Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Leipzig Am Johannisplatz This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Stephanstr. 6, Mitte, 04103 Leipzig, Germany

#49 of 90 hotels in Leipzig

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 892 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    .. but, it doesn't give you value for the money. We could have paid 100 € extra at another hotel chain and get what Mercure didn't offer. Such as no included breakfast even though a pricy room (that's 17 € extra, each person and day!) or comfortable beds (the beds here were so hard and felt suitable for a cheap hostel, not a 4 star hotel) or even good pillows (the pillows here were miserably thin and left me with neck pain) If we had paid half the price we paid for our stay, all those things would be more acceptable, but now it felt ridiculous. Sorry.

    Well, this place isn't a "bad" hotel...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some mold in the bathroom. Too Less electric plugs. No temperature control in the room. Fitness facilities are very limited.

    Lower price for vegetarian and vegan breakfast. Parking in the hotel. Very friendly staff. Very close to the Centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms are a bit outdated - style and colors from the 1990s

    you MUST have breakfast - it is awesome: huge variety of fresh products - often regionally - do not miss the honey!; within 5 min walking distance to Augustus square, quiet neighborhood, over the week-end you can easily park your car at the side walk (no expensive park garage needed); mini fridge and kettle with tea etc. available in the room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Design is a bit outdated but if you are not that much concerned by the looks, the hotel is just perfect.

    Great location, peaceful, comfortable. I could not ask for anything else.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I travelled with 3 small dogs and the fact that they had to pay 20€ per dog per night as other larger dogs wasn't fair at all. Secondly in the bar menu there was written "food 24h" but when we asked for an easy sandwich at 10.00 we were told it wasn't possible. The evening after we wanted to drink some hot tea in the bar at 11,00pm but it wasn't possible because the machine was off and it was possible to drink just cold drinks. I think a 4-star-hotel should provide these services all day long.

    The room was clean and big

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bed could be more comfortable and the pillows. Better coffee choice in the room would also be good for the price of the hotel. Staff need to be more helpful some younger ones were but the older ones not. Restaurant prices are too high which is why most people didn't eat there.

    The room was large and comfortable but the Some of the front desk staff were not terribly friendly or helpful. The food in the restaurant was excellent but terribly expensive, particularly for breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the carpet in the bedroom was not very clean and needs replacing. The pillows provided for the bed were most uncomfortable. They were too soft and the extra pillow provided was most peculiar. I should have asked at reception for better pillows

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Spacious bedrooms with plenty of hangers for clothes Breakfast great variety and well served. Breakfast included in price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast is very expensive although there is not a vriety. Although I asked for a quiet room, still it was noisy. People in bar are not friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great, comfortable bed

    We did not like the small room For one week - very dark and HOT. NO air conditioning or fan and Temp in the 30"s I had great difficulty sleeping with the heat. Staff were great - very friendly and caring in restaurant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I travelled with my mother who has to use a wheelchair temporarily. The staff was extremely helpful and did everything possible in order to make our stay as comfortable as possible. I also have to say, the breakfast was amazing! A rich selection of great quality food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Initially they gave me a room for smokers, but I complained and they changed it immediately with a superior one for free. I suggest to change all the rooms in no-smoking ones.

    I appreciated the location, the staff and the internal SPA (Palestra, Sauna, Jacuzzi bath)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym. A small 3x3 room with two machines only. You cannot consider seriously that this is a fitness room. And I chose this hotel due to the fact that the hotel has gym. It's not fair

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in the rooms is a little dated, also the interior design could use an update

    Good location, quiet, friendly staff, big room, own parking, good breakfast, practically all you need

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC! was hot in July but they kindly provided a ventilator.

    Location was great, but only for purpose of business. There are hotels much closer to city center! Room is clean and big. Breakfast is very reach and worth the money. Staff very nice

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The underground hotel parking is 13 euros per night, parking should be included in the price for guests!

    Good location and a very smart hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Would have liked air condition but a fan was provided.

    Staff very helpful.Hotel room very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it would be better if there was free bottle of drinking water

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior was old-fashioned.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The public transport is a limitless far.

    The bed is very comfortable, the breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Service, cleanliness, location, facilities all good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location close to centre. Clean room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and very old furniture and rooms

    Clean of the towels and room in general

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent parking with lot of parking places!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ni bikes available

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water pressure and temperature in shower not very stable.

    I have been here a few times. Close to the university clinic

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great breakfast but the chairs in the restaurant are very uncomfortable so we got in and out as quickly as we could.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    20 min by walk to the city center Nothing near hotel (Restaurant, supermarket) Bit old facility

    Enough Parking space(not free) Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1980's dated decor. Would like better lighting in the room and an extra pillow!

    Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Warm welcome. Walking distance from city centre.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Maybe I'd use a thicker pillow, but I haven't seen there'd one in my room, I discovered it the last day. But I don't see any real inconvenient.

    Nice hotel room, spatious, very nice free Wi-Fi, nice and helpful people, the 24h/24h reception is very nice. And the close distance from the tramway is a must

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No Air Condition, but I borrowed a fan machine so it was ok. 10-15 minutes walk to the city center. Expensive breakfast (but delicious and great service).

    Absolutely everything was great, especially the free (!) wifi with very good connection. Great breakfast (but a bit expensive). Nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They supply a kettle and freebies for the first day, if you want more teabags you must ask. Likewise with any toiletries and wet towels.

    Plenty of storage, hangers etc. Clean, bed comfy, bring your own shower gel and teabags for the kettle.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds hard and uncomfortable, pillows absolutely worthless. Shower too small. Rather noisy for a room facing the courtyard.

    Friendly and responsive staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Regardless of the fact that we booked almost 2 months ahead, and arrived at 9 am to confirm our booking and leave the luggage, we were placed in a smoking room (reeking like an old ashtray) though we specifically asked for non-smoking. To our categorical complain the staff replied that they are booked and basically have to be content at around midnight with the room we had. We were moved to another, non-smoking room only by the next evening, which was bigger and cleaner, but still smelled strangely (presumably from the bathroom).

    Well located not far from the center and demonstrating overall higher quality of exterior and interior of the lobby and rooms. Has a bar and restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    parking extra, breakfast extra. very low quality for a 4 star hotel

    Free Wifi

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Close to the center, friendly staff, rich breakfast, own parking.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ALTHOUGH I ASKED FOR A DOUBLE BED I WAS NOT GIVEN ONE...

    HELPFULL STAFF VERY CLEAN HOTEL

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    poor towel quality drab courtyard view

    comfortable

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Expensive room telephone rates

    Excellent car parking facilities. Hotel waived the parking charge. Ten minutes walk from the centre.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Solo traveller

    staff, rooms, wifi

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Couple

    Lovely staff, big rooms, very clean and food nice.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great! Had a nice stay. Stayed there with my dog, pet friendly place. Like the location! Thank you.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff with business-like manner

    the location to visit Gewantdhaus, Mendelsshone haus and st. Thomaskirche..

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Somewhat away from Centrum. Breakfast and parking were expensive extras.

    Good value for money. Nice modern room with all amenities.

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Browse Mercure Leipzig Am Johannisplatz traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: