Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Am Segelhafen This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Schönberger Str. 32-34, 24148 Kiel, Germany

#16 of 44 hotels in Kiel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1035 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room required some fresh air.

    This is a family owned hotel with approximately 80 rooms. I had a large room with a small lounge area inside. It was comfortable and clean. The hotel has very helpful staff, especially the man who checked us in when we arrived very late. Enjoyed our stay very much. A highlight of our trip

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The television was only able to play music. I couldn't see any video.

    The hotel was very comfortable and the staff made me feel very welcome. I also liked the food served during breakfast and the cleanliness of the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast had everything one could ask for, and yes, the croissant was fresh and flaky and my tea (I don't drink coffee, though my husband does) was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only stayed one night...found nothing to complain about.

    Breakfast was great. Easy free parking nearby. An easy bus ride to the centre. Clean and spacious room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Bit of a walk (~10min) to get to the train, and then 20 minutes to get to the city center -Not much going on locally

    +Nice-looking building +Very reasonable price (for Copenhagen and last-minute booking) +Clean +Good WiFi +Good breakfast selection

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The location is not ideal for access to the centre of Kiel or (as I required) the university. There is a good bus service from very close to the hotel once I got the hang of it, but weekend and evening services are limited. I did have some difficulty communicating with the staff (my German is non-existent) but we managed and they were very willing.

    Staff were friendly and helpful, going out of their way to help sort out a potential problem with my return trip. The room was basic but perfectly adequate and security was good. There was free wifi which worked perfectly well.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast room a little too warm, given outside temperature. I assumed "10 minutes" from city centre" was distance on foot, not by car. Luckily the bus and ferry services ran frequently, although somewhat expensive.

    Best muesli in the whole of Europe. Overall, best value for money breakfast. Reception staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about local sights and public transport, which was important given the location of the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We missed a cooler in the room. A boiler kettle with free coffee / tea would be nice !

    The hotel have a service minded staff and the breakfast was very good !

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean bed- and bathroom & comfortable bed! Breakfast had excellent variety & wonderful coffee. Coming from the southern hemisphere where it is winter (Namibia & Australia) the fan was an absolute bonus, as it was quite hot outside! The staff was friendly & helpful, we couldn't ask for more, it was perfect - thank you!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in Kiel during a mini heat-wave and our room, on the top floor, had no air-conditioning and was facing the sun all day. Very unusual weather for Kiel and we did find a fan in our closet, but our room was significantly warmer than the hallways, breakfast room, etc.

    Very friendly and helpful staff with a can-do attitude, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Doesn't have a fridge (minibar) in the room, which is sometimes good to have in a warm summer day.

    Charming little hotel. Easy to access, just beside the highway.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the car parking was adequate but did not feel secure for the area .

    great overnight hotel ,the staff were friendly and helpful . Breakfast was very good with the correct choice for travellers , we will stay again when in the area .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quilt and pillow could be better.

    It was clean and a nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very nice friendly hotel. good garage for safe parking

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff really kind and present

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect for visotors fo GEOMAR

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    + Free car parking was easy in front/nearby the hotel + A good place to stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all was perfect

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Value for money. Close to city centre. Separate parking facility. Good breakfast. can spend easily few days there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Quiet and clean, good breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No faults to note

    Easy to find Hotel in a pleasant out-of-town location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice and helpful staff!!!! Great breakfast!!! Very enjoyable visit.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air is too dry, need humdifier

    Excellent service!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff extremely helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast provided. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    paying for coffee at breakfast and the car park did not look secure

    beds and room were good also the bathroom ,our breakfast was presented well

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Nice staff, for a 3* hotel very nice and clean, very very nice breakfast selection

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived late so no ability to raise food in the local area

    Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking was not awailable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I did'nt like the carpet in the room (weird smell)

    The location (beautiful landscape and little port nearby), it was very calm and the next tram station was not far away

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    horrible beds, so so hard, we were there for 2 nights but barely slept, so uncomfortable, strange because we prefer firm mattresses and we do have that home but here was like lying on a plank of wood...also good to have a car otherwise, around 7kms from city centre and shops

    friendly staff, well isolated from noise, spacious rooms, good bathroom, good breakfast, very clean room and bathroom , close to city centre and shops by car

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had a top floor room, which was what I requested, but the slanted ceiling made it feel like an attic room.

    The bed was comfortable and the staff was very friendly. The breakfast was very extensive.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very nice hotel in every way, friendly staff who spoke excellent English. We had a 4-bed family room which was very light and airy. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    unfortunately, the carpet on the floor was not so clean but it was acceptable.

    15. Jan and 16. Jan I stayed there with my Family. especially, the Hotel Service on front was very good, Kind, and the best one.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The beds were very comfy!

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    /

    Staff is really friendly and helpful, location is great, decoration fits the area perfectly, breakfast has a huge variety for everyone.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly, cheerful and helpful staff, were able to cater for Gluten and Lactose food intolerances.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent staff, great hotel!

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Easy to find. Very friendly staff. Comfortable room with good view. Excellent breakfast selection. plenty of carparking spaces.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not having a working table in my room is really a problem for business traveller (as well as for other travellers)..

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    space and cleanliness friendly feel

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good breakfast, excellent location close to Kiel harbour. Nice staff

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Solo traveller

    friendly, pulito, semplice e ancora friendly, friendly, friendly

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was clean and of a good size, there is a Supermarkt and places to eat close

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: