Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kaiser Am Wiener Platz

Genovevastr. 10-14, Mülheim, 51065 Cologne, Germany

#197 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 371 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Too pricey, mediocre quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very outdated and furnished terribly (lots of decorations and patterns, not very relaxing). The room didn't have airco so it was just as hot inside as it was outside. It's way too expensive for what you get. We had a view on other buildings and people could easily look into our hotel room.

    Parking was on site so that felt reassuring. The staff was helpful. Location is great because there's a tram station nearby that will take you to the city center in about twenty minutes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.1
    Former four stars for your new experience
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Superb economy adds some odd feeling to staying there. You should be among the first for the breakfast as they didn't add enough new food as guests consume some. You cannot pay with your card as it will increase the hotel owner's expenses and they easily lie to you that there's no POS terminal, even if you see it staying in front of you. Some towels remember the time the hotel was launched 50 years ago. You should be aware, you're staying in some old property whose best times are gone, but you're free to enjoy the memory of that former fame and luxury.

    That historic entourage is awesome. You can feel the four stars this hotel had had once opened. Wooden wall decorations, handmade chairs, silver tableware, hi-tech windows — everything has that spirit of those gone famous times. the hotel is very close U-Bahn Wiener Platz station (3 minutes by feet) with direct connections to downtown as well as to Mülheim railway station with direct train to the airport and the proximity of large shopping malls (up to 10 minutes). Although there's some street activity around, you have no outside noise in your room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.2
    A good, clean place to stay well connected by public transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast room was pretty and very well stocked. The hotel is next to Weiner Platz with multiple tram lines (number 18 to the city centre) and buses, plus shops, banks, cafes, etc. and a LIDL for groceries. The reception is always staffed. We also liked the walk into Cologne centre, across the bridge and along the opposite bank of the Rhine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was exceptionally good value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No way to prevent daily maid service, so seemed unnecessarily wasteful of soap, towels, etc.

    Breakfast was exceptionally good value. Very convenient for Wiener Platz so easy access to Messe or central Köln. Very friendly staff with a good command of English. Overall, perfectly adequate for a business hotel with some lovely period flourishes (like the hotel stationery and the tableware at breakfast) to elevate it above the run of the mill glass and chrome chain hotels.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.1
    The hotel although basic suited us fine as it was not too expensive and we had a good time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been good if they had put on their website that the bar would be closed due to it being Carnival weekend. One evening the four of us came back early evening after standing in the cold all day and thought we would get a drink in the hotel bar but we were told it was shut.

    The breakfast was very good value. So much choice which was great and as much tea and coffee as we wanted. Brilliant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.5
    Perfect location for koelnmesse exhibitors.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The pillows and towels are worn-out. New replacements will be appreciated.

    Perfect location for koelnmesse exhibitors. Convenient and not too crowded.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    5.0
    Well located, our second and last stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were offered was nothing like the room advertised on Booking website. The lock didn’t work and we were given the master key to gain access, once inside, the room was badly presented with no mini bar. After complaining to the Receptionist we were offered another room, which had an unstocked mini bar but neither had a room safe. The hotel bar was only open on one night during our stay. The Receptionist seemed to dislike us because we were British.

    The owner of the hotel is very amicable and goes out of his way to make you feel welcome. The room that we eventually had was very comfortable and came complete with a spa bath and was good value for money. The breakfast was very good with a reasonable choice of food on offer.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Really nice interesting hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Local hotels were not German, which was a shame.

    The hotel is a very nice building with interesting wood panel walls. The room was very spacious and the on-site parking a real bonus. Breakfast was excellent both in terms of choice and quality. Helpful staff, everything in the room worked as it should. I would stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    3.8
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The payment term is not conforming to condition stated in booking.com, the property owner only accept cash, so you’re better have lots of cash in hand!, no visa or MasterCard accepted!

    Average hotel in general.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    5.0
    Below average
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really rude personnel during check-in and afterwards in the first day. During check-out I was suddenly informed that they couldn'd accept credit card, causing me major problem.

    Very convenient location, especially if you travel for business in Messe.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Felt very welcome and would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircondition, therefore quite warm in the room.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Very clean. Big enough room, comfortable bed. Free wifi. Beautiful breakfast room and a big and lovely arranged breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    4.2
    Old and Slow
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are so small and almost all things are old. Beds and pillows are awful. Workers was rude at breakfast who was talking German and old lady. Breakfasts was always same and not too fresh. Anyway first and last time I have been.

    Shower was good and location was OK.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    5.4
    Breakfast was great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited WiFi, no one knows the password, They don't accept credit cards but sending You to the cash point somewhere down the street

    Breakfast was great

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    5.8
    On check-in nothing was said about the payment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On check-in nothing was said about the payment. I thought it had been taken from my creditcard as I had given them the details. On check-out, I was told I had not paid yet. The staff was immensely unpleasant. I apologised, said I misunderstood and want to pay. But the staff treated me as if I tried to dodge it - telling other customers how the credit card details was just a security measure - it was not necessary to shame me and this could have been conveyed to me directly without making a scene. I did not appreciate how it was handled. It was not necessary to be so hostile and impolite - I had apologised that I misunderstood the credit card arrangement.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    5.8
    Old style family hotel where the hosts are friendly - needs a little updating perhaps
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no bar or food or even tea available when I arrived at 10.30pm. The reception area could do with a facelift. No tea or coffee facility in the room. Might be better to remove the artificial flowers in the rooms as they are full of dust. The hotel is on the far side of the river and much further from the central station than I had expected. It was a good taxi ride from the central station.

    The staff or possibly family members in this family hotel are in the older age bracket and they were, without exception. extremely helpful and friendly and went out of their way to assist me and advise me on my journey options etc. However, they were not very efficient on the computer system which led to some waiting and complications. The room was comfortable and large with a nice area to sit and watch TV.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    6.3
    Breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    beds were not comfortable. WiFi has low signal in the rooms and we should go to the isle to get more of it. The old lady at the reception was confused when more than two persons are coming to check out so we had problem checking out, we spend near 45 minutes to check out.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    9.2
    Peaceful oasis in a busy city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very pleasant owners and personell, old style arrangement and service, full of small pleasant details, and peaceful atmosphere. Reason enough to come back again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    6.7
    Fantastic breakfast.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room backed onto a noisy street. Pillows too soft. Unable to pay by credit card and wasn't informed prior to arrival. As I was unable to cancel without a penalty they failed to debit my card in advance.

    Fantastic breakfast. Near metro to get into city centre.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    5.4
    Enjoyable stay, clean hotel, good staff and tasty breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to report!

    Bedroom and bathrooms basic. Beds comfortable. Rooms very clean. The rooms met all expectations for the price band. Breakfast very good and staff, certainly the manager, very helpful, chatty, friendly and knowledgeable. Good venue and I would recommend it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.0
    bed are definitivelly too old. only separated twin bed, when room description before booking told do
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bed are definitivelly too old. only separated twin bed, when room description before booking told double-bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.9
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee facilities in the room

    The room was a good size and breakfast was really good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.8
    They was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They was very friendly. Close to the subway and easy to find.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.5
    It was quite satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were rather low. Difficult for my wife to get up from.

    Very friendly service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.1
    Good stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the beds

    the stuff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    4.2
    Old fashioned hotel in need of upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their credit card machine seems to always be broken - so the effectively only take cash!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    8.3
    Breakfast, selection stupendous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would not accept credit card for payment. Caused having to get cash from machine.

    Breakfast, selection stupendous. Nearby tram stop

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    7.9
    Great value near Messe Köln
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, cosy, comfortable - great value for money

    Stayed in December 2016

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: