Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kastens Hotel This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Jürgensplatz 52, Unterbilk, 40219 Düsseldorf, Germany

#181 of 197 hotels in Düsseldorf

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1063 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    Nothing like homemade Memphis furniture
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotels with such a unique design character should be cherished, and if anything the Kastens should go to lengths to preserve the singularity of its character even further.

    I'm sure there are some travellers who will guffaw at this hotel's Memphis-esque interior, which doesn't seem to have seen much in the way of an update since the 1980s. But for me, this was the main draw, and what makes the place totally unique. The rooms are bright, large, and clean. Breakfast, while in a windowless basement, was fairly middle-of-the-road German Frühstuck: buns, cheese, ham, fruit, yogurt, bacon, scrambled eggs...all in relative abundance. Extra points for the assortment of goo to put on bread: Speculoos spread and marshmallow fluff included. The staff were friendly and expedient. The location is somewhat removed, but not exactly far away either: you can walk to the centre of town in about 10-15 mins.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    6.7
    All requests were handled immediately (fresh towels, iron...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room is in the basement without any windows. The staff seemed stressed and unfriendly at some times without any obvious reason. One evening when I returned I found that the cleaning staff had taken my used towels and forgotten to bring fresh ones.

    All requests were handled immediately (fresh towels, iron board).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    We got an upgrade and had a very nice room on the topfloor.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Around the hotel nothing (boring) to do..... (but 15/20 min. walk and you are in the middle of the Altstad (old centre) and boulevard along the Rhine -and that’s great-. No parkingplace around the hotel

    We got an upgrade and had a very nice room on the topfloor. Breakfast is good. Old centre (15/20 min. walk)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay. I will come again to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No things to complain about.

    1. The hotel is located in a quiet area, close to the center. 2. The room was spacious. Comfortable bed and practical furniture. 3. The personnel was very friendly and good at recommending places to visit and help with directions. 4. The breakfast is diverse.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.0
    The room had no air-con and was equipped with a small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had no air-con and was equipped with a small pathetic old and useless fan. As the heat was so bad and opening the windows made the room so loud that neither of us could sleep !! I probably would have had more rest if I had slept in my car!!! While checking out and after being asked about our stay the young guy at reception just shrugged his shoulders and ignored our concerns . The very outdated decor of the hotel did make us laugh a lot though. The place was clean and that was about the only positive thing I could say.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    The location for me, the flexibility of going in & out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only disappointment was the hotel didn't have air conditioning. Whether it was to do with being quite an old building or not I don't know.

    The location for me, the flexibility of going in & out when needed. The mini-bar was handy for cool drinks. Bathroom was superb.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Great weekend in Dusseldorf and hotel met all our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a good 2 night stay with friends, location 15 minutes from the Old Town, and hotel is in a quite area. We did have an issue with our room, but hotel rectified this immediately.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    it was good and suitable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    our main problem was internet , most of the time was out of service they had good welcome with good drink and it was available all staying time in lobby

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast is really good, the staff is very helpful, the...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a small thing: There's only one key to the room, so if you share you have to leave the key at the reception. Doable, but I would prefer two separate keys and take them along.

    The breakfast is really good, the staff is very helpful, the reception is always available. Good value for money. It's nice that you can have tea and coffee whenever you want.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.8
    Coffee arrangement in front of reception
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely staff deprived. Many a times you wouldn't find anyone at the reception for a long time or anyone in the hotel for that matter. If it's hot, only option was to open the windows!

    Coffee arrangement in front of reception

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Good Start place for city walk, good view on Rheinturm, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No private parking and very expensive closest public parking (under the bridge, ~300m away). It costs 2€/hr, but no more than 20€ per 24hrs.

    Good Start place for city walk, good view on Rheinturm, good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    4.6
    i wish i didnt stay here.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing was good. rooms unclean, shabby, old, no water in the room, needs a lot of renovation didn't have a mini bar, they said it broke down didn't have a table to keep my luggage. room was cramped

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    2.5
    The parking they Say they have Dora not exist.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking they Say they have Dora not exist. It’s public parking with No free spaces. I hâd to parc at 1km distance from the hotel. It says it is a 4 star hotel but I wouldn’t give it 2 stars. The room is small dirty, the bathroom smelled bad.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    good location, price/quality suggested
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was small, could be bigger and the materials in the room was not enough

    I like the location, the clean service personle was good breakfeast was average, but it was fine for the price paid

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Clean comfortable easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of one thing that we were not happy with - very satisfied would stay again

    Room very clean bed comfortable. Buffet breakfast - lots of choice cooked sausage bacon scrambled or boiled egg,cereals,fruit,yogurt rolls cold meat cheeses something for everyone. Staff very helpful. easy to get to most things local.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Enjoyed stay,but would have stayed longer if somewhere to park the car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really the hotel ,but parking was a problem and expensive I thought.

    girl on reception was excellent. Breakfast was really good and plenty of choice. Bed was comfortable,shower good and tv was good with plenty of stations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.3
    Less value of what you pay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception starts from 7th floor and it has only one Elevator. The causin for having breakfast is small.

    It's clean as it seems to be renovated recently

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    6.7
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hotel parking , we had to drive around for a while to find a place to park. My room was not cleaned after first night there.

    Size of the room was big Location of the hotel was good Buffet breakfast was great Receptionist was very friendly It was quiet at night Mini bar was available

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money, clean and easy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    decor was slightly old fashioned but nothing to complain about!

    great place that was clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly - would definitely go back!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    5.4
    The property is nicely located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is quite old and the room wasn't properly ready. Even thought we asked for a three people room we did not have a third bed prepared, as well as toals for everybiduly in the room. The parking place is a street parking (20€ per day). As we had some bagage we had to leave in the car it was a bit uncovinient.

    The property is nicely located. Close to restaurants and train station. The coffee break was quite good for the price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    8.3
    useful and good value small hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Comfortable room adjacent to lift (useful since i was on crutches). Helpful staff and good breakfast. Shower and curtain needed attention but these comments were well received by staff who were going to work on issues. Good breakfast and welcome tea/coffee making facilities in lobby

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.1
    Nice breakfast, personnel helpful, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking from hotel but on the street for free from Saturday to Sunday. Room not totally clean but ok overall

    Nice breakfast, personnel helpful, good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    4.6
    better go outside
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Anyway incredibly expensive because of the exhibition. Old facility brings some difficulties. Small room has only small bed and very small shower space and very small toilet. no other space than bed for opening a suit case. Aways felt humid and very warm. Bedewing causes mold around window area. Hard to stay comfortably.

    Free coffee and tea service at the lobby. Hotel Staff are friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    4.2
    I don't like that stay at all. I will not recommended that hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff doesn't move from the desk to help the clients Hotel lift is really bad for two floors, middle of the floor stoppage. they should change it. Cuz with the luggage it's really horrible to move from the floor to lift. I will never book that hotel again. Thanks Wifi in the room, no connection. Nothing at all.

    Staff r ok and friendly. They are helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.3
    Very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No coffee and tea facilities or ironing facilities in the room, but they had those covered in another area of the hotel. The shower area small but other than that the happy and welcoming staff made up for anything that was lacking

    All very good except the rooms a bit smaller than anticipated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    6.3
    I won't stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com promised bonus drink on arrival, no bonus drink at hotel ! Breakfast is lousy Expensive compared to other options in the city I will definitely not stay here again

    Close to the river Free parking on the street during weekends

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.5
    Construction under the window, the hotel reserved the whole...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction under the window, the hotel reserved the whole amount on the card before arrival, was not very nice as the payment was to be from the other one to have the money blocked. Normally to check the card another hotels take one euro for example or one night as guarantee

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Excellent, great accommodation for adequate money.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not applicable.

    The hotel is very comfortable and nice; staff were very helpful, friendly and lovely; great location within short walking distance to all transport, shops, restaurants, old town. The room was clean, comfortable and quite spacious and wide, if comparing with 4* hotels in Berlin for example. There were free to use computer and printer; free coffee/tea in reception part. Our room was in ground floor, so we were happy about the possibility to enjoy the terrace.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    3.8
    Water pressure
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wi-Fi available in the room 104 Room not enough cleaned The third bed was not good Too much noise in the evening No bottle of water available

    Water pressure Sympathy from the employees Location not bad Parking but only free Saturday en Sunday any other weekday you pay 20 euro or more

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.1
    Decent in Dusseldorf
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom was in need of a renovation very dated. Pillows really uncomfortable. They need to make provision to better cool the room when it is hot outside.

    Nice location, great breakfast, rooms were clean and tidy, some staff warm and friendly. Decent accommodation for a few nights.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.3
    Good location and friendly staff almost cancels out the negatives.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bedside lighting. Street noise very early morning. General cleanliness. Decor needs an update. Breakfast needed serious refilling which only happened when specifically asked for.

    Location and friendly staff. Room size. Coffee.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    6.3
    Female receptionist needs training in customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Female receptionist needs training in customer service. Making a cup of tea was in reception Standard of hotel was less than expected more a 2 star facility

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    Really spacious room, kept spotlessly clean!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Breakfast could be a little more imaginative, with fresh instead of tinned fruit and tomatoes and mozzarella for those who don't eat meat. Also wish I had known they would supply a tea kettle if one asked - I bought one before discovering I could have had one from the hotel. Should be able to give out a wi-fi code for whole stay. I had three different codes in just over a week.....

    Really spacious room, kept spotlessly clean!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Val @ petes road trip through Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking of road when parking advertised it should be eithin hotel

    The breakfast had an excellent mix and choice what you need when driving through italy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.3
    a good hotel well placed to explore a great town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The member of reception staff on arrival was not welcoming. Parking is not free outside the hotel and it was difficult getting good info re a reasonable place to park.

    Great shower and a very good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.8
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Local parking was expensive, but at least not far. Not the cleanest room ever

    The first female receptionist was Basil Fawlty in drag, rude, truly horrible, youngish girl dark hair. All of the other guys were great as was the breakfast lady and room cleaner. Laid on an early breakfast as we were doing an event and let us come back for a shower and late checkout. It was pretty quiet at night

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.0
    Should not be a 4*
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff on the desk were not very helpful (apart from the Indian man who went down to the basement to get us a fan even though his shift had finished. We had requested this 3 days earlier as our room was stifling (35degrees outside) and has no air con but the other staff said they had no fans & frankly seemed like we were asking for the moon). Everything was far too much effort if it was anything other than fetching our room key. The rooms were very funky and huge, but not very clean. Parking absolutely impossible and very expensive - take this into account when you book this hotel. The breakfast was fantastic! Best bit about this hotel tbh. Wifi absolutely diabolical and could only be used in reception and switched off after 1/2 hr Dont know how this got a 4*.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Nice relaxing place to stay
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was very slow and the stairwell lights didn't work beyond floor three

    It's quite a quirky place, the staff are very helpful. There was a great choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.1
    Good location and breakfast, shame about the air con.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has no air-conditioning, the weather was very warm and the rooms were hot

    The location was ideal for me. Kastens was midway between the old town and the media harbour. I was taking part in a Triathlon that started in the Media Harbour, so ideal location for that. It's a nice hotel with friendly staff. Breakfast was good, the hotel even changed the timing to suit us on race day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    6.3
    One night Duesseldorf
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is carpet on the floor in the room we have booked. So I got the feeling that the cleaning service vacuumed under the bed last time in last year. Basically not only there. The floor was dirty. Furthermore it was very stuffy in the room. Opened windows could not help because of the noise from the outside.

    Very nice quality/price ratio. The breakfast is nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    Good value for money - clean, close to attractions, nice breakfast and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only minus is that the room didn't have a coffee machine / water boiler, but there was coffee and plenty of juices in the breakfast room, and after that we were outdoor anyway.

    The hotel is quite close to the Rhine river and other touristic attractions, so there's enough to see in the area. The room was spacious and clean, with mini fridge and private bathroom. We had a TV also, and breakfast included - very nice breakfast, plenty of options and all very tasty. All in all this hotel offers great value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast was superb, 4 star.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness could be improved. Carpet did not look clean. Shower door could not be closed and previous guests used toiletries were hidden behind it.

    Breakfast was superb, 4 star. Smartly organized quite large room. Good location, tram, shopping mall in 5-10 min walking distance. Extra cosmetic mirror in the bathroom. Free coffee and snack in the lobby. Wifi was strong and reliable. Clean iron and table was available on demand. Bed was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    3.8
    Over rated hotel by Booking.com
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel in my opinion does not match any 4 star hotel that I have ever stayed at and is far below my expectations of a 4 star hotel. I personally would have rated it 2.5 star at the most. All wish list that I had written during booking the hotel at Booking.com site was not forwarded to the hotel, (at least this is what I was told) and had to wait almost half an hour to sort things upon point of arrival at the reception. Room was too congested and too hot, did not get the double bed and was a single bed, Restaurant and breakfast too basic to speak about, no proper place for a visitor to sit and have a chat, lobby and privacy is almost non existence so be careful business travellers. Elevator too small and too old and too slow. Decorations in corridors: worn out paint and the noisy stairs reminded me if I am in a factory rather than a 4 star hotel. I feel my money was totally wasted and I do not share the comments placed by Booking.com on their web site that hurry this is an occasion. Also there was no tea or coffee making facilities available in the room and I had to go down to reception to carry iron board myself to my room as the staff was not eager to provide this otherwise.

    Just the location was acceptable and being close to restaurants and public transport and walking distance to city centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    6.7
    Good value for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception staff were not the friendliest I have come across. One of the evening / night staff was quite rude when I asked a question. The decor is a bit dated. Although generally clean we were a bit dismayed to find a pair of worn mens socks under the armchair in our room. The bathroom in our room definitely needs a makeover. Although there was a bath, and the shower was powerful and the water was hot, the shower curtain and bathroom suite / fixtures need updating. Although the room was a good size the wardrobe was very small and lacked hanging space. At breakfast there was a lack of visible staff in the dining room so it there was a coffee machine malfunction or stocks were low, there was nobody around to ask for assistance. Probably more a 3* than 4 star*

    Quiet location with a tram stop just outside so it is easy to get into the centre of town. It has a lift (but this stops mid floor so some steps to climb). Opposite the police station! Our room had a fan that was great during the night for 2 mature ladies whose body temperatures are set at hot!! The provision of hot drinks in the reception area was great for someone who has to have a late night and early morning caffeine fix! There was a good choice of food and drinks for breakfast, including eggs, bacon sausage toast, etc. The Rheinturm telecommunications tower is visible from the hotel (it was the view we had from our room, which was nice as it changes colour at night) and the Rhine is only a few minutes walk away. If you take a left from the tower there is some nice walking (and a little area of sandy beach where you can sit and watch the world go by). Turn right and the Altstadt (Old Town) is a 10-15 minute walk away. This is where you will find a good selection bars, restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    3.8
    Like staying in a hostel !!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very Old, needs updating. Breakfast was awful. No selection, one member of staff present, No cutlery etc etc. Absolute car crash !! Felt more like a hostel than a hotel!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    8.3
    Did exactly what was promised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There could have been a little more selection of breakfast cereals, and maybe some croissants.

    The staff were really welcoming and accommodating. The bed was lovely and comfortable. I couldn't fault the experience and would definitely return again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    4.2
    WiFi signal very poor!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi signal very poor! I was on the third floor! No English TV channels! !! Only german! Shower gel not provided on the second day! Old furniture! Very noise. ..people trying my door..by people i mean stuff also.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    2.9
    Stay somewhere else
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    poor facilities, in the middle of nowhere, unhelpful staff, very very expensive for what it is and certainly is by no stretch of the imagination a 4 star hotel. Between two and 3.

    The room was a decent size

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    6.0
    This is NOT a Four Star hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In what universe is this hotel considered a Four Star hotel? Look, this is a perfectly nice hotel, clean and decently looked after, but when you book Four Star, that is what you expect, so I felt that I was walking into a hostel bedroom and bathroom. Once I had got over the fact that this is what I had for the night, the room was perfectly decent and clean and the bed was very nice, which is a plus! However, the breakfast was rubbish. We were in there early, (so at least 1.5 hours before breakfast finished), and NOTHING was topped up. There was no fruit left in the fruit salad bowls. There was no orange juice left. There was no bacon. I asked about getting some more bacon, and just about the rudest guy I have ever met told me there wasn't any. So I asked nicely again, could you get some more, and he just said NO and walked away. He wasn't just rude to me, he was rude to everyone. One word of advice, if you don't have any more of an item (which does happen, but bacon at breakfast??), then take away the dish so that people don't know it was even on offer in the first place. 40 minutes later the old bacon dish was still there, the fruit salad bowls were still sitting there empty, and the orange juice was still empty. Very, very poor service and supply. If you like your breakfast, don't go to this hotel. I hardly ever write reviews, but this one needed writing, I am afraid.

    Welcoming receptionist guy. Good start....but....

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    5.8
    The glasses in our room weren't clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The glasses in our room weren't clean. There was dust on the wardrobe. And finally, when I got to the shower I found out the water wasn't going through. All of this I wasn't expected for 4-star hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    3.3
    A honest review. If you expect 4 star quality you are in for a ride.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were two families with one baby each. We booked two triple rooms. Facts: Their policy card was outdated. Parking prices not accurate (they write 13eu when it varies from 15-20) They recommend a parking that they write it's open fon Saturday. I parked my car there on Friday and couldn't get it out until Monday!!! We were lucky that we were traveling with another family and by accident , thankfully, they didn't park it there. Breakfast times were 7-11 in the card and the rude breakfast lady was telling us it's up to 10. Elevator needs maintenance (door would stuck while opening). Elevator is stopping in the middle of each floor, meaning you have to use stairs to go up or down. Hotel carpet in staircase dirty. Floor carpet in room dirty, insufficient cleaning. Filth and dust all over the room. On wall portraits, under the heater, behind the bed. Curtains dislocated from the railways, you couldn't pull them to cover the window. Burned lamps on room and bathroom. Shower and wash basin both clogged. Taking a shower was a nightmare you would end up with water up to your ankles. Tv was not working. Breakfast was a total surprise and deserves a few more words. Breakfast lady was rude. She wouldn't refill bread or provide water bottle on the breakfast bench once it was depleted. We complained to reception two days in row to which they apologized and themselves brought us the water. You could see the dread of clients once on breakfast space while they were rummaging through spoons,knives and cups to find a clean one! In the end of our stay we complained directly to the hotel manager to which she apologized and said would investigate and they also did us a 10% discount in total price. Personal opinion: In all fairness the discount and the apologization of reception and manager doesn't compensate the distress and discomfort we experienced in this hotel.

    Nothing at all. This hotel has left a very biter taste of Düsseldorf (even thought the city is lovely) in my mouth. If you want a four star quality hotel save your cash and look for something else.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    7.5
    good value and central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not having a restaurant on site. Arriving at night it would be good to eat at the hotel rather than go out in the cold.

    The underfloor heatung works well. Excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    5.4
    Breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel Facilities quite over-used (needs renovation). Room toilet is a nightmare. Room Furniture needs upgrade (less capacity for clothes/no drawers at all). No safe box in the room. Single bed is quite small. Breakfast room is in the basement. the table seating is very bad, most of the time we had to share a table with other guests. We could smell something (mist probably from the kitchen) every morning at staircase.

    Breakfast. Location, 15 mins walk to the Alt-Stadt (old City) Public Parking nearby

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    4.6
    One of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No double bed although requested. No early check in although requested. Hygiene very poor and staff were incompetent. I would never recommend this hotel it was terrible.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    7.1
    City trip with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness of the rooms, old carpet and worn-out corridor. Many things at breakfast, but not much of each.

    Large rooms and close to the city centre of Düsseldorf. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    5.0
    The location was perfect for a walk into the Alt Stadt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Uncomfortable bed. Breakfast room seating not set out logically. This caused people having to wait for seating. How often are there parties of six? Finding parking was irritating.

    The location was perfect for a walk into the Alt Stadt.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    7.5
    good all round hotel with breakfast 93€ goood value, 12€...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    shower a little tired but other than that room very large and confortable.

    good all round hotel with breakfast 93€ goood value, 12€ taxi to old town and Christmas markets but possibile to take tram and metro, reception at night very good. The hotel is very quiet during the night no traffic, and it was at its capacity, breakfast was plentyful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    3.8
    Not polite stuff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady who has red-blonde hair. Never smiles... not polite... also during breakfast she shut down the lights to show the time is up... first time I have ever seen such bad situation...

    The bed was not bad...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    7.9
    Straight forward hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a reasonably priced hotel I can't think of anything negative. It is what it is and at a reasonable rate. If you are looking for luxury then this hotel is not for you.

    We had the BEST receptionist during our stay. So friendly and helpful. Have stayed in many hotels but this lady (strawberry blond curls sorry can't remember name ) made us feel so welcome and her English was superb. Good location 15minutes approx into Xmas markets & town. Equal distance to harbour/ Marina. Very easy to find as you just head towards the telecommunications tower. Good breakfast nice lot of fresh fruit Good size beds nice strong shower.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    3.8
    Extremely disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are really dirty, breakfast is awfull. Every thing - I really mean every thing - is extremely bad. Never book and stay at this hotel.

    There was nothing to like

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    7.1
    Good basic hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Basic facilities, no lounge for residents

    handy location for our visit. good breakfast. clean & tidy. Quirky decor in keeping with local modern art.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    7.9
    Just a 3 stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The triple room seems used to be a sauna room. The structure is strange as a customer room. Therer is no carpet in the room. The hotel doesn't deserve 4 stars

    I'm satisfied with breakfirst.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    7.5
    Somehow too strict to rules !!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Found some dust on the bed table but nothing very unpleasant. What has been unpleasant was the fact i got there at 13. They told me "check in will be as of 15.00" ( on my booking confirmation was written as of 14:00 however). Anyhow... the young lady let me wait for two hours before giving me the room !! I've been travelling for business for the last 27 years of my life and honestly, it never happened to me. Usually if i get the hotel ahead of time receptionist stresses i'm a bit too early but in 20/30 minutes my room has always be ready.

    Its something more than a pure hotel room and less than an apartment. Difficult to define. All in all pretty pleasant Bed was very comfortable and quiet location. Breakfast was good but... no croissants at all

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    10
    Lovely stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No croissants for breakfast :(

    Excellent stay! Great location for the Altstadt and town centre , quiet area lovely staff excellent choice of breakfast, very clean, lovely hotel!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    3.8
    By no means a 4 star hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was first put in to a smoking room and staff reluctantly transferred to a room that had not been properly cleaned. The rooms have a sticky dirty feel to them. Had I the time or energy, I would have sought out another hotel, but I luckily had less than 12 hours in the city. Cleanliness standards of this hotel need to be significantly improved!! I've stayed in hostels with far better standards.

    I had missed the breakfast times, but the staff offered me to have breakfast anyway as ample food was left over.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit worn down and need renovation.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant and close to many sight-seeing locations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have better lighting in the sleeping area.

    Plenty of room to move about.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.3
    The level of the service & the premises doesn't represent a 4 star hotel , it's more like 3 stars !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More effort should be considered for the cleanness of the Hotel facilities .

    The staff is extra nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.4
    It had decent wi fi ,but don’t order an extra bed it will...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed

    It had decent wi fi ,but don’t order an extra bed it will not meet your expectations what so ever !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.3
    Friendly people at the reception
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very hot in summer, and without air-conditioning they get very stuffy. Very bad quality pillows.

    Friendly people at the reception

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.3
    no parking available,
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms need better ventilation and the bathrooms need renovation

    quite area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel great staff great location breakfast was just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could not fault it

    Excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    The food was not great at breakfast an there was no milk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was not great at breakfast an there was no milk that I could see.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Everything was perfect it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was all good

    Everything was perfect it

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Kastens Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: