Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Königin Olga 3 stars

Karlstrasse 2, 73479 Ellwangen, Germany

#9 of 11 hotels in Ellwangen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 464 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Extremely satisfied with this hotel. Quiet, clean, easy access to a Supermarket / Police station / Train station / City centre. Incredible value for the money. As for the location - it's near the centre of an overlooked small town on the romantic road. It proved the perfect base of "operations" for visiting the Northern part of this iconic German tour.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a bar in the hotel, so if you're bothered by noise late in the evening, this hotel is not the best choice.

    Nice hotel with good location just vis-a-vis of the Ellwangen railway station, which is perfect if you're arriving/leaving by train. The charming room was clean with a nice bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had some hair in the bathroom.

    Nice small hotel. The breakfast was good and the employees were very helpful. The receptionist told us that it is not save to park the bicycles outside and so he said to us we can park the bicycles inside the hotel. Great service. For 3€ you can also use the Wellness area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast could be more rich for sweet tastes.

    Very welcoming reception at the arrival. Nice hotel, well cured. Restaurant out of the hotel, right at the corner open until 22.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking lot was full, I could park in the street and it was possible parking inside, at night when the restaurant was closed and the guests left. We bought two rooms, one of which was an odd smell, could be a previous smoker guest? Two adults two children (6, 10) stayed and had to pay for two rooms, even though we would have been comfortable in one room. It was too expensive in this way.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Live concert with loud music in garden in front of hotel till past 1a.m. No parking available that night. Wifi broken, tv broken, hairddryer broken, no fridge in room, not clean. VERY RUDE receptionist, only there to try and get money for breakfost(overpriced, worst coffee ever). We mentioned all this to her, nothing was done to repair. Night staff promised to take it up with owner, but Complaint was 'lost' by other staff members and after phonecalls and mail dismissed by owner (who was on vacation and does not care what happens in his hotel. DO NOT GO THERE!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Sauna was available, but for an extra Price of 6 €/Person/45 min, which we thought was inclusive - The water bottle in the room was proposed for 2 €. The room was very small, without air condition, with a very small TV and just over the kitchen of the neighbour Restaurant... For a 3 star Hotel it was simply not enough

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. Wireless not working. Phone not working. Small bathroom. Very small desk. No bed sheets. Noise from outside pub. Breakfast charged extra and too expensive.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was quite basic, in my opinion- lots of bread and meat but not many cereals or cooked foods.

    Rooms very clean and comfortable. Staff friendly. Overall a good option for a reasonable price. The location just next to the train station is useful for a business trip.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like, anything I needed all I had to do was ask. Super nice people.

    Location Location Location is everything. Close to the center of town, a market and the train station. More than several places to eat right outside the door and a pharmacy steps away.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was just "okay". Terrible coffee, but there was a reasonable selection of food and everything was fresh.

    Perfect location for train travellers -- it's located right across the street from the train station (but it's still quiet). Great Greek/American/? restaurant downstairs (not run by the hotel, but very convenient). Cute clean rooms. We had a little misunderstanding about the bill (my mistake), but everything got cleared up fine.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the week was it very quit in the hotel no bar no restaurant. You have to pay extra for some water on the room. We asked a quit room because my wife sleeps very light. The street was quit they told us. NOT quiet at all opposite the trainstation. A lto f cars. taxis etc.

    The breakfast was very good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was OK. More services would make it a more exoensive hotel. Everything was fine with me

    Ideal location / stylish decor / friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The worst experience I have ever had in any hotel. I travel with two children of 10 and 12 years old. I booked a double room and asked for an extra bed because I had read that children under 10 years old could share the bed with us. We warned all this in the area reserved to requests in the reservation. The day we made the chek-in, everything was normal and the girl at the desk didn't mention us anything, but when we entered the room we didn't see the extra bed, so we decided to sleep in the double bed. The next day, when we had passed one night, the hotel owner kicked us out of the hotel because we could not stay four in a room. He told me that the request area in reservation are only suggestions for him. I leave some of the phrases of the hotel owner that descibes his personality: "Four people in a room, this is not a social home". "You don't want to pay for anything, not even breakfast" ¿? (I wasn't hired it)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good

    Staff really friendly, easy to find, free car parking on site. Good breakfast Lovely town as a stopover We walked up to the castle which is a museum. Worth it for the views but a bit disappointed with the museum.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived Sat afternoon-checked in by phone-reception closed. Did not see any staff till breakfast next morning.Very impersonal. Given wrong times for breakfast-again by phone. Restaurant in hotel closed-no information.

    Very nice breakfast and lady on duty then was pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It exceeded our expectation.A lovely hotel in a beautiful village.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No food (breakfast)available for vegans

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am not very fond of carpets in a hotel room

    Very fine place to be. A coat which I left a year ago was still there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-do doesn’t work in any room-number

    Wi-fi works very very bad

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have preferred a firmer pillow on the bed.

    Nice location. Had a nice old-timey feel to it with modern amenities. Excellent breakfast included.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean. The people are very kind. The location is perfect.!It is very closed to the train station. It is also closed to city center.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other guests making lots of noise

    Location, near to A7

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very nice, classic-elegant facility.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    good place to be. on walking distance

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a pity the hotel did not have a restaurant

    The room was beautifully furnished and of a high standard.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Loud door slamming at 7am. No bar at night. They give you one toilet roll for 3 days, no kettle for coffee. Table lamp had no light bulb, room was cold on arrival as heating was off.

    Next to station.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Great location in this pretty town, on site parking for our motorcycles, garden bar, restaurant downstairs, lovely rooms, helpful receptionist.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to complain about, except maybe an aircon or a fan in the room would have been nice. (We had to open every window as we were staying on a warm night and the room got very hot)

    Friendly staff who spoke English. Cheap price for the location (right opposite the station!) and nice modern room with clean bathroom. Wifi was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - No A/C or Fan. - No personnel after midnight.

    + Location and internal design of the hotel. + Clean Rooms. + Nice personnel. + Free Wi-Fi. + Free Parking Lot.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms a little basic, some are quite small.

    Location, Parking, Free WiFi, Good Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Quiet, easy to find, clean, helpful and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was a bit hot.

    Helpful staff. Ok room. Wifi worked Ok at first but started disconnecting later at night. Breakfast was Ok.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    lack of sausage for breakfast

    quiet place, nice old-fashion furnishing, well maintained building with proper elevation

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast

    Location

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Decor and style

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: