Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ivbergs Hotel Messe Nord 3 stars

Neue Kantstr. 2, Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf, 14057 Berlin, Germany

#414 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 495 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no fridge in the bedroom, so if you want to stay more than 3 days it might be a problem.

    Very clean and comfortable room. The staff is gentle and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    190 euros per night for a room that neither has a small fridge or even the ability to order room service, but only provides a vending machine for water, soft drinks etc, is not what you call value for money. Imagine that I arrived late (23:30), and the employee at the reception suggested that I go to the opposite of the street if I wanted something to eat or drink... Also, smell of the rooms could be improved (smelled like mould), extremely worn out towels (you could see on the other side). Breakfast ok.

    Proximity to Berlin Messe

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is not comfortable to sleep, double room, a bed, the bed is two mattresses together, the middle is always separated, hoping to improve

    The room is cleaned very clean every day

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    These are all small things but make it clear why this is three star hotel and not four. There was no minibar or mini fridge in the room so you can't keep anything you buy cold. Toilet and shower / wash basin are separated to two different small rooms. Some might like this some might not. Shower head spreads water to multiple small streams and is thus not so comfortable.

    Not too far from the U2 line metro station so you can easily reach all basic Berlin sights with just one metro line while staying close to the airport. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Front desk was helpful and we got our room 30 minutes before the indicated check in time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were bad (My back was the touching the last spring of the bad. My back is still hurting from it) The room was so small, it could only fit the bed. There was no space for luggage. If we keep the luggage on the floor, we couldn't open the door. The toilet was separate from wash basin and bath, its a good, thing, but there was no wash basin to wash your hands in there. The lift could only fit 2 people with 2 bags and nothing else, literally nothing else.

    The lady in the reception Natalia was excellent. She helped us in all our queries with regards to local transport, finding best exchange and Prague trip. She went out of her way to find the travel details for Prague, provide printouts and also gave us detailed information on the local transportation. She was very friendly and very warm-hearted. She was the only best part of the hotel. Thank you Natalia.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Today, when internet is like tap water (it's everywhere and cheap), it's strange to ask extra money for it. And the price of the hotel was pretty high. So I used my smart phone like hotspot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every morning from 8am house keeping kept trying to get into the room even though we had the notice to do not disturb on door. The last morning was the worst. 4 times the tried to gain entry even though check out was 12. When we eventually left room at 11.15. They were standing at our door waiting for is to leave. Very annoying. Had 2 family members also stay in the hotel and their experience was same

    Clean and functional for a short stay. Handy commute to city centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed is a bit hard and pillows were super thin, but that was the only thing that bothered me for the whole stay.

    What you'd expect from a 3 star hotel. Nothing special but had what you need. Room was large and shower was powerful and that's pretty much all I ask. Breakfast was lovely as well and I'm not normally one for continental breakfast buffets.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location easy access to main underground stations which have direct links to the airport and other city attractions. Staff friendly. Rooms small but clean comfortable and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    IT was overall very good stay.. very near to ZOB station.. bus stop just in front of hotel.. cleanliness was also very good... infect everything was perfect for me.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We may have been lucky with the room allocation (top floor, with balcony) but the value was incredible for the money (large rooms, very good amenities). The staff was also extremely friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn't have a fridge which was very very bad because we bought food for breakfast. I think that the breakfast too expensive namely €10 per person per night . Also one lowlight is the fact that you need to pay for the Wi-Fi namely 10 euro per day or per hour I think. The first hour is free but you need to stay in the lobby .

    We stayed at the 4th floor which is very nice. The bed is big, the room as well. It is nice that the toilet was separate from the shower.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - there was a real lack of teapot in the room - payed wifi in 21st century is really dissapointing - sometimes personnel behaved not very professionall - no shelves to put your clothes on - not enough power sockets to charge all the gadgets, have to have own socket tree

    - room is clean and comfortable enough - enough of towels - it's quiet even being near the road - the location is really good - it's close to central bus station and to U-Bahn and S-Bahn - there is a supermarket which is open till 11pm - taxi usually comes within 3 minutes - personnel is friendly and tries to help

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff were extremely unhelpful. Fortunately they worked shifts and you would wait for a shift change and have chances of a friendly person.

    Very clean and easy access to all public transport. Spacious room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel is very over priced for what it offers. My room was quite small and basic with hard towels. No tea/coffee or iron in the room (not unusual for Germany). Breakfast buffet is very ordinary: cheap cereal, milk warm by being left standing, scrambled eggs cooked until hard.

    Easy walk to lots of good and inexpensive Vietnamese and other restaurants nearby. Also short walk to the train station.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi which is a must in any hotel. No hotel parking Toilet in the room is separate from the hand wash basin

    Rooms were comfortable and clean Hotel was clean and staff friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff not very friendly. Have to pay for wifi. No bar on premises. Tv did not have any none German channels.

    Breakfast was good. Enough choice. Staff were nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast surpassed all expectations with an exceptional service from the team of waiters and waitresses plus an excellent array of cooked and cold foods. From breads and pastries to healthy delicious cereals especially the Ivberg's special oat breakfast. Hot boils or scrambled eggs, bacon, smoked salmon ...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not friendly personal at reception. Charging 10 EUR deposit for second key. Reception made documents for wrong name and I haven't check before left the hotel. When I've found at home that name is wrong, and asked them to make documents with correct name, and they requested to send me original documents by regular mail (takes few weeks) and informed that they are not working with scans. Finally I haven’t resolved this issue, because by our legislation all claims must be submitted in 2 days after trip. Just lost the cost of this hotel from my expense.

    Location not far away from IFA (25 minutes by legs).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of free WiFi right now is a drawback. We travelled by bike and they had no bike storage facilities - we were told to leave the bikes outside.

    The location kf the hotel is really good - it's not centric, but a 15-20min from the centre using Sbahn. Tye staff was very friendly, the room was clean and cosy - great value for money!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No 24 hour English news channel available on TV. (needs to be one of BBC/Sky/CNN/France24 )

    Quiet despite being on main road. Lots of bars and cafe's in easy reach. Two UBhan lines within 5 minutes. 1 hour free wi-fi per day.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy on the shift when we checked in was acting strange - we wanted to pay for parking as soon as we arrived (23:30), but he was in a hurry somewhere and said he would call us in an hour (!!!) so we can come down to pay for it. He did call around 00:30, and asked if we could come down to pay for the parking then (???) - if he did not want the money when we checked in, surely he could have waited till the morning and let us sleep?

    Convenient location near the underground

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy. Street traffic could be heard through windows, neighbors could be heard through walls.

    Very good value deal. Everything was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Great deal for your money. Nice people. Great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, with very comfortable beds, great price and delicious breakfast. I plan to stay there again during my next trip to Berlin.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WLAN did not want to work

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice city borough, lot of cool restaurants and bars, near to city train. Place to park a car free of charge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the bed. I've got allergy or something

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    this is a above average hotel and good value for money, now with wifi everywhere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The most friendly and attentive staff i have ever seen. Also very nice view from the window

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in

    The check in process was delayed and probmatic meaning a late arrival at a business meeting later that evening.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have a toilet down stairs in reception

    The bed was comfy room was very clean and tidy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities in rooms, pillows very uncomfortable/flat!

    Breakfast was nice!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Csnnot turn on the air conditioner.

    The room is clean and tidy. Washroom and bathroom is separate.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not a very big hotel... definately not a three star...

    Good Breakfast menu.. great choices overall.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, a bit far from points of interest, bud good transportation. Bus stop 2 min away.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price

    Cleaness

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there's no free wi-fi

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    to paid wifi this is not normal

    everithing is good there

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for wifi? We don't live in the 90's anymore.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location friendly stuff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thy did not allow my brother to get in because he is not germany

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For us only inconvenience was that there wasn't kettle in the room.

    Very clean room, comfortable bed, helpful staff and close to Berlin center.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    make sure to ask for a room on the back side, up front is a very noisy street

    close to bus services, restaurants; value for money

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No WIFI connection

    Comfortable bed, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wifi to speak of, about time they sorted this out.

    Stayed here before, I like charlottenburg and surrounding shops. Hotel is above average.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tea, coffee and WI-FI in the room would improve the overall experience

    Great location for exploring the west

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff weren't very helpful regarding our travel options on a bank holiday

    Rooms were fine and there was a bus stop right outside the hotel with regular services into town

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No internet?! R U Serious?! and for the price this should at least include breakfast. Not to mention the front desk lady was very unkind and wouldn't even give me a decent place to unpack after 12:00.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    due to winter time and the missing radiator the room was rather cold and there were no means to control the room temperature (except air conditioning) breakfast looks nice, but it is too expensive for what is offered

    acceptable room in the ground floor well equipped

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Big, spacious rooms for such little money! This hotel offers both luxury and value for money. The beds are comfortable and the facilities are quiet enough to get a good nights sleep. Staff are friendly and helpful. And if that's not enough, breakfast is included in the price! The location is also fantastic, 10 minutes walk to the nearest station, 2 minutes on the tube and you're in among the action!

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very strange that they have such a small luggage room and when we reached around 1.5 hours before check-in time, we requested to keep our two medium sized back-packs. Wonder!!, reply was 'Luggage room is full'. Due to this we had to roam with our luggage until evening we came back to Hotel. Staff was not that helpful as expected. Location - Fair enough, it is close to Berlin ZOB Busbahnof. S+U Bahnof, you have to travel a bit further.

    Rooms are comfortable

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    * We didn't get a child bed during our first night at the hotel (despite it was requested in advance). Stuff was not helpful, but very arrogant. * Elevator was not working. * Even if it works, it is not that helpful of you are with stroller, since there is stairs beforebthr elevator.

    Location is nice, especially during Christmas Mark season.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great value for money! This hotel was a little way out of central Berlin, but was less than a 5 minute walk from 2 S/U-bahn stations with easy and regular access to all tourist attractions. Charlottenburg is a lovely area with plenty of shops and amenities. The staff at the hotel were most welcoming and friendly. My room was small but comfortable, it was very clean and had a private bathroom and TV. As a solo female traveller on a budget I felt safe and would happily stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Receptionists seemed unapproachable. For breakfast there were no gluten free or vegan options other then a small selection of fruit and mixed vegetables.

    The room was nice and clean. The towels were changed daily and Breakfast was cleanly laid out

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only one chair in bedroom no English Channel on TV such as BBC World.

    Excellent breakfast and Receptionist Natalia was very helpful. Close for bus and S-Bahn

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's quite basic. It would have been nice to have a kettle in the room

    The hotel is on the street and not too far from the UBahn and very near a regular bus service

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no free (room) internet. Only free internet in the lobby AND only for the first hour! IF I had known this I would have selected a different hotel. very small rooms. no parking. Only parking on the street kind of loud rooms at night... bc the hotel is located on a busy Berlin street.

    clean rooms

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was ok but next time I will stay at Motel One down the street, yes twice the price but better location and modern. Staff was cardboard faced, no personality. Check in was FIRM at 2pm even though I arrived at 11am. Didn't realize I had to pay extra for internet in my room. Super tiny room but hey the price was right. Don't think I'll stay here again.

    This was my first time in Berlin, value was certainly there. Even though my room was the size of a matchbox, it was very clean.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Single room is very small. No wifi in rooms.

    Very close to Messe (4-5 minutes of walk). There are markets and breakfast places around. Ubahn =>7-8 minutes, Sbahn=>4 minutes of walk.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Single room is very small. No wifi in rooms.

    Very close to Messe (4-5 minutes of walk). There are markets and breakfast places around. Ubahn =>7-8 minutes, Sbahn=>4 minutes of walk.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room service entered the room around 9:30am while I was still sleeping and disturbed me.

    I had a room with the view to the garden which was very quiet. Reception people very friendly on arrival.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location is ok, but you need to walk a bit from a station, if coming by S-bahn; single room was very small with even smaller bathroom; no free WiFi in the room (only 1hr free WiFi in the lobby, then payment is required); overall not very cheap place, and breakfast is charged separately

    Clean place, nice surrounding with many restaurants and clubs

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No dinner options in the hotel, limited eating options in the vicinity. Free wifi was not available.

    Good staff, good breakfast options, peaceful at nights

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was no free wifi provided. You have to pay extra with your credit card.

    Clean, modern, friendly and a short easy walk passed a nice park to a train station all in a straight main road.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I liked everything about the hotel; the staff was very helpful. There are Berlin maps in the lobby, the hotel is located near many attractions - Opera, for example (which was the reason why I have chosen the hotel.) The room was very clean. Overall great impression.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A little bit cold.And no bars near here.

    Location to ITBMesse was good. It took 20minutes by walk and lake was very close. It was good for exercise and convenient to go to city town of Berlin. Staffs were very kind.Shower rain was good.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we first arrived we were greeted by an extremely rude man at the front desk who not only wasn't at his station when we got there but he had us waiting about 10 minutes until he showed up and when he did come he was not friendly or helpful

    Good Location The woman on reception was very friendly Nice Breakfast in the morning

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the service of the receptionste was very bad. on the website of booking nowhere says you have internet by hotspot, so very bad and when something is wrong the guest has to solved it themselves and cost a lot of money, but the receptioniste a lady does not do anything then saying you have to call I can't help you is your problem. and in the neighbourhood was not much of shops and restaurants so for us never again to Ivsberg.

    the room was clean and good, the breakfast was good

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very good location , S Bahn station at walkable distance to reach city attractions easily Lot of shopping options , cafe nearby Very good value for money

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WIFI is NOT for free

    Bed was great

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff a little unfriendly but that is really subjective. No real complains.

    For 47€ is was best value deal!

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    no tea facility in room

    easy location

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not an easy access to lift if you have a pushchair!

    Location, clean, serviced every day, nice view from balcony (a nice large balcony too!)

There are also 37 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Ivbergs Hotel Messe Nord traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: