Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Kalenborner Höhe This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Gelsdorfer Straße 11, 53505 Kalenborn, Germany

#1 of 1 hotels in Kalenborn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 191 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Sleep and Recharge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located next to a very busy road. However the traffic dies right down at night and the rooms are well sound proofed.

    The management was very friendly and helpful, fast responses to enquiries. We traveled in an electric car and host went through some effort to provide overnight charging for us. Breakfast was phantastic, we actually had everything delivered to our table, no running around the buffet here. Great views from the breakfast room too. Many areas in the house tastefully renovated. Good value for money. Also: Much cooler in Summer due to the elevated location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    Great Hotel with Excellent Services
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to mention

    From the moment of arrival to our departure, our stay was a real treat with all the German hospitality services imaginable. The host be the owner too, was so accommodating to our needs and forthcoming which you seldom see now these days in the industry. Room is well appointed with good bedding, the latest TV, coffee and tea maker, great bathroom with great lighting, strong, free WiFi and a spacious front balcony. The a la carte breakfast served is of excellent quality and plentiful. We highly recommend for anyone to stay at the hotel, be for an overnight or for holidays. The rate applied for the stay is reasonable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    We had a great stay at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a great stay at the hotel. Particularly, the staff was amazing and very thoughtful. The rooms were very clean and location just few miles from the beautiful Ahr valley and well connected to the airport. You should not miss the Sunday breakfast, it seems that even locals come there for their buffet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Lovely accommodation ++++
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely location, very friendly staff Nothing was to much bother to make our stay more enjoyable, Food was amazing. Look after our motorbikes in a lock up. Will definitely be going back there nxt year. 🖒

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel in the countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice countryside hotel, with a wide view over the landscape. Good location next to a regional road, with easy access by car. Very welcoming reception and friendly service. Modernised and well maintained rooms and facilities. Good basic breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Lovely traditional small German Hotel & Restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Authentic local food. The staff were attentive, very friendly, helpfull and speak English. A brilliant location for the Nurburgring... just far enough away to nicely warm your engine. The Zimmerman family have run this hotel for nearly 150 years.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    A nice place to stay if you cannot find anything affordable close to the Ring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was kind a rough like made from old springs which try to make a hole in between your ribs , windows are not closing well enough so you can hear traffic just as well as with them open, big bathroom space but not well thought through - you could easily fit a bath and a shower there to make quests happier.

    Great staff, friendly and helping, no problem with late arrival (informed them well before of course), quite a big room and bathroom, nice interior and a great road to get there and to the Ring of course (for real petrolheads) ! A nice view from the window to the fields and hills.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    A Winner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we couldn't stay longer!

    My husband and i can highly recommend this Hotel. The owner and his wife couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome and we felt almost like it was staying with family. They were the perfect professional yet accessible hosts. The food in the Restaurant was outstanding, the hotel itself was spotless and we consider it to be a perfect starting point to explore the Eifel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    8.8
    In the middle of nowhere but only minutes from the Autobahn.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The traffic noise on the busy main road could be a problem in the Summer if the windows need to be left open.

    Everything was better than in most hotels of comparable cost - friendly greeting on arrival,good sized room with everything one could want and spotlessly clean. Decent breakfast served by a charming waitress - a pleasant change from the usual uninspired breakfast buffet. All this and only minutes away from the A 61 Autobahn - I'll go back for sure.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    3.8
    should be downgraded to 2 star
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    the reception does not work, hard to communicate with staff (lack of English) The restaurant is closed.. Bathroom amenities non existent Do not return calls / corespodance when questions arise Balcony shared with other rooms

    room with large balcony

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    C&R's run
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Accomodation was very clean and comfortable and my host was very polite and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    very friendly and professional personnel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very friendly and professional personnel. great place to stay if you want to visit Ring or Eifel mountains.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Just perfect and so helpfull,,,we go back in juli
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just perfect and so helpfull,,,we go back in juli

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Perfect place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice and clean place and really kind host

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Highly recommend.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The host in this nice family run hotel is very hospital and responsive. Facilities are quite new and well maintained too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    road noise
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    road noise

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.2
    very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely, family owned hotel to stay at and real close to the Nurburgring, great food as well!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows

    Super friendly staff! Alexander was a great host!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    7.9
    The friendliness and understanding of the personell and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    What I disliked most was the very narrow space between the washing stand and the shower cabin especially when stepping out of it. Much could be improved within the same space if the washing stand was smaller and the shower only contained a sink in the floor

    The friendliness and understanding of the personell and the owner to offer to me to park my motorcycle in private enclosed area

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    6.3
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor quality of the beds Noisy due to the street

    Friendly staff.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

Guests also reviewed these properties: