Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of IntercityHotel Hamburg Hauptbahnhof This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Glockengießerwall 14/15, Hamburg Altstadt, 20095 Hamburg, Germany

#124 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2428 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    location is great, just 2 mins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    location is great, just 2 mins. walk to main station, room no air con. friday and saturday noisy outside when open window for fresh air, room is ok size, price is very expensive may be due to world trithalon event. Breakfast is okay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Great Hotel with perfect location for a good price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location location location and this location is perfect for a weekend Hamburg! 10 minute walk and you are in the centre of Hamburg. Rooms are good, staff very helpfull.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.9
    Good location for business trips. Quite room. Big room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room cleaning. Had some little surprises i didn't want to see in my room or some things were not refreshed in my room.

    Quick respond to everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Quick & easy check-in.
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quick & easy check-in. Room was also available just after noon. Optimal location, with the main station just a minutes walk away. Despite the proximity to the station was very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were so uncomfortable. They were just a loose pile of feathers. No neck support whatsoever.

    The proximity to the main station was wonderful. It was exactly what I was looking for. Affordable, modern, clean room. Their breakfast also had a great selection.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast didn't have much options!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast didn't have much options! For example there were no veggie or even scrambled eggs! I do not eat ham and there were only options with ham! :(

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Convenient stay at a nice hotel close to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel did not offer complimentary breakfast like most other Intercity Hotels. 17 Euro is outrages for a meal.

    Nice clean hotel, large bathroom and comfortable beds. Free WiFi and city transport pass and close proximity to the train station and fine restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location just by the railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe somewhat expensive comparedto other hotels even though top central location.

    Perfect location just by the railway station. Modern and comfortble. Good breakfast. Good space in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Quick and enjoyable sight seeing trip to Hamburg made easier by free and easy to use transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no tea and coffee facilities in the room or the reception area and we were informed we had to go to the bar to get a hot drink at night....which we didn’t do. The air conditioning was very noisy in the room but it could be turned off after a phone call each night to reception.

    Great location being close to the main train station and close to the shopping area but still very quiet in our room. Liked being able to open a bedroom window at night. Loved the free public transport passes we got when we checked in. Liked having a mini bar in the room and a restaurant on site.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Really central, clean, polite, tickets for public transport included. Very satisfied!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Really really really central location. Tickets for public transports included. Polite reception, let us leave our baggage for some hours after checkout, so to take advantage of the spare time before returning home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Hotel is in great location, hotel also provide the guest...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no water cooking pot in the room.

    Hotel is in great location, hotel also provide the guest with transportation card for free which is valid for bus, tram, and metro

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Would recommend, very good
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked where bars and restaurants were when we got there and were told there was only one called Alex's nearby, yet we discovered two days later that the old town area is just across the road and is abundant with nightlife.

    Location, good breakfast, nice staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Reception staff were incredibly helpful as we had a number...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Reception staff were incredibly helpful as we had a number of occasions to ask them things. Room on top floor was excellent with a good view towards the station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.8
    Would return on another business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds could have been a little more comfortable. The bathroom was also quite small. Wi-Fi didn't always cooperate. The breakfast was not included in the room price like most of the hotels.

    Loved the very quiet room. It was very clean and modern. Location was superb, as it is very centrally located and you can walk to everything. They also provide an unlimited transit pass for free with your stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    4.5
    Never again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedding it dreadful - pillows are completely flat and the duvet is too thin and too short for the bed. Very uncomfortable. Heating/cooling duct is located on the wall right beside (not above) the bed and the fan makes a lot of noise. Coffee was undrinkable at breakfast - had to have tea.

    Convenient to the station, nothing else.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.8
    Work in Hamburg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom is quite underwhelming but this is not a show stopper. The breakfast if not included is too expensive, there are better options around at a walking distance.

    The location is perfect and the free local public transport that comes with it amounts to a discount for me and saves me from standing in line at the travel centre in the train station. I like this hotel because it makes my business trip easier.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.8
    Clean comfy room in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t like down pillows so a fluffy alternative would have been nice.

    The breakfast was very nice and the drinks at the bar in the evening were good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Great location & nice hotel. Would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is perfect for what it is, which is a conveniently located place to sleep that provides easy access to the city of Hamburg & what it has to offer. Comfy bed, quiet room (Couldn't hear any other noise, including traffic) & reasonable price. Room was clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows are terrible and offer zero support. The room was cold despite having the thermostat turned up. Staff paid no attention to my request I added on Booking.com, had to adk them to move us to another room.

    It's clean, and very convenient for access to the station and shops

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is very good located in close vicinity of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is too expensive, compairing the hotel price.

    The hotel is very good located in close vicinity of the cetral railwaystation. Friendly staff and claen room, which, even being a little bit small, makes very good impression. From the hotel you can easily raech the city center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.2
    Good Short City Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I didn't like was the pillow. However that is down to personal preference. I would of preferred a second pillow, however I never asked for a second (My fault). I'm sure they would of provided one if I had asked.

    Arrived very late due to a delayed flight (3 hours), however after travelling from the Airport to the Central Train Station on the S-Bahn, the hotel was very conveniently placed next to the station. Check in was quick and the staff were lovely, ideal after a long journey. The hotel is very central. It was only a small walk to the centre and the Rathaus. However the U-Bahn is very close, which gives quick and cheap access to the rest of the city if you don't wish to walk. Importantly they provide a card that allows for free U-Bahn and Bus travel during your stay. The Room was big enough for myself, clean and ideal for a short city break. The hotel room was what you would expect for a 3 star hotel (Advertised as a 4). Mini Bar is available in the room. There are many TV channels. Mostly German Speaking TV Channels. However there are some Channels in other international languages. I didn't use the restaurant or book breakfast (There is a bakery across the road...) but I did take advantage of the on site bar on the night I arrived (Service was very good). Overall the hotel was good value for money, providing everything for a small city break or business stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced; wouldn’t rate hotel 4 stars, 3 star more appropriate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very basic, head board in room 509 was ripped bathroom is quite dated. The shower cubicle in the room was very dirty with mould and dried scum in the corners. That said we only spent time in the room to sleep at night because there is lots to see and do in Hamburg. We didn’t use the restaurant but wanted to get drinks from the bar on two separate occasion. New Year’s Day the bar was closed all night, and 02/01/18 at 22:10 the bar was closed as it is only open until 22:00

    Great location - city centre and across the road from train station. Helpful friendly staff - we arrived early and they allowed us to check in at 10:30am. Brilliant Views from the roof top terrace of the train station and Outer Alster Lake. Surprisingly quiet for central location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    Overall a great balance of price vs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle and possibilities for tea and coffee would definitely be helpful. Still the lady at the reception was very kind and gave us a water heater. As other reviews stated, the pillows are quite flat. Bath towels quite small.

    Overall a great balance of price vs.location and hotel facilities, compared to other hotels in the area. Very clean and tidy with all the basics you would need (without additional extras) at a lovely location - 15 min walking from the Rathouse and just round the Central Railway Station. The free public transport card is a great bonus. I would definitely recommend the hotel if you are looking for a lovely hotel, at a great location for a reasonable price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.5
    the location is really center~ 2 mins walking from the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was too dry during night when sleeping and beds were not really comfortable

    the location is really center~ 2 mins walking from the main train station and easy access to u-bahn subway

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.8
    Great city break hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t have breakfast but for €17 a head it would have had to have been pretty spectacular! Good coffee shop directly opposite where pastries and coffee were €7 for two!

    Great city break hotel. Really liked the little extras like free travel around the city. Comfortable room and helpful staff. Brilliant location near all tourist attractions and Christmas markets.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.2
    It was stupendous!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing I can think of!!!!

    The convenient location of the Hotel to Hamburg's many facitities and attractions, plus it was excellent value for money. We shall certainly visit the hotel again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Great holiday, would stay at this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a great stay. Hotel was ideally situated for the station and the Christmas markets. Very friendly and helpful staff, especially the lady behind the bar in the evenings.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    The air conditioning aspect will definitely make me think twice about booking here again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were not able to get the air conditioning to work despite asking for this every day of our stay. It was warmer than normal in Hamburg for this time of the year and this made it very uncomfortable. I ended up sleeping with the window open most of the time and that meant that traffic noise was problematic. On one of the evenings the main hotel bar was closed and there were no options other than to go back out again.

    The hotel is clean and functional and well situated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    Staff was great, really helped us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room could be better. Though clean, it was rather small and showed quite evident signs of use. For the money I paid I expected something much better.

    Staff was great, really helped us. They even provided free public transport tickets for the whole period of our stay. Location really convinient, next or within walking distance to almost everything. Undergroung station a few steps from hotel entrance. Heated parking at the basement, ausome. Nice breakfast, great coffee.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast ok, otherwise not really satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Understaffed- room very cold and we had to wait for desk person to get off to bring blankets- which were too dust to use - have allergies. Sh did bring one duvet which helped. Bar open per website at noon, but really not open until 6pm

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    Good value, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You get what you pay for, this is a no frills hotel but no so basic that you can't appreciate anything they offer.

    Basic room, clean enough. Only stayed 1 night but served its purpose well. Great location, nice bakeries and coffee shops in close proximity. Staff very helpful. Upon arrival received a free travel pass for as long as your stay, trains, underground, so proved to be even better value than initially thought.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent room and location, other factors vary
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If the in-house restaurant gets crowded with tour groups, the quality of the service declines, as they seem understaffed and overworked. I walked out of the restaurant one night, they were too busy to serve me. On another night, the service was very slow even by local standards. There are only two elevators in the lobby, they're also very slow, I and others ended up using the stairs most of the time.

    Very convenient location near the railway station and Kunsthalle. The room was excellent, very clean and quiet. Wifi wasn't incredibly fast, but it was sufficient -- I was on the third floor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.2
    Close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows too soft - seems to be a northern German 'thing'.

    The room was clean and had everything I needed, including a small fridge. Good view of all six Hamburg steeples important in the history of the city and across the hall from an outdoor patio with another great view. Two short blocks to the Binnenalster, minutes from shopping and three minutes walk to the train station. Good U-bahn links.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    The hotel provides unlimited city public transport tickets...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was just acceptable. A cleaning lady was very rude to me. I told this to Reception and the reply was just "OK" and without apology.

    The hotel provides unlimited city public transport tickets for 2 days (for one night stay) Very nice location. 5 minutes walk to main train station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel in a central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is in a very central location. Easy to get around and a 2 minute walk to the central station making it very easy to get to from the airport. The hotel provide you with a free travel card to use on the trains and busses which is ideal. Plenty of shops and places to eat near the hotel. Hotel was clean and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing and definitely not 4 star!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very basic - think Premier Inn - and I was puzzled at the 4 star rating. No nice toiletries just basic do-it-all shower and hand wash. Air conditioning wasn't working, we reported it and they said they'd fix it or move us, but did neither of those things. No facilities for tea/coffee. Very disappointing.

    Free pass for public transport.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.3
    Functional hotel but lacks charm
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The AC didnt work very well. It's a hotel with no extra frills. The breakfast was very basic. Hotel lacked any character.

    Great location, just near shops and station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    The fact that the hotel belongs to Deutsche Bahn gave us the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Cleanliness. We stayed for seven nights and only had our sheets changed the night before we left! Hair (not ours) in the bathroom! Pillows were very soft and low. We asked for a second pair and they still weren't sufficient.

    The fact that the hotel belongs to Deutsche Bahn gave us the oportunity to use public transport (trains, buses and even ferries) for free!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Plus Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only small negative is that since the hotel is beside a rather busy street, then some of the noise from traffic might disturb some light sleepers.

    The hotel is located near the central train station and only a short walking distance to city centre. All the shops are conveniently close, and eating options are abundant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.8
    very well located to enjoy Hamburg's urban spirit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bed mattresses and pillows are too soft some old smell in the duvet and pillows could be one big duvet for double bed wifi signal weak; need to constantly reconnect

    the hotel provides you with a free pass for the public transport for the duration of your stay ! Perfect location close to the hauptbanhof, the museums, the St Georg area, the Alster lakes and the city centre (Alt and Neustadt), easy to go anywhere further with public transport, very professional and friendly staff, room very functional,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    very good hotel with very helpful cheerful stuff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 7 nights

    small room

    stuff was very good always cheerful and helpful. room was quite as requested . big nice terrace on the 8th floor. room service do a good job location is suburb

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.1
    Great location and staff. Need different beds!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 1 night

    The problem we had was that the beds were very uncomfortable. We stayed 3 nights and every morning we woke up with terrible back aches. We'd been traveling for several weeks and didn't have that experience at any other time. Actually felt better the next night after flying all night in economy!

    The location was wonderfully located convenient and clean. The staff were friendly and pleasant and the rooms were very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.3
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 2 nights

    unfortunately the day we were leaving there was a problem with hot water. we couldn't take a shower. Also a kettle would be great, since we had to heat food for baby.

    great location. near to hamburg hauptbahnhof and to the center (Rathaus). They gave us free ticket for in-city travel by public tranportations. near the hotel there was a nice place for breakfast named campus and a bio-burger place for dinner etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.8
    Location just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For breakfast they asked for 16 ERU - exaggerated, it is just double of what other Hotels in Hamburg are asking

    Location, Location Location. - Just perfect place. nice room and nice team

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel in downtown Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was not included in the deal as we booked through booking.com and not directly through the hotel

    Excellent location> Pleasant and helpful staff> Great breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    5.8
    Up market hostel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is more like an up market hostel. I had a single bed, very small pillow and pretty much nothing more. Really not worth £150.00/night...and no breakfast included!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.9
    When we visit Hamburg, we shall stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our second stay at this centrally located hotel in Hamburg. The staff already had everything ready for booking in by the time we had reached the reception desk. We were early, but our were not ready. The hotel offered to look after our luggage whilst we explored Hamburg and its huge harbour.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.9
    We shall stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly welcome and the staff are very helpful. This hotel is a business style hotel that is centrally located in Hamburg just across the road from the main railway station. We did have a nice surprise — the hotel provided tickets to use the excellent public transport system in Hamburg so we had no problem getting around, once we had worked out where we were going to go.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    A Nice Hotel to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although its position did not worry my wife and I, it is worth bearing in mind it is about 15 to 20 minutes easy walk from the railway station, (if you don't like walking). If you are looking for an air-conditioned hotel this is not for you, even with the fan supplied in the height of the summer the top floor rooms may prove too hot.

    My wife and I liked the position, being close to the river and walks. The staff were friendly and the room was very clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.1
    Intercity Hotel Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Plus Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is presented as having a terrace on the top floor, in fact there are no tables there and no chairs, this isn't a terrace where you can go an drink or eat something. The hotel doesn't have any place for smokers, if you are unlucky and all the smokers rooms are booked, you must go outside. The elevators were out of order for most of time (8 days), not all the time, for a hotel with 8 floors and 155 rooms I find this unpleasent. There are no cosmetics in the bathroom except a all in one body and hair washing soap, for a 4 star hotel I expected something more. I have stayed in the business plus room, so the most elegant of the hotel, however the sofa was dirty. The room was quite noisy because of the street traffic, if you open the window.

    The location is great, near the central station with a good connection with subway, you have a lot of shops nearby and the townhall is 7-10 min walking distance apart. The free card for the transport is a plus. The breakfast was good. The minibar for the business plus room I have booked was free. Free wireless.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Superb and a feeling of being home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Plus Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The added benefits of travel card to use public transport is excellent and make travel easy around the city expecially for site seeing. Access to the Hotel is very good

    The staff was great and friendly and arrangements via booking.com was efficient

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    4.2
    The location as it is near the metro
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast ls too poor Bathroom are not equipped in accessoires No signage is available "do not disturb"

    The location as it is near the metro

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    4.6
    Before I left, I went to the room at about 12 PM to prepare...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Before I left, I went to the room at about 12 PM to prepare my staff and all rooms were open on the floor and one technical person was cleaning AC filter. It was very inconvenient to see a stranger in my room because I left everything scattered, my laptop, my wallet Ets was also in the room. Not professional

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.3
    Very convenient location for transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there was no in room tea/coffee making facility. We got back late each night and would have liked to have been able to make ourselves a cup of tea before bed.

    The bathroom was the best feature. Having an enclosed shower cubicle, a lovely big vanity and basin with good lighting, and it was very clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    5.4
    Basic hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Plus Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic small room, king bed was 2 singles pushed together, missing amenities like ironing board and face washers,no power points in the bathroom no USB charger points, bathroom is in a cupboard like room, no bath

    Location was good close to great places to eat and station

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.9
    Location is great and they give you the week ticket for public transport which is fantastic!
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit expensive but guess it's normal for central area

    Location is great and they give you the week ticket for public transport which is fantastic!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    6.7
    Rather disappointing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had only ventilation and no heating even though temperatures outside were near 0 in the night. The ventilation was too noisy and there was no tern off button. Cleaning was problematic. My pillowcase have the same stands throught out my 10 day stay, which shows that they did not change them! For a 4star hotel a room safe is must these days, but this one did not have. The TV set was very small. It was rather a PC monitor not a TV.

    The location was very convenient.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing about the hotel, just the fact that we went on a bank holiday so there wasn't much open

    The beds were extremely comfortable and rooms were very clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    8.8
    Tidy & Convenienent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from facility (could not Identify what't that but maybe air conditioner ) in the room

    Good hospitality of front staffs I could use the room immediately, although it was before checkin time.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Friendly hotel and excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing to dislike at price point and facilities offered

    location for exploring Hamburg is excellent and quiet - despite being on a main road - staff very friendly and the room rate included a weekend travel pass for the Hamburg area so no additional fare costs for public transport. Very useful baggage storage facility on check out until ready to leave Hamburg

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location approximately 300m from central station. Quick and efficient check in to a clean modern hotel. The staff were all very polite and friendly. Will definitely book again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    6.7
    poor service as a 4 stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 1 night

    dirt was found on towel on arrival. I have put the Do Not Disturb sign outside my room but cleaner kept knocking the door on the check-out morning,cleaner doesn't speak English that took a long discussion to let her leave the room. I have reflected this to front desk but didn't get a prompt apology ( the staff mentioned I should have call frontdesk to request for do not disturb notice, what's the idea of hanging the door sign then?) arrival was Sunday and only one staff was available at the front desk, busy front desk and a bit of the wait. it's all good if it's not listed as 4 star

    perfect location, good bargain for the location and free city tickets

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic stay in Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were a little rude as I booked the wrong type of double. However they resolved the issue and we had a wonderful stay.

    The hotel location was fantastic this allowed me to walk to most locations. On top of this the hotel hand out free travel pass.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    9.2
    Top location, slow internet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 4 nights

    to charge 8 € per day for a high speed internet access is not acceptable (the free low speed access was unusable)

    Location was top, close to main station, business district and restaurants

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    9.2
    Everything else especially the location and cleanliness...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unstable wifi. User has to sign up (with room number and name) again every time the wifi is disconnected. No auto reconnection.

    Everything else especially the location and cleanliness standard.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable hotel in the centre of the city
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather more generous towels in the bathroom at this price!

    Perfectly decent hotel opposite the railway station, but not especially good value. Delightful staff though!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable hotel at a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet wasn't entirely clean when entering the room. The restaurant wasn't good value for money. Expensive and average at best.

    The bed was very nice. The shower and other facilities where good. The staff was professional and mostly friendly and helpful. The location is ideal with the Hauptbahnhof across street.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.8
    centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 1 night

    the internet was stone-age slow.

    excellent location, very close to the central station. we arrive at 8 am early in the morning and still the checked us in with no extra charge.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    5.8
    If you're travelling by train it makes sense
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms facing the street aren't really sound proof since you can easily hear cars driving by (and they do at all hours of the day). In order to get a quiet room, we had to pay an extra fee to get a room facing away from the road. That room faced towards reconstruction work on the other side of the yard.

    It's the quintessential 3 star hotel but is slightly more costly. Location is good and bad. A little dodgy around the train station if you're a woman traveler but for a guy it's not an issue.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    2.9
    I do not recommend it at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower did not work well and the bathroom had a terrible odor!! The restaurant was closed when I arrived and the day after at 2:00 pm I asked for room service and they only had coffee to offer me, the restaurant was closed again and not even a cookie to eat. The worst: I asked for a late check-out (only 1 hour later) and the man at the front desk not only deny it to me but he was not nice at all. It seemed that I was asking him for something out of this world or even for something weird because his reaction was terrible and I asked in a very nice way.

    Actually, I did not like something very much that I can tell. Its location maybe but it does not compensate the bad things it has.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    7.9
    Meine Reise nach Hamburg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was misled in thinking breakfast was included in what I prepaid for the room, so €17 per person for flakes and tea was a huge and unwelcome surprise - eine ungeheure Überraschung!

    Corn flakes must always be Kellogg's from Battle Creek . . . But I loved my window view from the room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was building work behind the hotel which our room was facing. It was very noisy during the day and they had an early start 7.30 am. I think we should have been warned and would have requested a room facing the street.

    Very convenient for the main train station, shops and the Christmas markets. Comfy warm rooms. Very helpful staff. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    5.4
    dissapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed was terrible room boiling hot. If window open couldn't sleep for the noise. There was a mix up with my booking. Staff blaming. Booking. Com. I put two person s in the box they said only one was booking. They charged me an extra € 60 I'm not happy. John. Laurenson

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    9.2
    A good room rate, very clean, convenient for train station,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't get the AC to switch off overnight so I had this background noise whilst trying to sleep. It was only until the next morning that I saw a sticker near the window handle that said the AC will switch off when the window is open.

    A good room rate, very clean, convenient for train station, Jungfernsteig area & the Kunsthalle is directly opposite.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    6.3
    Lacks creature comforts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Public Transport Ticket Included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels of very poor quality and very small. No toiletries- dispenser with combined shampoo and body wash of dubious quality. Beds were very uncomfortable and only 2 pillows on double bed. Wifi was inconsistent and complicated. Old fashioned step up shower cubicle with badly closing doors - sufficient but unsuitable for older people.

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse IntercityHotel Hamburg Hauptbahnhof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: