Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Kloster Nimbschen This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Nimbschener Landstraße 1, 04668 Grimma, Germany

#3 of 4 hotels in Grimma

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 325 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I expected a little more for a comfort room at that price. basically an upmarket motel room, no view - just a grassy mound, a small decking area with one chair, no table. Modern and bland room in an annexe at the end of a long corridor. Not worth the extra money we paid. Also felt as we had arrived last we were under pressure to order food as soon as we sat down with a drink. After a 3 hour drive we needed to relax and catch up on things. Felt we were asked too often to order food.

    Beautiful food and an excellent choice in the evening, some original ideas. Wine we had recommended was excellent too. Excellent location and convenient for a run into Colditz the next morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single beds are quite narrow. We booked double rooms hoping for wider beds in the room, especially that we paid more than 100 Euro/night, but beds in the room were separated by a bedside table, so no benefit of paying more for double room if we wanted more comfort.

    Clean, fresh, stylish and cosy rooms! Very nice restaurant and tasty food, amazing service! Very good location with plenty of parking spaces.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room in Guesthouse***
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sat nav took us to the centre of the village, the hotel being on the outskirts. If using a satnav I would suggest using longditude and latitude coordinates as once changed to these we found the hotel with ease.

    We stayed in the guest house and had a wonderful room with separate lounge area, very comfortable after a 500 mile motorbike ride!! The evening meal and breakfast were both of a good quality. The closeness to Colditz Castle (13 km) was the main reason for choosing this venue.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Staff very helpful. Breakfast each table had a thermos of coffee so always hot. Plenty of choice of what to eat for breakfast. Rooms very spacious with settee and coffee table as well as a desk for computer. Bathroom with walk in shower and hot towel rail. Outside small enclosed terrace with two chairs. The hotel restaurant was excellent both for food and staff. The pub on the site was good for German food and cheaper.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very brief check in- check out. A bit noise from room above ours

    Very nice room- little terras- great bed- very good breakfast!!!!- parkingplace/location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location in the relaxed and green countryside. Easy and wide parking, nice and quite large room, good wi-fi, excellent the dinner in the garden.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room in Guesthouse***
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice gem close to the highway with some nice ruins from a monastery just next door. Clean rooms in a quit surrounding. Great restaurant on the corner and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room in Guesthouse***
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No option for food, either a fancy restaurant or nothing for miles. No room service, no deliveries suggested by staff. No boiler/ tea/ coffee making facilities, no fridge in the room. Staff was not particularly helpful. Obviously not a hotel used to receiving international customers.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room in Guesthouse***
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for the mini golf felt a bit mean given lack of other leisure facilities

    Great breakfast Clean spacious room Lots of outside space Close to Colditz

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room in Guesthouse***
    • Stayed 1 night

    Distance from the Gästehaus to the restaurant a bit long. Staff at the Hotelrestaurant did not pay much attention and I went to the very good Klosterschänke for dinner.

    Nice quiet place. Closed garage for my bike.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room in Guesthouse***
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've mentioned the lift. The other criticism was that although breakfast was served from 7 to 10, there appeared to be only one setting of tables so when we arrived at 9.15 we had to clear a table of other people's crumbs and cups and scavenge for serviettes. The hot food appeared not to be replenished so the scrambled egg was more or less all gone and what was left uneatable. There was rarely a member of staff in the breakfast room.

    When I booked I did not realise this hotel was 4 star with a 3 star annexe. We were in the annexe or gasthaus which was fine, except there was no lift and I had to lug heavy suitcases up several flights of stairs. The location was superb. So much so that we spent a day just relaxing there.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room in Guesthouse***
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were okay but nothing special

    Nice rural location , very good restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room in Guesthouse***
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Single Room in Guesthouse***
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was woken 3 times in night by other guests coming into guesthouse at 2, 3.30 & 5am and noisily unpacking/talking.

    Breakfast good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was very impressive. Rooms were in a separate building but that was not a problem. Breakfast was very good with good selection.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great setting and good location for visiting Colditz Castle

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room in Guesthouse***
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception staff were excellent and ever helpful. I would definitely return and recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent modern hotel in traditional style. Lovely, spacious room with great facilities. Helpful, friendly staff & good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room in Guesthouse***
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed was a little too small (I'm 1.80 mt)

    all pretty much perfect!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room in Guesthouse***
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A long walk to reception.

    Not much. There was a wedding on so we were pushed to one side

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room we were allocated was more or less a suite, with a couch, chair and coffee table to hand. Very nice. Just a shame there was no cofee-making stuff in the room.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room size in the Guest House was great, the bed comfy, nice bathroom and lounge area. The breakfast was superb, massive selection. Had dinner in the Klosterschänke, massive portions and good atmosphere. Colditz is only a short drive away and was a lot quieter than I thought it would be, had a great day out!

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Kitchen / staff had forgot our dinner and it took long time to discover by chance that we were still waiting. The toilet seat had mark on it. we cleaned and disinfected it ourselves.

    Overall nice place to stay and good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only serious drawback was our double bed, made by two adjoining beds on wheels and each of them with a separate lower sheet: I and my wife were indeed sleeping in two separate beds. When we told to the reception that we needed a double lower sheet, they understood we were referring to the upper duvets and replied "in Germany it works this way". We ended up re-doing our bed by ourselves putting the two sheets across, which at least allowed the two beds to stay together instead than rolling away during the night.

    Very nice place and the rooms in the so-called guest house are really mini-suites with a lounge and a balcony. Great breakfast, but limited with regard to the sweet part. There are two restaurants on place and we liked more the more popular one than the upscale one.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    All the staff we met were extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms were spotless and very well equipped, we ate in one of two restaurants and the food was delicious - absolutely no complaints from us!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent hotel, great location, helpful staff. Two restaurants serving excellent food. Rooms are relatively simple but clean and large. Excellent beds !

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    muffe geur op de gang in het gueast house

    mooie schone kamer ontbijt was heerlijk vriendelijke medewerkers Lekker restaurant bij de ingang van het Hotel

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Minor gripe is that we sat outside main restaurant/bar for about 20 mins without being served, moved inside and still were not served for another 10 mins.

    Nice and relaxing, wandering round the grounds. Grimma 5 mins ride away (30 min walk).

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a lovely big suite, very modern, the reception and bsr a 2 min walk away with a lovely area to eat drink. Great breakfast with lots to choose from.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We truly enjoyed the friendly staff, comfortable rooms. We felt very secure spending our first night in a new country. We would highly recommend this hotel to any one traveling to Getmany.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No real negatives.

    Super place. Pleasant staff who were most helpful. Very quiet - only hear birds and frogs! Sauna was good - towels,slippers and gown supplid. A great place, rounded off with a super breakfast. Traditional restaurant good, too. WiFi OK, but like most hotels, the number of emails are limited for sending.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This hotel is superb, the facilities, the staff, the grounds, the food. The hotel is spread out from the main reception which adds to the beauty and gives it a relaxing atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel very spread out, which is part of its charm but it would not be so good if raining.

    Excellent room in unusual setting. The hotel is close to Colditz Castle.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The nearby town of Grimma was a bit of a disappointment. Don't believe the local tourism board's boasts regarding the town's charms. Still looks like the Commies control it - drab and rundown/ Efforts are underway to fix things up but I suspect they are still years away to turning Grimma into a charming town.

    First class accomodations in a beautiful countryside setting. One could spend their whole vacation partaking of the activities offered onsite. Quiet, comfortable rooms. Great restaurant, sumptuous breakfast, friendly staff. Located in the middle of castle country in what was once Communist Germany. An undiscovered treasure.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The restaurant and room were clean, top marks The food was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything,the food in the restaurant,the beer,the staff,the rooms,the breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very Large Room. Superb dinner in the evening. Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing quiet location with lovely grounds. Very friendly staff Good wifi and parking and lovely food.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfort.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly helpful check in.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Food,drink.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - small rooms, - small bed.

    - breakfast, - friendly staff, - roustic atmosphere, - free parking, - WiFi.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    great spot close to colditz town good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room, location, service and food. Good humoured staff. Beautiful location, great restraunts.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Browse Hotel Kloster Nimbschen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: