Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Domblick Garni This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Domstrasse 28, Altstadt-Nord, 50668 Cologne, Germany

#21 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1625 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really... Great stay for the price.

    I'm kind of a psycho when it comes to clean and I believe this is the cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in. The room just feels clean when walking in and every corner of the room and bathroom are flawless. Small room but bright and windows open to let the air in. Comfy beds and nice breakfast. Great location by the train station. Quick walk to the center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing was bad with this hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The owners of this family run hotel were extremely friendly & helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them, & we would not hesitate to return there again!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast starts at 8:00, so if you plan some day trips you might be disappointed. By the way, they can also give you a wrong lunch packet and you would be disappointed even more. With such policy I don't know why they force to book with the breakfast included...

    Super simple and clean rooms. Awesome location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for train station access. Very clean rooms and bathroom. Breakfast was amazing and staff very attentive. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As said, the room (and also breakfast room) were small and the facilities were good but basic. For me this was not a problem, but if you want more luxury or space this may not be the place for you.

    Based on the reviews, I expected a cozy hotel with small rooms and not a lot of fuzz, but very friendly staff. And that is exactly what it was! I felt really comfortable and at home in 'my' small room on the top floor. It's a family run hotel, and they made me feel very welcome. The hotel is also just a short walk away from the main train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was somewhat small and outdated.

    The location is great for train travelers as well as those returning rental cars. The staff was very accommodating. They stored and retrieved our left luggage and would not allow us to help them. The breakfast was good and plenty of coffee delivered to our table.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One bed was more comfortable than the other. Just a wonderful place to stay. Loved it!

    Great breakfast! We got two different hardness beds. We likes the softer one better so maybe ask for your preference ahead of time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly staff, great location close to the station, cathedral and great bars and restaurants. The street itself is quiet. I would definitely come here again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found the pillows quite uncomfortable, but since we stayed only one night (and realized this pillow issue closer to the morning) - we did not make any attempts to resolve this issue with the property, but I am sure that the staff will be more than happy to help with this or any other issue!

    I liked basically everything - there is literally nothing what I did not like, except the pillows. Friendly staff, comfortable and quite room, maintained facilities, tasty (even though not super-diverse) breakfast, 2 minutes from Central station - what else could I wish? Highly recommended!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not at all

    Excelent location, near the central station and the main attractions. The crew is really careful. I had some parcels sent to me and they received and stored them until my arrival.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very good and the staff were very helpful. Requested more pillows and were delivered immediately. The hotel is a short walk to train, river, shopping, restaurants, cathedral.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking space is not included to the room fee. The breakfast room is very small and not really comfortable. The quality of the breakfast was a bit under our expectations.

    The position is perfect, very close to the city centre. The stuff was really nice and available. It was good to have the chance to park in the hotel parking space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location, just a couple blocks from central train station. The room was great and quiet, no noise from the street or other rooms. Wifi is solid and fast. The staff is very profesional and friendly, they were always asking and making sure that my stay was pleasant. Vielen Dank!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a little noisy, especially sounds from the corridor. I think that's it.

    It is very close to the main Railway station a the cathedra. It has its own parking and staff is so helpful and kind I can't even explain. Every time you ask for directions they give you a city map and show the route. It was very helpful for me. Great coffee at breakfast and very easy to get to the Messe/Fairs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff, ideally placed close to the central station easy walk into the centre of Cologne. Very easy train ride from the Airport and one stop on the train to the Koelnmesse Exhibition Centre. Hotel was simple but immaculately clean as were the rooms great showers. Breakfast was simple but plentiful absolutely no complaints will stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a criticism.but a suggestion..It would have been great to have a bar/ lounge area so guests can work from there and enjoy a drink. The breakfast area could be renovated for this purpose

    The location was fantastic and the staff were brilliant. The rooms were basic but very warm amd clean. A "double" room in europe may be a different meaning as i ordered a double (thinking one big bed) and actually got a twin single. Its a quiet block and feels very secure.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The cleanliness of the hotel was suberb. The staff were so friendly and genuinely wanted feedback on our stay which we rated as excellent. So close to all amenities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are a bit small, but if you are looking for a central hotel with everything in walking distance and a proper parking spot this is a excellent choice

    Staff is helpfull and friendly, parking is very easy and a good addition to this central hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was quite small and would have preferred a double bed (but only a narrow twin was available). There is no step free access to any room (the lift opens in between each floor onto the staircase)

    Nice location - quiet road 5 minutes from Hbf

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is run by a very friendly and helpfull family,they let me in my room two hours early, let me checkout an hour later, borowed me a waterboiler.The room was modest, but very clean just like the rest of the hotel. Breakfast was also really complete and fresh. The room was very quite , but still at a few minutes walk from the central station and dom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a twin room for a friend and I. The room was very small. Could have been bigger. The lighting in the shower room was not good so it was difficult when shaving.

    The breakfast was good. The staff was very pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a lounge area to sit in.

    Location excellent, close to the station, the Cathedral and all amenities. Quite a small room but cosy and warmly carpeted. Comfortable beds. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The double room is two single beds pushed together. Breakfast is basic but good enough.

    Very very good location for the train station and the staff were very friendly, helpful, and spoke English well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no adverse comments

    excellent breakfast : secure room : staff very friendly and were so helpful and obliging : nothing seemed too much bother: would choose to stay here again and recommend hotel to friends: near cathedral

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    a small friendly family run hotel. the breakfast was excellent. Daniel certainly made us feel welcome, a big difference to the previous nights hotel stay elsewhere,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle and complimentary drinks tray would have been nice in the room but there is a McDonald’s not too far away so we took hot drinks back to the room on the way back from our days activities. The hotel description states free toiletries, which was sachets of shampoo/shower gel, a dispenser in the shower cubicle would have been preferable. There were only four coat hangers in our room. Those are minor things, on the whole I couldn’t fault the hotel at all.

    Excellent location very close to the Central rail station (Köln HBF) which is only a five minute walk away and the city’s cathedral area which is about a ten minute walk away (Alstadt) the old town which has plenty of bars and traditional pubs and restaurants and hosts one of the fantastic Christmas Markets. The hotel reception is incredibly welcoming and helpful providing useful information as soon as you check in. The rooms are exceptionally clean and very comfortable, the staff are busy every morning making sure the rooms are clean and tidy for when you return from the days activities. Showers are powerful and plenty of hot water. Despite the hotels close proximity to the centre of Cologne, it is on a quiet street. The river Rhine is only a five minute walk away with plentiful boat trips and river cruises on offer. Breakfast is provided and is more than adequate with selections of meats, cheeses, jams, cereals, breads, toast, cakes, yoghurts, juices, a hot counter and teas and coffees to your liking. The hotel has five floors with the breakfast room in the basement area, a lift is provided. Two radiators were in our room but weren’t needed even though it was December and very cold outside. The rooms are very cosy with down quilts. Everything is within easy reach. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the city. It is superb value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilties are not great. There is nowhere to have a hot drink apart from at breakfast. Also insufficient seating at breakfast.

    Great location close to the cathedral & city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is not cheap, but very central and convenient. Our room was right next to reception so people leaving early in the morning were audible.

    The hotel is very easy to reach from the railway station (Hauptbahnhof) - a three minute walk. The reception is manned 24 hours a day. The room was comfortable and perfectly clean. The window was onto a wall, but we spent all day out so this was not an issue for us. There was a small problem with a broken shower fixture, but it was mended the same day when I mentioned it. The beds were very comfortable. The staff were very helpful, making sure that everything was to our satisfaction, and giving us tips on where to eat. There are several small shops and a supermarket nearby, open late into the evening. Lots of places to eat within five minutes' walk.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel switches radiator off every night! It was extremely cold in room at night. Flow of cold or hot water is very not stable in shower. I was burned by hot water in shower twice. Breakfast was poor and it was invariable during all days of living.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Domstrasse is not the easiest street to find, but it did appear on my Lonely Planet map.

    My request for a ground level room was honored, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel's excellent location is but a short walk to the train station, the cathedral and the Alstadt.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owner was very friendly and advised us about where to go and to eat. It was a 5 minute walk from the station, breakfast was lovely with hot and cold options. Rooms were comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No common area in hotel, no hot water facilities in room for making tea or coffee, no major complaints

    Superb breakfast, had to share tables at busiest times but not a problem- immediate neighbourhood not interesting, easy ten minute walk to train station which is full of functional shopping and just on the other side of the station is the amazing Cathedral and then the restaurant, cafe, mueseum areas begin-

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was disturbed in the morning by noisy cleaning staff and also by an accidental phone call from reception. The walls are thin and the room faced a street with street-cleaning noise.

    The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They even prepared me a gluten-free breakfast especially.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The elevator is a little small/rickety.

    Absolutely perfect service. The staff was gracious, accomodating, friendly.. Aside from the hotel being located very well (within minutes walk from the Koln central station) and the rooms, albeit relatively small, being very well furnished, the overall experience was fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking may be an issue if you arrive by car. Come to Cologne by train (5 mins from hotel) instead and enjoy this beautiful city on foot!

    Rooms are small, clean and very complete. Bathroom is complete with shower, soap, shampoo, hairdryer. Don't expect a view of the City. The Dom Cathedral is a 7 minute walk, railway station no more than 5 minutes. Location is perfect for a city trip. Breakfast is included, excellent and very complete. This hotel is a value for money family run business and all staff have a smile for you and are all very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean.Quiet. near Dom and bridge.Very good position.30 minutes far from Exhibition hall by walking across the bridge.The food is healthy and service are good in reception and cooking Thank you and see you😀

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the hot summer days, you would want some cold water and cold air. Well, they aint got AC or refrigerator.

    Location was great! Breakfast was decent, and the service wasn't bad.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was a basic place, beds and pillows were ok (we had the double beds). There is no step free access, and if you take the lift to your floor, you still need to take steps to get to your floor. Since the lift is in a mid way between floors.

    Location, it is about a 5 min walk to the main train station, about 7 mins to the Cathedral, and near by supermarkets (we recommend Penny as the cheapest chain). The included breakfast was a plus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too soft for me, but that's personal preference. The 'hot' food at breakfast was cold by the time we went downstairs.

    The hotel is conveniently located to The Dom, major train station and old town, however there aren't many cafes close to the hotel. The staff are very friendly. We stayed here for one night, took a train to Heidelberg to ferry up the Rhein to Koblenz and rebooked to stay another couple of nights. The hotel stored most of our luggage while we took our little trip. Breakfast was plentiful. There is a lift if you need one, but you have to go up a few steps to get to it. There was a fan in the room and the windows open. For good coffee, go to Espresso Perfetto Kolumbastraße 8, 50667 Köln

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a family run hotel, and the owner made us feel incredibly welcome. You could see that he enjoys his job. They really went out of their way to help us with the parking and room facilities. We also got good tips on where to eat in the neighbourhood (a bit less touristic area). Room is small but clean and had everything we needed. Would definitely stay here again when in Cologne!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not sure about the triangular pillows!

    I only had a one night stop as Cologne was a convenient place to break the journey on my way (by train) from London to Copenhagen. Very convenient location (5 minutes from the station) and the room was fine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel in a great location close to the Cathedral and train station. Easy walking distance to restaurants and shops and a beautiful walk by the river. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. Really helpful, friendly staff. Lovely breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basically everything was great .. esp the staff ..

    It was a marvelous experience coming to cologne and everything going smoothly including the hotel stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything at the hotel , it is very clean, comfortable area, near to every thing , the owner oder the staff were so kind and helpful, and the breakfast was delicious and perfect 😍 And they bring what you want. I highly recommende other to book at this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little small but not an issue for a traveller

    Excelent breakfast, very kind and helpful staff, location 3 minutes walk from main station, room quiet considering location, really clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a really hot weekend so the room was very warm. Air con could have been great but by no means ruined the stay.

    Really friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location. Excellent facilities in the room. Really nice breakfast. Would definitely book again!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complains.

    Very nice, cosy hotel just a couple of minutes walk from the train station. Staff was very friendly and gave us suggestions as to what to see and where to find some food for dinner. Breakfast was also good and plenty of options available, even for vegetarians.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very, very dirty in the block. Cleanliness was not ready in time. I found the cleaning staff in the room upon arrival. The room does not have air condition An apartment disaster.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyting was perfect!

    Everything was perfect. Staff really helpful and care guests. Location is great! Rooms are clean and perfect! Thank you for everything!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took almost 10-15 minutes to get there from train station on foot. Near tourist spots. The room was clean and tidy. Staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is perfect! Everything is thought to little things. There is a very clean there. the bathroom is perfect. Place is quiet, and close to downtown and central station. A very tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It would be good to have tea/coffee-making facilities in the room.

    All the staff were friendly, helpful, and welcoming throughout our stay. The reception staff and the manager were very helpful with advice on the locality, the weather forecast etc The inclusive breakfast was a big plus for us and the variety of choice and quality was good. The location is excellent: the road is very quite throughout the day and yet it is only about 5 mins walk from the main station with an underground station even closer. There are also many restaurants and food shops close by.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    you had to either go up or down some steps to catch the elevator. Koeln was our first destination and our luggage was light so we didn't have any problems but if it had been our final destination, it might have been difficult.

    location was good. very close to the main station, the other side of the cathedral. staff was friendly and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little on the small side (but not an issue).Possibly one thing that would be beneficial would be some TV channels with languages other than German.

    Staff were great ,helpful and polite at all times.Location was excellent for the train station and hence the Cathederal.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle or iron in the room, but overall great value for money!

    Excellent location, just a few minutes from Central station and loads of bars/restaurants! Very friendly staff, clean room and was cleaned every day. Would recommend both the hotel and Cologne!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have loved to have at least one channel on TV in English language. Anyway the WIFI worked really good so it was not an issue.

    Nice location (near by the train station), friendly staff and very good breakfast with different choices! Room was confortable, not too big but cosy enough for a couple. Bathroom was clean and everything worked perfectly. The ladies in the restaurant were also very kind. Rooms are the same as in the pictures.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel close to main train station but on the quieter side of town.

    Beds were small but comfortable. Great for sleeping as you only heard chirping of birds once sun rose. Food was very good. Nice selection of meats and rolls plus eggs and fruit. Plus ample supply of lox. Elevator stop was on the half floor level.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is just what you need. Friendly staff and helpful , clean rooms and facilities, good breakfast and 3 minutes from the train station or 10 from the town center, all by foot. Excellent WiFi connection as well. This is not a top end hotel but serves what you pay for which is OK during a trade fair

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to take some steps to take the lift

    The hotel is clean and well located near the back entrance of the train station. The staff is helpful and give us recommendations about restaurant and great spots to see. Be aware the closing time of church is 18:00.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The big stain on the only chair in the room. Cannot have light in the bathroom without ventilation noise: impossible to see myself in the mirror without waking up my husband...

    Staff friendliness, location, breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    cant think of anything that i dislike

    The location is perfect! The room is clean and bright, beds are comfortable. Breakfast is extremely good with scramble eggs, smoke salmon, toast... etc. Price is reasonable as it is located at Central Cologne.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast wasn't that great. It was very basic. The room was clean

    The location was perfect, a 5 minute walk from the station and the centre. The room was basic but ok

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a twin room. It was basic but location and friendly staff were definitely the positives here that made the price more worth it.

    Location. A stone's throw from the main train station and then the cathedral just beyond it. It's so central and this was definitely a huge plus. Our flight was diverted due to a storm and this meant we were very delayed and didn't arrive at the hotel until 1am but there was no problem checking in at this time. The owner was there the next day and was very helpful with showing us sights and places to eat etc on a map. On check out they also covered the city tax for us and we left the hotel feeling happy which was a great turn around for a trip that started out so badly. The showers are also very powerful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is very small; it was also very expensive due to the trade fair..not sure what are their regular prices..

    I've stayed in this hotel when I couldn't find anything available in Dusseldorf due to a trade fair. This place is just 5 minutes from the main train station and the old town. The staff is very friendly and nice!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was good but it would have been nice to have a choice of pastries too

    The rooms were very comfortable, lovely and warm to come back to after the Christmas Market and clean too.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy stairs and annoying sounds from there.

    Very friendly staff. Small but comfortable room. Really near the Kölner Dom and the centrum of the city.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Somewhat of an acoustics problem with noise in reception during night very audible on 2nd floor. Wouldn't take much to fix !

    Great location near Koln hbf. Early check in was great and staff are very accommodating. Highly recommend for a short stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Personal approach of the Chief and his Wife. Very good location near Main Railway Station and the Dom (Cathedral). Clean rooms with facilities as described, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not understand that if I walked out the back doors of the train station, I would be one block from this hotel. Google maps had me walking wide circles the very long way around. I lost an hour or two walking to find it.

    Clean, clean, clean. Beautiful marble or stone floors. An extremely kind and caring family running the business. Very close to the HBf.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and it was clear they wanted me to enjoy my stay. I loved that I was given a city map on arrival....the first place in six weeks of travel to do so! A very considerate thing to give a visitors....always handy to have one when exploring a new place. I was then shown, on that map, where the hotel was located, where the convenience/grocery store was and other useful information I might need. The hotel is only a short distance from the train station so it's a convenient location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was not much soap for the shower.

    The personal was really nice. They have 24hours reception, which is great because we arrive late in the night. Breakfast was really good and the hotel is really close to the cathedral, not more than 10 minutes walking. There is also a metro station really close. I can just recommend it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic small hotel in the city center of Cologne. Very clean hotel and awesome staff which helped us a lot with the tips they gave us. Breakfast was way better than we expected. Its a great value for the money. I highly recommend it!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    If you are looking for luxury and 'extras', you will not find it here. Although, shower gel/shampoo and soap is provided. Due to lack of space, the breakfast serving area is a little cramped and the 'menu' does not vary. It would be good to be able to have coffee/tea making facilities in the bedroom, but this may be a particularly English preference, as most European hotels didn't provide this a few years ago.

    We travelled to Cologne by Eurostar to Brussels, followed by DB train to Cologne. The hotel is withing a few minutes walk of the main railway station and is situated in a quiet street. Walking through the station in the opposite direction takes you straight to the Cathedral Square and easy access the city centre. The Rhine is just a few minutes easy walk away. If you are looking for a warm welcome and friendly staff; a hotel where you can easily control the heating in your room and shower room; everything works perfectly and there's a high level of cleanliness - this hotel is for you. The breakfast is very good, with a good range of choices. We enjoyed a very comfortable stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only minor problem we encounter was a little noise from outside. The area was quiet; but it someone was walking in the sidewalk and talking you could hear the some of the conversation, it appears that the walls were not noise proof.

    It was a pleasant stay at this hotel. The location was great (2 blocks from cologne central train station), and the service was fine, the room size was above average, and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place, location is perfect just some blocks away from the cathedral and the train station. Breakfast is good, guys are super collaborative always willing to help, definitely recommended

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Domblick Garni traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: