Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Kipping This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Winckelmannstr. 6, 01069 Dresden, Germany

#39 of 106 hotels in Dresden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 480 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 72

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The WiFi was unstable. There wasn't a minibar in the room. Everything else was OK. I don't have more complaines.

    The location of the facility was exellent, nearby the central station. The hotel was in old fashion stil, very clean. The room was big, the bathroom very clean. The WiFi was free, without password. There was also a free parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very strange people on the reception, who do not speak English at all. Matrace on the bed is very old and not comfortable, so this hotel is only for 1 night.

    The hotel is in the center and has parking. It is ok for one night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No soundproof and bed was not very comfortabe. Also staff spoke hardly any english.

    Location bathroom and room size. Cleanliness and staff very polite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I made a mistake, thinking that I had booked 2 rooms for me and my three children however arrived to only one room for 2 people. I am certain that I selected 1 adult, 3 children for the dates (in Booking.com) however something happened or did not happen. Regardless, the woman who greeted us was able to provide my young son and I with a room and we were all happy. Thank you Family Kipping. This is the second time we have stayed with them., also in June 2017, and we will definitely stay again! :-) :-) :-) :-)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful 1800s house loved it very comfortable and within walking distance of downtown only one block from the Dresden Main Station. Lovely people run the hotel very courteous and friendly great homemade breakfast loved this hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor internet in the room. Much to our regret, smoking was not effectively discouraged in the hotel.

    The hotel is very well-located (just behind the Central Railway station) in a quiet part of town. It has charm. Rooms are spatious. The beds are comfortable. The breakfast is generous, with fresh fruit and vegetables.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location. Near the train station. Quirky charm, no nonsense, but very comfortable and spacious room. Breakfast is worth the money. Lots of local tourists stay there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel is situated very close to the main train station in Dresden so not far to go if you are travelling by train with suitcases. The room was very spacious, a bit dated but very clean and airy. The main shopping centre was a short walk away. The main attractions like the palace, churches, river etc are a bit further away but we didn't mind the walk so that wasn't a problem for us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm,quiet,comfortable, with some garden attached and two minutes walk from the main station and tram stops.I would stay here again for the location alone but the rest was good as well. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved staying here! Friendly staff (who spoke great English) and were very helpful! Breakfast was great. Rooms were large, clean, quiet and comfortable!! Highly recommend!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sometimes the owners seemed to be a bit offhand, might have been a language thing. It is a bit tired in places, but that sort of adds to the place.

    Location right next to train station. Room was very big and property had a lot of character and history. Breakfast had a huge range of things and all good. Dinner was also pretty good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really nice family hotel with comfortable beds, clean bathroom with simple but excellent breakfast. The hotel is very close to the main train station and downtown. Everything was great and pleasant. I will be coming back :-)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really - air con at a push but fan was adequate

    Lovely German ran hotel, very friendly with good English . Breakfast very good, rooms spacious and clean. Very quiet too. About 20 minute walk to the centre of the old town but you pass shopping centres , restaurants and bars so not a chore.if arriving by train go out the back exit (opposite side to all the trams and shops , look to your right and find a small blue casino building- the hotel is just up from there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First of all location - my 3 children and I travelled by train from Prague (a beautiful journey), disembarked and walked to the hotel, perfect! Upon arrival and right through to the end of our stay, everything was so so so calm. We weren't very demanding however I am certain that, had we been, they would have accommodated us. The room was large enough to accommodate all 4 of us easily. For information to anyone reading this, as is common in Europe, the train station does not go through the centre of the city, which is a GOOD thing :-). There is a trade-off between not having to carry, or take taxi with, heavy bags a long distance from the station to the city centre and getting rid of them early and then learning to use public transport; I prefer the latter, especially as an educational tool for me and my children.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, short walk from main railway station and all the main tourist attractions. Friendly staff. Pleasant garden restaurant area. Spacious room with high ceiling.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    We arrived from Frankfurt on the train and had about 1 block to walk. This hotel was right across the street from one of the side entrances to the train station. Hotel Kipping is in an old building, but the rooms are fresh. We ate the breakfast only one day due to our schedule. Plenty of variety: eggs, breads/rolls, fruit, cereals, cheese, etc. The gentleman who works there is very nice and helpful. His smile made us feel welcome. We would stay here again. The city transportation was adjacent and very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish the breakfast had been a couple of euros cheaper.

    For those coming by bus or train, the location is quite handy for the station (a 2-minute walk); otherwise it is a manageable walk (15-20 minutes) to the Old Town. The room was large and comfortable. It's not a fancy place, but I would certainly recommend it for those who need a good place to stay while visiting the city. The staff was helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect. Very close to the city center. Friendly personnel. Hotel in family tradition. Cost-benefit excellent. Very clean. Nice large rooms in a old but well restored Dresden city villa. Highly recommended. My favourite place to stay in Dresden.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All the rooms were occupied & the staff seemed to have trouble keeping up the supply of food on the breakfast bar. Items would run out & take ages to be resupplied (if at all).

    Easy to find, breakfast was included & parking is on site. It's only a 5 minute walk to the train station or 20mins into the old town. It's a historic building as it was one of the few to survive the bombing & destruction of Dresden on 13 February 1945.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered breakfast the first morning. A great buffet. When We awoke the second morning, my husband and I decided not to eat, but we were charged because we had breakfast the first morning. We did receive a refund, but they were very rude about it.

    A very small, intimate hotel. They had a bar and great restaurant right there in the hotel. Close to sites we wanted to see. The food in the restaurant was delicious and authentic German food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only small thing was that the shower head kept sliding down.

    The stay was very good. The hotel was very clean. The breakfast was really very good for only 9 Euros.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't remember any :)

    Although, it is not big and fancy Hotel, but it has everything you need, located just opposite to the central train station. Very quiet and clean, room size can be consider big compare to big cities hotels. Downtown can be reach by walk in 10mins (about 1km).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a beautiful old style hotel. Our room was large with space for a desk and some arm chairs and had a wonderful ambience. We had an entrance area as well for the coats and luggage. It was very close to the station and a long but pleasant walk to the centre of the old town. Taxis were easily available at the station. The hotel has car parking and lovely grounds with many trees and plants. Breakfast was delicious, varied and plentiful. The hosts were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing springs to mind

    Excellent breakfast and very close to the station. The hotel's restaurant was really good, a limited menu excellently cooked at a very reasonable price

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I cannot say anything bad about the hotel, it is not a luxury hotel, but that is not the point, as you get very good quality for the price you pay.

    In the close proximity (almost across the street) of the main train station. Very helpful and friendly staff. The hotel was very flexible with check-in time and was ok with leaving some of my staff at reception after check-out and get them back later. Great breakfasts.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit outdated and mattress was too soft.

    Good location and staff. Not a big corporate hotel, but a nice hotel with a personal approach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor English

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious clean room. Oldfashion in a good way. Friendly staff. Good internet connection. Very good location near to the train station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two separate mattresses in a double/queen bed is awkward for a couple. There's an uncomfortable split in the middle.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing special

    Close to the city center

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Add some instruction in English would be perfect

    Clean and comfortable room in vintage style; hotel is close to the main railway station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Na

    Close to trainstation

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Unbeatable location near the train station. Seemed like it should have been more expensive than it was.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient and close to central railway station. Very quiet place and comfort room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a total perfection. Hotel is quite clean, rooms are comfortable and beds are really good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    it was a little noisy at night some nights but to be expected so close to rail station and area

    The food was exceptional

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    sadly the restaurant is closed on Sundays

    very close to train station, but still quiet location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    loved everything about the Kipping especially the history 80 years in same family--through devastating WWII & communist regime. Amazing.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super close to train station. Restaurant on site.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The city tax was not mentioned on the Booking site and of course not included, + 3 €/ night, and reception staff, owners?, not very friendly

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great experience of a small European hotel. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Confusion over the room rate

    Location and proximity to the main railway station. A place in history and a well maintained property. Excellent breakfasts.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room smelled of cigarette smoke even though a no smoking sign was in the room. There is no way for getting rid of the smell and was obvious every time you entered the room - very allergic reactions to smoke!

    Very close to both Dresden Hbf and our hire car pickup location, walking distance to both - excellent!

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.Ticked all the boxes for us.

    Plenty of character.Great location,easy access to the sights and short walk to the Hauptbahnhof.Excellent all round hotel.I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Dresden.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillows are very bad and the shower changes temperature from very hot to very cold all the time.

    Location is very good and the building is very comfortable with a lot of caracter. Internet is fast and free, breakfast is nice! Beds are good! They were welcoming towards our 3 dogs!

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The sound insulation seems to be a issue but still bearable. Could hear people walking or opening the door

    The location is terrific. It is just on the other side of the town away from the crowded at night

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location just near the train station was a big plus for us. The hotel is a beautiful original building- only one in the area to survive in 1945. The staff were helpful; wi-fi strong and free; breakfast was 9 euro and excellent and the room was huge with a very comfortable bed and really warm covers. Heating and air con were also available. Wanted to stay longer!

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    room carpet worn out

    perfect location close to the train station, convenient to the University and the city center; the charm of a historic building; helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds creaked very badly at the slightest movement.

    Space (effectively a huge sitting room with very comfortable chairs and sofa), good lighting, very rich and varied breakfast, intimate atmosphere and the building has an interesting history. Also good restaurant for evening meal.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Environment just surrounding the hotel is not very pretty--unless you walk up a block or so away from the train station.

    We were planning day trips via train, so the closeness to the train station was great. Room was large. Breakfast was amazing. Good tram connections to the center.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioning was not very affective and smelt of stale cigarette smoke. The extraction fan filter in the bathroom needed cleaning,but these things are minor when considered overall.

    Location, extremely clean. Large room. Quiet.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Far from the center. WIFI only works for one device.

    Location is good.Right next to the central station. Staff was friendly. Hotel looks better on the picture than the actual building.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit too soft bed, water in the shower tends to switch between hot and cold periodically. In general, facilities are basic (no towels radiator or safe or minibar, like in other comparable hotels - but that's not a big problem, I suppose)

    Actually the best is the staff - we had to leave very early, missing our breakfast, and it was their initiative to offer us a nice lunch package to-go. Also the breakfast they offer is very nice (it is now offered continuously 7:30-10:30, no pause as in earlier reviews). 1 minute walk from the train station, 2-3 stops by tram to the old city - very handy. We would come again.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Ficar num hotel que foi o único edifício que resistiu ao terrivel bombardeamento de Dresden em Fev 1945, já de si é relevante pelo facto em si. Mas quem optar por este hotel para se alojar nesta cidade, pode contar com a prestabilidade dos responsáveis, com a situação privilegiada, sem necessidade de utilização de transportes públicos para visita da cidade, com asseio e conforto, e, com um muito bom pequeno almoço. ***************************************** Staying in a hotel which was the only building that withstood the terrible bombing of Dresden in Feb 1945 him already is relevant because itself. But those who choose this hotel to stay in this city, you can count on the helpfulness of the owners, with a privileged situation, without the use of public transport to visit the city, with cleanliness and comfort, and, with a very good breakfast .

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bed was a bit hard for our taste. Not much right around the hotel (except the train station!) so if you're downtown, have dinner before starting back to hotel rather than expecting a restaurant in the neighborhood.

    Location was great for train travelers: literally a 2-min walk from Hauptbahnhof. Old town is a quick and scenic tram ride away. Rooms were really interesting--ours had about 15-foot ceilings, and cornices--can't get that at a chain hotel!

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable large room. Excellent breakfast. Efficient staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great base for a one night stay

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Inattentive unfriendly staff. Very cold at night, cut off heating, we get sick!!! Not delicious breakfasts.

    Convenient affordable parking

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pillows are too low

    Spacious comfortable room, Good breakfast with a lots variety. close to the train station but not in the old town.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very much a faded glory.

    Handy for the railway station.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Basic but charming. Clean and provided all that was necessary for a pleasant stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was a little small.

    The location very close to the train station was very convenient.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Just 2 mins walk from main station

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Awesome service with the best breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quite a long was from Neustadt which was a shame

    Good location for the train and the old town

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A beautiful building with stately rooms. Great location a block from the hauptbahnof.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Disinterested owner not very friendly.No TV - even after promising to fix.

    Location. Room. Breakfast.They lent us a PC.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Interesting background history to the hotel. Convenient location.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    very good location and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is in a very quiet position, but just across the street from Dresden's main train station

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 72

Guests also reviewed these properties: