Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Kaiserhof This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Mainzer Straße 78, 66121 Saarbrücken, Germany

#45 of 59 hotels in Saarbrücken

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 433 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.2
    Nice and cosy.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing not so satisfying is the occasional noise from the toilette (or the pipe in the w.c.). Since the toilette is shared the noise will probably bother those who live next to it.

    The room is well decorated. Lighting is perfect. The reception is really nice and speaks English - which was a big relief for me :)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    Good value hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door to the balcony was broken and there was white powder on the dresser. Also the pillow and covers seemed to have some dust on them.

    The hotel was very cheap and for the price I paid the service was very good. The bed was comfortable and I felt secure. I did not think I would like the outside shared bathroom but it was not bad. It was clean. I would stay here again. They also have a cafe downstairs. Biggest positive for me is that the hotel stage spoke English.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    I enjoyed staying here, and will definitely stay here next time
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 10 nights

    If you do not speak German or French, one might have issues check in to the hotel. For example, I was not informed my key will be left in a safe just outside the hotel door because I checked - in late. Even when I called the hotel before my check-in, the responder only speaks German.

    I like the fact that I was upgraded to a 1 room + own bathroom. Just 4 minutes walk to the Ulhandstrasse tram station. Very quiet environment and also there is an Ali Baba Kebab just close by

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    An excellent location, close to downtown and a step away to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 30 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An excellent location, close to downtown and a step away to the river walk, next door to a supermarket. Good value for the money. Highly recommended for longer stays , like monthly research stays on stipend at the Saarland University.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    check in only till 22:00 but I got a key with pin code so no problem; no option for breakfast

    this is exactly what you expect for this money (35 eur) or even better (private bathroom), room ok, internet ok, location ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.8
    the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no car park, breakfast paid extra and a lot, it says pet friendly but in fact it is only dog friendly, no cats allowed which was a surprise. the place stinks of sewage and is very old fashioned.

    the location. I got upgraded to a better room for free. Wi-Fi in the room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    4.6
    With all the issues we had, an apology would have been the minimum
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception closed before indicated time. No light in bathroom. No baby bed in the room while booked (owner came after 30 min). Parker ng is in the street. Overall very disapointed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    4.6
    A television and telephone from the nineties!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A television and telephone from the nineties!!! Old fashioned and shower with a curtain, joints of tiles with black mold. No sound insulation between walls so very noisy. This hotel needs to be updated or have prices according to what they offer. I would not go back there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.8
    For the price, I feel that it was very adequate indeed.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only gripe as such are the thin walls. That is to be expected though and is more to do with the loudness of other guests which cannot always be controlled.

    For the price, I feel that it was very adequate indeed. However, I was lucky enough to receive upgraded room. Decent location as only a short walk to the centre. Great bakery just around the corner.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.8
    This accommodation (hotel) was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was horror! The the television was wrong.

    This accommodation (hotel) was good. Staff was helpful. The area is very safe. The breakfast was very ample and delicious, perfect!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.8
    The breakfast is about 9 euro, a little bit expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is about 9 euro, a little bit expensive. I did not take any because of that reason. Location not very central but still ok, 10-15 mins walk to the city center. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very good. Nice staff, they let me park my bicycle inside in one of the (at that time unused) dining area's. Good quality for the price you pay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.9
    Cheap and Practical
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee at breakfast is not up to my standards, fairly thin filter stuff, but then I have a high bar in that respect. Note that the reception is closed at night and on weekends/holidays, so you need to call up the property to get a pin to retrieve the key from the lockbox at the front entrance. The doors are not very tight, so one can easily hear the fellow hotel guests watching TV late at night.

    This is probably the most affordable decent place to stay in Saarbrücken. The rooms are fairly small and a little dated, but clean, tidy and with adequate heating/ventilation. There is free wifi, which seems to work pretty well, -- just join the network from any or all of your devices and get to work, none of the temporary password business or having to enter your name and address every time you connect. There is a tram stop (Uhlandstrasse) some 200 meters away, a few restaurants down Mainzerstrasse and a shop close by.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    3.3
    It's clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old and the wall in the room is very thin. The guy with the glasses at the front desk is a grumpy not helpful man. I asked him to get some extra towels on the second day but he refused to do it.... looks like he tries to pretend than he doesn't understand English, and trying not to help me because he simply doesn't want to do-.... what a crappy customer service he provides!~ other woman at the front desk seems to be nice**

    It's clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    Very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.2
    Cheap and sufficient.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    In addition to the bed, there was free WiFi and a tap within the room. There also was a shower for 10 rooms.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Good budget hotel that filled my needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Location and the staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.9
    All said - it was more or less no frills, but close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    All said - it was more or less no frills, but close to the center, very clean, and more than adequate comfort for the low price. Je ne regrette rien.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    clean, cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    clean, cheap

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    5.8
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding and pillows stained badly

    Close to train

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    6.3
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room

    Balcony, elevator, clean room and sheets, good heating

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    8.3
    Cheap place to stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 16 nights

    Why they named it cafe hotel Kaiserhof as there is no cafe no breakfast, nothing.

    The room was very clean and the reception staff very friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    BEAUTIFUL PLACE
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    alles was ok

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.2
    Simple and nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast

    Nice rooms! Nice reception. In general terms you won't be disappointend as the rooms are very cozy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    5.0
    No breakfast (the receptionist referred us to a nearby shop...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast (the receptionist referred us to a nearby shop if we wanted to have breakfast).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    6.7
    Good cheap location, close to city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast

    The location and the rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    6.3
    Average cheap hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No building site nextdoor that starts work at 07.30

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.3
    Felt safe, complimentary water, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Felt safe, complimentary water, friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    4.2
    Just a bed.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unpolite recepcionist

    Just a bed..to rest!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    Place was nice n is located not far from HBF.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place was nice n is located not far from HBF. Would definetly recommend a friend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    4.2
    Unpleasant due to the attitude of the manager.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The manager was rude and I was charged twice for the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Great budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent quality budget hotel. Spacious single room with bathroom with a bath.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.6
    easy to reach by public transport, close to the city centre, surrounded by restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room is clean and very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    5.0
    Not much
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    7.1
    Very good value for money, staff was nice and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking available only on the street, shared bathrooms might be a bother.

    Very good value for money, staff was nice and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    7.5
    excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    5.0
    Staff rude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff rude.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    6.7
    clean cheap establishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the proprietor was confused as he thought I was staying for two nights, I got the impression that they tried to charge me for the extra night small rooms but it was cheap

    clean cheap establishment not far from city centre

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    7.1
    The breakfast selection was good with great selection of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Couldn't get hot water out of the taps, morning or evening (room 44). French baguette ran out fairly early at breakfast. There is a daily charge to use WIFI. No free parking.

    The breakfast selection was good with great selection of home made jams. It lies close to the Staden which has a great playground for the children and beer and sausages for the adults. Perfect recipe after a long journey. Shower was very powerful but this is not so in every room.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    10
    This hotel was absolutely wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This hotel was absolutely wonderful. The room was small but adequate, and was very safe, secure and clean, What really made it exceptional was the cafe. Breakfast is included and consisted of lox, meats, cheese, bread and pastries, juice, 4 kinds of yogurt, homemade preserves and omlets, and more, all you can eat. And what is also nice is the cafe is a neighborhood gathering place, so men came in to read their morning paper and groups of neighborhood ladies came together. The ladies who run the hotel and cafe were so nice too. We didn't want to leave.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    10
    good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    good

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    8.8
    Excellent breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent breakfast! Great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    8.3
    Breakfast was good in a pleasant cafe on the first floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was good in a pleasant cafe on the first floor.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    7.5
    friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    friendly staff. nice breakfast. stayed there a few times. always plesant. price is good. a great budget hotel

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    6.7
    Excellent breakfast !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    problem with wi fi on the 4th floor

    Excellent breakfast !

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    7.9
    great breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    7.5
    Great for an overnight stop, on a long drive south
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Great for an overnight stop, on a long drive south

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    5.4
    Reasonably central so easy access to bars and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No private bathroom

    Reasonably central so easy access to bars and restaurants

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    10
    Fantastic customer service and willingness to make your stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic customer service and willingness to make your stay most enjoyable

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    8.8
    almost everything was great besides the pillows.
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    the pillow was not very comfortable in my opinion.

    almost everything was great besides the pillows.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: