Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Jugendgästehaus St.-Michaels-Heim

Bismarckallee 23, Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf, 14193 Berlin, Germany

#311 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1223 hostel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Paid WiFi

    5.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Clean property, with a beer garden by the lake and a small...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not located in the center of the city and there is only access by bus but that was not a problen since they are very often and actually most of the time i enjoyed walking to the city center.

    Clean property, with a beer garden by the lake and a small cafe. Nice architecture, it feels like you are staying in a church.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.1
    good price. Not bad for a hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    check-out person was rude. nowhere to eat after 6pm (supposedly there is a 1 place but instructions were not clear). carpet in hallway not a good choice for hostel (got dirty quickly after rain shower.

    Check-in staff was nice and helpful. bathrooms were spacious and clean. shower water pressure was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful building, but unhappy with staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 6-Bed Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a very hot night with no aircon in our room (they don't provide with fans or some contingency for the heat wave), and we were hanging out on the balcony. We heard a knock on the door and thinking that it was one of us, we said: "it's open". It was a member of the staff, who came all the way in (we were in our pyjamas) to tell us to shoosh (ok, quiet after 11 policy) and inspect our whole room, told us not to hang towels on the balcony (tons of rooms had them too) and stay IN the room - while talking to us like children. All-the-way-in. This is unacceptable and an invasion of privacy, he also patronized us ( two 32-year-olds and their senior parents ). I will be filing a formal complaint, this should never be the case unless articulated permission has been granted to come into the room. They really need to train their staff about dealing better with customers/guests. Breakfast is expensive, we didn't book it but went to check it out in the morning and it was not worth the price in my opinion.

    The neighborhood is a hidden gem in Berlin, beautiful sights and truly green, with amazing buildings around the 'hood. Close to bus central station. The installations (building) of the hostel are astonishing, inside and out. Room was well sized and very clean, much better than expected. It has its own, nice "biergarten". It has an elevator.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    Will book again when visiting Berlin!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only negative thing; windows don't open in the bathrooms.... and on a side note: the carpets in the corridors need replacing (smells of stail smoke) and thicker curtains would have been nice (bring your sleepingmask with you if you do not want to wake up at dawn).

    Wonderfull and helpfull staff (most of them anyway). Great location with lots of trees and birds. lockable closet in room, big enough to fit a carry-on trolley.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Very beautiful and clean hostel with very nice receptionists and singing birds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice people, very green street near the river, rent of bikes, amazing building, very clean, some metro station near the hostel, and I liked waking up with singing birds- it was very nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.4
    Good location, clean but needs to make up its mind is it a hostel or a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 6-Bed Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds very uncomfortable. Would have liked to be able to cook own food and the communal area could have been more comfortable. With a sofa and some games etc. It was also so hot and we had to ask for a fan. Why no ceiling fans?

    Staff were very helpful. Good bus routes to centre. Leafy trees outside in a variety pleasant area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Good price-quality ratio
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Must pay for the WiFi. The bio-shop in front of the hostel is good, but quite expensive.

    5 min from S-bahn station. Clean rooms, clean common bathroom. Welcoming staff. Calm district.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    The hostel is located in a beautiful green residential area...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The shower cabins could have their own doors. Showering together with others is quite awkward, even for students or school classes. In the room and also on the corridors there was a strange smell, supposedly because of the old furniture and/or carpet. Also, the isolation is not the best and you can hear people coming home and being noisy at late night. I don't think this is the hostel's fault, they can't probably do much about this but clearly, this might be disturbing.

    The hostel is located in a beautiful green residential area of Berlin. The rooms are exactly what I expected from a youth hostel: no luxury but comfortable and clean. I enjoyed my stay there, especially for this price! :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    Best value for a short rest and quick breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet was charged extra and only for one device (which was not mentioned)..so my tablet was blocked after I tried to connect for too many times. Also the WIFI was not working properly.

    Never expected to find so nice place to rest for few hours between flight and exhibition. Had not booked for breakfast but quickly changed my mind after I saw how nice it was enjoying the breakfast in a beautiful garden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    Overall good place to go, bathroom and rooms were clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to change sheets yourself and the pillow itself contained nasty stains, they should have changed that. Bathroom was also quite a walk from the room

    Overall good place to go, bathroom and rooms were clean and quit. Free parking was great and its ok to walk to public transport

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    A place like home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no television in the room

    There is a church and a bier garden there so you instantly feel like home The room is large and very clean. I would definetely go there again and again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful area, nice rooms, good location
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are making lots of parties in the same building, so it can be quite noisy.. Anyway late in night they calm down somehow..fortunately..

    Beautiful area, nice rooms, good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Stay exceed any expectation for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms and beds are designed for children/teenagers: two-levelled, a bit awkward to get yourself in, lack of space above when laying. But once you lay it is ok. One has to put the bed-clothes on and off. Check-out till 9 am. The beds are strong for my 105 kilos. The WC and shower are on the floor. The cons are corresponding and even minor for the price type.

    Clean big room, green surrounding, impressive architecture, cheap room, cheap and fast internet. The rooms are provided as single, although they have 3-6 beds. Good but a bit overpriced breakfast. If booked in advance breakfast costs 10, if not - 12.5 Euro.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.5
    nice neighbourhood, posh houses, lots of green.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    wc/shower/tap water outside the room. was quite a distance - at the opposite end of the corridor.

    nice neighbourhood, posh houses, lots of green. it feels like in the middle of the woods - in a good way. good value. comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.1
    A quiet place to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard mattress on the bed. There was no hot water from the shower.

    The guesthouse is located at a nice and peaceful area. Pretty good value for the price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.1
    Just fine. The guy staff was really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 6-Bed Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some morning staff are unfriendly and unwelcoming.

    The breakfast and the staff at night who welcomed us. We forgot to ask his name but he was soooooooooo hospitable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you intend to visit Berlin’s most popular attractions, which are in the east side, you will find this property a bit far away. My purpose was to go to the Olympic stadium, so for me it was very convenient.

    The place is in a beautiful and very quiet area of Berlin. The room is simple but clean and good enough for one or two nights. Staff is very friendly. Good breakfast for 10 euros (just missed some bacon). Bus stop 5 min walk and S-bahn 10 min walk.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Everyone was really friendly and helpful and spoke to me in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish they would have let me choose a room with other people for cheaper

    Everyone was really friendly and helpful and spoke to me in English, which was nice because I don’t speak German. The building was nice and everything was great. I paid a great price for a room by myself with good service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.3
    Peaceful and quiet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid Wifi, paid printouts, paid towels, paid breakfast... at least bedsheets are included. In the end, it's not as much of a bargain as you might think.

    The building is gorgeous, like a castle full of stairs and interesting details. It feels very spacious. It is located in a quiet, rich neighborhood of villas of different styles. Breakfast is great. To the ICC fairgrounds you can walk in 30 minutes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    All aspects exceeded my expectations and the location was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, although I will book earlier for the hotel next year but was very happy with the JugendGastehaus

    All aspects exceeded my expectations and the location was excellent. A short walk to Messe Berlin for Fruit logistica.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    My favorite low-budget ho(s)tel worldwide
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    ---

    Location: Beautiful & quiet part of Berlin (lakes + forest close); Building: historic, majestetic, beautiful 24h/7d church, large meeting rooms; Room: small but practical; Catering: excellent for affordable price. Staff: friendly and professional.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    5.0
    Not so pleasant stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The personnel was not friendly and sometimes rude. The breakfast, although not included and need to pay 10 euro per person per day it was poor...

    It was quite clean...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    4.6
    Bus stop down the road, otherwise would have been a shocking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from centre, had to make our own bed, hardly anyone staying in the hotel when we arrived but our room was on the opposite side of the entrance.

    Bus stop down the road, otherwise would have been a shocking hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.1
    Great place for such money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You are asked to not be in the room from 9:00 am to 12:00 for cleaning. I can understand that, however it was a little bit uncomfortable. I think simple door tag "do not disturb" would be fine, if somebody is ok with their room not being cleaned.

    Room was clean, staff helpful, bathroom facilities were always clean. (bring your own towel)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.8
    Overall a good stay, pleased with the location, a clean and tidy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel for the bar and restaurant, unfortunately and annoyingly these were closed on Saturday and Sunday evening. A kettle with tea and coffee in the room would of been nice.

    I booked this hotel for its location, near to the Grunewald forest, and nearby museums. It is a smart clean hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    It's situated in very pleasant district, my room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Something for something, Wi-Fi is payable.

    It's situated in very pleasant district, my room was very clean, with flat TV, cosy bed and big window with nice view. It also has restaurant, chapel, machine with soda. It's very good bargain regarding it's price, for which somewhere else in Berlin I could count on a corner of a bed in a multi-seater barrack.. I hope to return here and I will advise this place to others.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    Very nice and inexpensive guest house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Of course it is not the center of the city, so you have to use public transport. But it was not a problem at all. You can go to the center of Berlin in about 25 minutes.

    Very nice and inexpensive guest house. Polite personal, beautiful architecture in cute region of Berlin. There are a lot of parking places and small lake (or damned river?) nearby. I was glade to stay here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    Perfect hostel for a short stay in Berlin! Super clean!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nitpicking here but the hostel is pretty big so socializing opportunities we're minimal. It's great if you want a quiet, clean, comfortable stay.

    The building is absolutely gorgeous - heritage but very well maintained and clean. The staff was amazingly friendly at check-in. The room was spotless clean and the bathrooms even though were shared, were one of the cleanest I've seen. More importantly it seemed like they were always cleaning the bathroom throughout the day. The room was surprisingly quiet and the location, even though not central, is absolutely beautiful. It's just a short bus ride away from the center so I found it totally perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    The journey of a room-seeking student
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It looked nice and I got a single room for very cheap. It was small but a great value for the money. I could safely leave my stuff in the room and lock the door, without having to worry about the other people that you would normally have to share a room with at a hostel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    3.3
    No WiFi on rooms you have to go to the reception and also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi on rooms you have to go to the reception and also pay money for it no service the heating not working the shower is one for many colidoors and you can get sick walking back to your room also towels are with money I mean extra beside the first payments

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    An affordable and clean place, in a smart place of Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A real lift to the top stairs (where our room was) would be a good investment!

    The free parking , the park around the easy access to Berlin with a bicycle.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice place, very good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating placed very near to the bed - too hot during the night

    Interesting old building with renovated modern parts. Rooms are small but clean and adequate to the rent. Bathroom is outside the rooms, but very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    Quite location, free parking. Good for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my suite - no WiFi signal.

    A lot of Free parking place. Very clean room and bathrooms. Reception was helpful. Also good location in quite place. Good for one night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 6-Bed Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel was in a castle. That in of itself is a great find! We booked the entire room to ourselves and it was very big. We didn't even have to pay as much as the other places we were staying at. The location is a bit far, but it is near a train station that can get you downtown. There is a lot of beautiful scenery around the castle.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice place, with park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Is just impossible to get hot water to drink an infution that they don't sell there. If you ask for it in a restaurant of the place, believe me, they see you like if you are a thief. German people doesn't know the importance of a kettle. We have the same issue in another place in Berlin.

    Nice place, with park. Everything was ok even if it has a shared bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.1
    Very clean
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet doesn't work on your room. One of the chamber men was harassing me all the time, it made feel really uncomfortable. Rathish invited me to go to dinner and was trying to make contact every time. He would even knock on my door! I stayed there for 2 weeks and alone.. After I left the hotel he even added me on Facebook (don't know how he found me). The other staff members were really polite and helpful

    Very clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    It's an unusual, beautiful and pleasant place to stay in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet is only available in public places but not in rooms.

    The breakfast was very tasty and healthy, the appearance of house's great and it's pretty and tidy inside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    6.7
    Hotel is in very nice district.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was hot in hotel, early time of check-out, comfort was not good.

    Hotel is in very nice district. Building also is nice. Friendly stuff, room with a balcony. Bus stops are close.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.3
    Very good place but checkout is 9am.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Checkout is at 9am. You must prepare your bed linens and blanket cover. When you leaving you must take off blanket covers and linens.

    If you travel with car easy to find and have car parking. Nice Staff, Peaceful neighborhood. Calm atmosphere, Good value for this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't even think of a disadvantage

    It is a beautiful looking building. The receptionist was friendly and helpful. The room was clean. We didn't have towels, so luckily they were available for only 1 euro.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    6.7
    Good for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    you have to pay for wi-fi very small rooms no towels, you have to make your bed on your own... bathrooms can be closed between 9am-12am, so if you don't wake up early , you have a problem :( you have to check out before 9am - early!! it's not so close to the S-Bahn station

    nice building and park around the building cafe outside friendly staff 24/7 open reception

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.9
    Good Value and Great Facilities but a Little Off the Beaten Path
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was located in a beautiful, high end neighborhood. That being said, we were only in Berlin for a few days and wanted to see all the sights (Museum Island, the TV tower, the wall, etc.). It took us around 50min total each morning to get from the hostel to the nearest attraction. There was about a 15min walk to the nearest S-bahn and then about a 35min ride from there. It wasn't as convenient as I would have liked.

    The property itself was stunning and the staff was great!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.3
    they make u leave room at 9 am, which is a nuisance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    they make u leave room at 9 am, which is a nuisance. also, toilets and showers are out of order and closed every day from 9 to 3. and u can't go back to your room to 9 till 12. also you have to leave your room keys and locker keys when going out in the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.3
    Modern rooms in a formerly old mansion, very quiet neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is in the middle of nowhere, no grocery stores or restaurants nearby - but one short bus ride would take you to Adenauerplatz where more amenities are available.

    In a very quiet neighborhood (near embassies), very posh. Price is absolutely unbeatable (about 24€ for a single room), with very clean facilities, a proper wardrobe and safe, and even a desk for working.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great Very nice and clean, friendly cleaner and lady that checked us in Good showers and wifi We also loved the area the hotel is in it was very peaceful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.8
    Gorgeous Hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Property is about 45 min- hour outside of city center with public transport but still good location if you don't mind the transit.

    Very clean and gorgeous property. Loved the neighborhood.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.3
    Friendly helpful service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missed a kettle and microwave in the room.

    Beautiful tree lined area. Close to public transport. Very clean rooms and bathrooms. Friendly staff.Good food at restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.8
    Quiet and safe
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator goes to only 1st-3rd floor. We're on 4th.

    The staff was so nice. The location is not so far from the city center. Easy to travel to the city center. The hotel was clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    5.4
    Extra helpful end friendly reception staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the wifi in the room had a weak signal, almost impossible to connect. The showers were dirty, cigarette butts on the floor...

    Extra helpful end friendly reception staff!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    5.8
    Room for improvement
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No towel provided, bed was awful, noise from a large group until the wee hours of the morning, being charged for internet , a poor breakfast offering for €10. Management requests that paying guests strip the bed to reduce workload of chamber maids (poor dears must be underpaid) but I am a customer guest not one of your laborers. Overall atmosphere depressing....spend your money elsewhere.

    I liked the parking,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    8.3
    Perfect place for short-term stay in Berlin
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small but had all the comforts inside. The toilets were in a different floor and relatively far away from the room.

    The place is really nice and full of green! Moreover, it is relatively close to S-Bahn Halensee station. Toilets and room were very clean. Staff was always willing to help you. The ratio of price to the offered services was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.6
    A leafy tranquil spot in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is quite a way out for the more conventional Berlin sites, however is a very pleasant contrast to the city centre.

    Set in a lovely leafy suburb of Berlin. Very clean with great cafe and cheap reastaurant facilities on site. Close to lakes and forest.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.6
    resonable Price & nice staff. Quiet location for resting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    location is a little bit far from S-bahn Grundwald. may be hard to find sth. eat or shoping.

    Price is resonable ,clean&good bathrooms,nice and kind staff. Very quiet at night suitable for resting , hav a nearby park to walking in the morning

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.2
    Helpful staff, not bothering at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi was not provided, but the staff explained it was a problem in several houses on the street. Also the smell of some cleaning liquid that was in the corridors and in the room.

    Helpful staff, not bothering at all. Very spacious room for three persons, but I lived alone. Very beautiful territory and the house itself. A the reception you can buy all you need and also get any desired information. A good variant for short-term living. Especially when you urgently need a place for sleeping and refreshing in the capital of Germany. Maybe the hotel part of the building is much more better than the guest house part that I lived in.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    9.6
    Single room was perfect, almost luxurious for that price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took me like 18 mins walking to get to the underground.. but that can't be solved :)

    Single room was perfect, almost luxurious for that price. Very quiet area. Clean bathrooms (shared).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    10
    The best hostel for its price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some young people forgot that they aren't alone, their behavir resembled forest monkeys or just idiots, so it was very noisy at night at 4rd floor.

    Staff was very nice and helpful. My WiFi did not work first time, then in the reception girl gave me another login/pass... The best hotel for its price (I took single room). S-Bahn is near as well as several bus stops. Also night bus to SXF-airport stops near to the hotel, so you can get airport at any time. Nature around the hotel is very beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    4.6
    Decent Location, but Creepy Staff Member
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The public bathrooms where closed the entire day. The entire hotel smelt horrible and one of staff members was very inappropriate towards me and my friend. He followed us up to our room and then waited outside our door and followed us to the bus station trying to get us to go with him to some place in Berlin. It made us so uncomfortable we didn't want to stay the next night in the hotel again. I would never stay there again.

    It was an interesting hotel. I have never stayed in a church before and the location was really good. Nice and close to a lot of things, in a decent neighborhood. The staff during the day was not friendly at all, but the night staff was amazing!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    6.3
    It was a clean room with a big open place.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 21 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was in a room with four bed(two galleries) which were unconvenient at the head because of the iron stretching out of the bed's frame. For me it was unbelievable that there was not any switch/connector next to the beds. There was two connectors, (one for the lamp in the corner kf the room, quite further from the beds, and one next to the door) each were useless when you try to watch a movie or use your laptop in your bed). The room, because of irs location (in the corner of the house) was quite cold. However, later i got a mobile radiator that solved this problem. There was a restauration work durong my staying which made it impossilble to use the toilet and the showers at the floor. By the end of my staying, it had been already finished and now ready to use. There is no possibility to cook or a micro to heat your food, it was a bit annoying, and made the whole staying a bit more expensive than expected.

    It was a clean room with a big open place. The staff was friendly and helpful in solving every problem that occured. Nice enivornment, with beautiful places and calm and safe neighbourhood, even at night.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    8.3
    It was awesome!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Guests need to pay for WIFI, even it is not expensive. The location is not the best but if you prefer to stay in a quiet and scenic place, you can always find some transports to come.

    I really like this hostel. The building is amazingly beautiful and stylish. Room was clean and tidy. Receptionists were very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    7.9
    Good value for the money, far from downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in the hostel single-room/shared-bathroom system. The bathrooms were a little smelly! The elevator was in another section, and just arrived to the third floor (I was on the fourth floor). By public transportation, it takes around 45-60 minutes to/from downtown

    Beautiful (former) mansion, nice staff, inexpensive, good value for the money!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    6.7
    Nice old building, very polite personal
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shared bathroom was far from my room, the bathroom is now being renovated and it's not comfortable at all. No sink in the rooms, neither hairdryer. Quite far from public transport.

    Nice old building, very polite personal

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    8.8
    Easy to reach location just out of Berlin.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-out time at 09:00 h is something I personally consider to be way to early. The duvets (comforters in US English) are too short for anyone taller than 1,80 m. They're actually so short that you can cover either your feet, or your shoulders. Not both... and that's a pity for an otherwise comfortable place.

    This place has an excellent location for all those travelling to Berlin by car and coming from the West or North. It's just outside motorway # 100 in a quiet residential area and St.-Michaels-Heim has its own parking place. Into the city you either take your car, using the # 100 motorway, or public transport. St.-Michaels-Heim has its own restaurant with decent, very affordable, food. The staff has always been kind and very helpful to me.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    8.8
    Good value for money and nice and simple accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-out is quite early. Rooms were simply furnished with no TV but this was a minor matter. The bikes were very old and a few were damaged and non usable.

    Easy car parking and bike hire on site. Breakfast was very nice and is about 10 euros. Great value for money for a simply furnished room but the building is lovely and does a few church etc meetings and gatherings.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    7.1
    very efficient!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom on my floor was closed for repair... Had to go to another level to use toilet... Not so good in the middle of the night. The ladies at reception not so friendly.

    Clean. Nice location. Excellent value for Berlin. Helensee close by. Have to vacate room between 9 & 12...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    8.3
    Comfort Staying
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the foreigner ladies who worked in top floors (4th Floor), they never spoke nicely to me at all , WC and Shower was doesn't work between 9-10:30, they closed it for cleaning but strongly pushing, even you really need WC immdiately, she never let me inn, let's say the best will be lives in 3rd floor, if you lives in 3rd floor , those working mans are really friendly and also a very nice german Ladies who is making clearing, they were great just like a star hotel service.

    Rezeption was very very friendly, they were really tried their best for helping people to find out a way for making torist information, Breakfast was very good , View was beautiful, Location was very nice area without poor

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    8.3
    Junior Trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ladies who is cleaning the WC/Shower was not friendly at all.

    Reception was very kind, Breakfast was very good, Wifi connection was very fast, view was beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    7.5
    Peculiar, but nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In some ways, the ho(s)tel was situated very well, near the forests and lakes, and Kurfürstendamm. But as all the better restaurants now seem to be found near Friedrichshain it's a bit of a long way away. Althouth Berlin has excellent public transportation. Also it would be nice to have wifi in room too.

    The place is very peculiar, but all in all a nice place to stay in very nice surroundings

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    7.9
    A nice location away from the busiest parts of Berlin but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arriving late evening on a Sunday there was little choice for an evening meal nearby. Breakfast seemed a little expensive and so I chose not to take it.

    A nice location away from the busiest parts of Berlin but not miles and miles out of town. Clean, quiet and convenient with well-mannered staff and guests.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    7.5
    Nice and clean, but rather for young people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Open showers - I don't like to see strangers naked. No buses/metro/trains nearby.

    Nice view and small lake nearby. 40 minute walk to Berlin ZOB.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Really good hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived too late and it was difficult to me to understand which was the correct door

    Really good hostel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Worth to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice green area,very affordable,nice staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice staff, beautiful building, clean room, lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 6-Bed Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s situated in the outskirts of Berlin (but there are buses and trains)

    Nice staff, beautiful building, clean room, lovely surroundings.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A great place to get budget accommodation for a short stay in Berlin (even with the kids). Nice and quiet neighborhood.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    One cannot have a shower in the room, anyway, it's a youth hostel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no tap inside the room to wash my hands.

    The windows are nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Small assortiment in the Bar after 21-00
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small assortiment in the Bar after 21-00

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: