Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Krone This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Am Rad 5, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Germany

#12 of 16 B&Bs and Inns in Berchtesgaden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 294 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Very quaint German hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is small. If the lot fills up or you have a large vehicle then you need to park 80m downhill and walk back up. Our small children were not thrilled about the steep walk up to the hotel entrance and it was a difficult walk for my mother-in-law.

    Very quaint German hotel with friendly staff. Our family room had beautiful wood work around the beds and wardrobe closets, two big bathrooms, and the views from the breakfast room was absolutely stunning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Very good hotel for short and longer stay. Will be happy to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    "German" coffee...

    Beautyful location - in the nice city in the middle of mountains and nature, it is the strongest advantage of that hotel. Views from the window are great. Room was comfortable, clean with interesting furniture. WiFi worked very well. Private parking available. Breakfast better then average. Price for this area very interesting.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast that was included in the price was phenomenal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable. I’m handicapped, and when we arrived at the hotel in the evening, there was no place to park at the lot that was next to the hotel. We had to park down below the hotel and walk up the VERY steep hill. That situation was not ideal.

    The breakfast that was included in the price was phenomenal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel with good view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is difficult. We had to park way down a steep street as the small lot in front of the hotel was full by the time we returned for the evening. Streets very narrow, steep and winding.

    Nice big room. Good breakfast and view from restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Stay here for a lovely, different alpine style stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly, nothing.

    Great hotel. Lovely owner who was very helpful. Comfy room with excellent views. 5 mins walk to salt mine and 10 minutes to Berchtesgaden town centre, cable car up to mountains. Loved it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Overall very positive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Would've liked to have had a room on the opposite side that faced the town.

    The most memorable parts of our stay at Hotel Krone include the extraordinary view of Berchtesgaden and surrounding mountains, the wonderful daily breakfasts (included) and the staff (mostly family).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable room, good location for people with cars
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable room in a cute hotel. I really wanted to visit the sauna, but I got there too late. Typical twin beds, cozy duvets. Bathroom was small but modern.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.5
    Inn keeper, Mr.Kroff very acomadating along with his staff. Property felt safe and secure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 16 nights

    Room safe did not work properly --more light on bathroom vanity mirror for shaving.

    All breakfast food was excellent, variety, quality, presentation and atmosphere. Room is a bit small, but very clean and comfortable with a great view of Bavarian Alps.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.3
    it was a good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi really sucks.

    We stayed 2 nights in this hotel. It's old fashioned hotel. The decoration is out of date. The room is pretty big and comfortable. The breakfast and the views are good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.1
    The view from the room is excellent, and the location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is quite old, and the room key makes you feel like in a movie about medieval age.

    The view from the room is excellent, and the location is quite close to Berchtesgaden Town, but expect some excise to get to the town by walking because when you walk your way back to hotel, it's quite an upwards road.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    A beautiful and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is far from the railway station and Konigssee. But it is close to a beautiful historical center. The host offers free bus cards for the quests. If you would like to use public transportation to the train statation and Konigssess, you should be careful of the duration of the transporation, check bus timetable before booking the train tickets.

    This is a small, comfortable hotel locating in a quiet and beautiful neighborhood. The host is friendly and helpful. The beautiful mountain view of Alps is fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.2
    Great location, amazing views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Tea and coffee making facilities in reception area a bit basic and only available between 12 and 5, so after a long day and climb up the hill at 6pm, nothing available!

    Superb location with beautiful views of the Berchtesgaden, Obersalzberg and Watzmann. Good starting point for many walks around the area. Bear in mind there'a a steep climb up from the town to the hotel. Comfortable Bavarian style family apartment with 2 bathrooms! and excellent breakfast. Good dinner menu is available as well. Owners and staff always friendly and helpful with any questions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    5.4
    Great views but lacking in other areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We found the staff quite unfriendly and unhelpful. They didn't welcome us as we arrived and the lady who checked us in was very abrupt. The beds in the twin room were small, and the rest of the room was taken up with bulky furniture. Wifi connectivity was poor, we couldn't connect for the first 2 days despite trying various areas in the hotel. The hotel advised there was no problem with the wifi and that other guests could connect but when we spoke to other guests they were also have issues with the wifi. There is no tea/coffee facilities in the bedrooms, but a kettle and teabags available in the reception area, but the teabags are only put out between 12pm and 5pm - very strange!

    Good location, 10-15 minute walk into town. We booked a room with a balcony and view, and the views are amazing. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location and views, nice renovation to Bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the last night some locals had a party very close so we received bbq smoke and music all into the early morning hours. No air conditioning so windows are necessary. All was very great every other evening

    Excellent location and views, nice renovation to Bathroom and bedroom although not all rooms are equal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    6.3
    Great views but felt a bit past its best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a little tight for comfort Hostess wasn't hugely welcoming We ate in the restaurant one evening. Food was OK but our table was cleared after our main course with no option of dessert or explanation why.

    Amazing view of the mountains and The Eagle's Nest from breakfast terrace

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.9
    The room was clean and the staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was located in a neighborhood and there were not other restaurants close by.

    The view from the patio was amazing. The breakfast had many delicious options.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.8
    The best in Berthesgaden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Highly recommended.If you want to have a really good Bavarian Alpenhotel take the Hotel Krone!Very clean,peaceful, everything is in order.View the Alps.Relax,enjoy a good breakfast in the sun outdoors.Family run hotel.No fuzz,no overdoing,just the best of Berthesgaden. Require the view from the balcony to the Alps! Prepare to climb to the hotel after supper but it is worth it.The best cost/benefit in our Bayern holiday.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.1
    Great views - but limited from the attic room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in a triple room in the attic. If your taller mind your head. The view from those lower (presumably smaller) rooms must be fantastic.

    Spacious room for three travelers included a small but quaint balcony. View from the roof dormer windows was awesome but you had to make an effort to see through them (standing on the couch)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful view with typical Bavarian charm!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We wouldn't change a thing.

    The owners have always been very friendly and helpful. The rooms are unique and quaint with great Bavarian charm and have great balconies with wonderful views. They had a nice spread for breakfast with many choices of different typical breakfast foods.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.8
    Great for relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I mentioned, it was somewhat out of the way and a little hard to find for a non-German speaking person. However, it is great for relaxing. If you drive, use a GPS and don't let the narrow streets deter you from going there. It is worth it.

    I really enjoyed the view from the room. Had my own small balcony with a view of the mountains. The room size was just right for my family. Additionally, the location, although somewhat out of the way was great for being quiet and relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    10
    Hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind .

    I cannot recommend this hotel strongly enought . For a very good price we had the most incredale veiws from a fantastic wooden style clean warm hotel . The owner really puts himself out as do the other staff . We just loved staying here and we're very sad to leave .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    8.3
    Great bargain for your trip to Berchtesgaden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of the hotel was perfect -- high above the city. Beautiful view from our balcony. Breakfast was hearty. We had dinner each night at the hotel and the food was very tasty and a good bargain. The room was small but doable for the two of us. Onsite parking was ample. Would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    8.3
    Excellent location with wonderful mountain views. Perfect for a long weekend stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No tea/coffee making facilities in the room. No bedside tables as room was a bit small.

    Excellent location with wonderful mountain/town views, both from our balcony and from the breakfast terrace. Very friendly staff. Very clean. Comfortable bed. Quiet at night. Walking distance to the town but also parking on site. Modern bathroom with good shower.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    This is a great hotel with very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a great hotel with very good breakfast. We like it so much!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Location, good parking space, excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attic room has very low ceiling for tall people but they do have a disclaimer about it.

    Location, good parking space, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt very welcomed, staff pleasant. Breakfast more then good. Excellent view from balcony. Good safe parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Spacious room with a great view balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little bit old. Especially, I and my family were embarrassed when we saw old style room door.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    A very good family-run hotel, comfortable rooms, clean and functional, a stunning view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillow was too large.

    I liked everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Location, view and room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, view and room. Friendly staff nice place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Family run hotel, freshest rolls for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value, fabulous view, professional family run hotel, freshest rolls for breakfast. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Lovely balcony, fantastic view over Watzmann mountain and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely balcony, fantastic view over Watzmann mountain and all of Berchtesgaden town, easy parking, close by to charming Maria Gern church.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Amazing Berchtesgaden... Hotel Krone!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unbelievable views and location .. Gracious hosts

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    We enjoyed our stay and had no problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can not think of anything

    Highly recommand

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.0
    Clean Nd super views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attic room no lift and Wi-Fi poor low ceilings

    Clean Nd super views

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    I would definitely recommend this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Great breakfast and a gorgeous view over the mountains.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Everything,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet, but the internet was fixed at our last night stay

    Everything,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel with lovely view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel. Central location and at the same time quiet and relaxing.Comfortable room With lovely view from the balcony.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    EXCELLENT BREAKFAST AND SMASHING VIEWS AT BREAKFAST
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    EXCELLENT BREAKFAST AND SMASHING VIEWS AT BREAKFAST

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Terrific stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Great views

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    Nice quite place, excellent view from the balcony, tasty...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice quite place, excellent view from the balcony, tasty breakfast included.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    would stay again 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    6.3
    The room is too dark.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is too dark. There is only little light in the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    10
    Wonderful view of BGL!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little more sunshine!

    The great view, breakfast, parking, friendly neighbors, staff and fellow residents.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    7.9
    A memorable and relax trip with nature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very nice and relax view of nature just a step to the balcony of the hotel room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    10
    Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    8.3
    kind staff and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff kindly allowed me to do early check-in even though I hadn't make a request in advance. I also enjoyed a good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.2
    Great pick for a Bayern get away, very close to the national...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The single room was pretty small, but comfy. Didn't feel cold at all(although it was freezing outside).

    Great pick for a Bayern get away, very close to the national park and 10 mins walk from the town center with little traditional restaurants and shops. People actually wear their traditional clothes in the streets... Great authentic experience!

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    5.8
    Breakfast was good however speaking of eggs they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We got to view a lot of neighboring rooftops plus the Alps. As far as honoring our request they didn't as your email stated they would. Good but worn out furnishings.Very dark room with few lights.

    Breakfast was good however speaking of eggs they could've backed way off the salt.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    9.6
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very clean. Nice location with mountainous backdrop looking out over balcony. Really cosy & traditional architecture. Informative staff. Free bus service around the town using cards provided to us upon arrival. Breakfast each morning was fresh and had a wide selection. Location was at the top of a hill approx 500m from city centre so it was a small hike each day to get home but we enjoyed the exercise and the view walking to and from our room. We would definitely stay again!

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    7.5
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff could be friendlier

    Great place to stay..beautiful room with great views of the alps.! Breakfast was great, lots to choose from. Not too far from City Center. Internet worked fairly well.Would stay here again. Good restaurants nearby. Good parking. Very reasonable pricing!!

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    7.9
    Great staff, beautiful surroundings, awesome breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We stayed in the room on the top floor the" Hobbit House" I'm 6', wife 5'4" she banged her head several times, you must always duck and bend way down to sit on the balcony, you can't stand on the balcony. Parking-down the street

    Great staff, beautiful surroundings, awesome breakfast. The hotel is very nice and very clean

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    7.9
    Walking distance to an old town center, amazing view from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Annoying to log in internet. Steep hill to walk. less frequent bus.

    Walking distance to an old town center, amazing view from Hotel restaurant. Nice restaurant. Quiet area

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    7.9
    Small but cozy room which was very clean and had a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air conditioner

    Small but cozy room which was very clean and had a great view of the mountains. A basic breakfast. A little way out of town, but not too far to walk, only about 7 mins to nearest bus stop which takes you down to the town or goes further on to Maria Gern which is a very picturesque place. The hotel issues a Berchtesgaden card on check in which enables you to travel for free.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    9.6
    Great view, awesome view of the Eagle's Nest from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Well, while WiFi worked okayish it would be great if it'd work well enough to stream content from HBO and the likes

    Great view, awesome view of the Eagle's Nest from the balcony!

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    9.2
    All our room requests were met.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wellness center was closed while we visited. More coffee and tea at breakfast would have been welcome.

    All our room requests were met. Connecting through the balcony to our kids adjoining room was efficient and fun. Communications were prompt and accurate. View and location were unforgettable.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    7.5
    Breakfast was nice, great views from the balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms are a little tired, bathroom especially. There was no air conditioning or fan to help us cool down as it was very warm during our stay - especially with the room at maximum occupancy.

    Breakfast was nice, great views from the balcony.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    9.2
    The Hotel is Family run and has the old world charm with its
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi didn't work consistently...but we were on a small vacation so it wasn't a big issue...extra dog fees were un-expected and note publicized in the cost estimate on BOOKING.com, ...extra cost was a bit high though, but did not detract from the enjoyment of our stay at the hotel KRONE...but understandable due to cleaning efforts...

    The Hotel is Family run and has the old world charm with its architecture, but with all the modern up grades with bathrooms and room decoration and furnishings...it is situated in a beautiful location on a hill directly across the valley from the Eagle Nest...great views, breakfast, comfort and value...

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    7.9
    View was fantastic and had balcony from which to enjoy it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bit of a hike to town on foot. Loud neighbours can spoil balcony enjoyment (as did ours reading loudly to her companions from Dutch history book)! Room pokey/cluttered. Kettle in lounge but teabags only there mid afternoon!

    View was fantastic and had balcony from which to enjoy it. Excellent breakfast with great service.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    Everything about this place was Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything about this place was Wonderful! The View from the terrace and our room was magnificent! Very close to center of town, very quiet location. Perfect in every way!

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    9.6
    Fantastic breakfast that the owner very kindly made early...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tea and coffee facilities in the lounge were removed at 5pm.... would have been nice to be able to use these in the evening as none in the room (which seems to be the norm in continental Europe).

    Fantastic breakfast that the owner very kindly made early for us at 7 so we could get the first bus to the Eagle's Nest. Great room with fabulous views wished we had been staying longer. Very comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    10
    We were arriving late and the staff was helpful in getting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast buffet could have had just a little bit more to offer. Good quality, just a smaller offering that I am used to seeing. The hostess was excellent and prompt and remembered how you like your coffee for the next day without having to ask.

    We were arriving late and the staff was helpful in getting us checked in fast and helped with parking.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    7.1
    Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Needed to pre book wellness suite to allow time for heating up sauna etc. Parking a bit of a challenge at busy times

    Helpful staff. Lovely views of town and eagles nest

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    10
    Out of the way - quaint - but yet within walking distance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Out of the way - quaint - but yet within walking distance to the restaurants and stores of Berchtesgaden. We had dinner there the first night and it was very good home cooking and the breakfast was delicious, typically European but always had other choices available for those who don't like cold meats and cheeses for the AM! Also close by to Eagle's Nest!

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    9.6
    We made our reservations online at the last minute for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We made our reservations online at the last minute for a very short stay, so were not very picky about the type of room we got. We had a triple room on the top floor of the hotel, which meant we were in a room situated under the slanting roof. My daughter loved the short door and even though I'm almost 2 meters tall and had to duck going through (as well as going through the door to our small balcony) we were very comfortable and found the room itself to be very spacious. The best part was the views from the balcony and the small windows we had facing the Kehlsteinhaus! Other rooms on lower floors had larger balconies and full-size windows. For a longer stay, I would definitely recommend them. The location is situated high on a hill overlooking the rest of Berchtesgaden and has some spectacular views of the surrounding Alps and the Kehlsteinhaus across the valley. The breakfast was wonderful and the hotel proprietor was very helpful in meeting our needs. We will be back for a longer stay next time!

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    8.8
    The view from the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Week Wi-Fi. Room temperature is relatively high at night since the room was at the top of the house (early June at the temperature of 30 degrees during daytime).

    The view from the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    9.2
    This hotel is so cute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel restaurant was just ok for dinner. They only serve dinner for a very short time from 5:30-7:00pm. The menu leaves a lot to be desired. Not many choices, not much on it. Horrible wine list. The food we got was fine but not exactly what I expected for dinner service. Soup, salad, sausage. That is about it. Nothing consisting of a real dinner option. The waitress was unfriendly and acted annoyed we were even there. Probably because we were the only ones there. I guess all the other guests knew better than to eat there.

    This hotel is so cute. It is in a very peaceful setting, nicely decorated, and very clean. We stayed in the family room with our 2 kids and it was perfect. Great space, 2 bathrooms, a sleeping area for the kids with 2 twin beds, a sitting area, a balcony, and a master bedroom with a double bed. It was wonderful. Breakfast was nice, the hotel restaurant has a gorgeous view.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    10
    As a solo skier this is my third holiday at the hotel in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The CNN channel wasn't working so I had to resort to a good book to fill my time on returning to Scotland and the awful news reports I'm glad I had no news to hear at berchtesgaden.

    As a solo skier this is my third holiday at the hotel in using the Jenner slopes. I am made to feel very welcome, no trouble at all, and as a nurse feel recharged after my well deserved stay. The serenity and scenery on offer will ensure my return again and again.

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2015

    8.3
    Wonderful view from the window, authentic Bavarian decor,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds were very narrow (separate ones). Breakfast choice could be a bit broader (e.g. more baking).

    Wonderful view from the window, authentic Bavarian decor, friendly helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    4.2
    Seriously, I went to this hotel to spend my holiday in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Seriously, I went to this hotel to spend my holiday in a quite and relaxing environment. But OMG, this hotel gave me a room right opposite to the parking lot! I was battling with car starting up noises throughout my stay. I asked the owner to change me the room, but he was so furiously refusing to change the room that he does not have any room available with really rude attitude. PLEASE DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    7.5
    Beautiful view of the Alps from our balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beautiful view of the Alps from our balcony. Yummy breads for breakfast

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    9.6
    Views amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Vehicle access- difficult

    Views amazing

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    10
    Great view of Berchtesgaden and mountains from the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great view of Berchtesgaden and mountains from the room balcony.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    8.8
    Staffs are nice, breakfast is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staffs are nice, breakfast is perfect. 30mins walk to BHF, 15 mins walk to the center of the town.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: