Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of IntercityHotel Göttingen This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Bahnhofsallee 1 a, 37081 Göttingen, Germany

#21 of 24 hotels in Göttingen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 714 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Recommendable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is undergoing a fundamental overhaul. So, in some areas it was a bit dusty. Which did not really annoy us.

    Nice location, near the railway station, the event location Lokhalle and only ten minutes by foot to the historic city center. The size of the room was more than excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Not city centre or (yet) stae of the art, this was a good base for city,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was in the process of a thoroughgoing refurbishment. This meant temporary spaces for reception, bar and breakfast, and some inevitable noise, and workers buzzing up and down in the elevators and so on. Notices in the corridors apologise for temporary inconvenience but it would have been good to know beforehand that the makeover was happening, and to be assured that some kind of discount was operating. However, this was still decent value for money, and once the work is finished, the premises will be even more attractive. It takes a good ten minutes to walk to the historic centre of Göttingen.

    Very clean and comfortable room, which we managed to keep more or less at the right temperature after a very hot day, but opening the windows wide. Excellent bathroom and shower. An additional pillow would have made for perfect sleeping conditions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel under reconstruction
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is under reconstruction. I saw the plans: it will be very nice. Right now it is very clean but old and old-style hotel.

    Personnel is very nice and very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    4.2
    An apparent decline of quality in every aspect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed at Intercity Hotel two years before and felt satisfied. But the experience this time turned out to be a great disappointment. 1. The room may have sanitary issues. Although the bed looks clean at first glance, my boyfriend and I were bitten by the Bedbugs. 2. The location is not quiet at night. During the summertime, we have no choice but to open the window and get some fresh air. The Music from the surrounding clubs was hard to bear and continued till 2-3am. 3. The waiters who serve the breakfast are intentionally ignoring us. Unlike the other German customers, we didn't get any Inquiries for coffee from them. 4. To conclude, it is definitely not worth paying 130 EUR for the experiences as mentioned above and a relatively small double room.

    near by HBF

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.3
    Basic hotel, clean but overpriced
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for a basic hotel. I would expect it to be more luxurious and perhaps to have more character at this price.

    Clean room. Very convenient to the Railway Station. I arrived by train late in the evening and it was a relief that I could find the hotel easily and walk there in 5 minutes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    4.6
    The breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed at the hotel for one night only while travelling towards our ski destination in Austria. We experienced, that one of the baths we used (we stayed at two rooms) was not properly cleaned (previous user's shampoo plastic bags were not removed). We expected a bit more for a 4-star hotel.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.9
    Room clean and overall well kept.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is practically no free parking with the hotel... only 7-8 parking spots which are always occupied.. you have to pay 11 Euros per day to park in the public parking on the front.

    Room clean and overall well kept. Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast o.k.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.9
    Good breakfast, close proximity to the station and city...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedroom stank of stale cigarette smoke. The staff were insistent this was not the case but changed the mattress and sheets, which improved matters slightly but the smell was in the carpet, curtains, bed and every part of the room. Difficult to sleep without the window open, which brings other problems in winter.

    Good breakfast, close proximity to the station and city centre. Reasonable cost. Generally clean. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.6
    The hote is good for business traveller
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need improvement on free wifi as sometimes signal is weak

    Alll staff were helpful and accomodating. The room is clean and comfortable. The locationis very near the train station and city area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    6.3
    Room clean and overall well kept.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was not possible, no free place available. The only parking opportunity offered was the parking area in front of the hotel (11 Euro per day). Considering that having the parking was one of the reason I choose this hotel I consider it a major drawback. The breakfast was okish. Coffee was offered in thermos but I found my one empty, as well as the orange juice dispenser at the buffet table, customers had to flip it to get the juice still inside (!).. Cappuccino was available only paying extra. All in all it seems that the breakfast was not very well organized Personnel at the reception a bit 'cold' I would say.

    Room clean and overall well kept. Very conveniently close to the railway station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.3
    Okay for a few nights, nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was NOT free at the accomodation, there were only a few spots for guests so the chances of being able to park there are slim. There was a parking garage across the street, the site told us that is was possible to park there for 7 euros, but it was more expensive. The floor we were on was a smoking floor, the next morning they were airing out the room and everything smelled of cigarettes. They cleaned our floor early in the morning, which meant we were woken up at 8 by housekeeping. Not exactly that vacation feeling we were going for.

    Rooms were decent and clean, the shower was nice but everything is a bit outdated for our taste.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    4.0
    There was a smell of smoke in the non-smoking room, and I...
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a smell of smoke in the non-smoking room, and I found this disgusting as I do not smoke. When I was leaving and paying my account, the mature receptionist did not make eye contact with me, and did not respond when I said thank you. I found her lack of communication to be most unprofessional - in a word, it was disgusting .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.8
    Cleaning staff will break into each room (literally each)...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning staff will break into each room (literally each) stating from 8:30, no matter you have checked out or not. If you are there, they just say sorry and come back to open your room every other 30 minutes. The front desk acquiesced in this rude behavior and very cold about complaints. So, this can be taken as hotel's regular policy of driving guests away as early as possible.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.7
    Good location, inexpensive and convenient, with a reasonable...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Rooms were too hot, with no air conditioning. Room faced railway line so could not open window without lots of noise. Asked at reception three times for an electric fan, but with no success.

    Good location, inexpensive and convenient, with a reasonable continental breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    6.7
    not very impressed!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is practically no free parking with the hotel... only 7-8 parking spots which are always occupied.. you have to pay 11 Euros per day to park in the public parking on the front. the breakfast is also ordinary... there are no croissants as shown in one of the pictures... the description of parking and breakfast is rather misleading on this website..

    location is nice..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.3
    A few minor inconveniences but would stay again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower doors don't work very well. They did not restock the mini bar. There were no shower caps in the bathroom.

    The free breakfast was very nice. The parking is convenient as long as there are spaces available.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.8
    The break first had much variety of things and it was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The break first had much variety of things and it was great. The hotel located on the another side of the train station and it was not faced to the city centre but it was quite near to it and it was easy to access.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    6.7
    Terrible Houskeeping staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no DND sign in the room and houskeeping came into the room every 30 min. starting 8.30. It was very disturbing and the person was unfriendly.

    Free Parking

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    7.5
    Best alternative to hotels in Hanover if you want to visit the CEBIT
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms have an outdated charme - however, in the bathroom this leads to parts that can hardly be cleaned (between shower and wall, for example). The room itself and all other parts of the hotel were clean. The breakfast included much, but also in an old-fashioned way. For example: three different plates of meat - but not very well distinguished between pork and non-pork. Scrambled Eggs and Ham - but nothing for Vegans. The butter was served in three big blocks of 250g each of which every guest would cut down. Good cheese plate, but again no alternative spread for vegans. There was a bit of fruit salad. The roll selection could have been better - they all tasted the same. No croissants. In total: many persons will like the breakfast, but if you are vegan or would like to cut down on meet and milk products for any other reason, there is not too much variety. Nonetheless, I would really come back, especially for going to the CEBIT.

    The hotel is just around the corner of the main station. It is on the one hand of a higher standard, but a little bit outdated. Your Bahn Card will give you Bahn Bonus Points - I did not know that and found that helpful to know. I got a very nice room (an upgrade from what I booked). Thus, the price of the room was very good. I actually wanted to go to the CEBIT and all hotels in Hanover had crazy prices (upwards from 200 Euro per night in all kinds of hotels). Staying in this hotel proved to be very advantageous as I paid 75 Euros and was at the CEBIT within 30 minutes by train.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    7.1
    Overnight in Göttingen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    although the room was quiet, there was quite a lot of light coming through the curtains.

    we were only staying one night, the intercity was easy, affordable and just what we were looking for before the second leg of our journey.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small for 2 persons with luggage. There were no tea / coffee facilities which woild have been handy considering there was no on-site evening restaurant

    The location was very handy to the main train station and a short walk to the old city. The breakfast was varied hot / cold food and was fresh.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    5.4
    Close to the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front door was closed after sunset. I must use a different entrance passing a strange parking ground and an amusement hall. The minibar had just warm drinks, the cooling system did not functioned. The shower cubicle had a technical problem. No air conditioning.

    Close to the station.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    The location which is near the train station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing much

    The location which is near the train station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Great Location - 2min from the train station, 10 to the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Location - 2min from the train station, 10 to the center Kind and helpful personnel, good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Nice Location, helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice Location, helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.7
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a particularly interesting location, and near to railway station. The area looked very industrial.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Only stayed one night, so not a lot to say.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only stayed one night, so not a lot to say. Everything went smoothly, clean rooms and building, no complaints. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Great hotel and service!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N.A.

    Excellent stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely friendly staff, spotlessly clean!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long que at check out, could have done with another person at known busy periods.

    Lovely friendly staff, spotlessly clean!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.5
    I like more kind of cheeses and more
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Any things

    I like more kind of cheeses and more

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.5
    Satisfactory
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our room was not cleaned after the first night.

    Very comfortable beds good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.8
    Very comfy bed, clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfy bed, clean room. Good choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.3
    Very traditional hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is too old.

    This is cost effective.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    4.6
    Good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Parking, slow wi-fi, no pleasant staff. Noisy place beside the street and rail station.

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.2
    It was all good except the way people that work in the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was all good except the way people that work in the kitchen during the breakfast time were treated by their manager.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    8.3
    Wifi So So very slow
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi So So very slow

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    8.3
    just right near train station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed is too small and soft

    just right near train station

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.1
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The white curtains that let too much light entering in the room while sleeping.

    The service and the breakfast, the parking space.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    9.6
    Best location with easy assess to city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain

    The location, excellent! Cleanliness, fab! Breakfast, V.good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    10
    Helpful staff, well appointed room, excellent breakfast and a short walk to town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    8.8
    Some cold food should be available at night when you're...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some cold food should be available at night when you're coming in, just in case you would not go out to nearby restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    8.8
    Just about everything was great & good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Was advertised as free parking, but the parking spots are limited. If they are all full then you have to pay 7EUR per day at the parking garage across the street.

    Just about everything was great & good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    5.8
    Dinner buffet reasonable with good choice.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Dinner service a disaster area. Arrived late with a delegation of seven. Went to the dining room to be told that only booked groups were served. Finally seated but received very poor service. Asked if we want anything to drink and when ordered told to wait. Tables not set and told not to remove knives or forks from set tables (for breakfast) We are not used to eating with our hands! All should have been told to us on check in.

    Dinner buffet reasonable with good choice.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    8.8
    Hotel located next to railway station which is ideal for...
    • Family with older children

    Nothing!

    Hotel located next to railway station which is ideal for travelling by rail! Very helpful front desk staff, comfortable and very clean room and good quality breakfast. Walking distance to town centre.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I forgot my shaver, but the hotel doesn't have any neither... bum!

    Great location. Two minutes walk from train station. The included breakfast is very nice also! The hotel provides free bus tickets, which I found very convenient. It was a bit cold the first day I got there, and they don't seem to provide room heating yet (as of Oct 16th). The weather got warmer afterwards, so it didn't become an issue.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.5
    Spotlessly clean good hot/cold breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No air conditioning (much needed during stay) Took 15 minutes to check out as both card readers were causing problems despite the young ladies repeated attempts. Not acceptable at a hotel of this standing.

    Spotlessly clean good hot/cold breakfast. Near the train station

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    6.5
    I was there for a conference and I chose this hotel for its...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff barely speaks English, which is unacceptable for a 4* hotel. They had several internet hotshots available but none were working on the room, except the paid T-mobile one. Also, they somehow managed to charge my card twice. It was fixed but it still is highly inconvenient.

    I was there for a conference and I chose this hotel for its location, close to the conference venue. And I'm sorry I did.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    7.5
    Location close to train station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Internet speed is unaccpetable. They were asking to connectio to Telekom Hotspot in order to have a better speed and pay 4.50€.

    Location close to train station

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    8.3
    perfect location for short period traveling
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    perfect location for short period traveling

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    9.2
    new and bright
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    new and bright easy free wifi access

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    7.9
    Walking distance to railway station and city centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Tea/coffee facilities in the room

    Walking distance to railway station and city centre. Good breakfast. Quiet.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    7.9
    Close to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Close to the train station. Great buffet breakfast. Room was very quiet. I had no problems connecting to the wifi.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    7.5
    Good location, much light in all rooms, very quiet
    • Couple

    The shower was not perfect,

    Good location, much light in all rooms, very quiet

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    6.3
    near the station and confortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    near the station and confortable

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    7.9
    Clean rooms, clean bathroom, good breakfast great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    wifi sucks, if you want a good wifi u have to pay 5 eur per 24 hours

    Clean rooms, clean bathroom, good breakfast great location

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    7.5
    Location close to train
    • Couple

    No dependable wifi connections

    Location close to train

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    10
    Super friendly and helpful staff, free parking, great...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Super friendly and helpful staff, free parking, great location, awesome breakfast room

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    7.5
    Super nice staffs, Overall clean and comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The Internet Connection was bad

    Super nice staffs, Overall clean and comfortable rooms

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    7.1
    -Very good Breakfast
    • Solo traveller

    Only soap in bathroom (for 4 stars I expect one way shaver etc)

    -Very good Breakfast -Bahn bonus points

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    8.8
    Next to the train station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The curtains do not mask the light from outside

    Next to the train station Comfortable rooms

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    7.1
    Good location, close to station and 5 minutes walk from...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-fi so slow as to be unusable.

    Good location, close to station and 5 minutes walk from centre of town. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    9.2
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Location

There are also 40 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: