite safe at the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Prime location, very comfortable and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was some confusion about the car park but ultimately the staff helped us to reserve space and everything went smoothly.

    Modern bathroom, and very nice view from the window. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.9
    Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Considering the fact that there are no convenience stores nearby and for the price being charged, hotel should provide free drinking water and tea / coffee in the room.

    Location. Service and courtesy of the staff - Excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel, but disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The keycard technology is crap. Especially for a business hotel. We couldn't get into our room.... Front desk wanted us to accommodate them, instead of the other way around. Maintaince boy did his best, which was appreciated. Otherwise, everyone was friendly.

    Rooms exceeded expectations. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    Perfect location, right in the center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked single room - the bed is a bit narrow. Though I am not a big man, still had a feeling, that I will fall from it when tossing. Breakfast - variety if perfect - blue cheeses, hams, smoked salmon, premium tees... But from hot dishes you can order only boiled eggs. No sausages, no meatballs, potatoes. Shower - has ventil faucets. 4* hotel in 21st century?

    Perfect location, right in the center. FREE garage (very few business hotels offer this).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Very clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Misleading pictures, booked the superior double because the pictures showed a seperation between sleep and living room, unfortunatelly the pictures are for the suite. Still had enough space to fit the cot.

    Very clean room. nice pool. great breakfast. In the middle of town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    The staff are friendly and extremely helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioning was not working. There are no irons available in the room or from reception. I had to go to the basement laundry room (normally only used by staff) to iron my clothes. The decor in the rooms is dated.

    The staff are friendly and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.3
    This was our second stay at the Insel Heilronn and we will probably return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The underground garage is currently being re-worked and is closed (didn't flag this when booking) meaning few available bays in free car-park. At the end of a long drive it becomes very frustrating not to be able to park up and check in without having to go to seek help.

    This is a very good hotel, which is well positioned for the town-centre and things of interest. Good breakfast selection and they are happy to prepare eggs for you to your liking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Great hotel, we will certainly come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location, close to everything in town without being noisy. Breakfast was very good and staff very friendly. All in all very good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Outstanding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything that I didn't like. The only thing I could mention is that the key lock system always needed 2 or 3 attempts to read my key, but I always got into my room, so it wasn't really a problem. Maybe I was doing something wrong with the key.

    I loved everything about this property, starting with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, the possibility to park my car free of charge, the lovely room with a balcony overlooking the river, the pool and the fact that I could borrow a swimsuit as I hadn't brought one, the huge breakfast buffet and the very comfy bed with a huge selection of pillows that made sleeping a dream. Everything was perfect, without fail. It was the first time that I experienced such a perfect hotel stay. The staff is outstanding, everyone that I met was amazingly friendly and helpful. I wholeheartedly recommend staying at this property when you're in Heilbronn!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    A wonderful experience for a couple who travel extensively for many years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOTHING - liked everything about this hotel, the owners & their staff.

    EVERYTHING. The owner of the hotel, Herr Mayer, personally supervises the guest area every evening & most lunch times. A true gentleman. I mentioned that I was sorry they did not have Bratwurst on their snack menu. The next morning we get served bratwurst, potato salad, Schwabian ravioli & green salad with house made mustard. When I came to paying the hotel said it was with the compliments of Herr Mayer. All the staff were terrific & most attentive to every need, food was terrific, good value for money. A beautiful property immaculately maintained

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyed the Insel Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have better. A large function was scheduled in the main room. Therefore breakfast for hotel guests occurred in two side rooms and was a bit disorganized. Steady flow of coffee was not a problem.

    The electric window shutters were a nice surprise and will keep the room cooler on very sunny days.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    7.9
    The rooms were a little dated, heating was poor and...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a little dated, heating was poor and wouldn't heat up more which left the room coldish. There was no shampoo or conditioner as they had run out. Really not acceptable. Expensive hotel for what it was. Pillows were terrible all different odd sizes. Pool and sauna really nice. Staff were really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    7.9
    - central location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - paper thin walls and bridge passing by has traffic until late in the night - breakfast buffet not too extensive considering the price - In general I think the price-value-ratio is far from good. Comparing to other hotels in Heilbronn, it's rather old and pricey.

    - central location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Quite close to our office!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite close to our office!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    We had a wonderful time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect. Room was great Pool was cool Receptionist looked after my son after he escaped the room (very nice) - I was very embarassed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Best place for stay !
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi could be better

    location, breakfast, facilities, cleanliness

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Relaxing and comfortable, like your favourite armchair!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Reception Staff were particularly helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Good location is advantage.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff seems not patient when I asked her to update company name on recipient.

    location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Comfortable, wonderful breakfast each morning and close to restaurants and shopping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good...

    Not our first time staying at this property. We ALWAYS enjoy our stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Very beautiful location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very beautiful location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    VERY friendly people, paying a lot of attention to customers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    VERY friendly people, paying a lot of attention to customers

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Big and clean room, perfect breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad situation with parking ... very few places, no underground parking!

    Big and clean room, perfect breakfast..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.3
    Very central, near to a big selection of restaurants and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central, near to a big selection of restaurants and shopping.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.6
    Good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good quality hotel. Nice pool. friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    7.5
    Diner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking facility

    Diner

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Perfect stay in Heilbronn
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the room which was to our suprise a penthouse with a large terrace. Simply magical.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    Quiet, clean and comfortable room;
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet, clean and comfortable room; breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.5
    Somehow recommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tooooo noisy outside

    Good staffs good service attitude

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.9
    parking is complicated
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking is complicated

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.2
    A very homey place for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast buffet. Freshly fluffed down comforter.. Best down pillows ever!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Great breakfast buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast buffet

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Calf's Check a perfect main course in the restaurant Setting of pool very beautiful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    Thank you for the nice stay, also to the front desk staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliness at check in

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.8
    gym was very small
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    gym was very small

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    7.1
    Nice big rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was closed

    Nice big rooms. Small but tasty breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    10
    A great place to stay very convenient for traveling around locally and in the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea making in room

    Room was comfy breakfast choice amazing staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    9.6
    Heilbronn in New Year's eve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was super. The bed was extremelly comfy. Quite and the location of the hotel is perfect.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    4.2
    The rate is high and increased without notification to the...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rate is high and increased without notification to the client from €139 to €185.some time for the same room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    8.3
    Swimming pool and sauna are OK
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Swimming pool and sauna are OK

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    10
    The hotel insel is a great choice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to park at a remote parking lot the first night

    They had a great breakfast and very comfortable beds and comforters

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    8.3
    Insel , Hotel with inner beauty
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    Good location , good breakfast and excellent service

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    10
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wish I could stay longer!

    Friendly staff. Warm welcome. Comfortable beds. Excellent food. Super leisure facilities. All round superb. The Insel is a rare find .As its family owned and run it has a personal touch that chain hotels lack.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    8.3
    The beds were comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Water temperature during shower kept fluctuating from HOT to cool. The room would not cool down properly. I had to keep the windows open all night, causing noise in the morning when the train started running. Wifi was mediocre speed. Having to reconnect very 24 hours was annoying.

    The beds were comfortable. The rooms were clean and the staff was extremely friendly.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    9.6
    The staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sauna needs to be open more frequently not just in the evening.

    The staff were excellent. Food was very good featuring local cooking. Buffet breakfast had a huge range of choice.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    8.8
    Lovely room , view from the Balcony ,
    • Family with older children

    Sorry no Air Conditioning , struggled to sleep in the night.

    Lovely room , view from the Balcony , ambience, great Breakfast....smiling staff everywhere. Spacious room too.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful terrace next to the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    During hot weather spells there is no air-conditioning in any of the public spaces nor any fans

    Beautiful terrace next to the river. Great i door pool

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    10
    The Hotel is clean and very comfortable, the staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    The Hotel is clean and very comfortable, the staff and management are very pleasent and very responsive to the needs of their guests, and just a generally friendly atmosphere is upheld by the entire staff. If you are ever in Heilbronn, wether on business, pleasure, or planning a special event, The Insel Hotel has all you would want or need.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    10
    The friendly staff, cleanliness, location and breakfast just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No complaints.

    The friendly staff, cleanliness, location and breakfast just can't be beat! The breakfast bar was a great way to start the day. The city square with shops, restaurants, cafes and drinks are only a 3-4 minute walk. And the scenery around the hotel, situated in the middle of the Neckar River is just icing on the cake!

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    Friendly staff and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff and helpful. Good food in restaurant. Lovely local town worth a walk around even at night. Great pool and sauna with massage jets etc.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    10
    Friendly staff and rooms were comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No issues.

    Friendly staff and rooms were comfortable

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    7.1
    Location and easy access
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast seats were limited due to separate event

    Location and easy access

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    8.3
    breakfast good, staff very friendly;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Water bottle in the room was already used and not changed by the cleaning team

    breakfast good, staff very friendly; rooms are nicely decorated

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    9.6
    Staff and breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.6
    Excellent breakfast with lovely room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioning ineffective

    Excellent breakfast with lovely room

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    Staff always make us feel welcome and at home.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Staff always make us feel welcome and at home. Fantastic Breakfast Buffet.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    8.8
    Very nice hotel in walking distance to centre of Heilbronn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice hotel in walking distance to centre of Heilbronn. Beds are very nice. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    7.1
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast, Food..

    Location

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    7.5
    Staff and breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Slightly expensive

    Staff and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    10
    Staff and room excellent, hotel location is great as plenty...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bar service very slow.

    Staff and room excellent, hotel location is great as plenty of bars/places to eat nearby.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    10
    Very friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    8.8
    Signs show solarium, while there wasnt any.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Signs show solarium, while there wasnt any... Sauna sometimes shuts down (breaks?).

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    9.6
    Staff are really helpful and make you feel special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Staff are really helpful and make you feel special.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    10
    Great hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Great hotel. Wonderful food. Fantastic Breakfast. Very dog-friendly.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 69

Guests also reviewed these properties: