Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Kübel

Westanlage 20, 35390 Gießen, Germany

#15 of 15 hotels in Gießen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 884 hotel reviews

6.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.2

  • Comfort

    5.6

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    5.5

  • Staff

    6.3

  • Value for money

    5.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.8
    Great location, barely value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs some serious updating. Room was not properly cleaned. Desk lamp was still in it's packaging.

    Nice and helpful staff and a great location. Bathroom was fairly new and nice. Just about value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    The location is excellent right in the middle of the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattress was already very used and super soft. I did not mind but a lot of people might have problems with that. Also the elevator was smelling really awkward.

    The location is excellent right in the middle of the city with a bus station straight in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    4.2
    uncomfortable
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It wasn't clean. The bathroom smells bad. A lot of utensils in the room weren't repaired. WC paper and shampoo were not enough.

    The room was very big. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    Fan avaialble but not enough to fool down the temperature...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dental kits and not all windows can open when the weather get hot

    Fan avaialble but not enough to fool down the temperature when the weather getting hot

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    Good location and convenience price
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price iwas changed when any customer changed They haven’t control seystem for price

    Good location and convenience price some staff friendlly not all Its clean and confertible for few days

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    3.8
    Dirty sucks !!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I just stayed for two nights in this thunder. Unacceptable that they leave and work with that dirt! The rooms smelled soapy and mold the mattresses leaked or the carpet on the floor had to clean for many years the curtains made of cigarettes and black of dirt, The toilet is shabby with the purple. Miserable things I can not imagine that such accommodations are functioning!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    4.2
    It’s very close to the main train station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the reception weren’t very helpful, they didn’t even know that it’s possible to pay with American Express in this hotel. They weren’t really able to help with information about the city’s public transportation, not even on the internet, which I couldn’t check myself because of the language. I mean they were nice and tried but it’s ridiculous that a hotel doesn’t even have a map of the transport network to offer. The hotel has this carpet everywhere that smells like smoke and it feels like air is not circulating well in the structure, including reception which is right in front of the entrance. Room also has this problem of the smoke smell, probably from the carpet. The general quality was poor, shower was leaking badly, some stains on the toilet seat, towels had a strange smell, mattress was very noisy when I moved in bed and I’ve seen some lamps in the corridors hanging from the wall like they’re gonna fall any minute. The frigobar was empty. In general for a hotel wih these prices and in this country I’d expect a much higher standard. I also couldn’t figure out the WiFi connection, but have to admit that I didn’t try that much.

    It’s very close to the main train station. The room was large. These are really the only good points

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    3.3
    Disappointing! - Overpriced basic accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel had confirmed by email that I could check-in at 13.00: when I arrived I could not check-in until 13.45. The bed in Room 72 was well past its use-by date! There was a lot of internal noise throughout the night. The glass shower screen(bathroom) had not been cleaned for a long time - ugh! (whit vinegar recommended!) Breakfast (10 Euro) was only satisfactory: meat was the cheapest possible etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.5
    These surveys are WAY too long.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s at a busy road, rooms tend to overheat, and opening windows is difficult due to noise.

    These surveys are WAY too long. Hotel was fine, not much more, not much less. Good price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    5.4
    Bad for its money. More like a hostel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge not working, room totally depressing, very loud, couldn't sleep past 7 in the morning. Staff made me pay at check in which I found rude, when I ask for some silverware for my room the receptionist just gave me a wet spoon and fork that he was holding with his hands. That is not good manners for hotel keeping.

    The location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    5.4
    Glad we were there only one night
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows and sheets had big yellow stains on them. No one was at the front desk at night or the morning. Very little parking in front, had to park far from hotel.

    The location was nice. The lobby was interesting.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    5.4
    A place to stay for 1 night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi didn't work until the late night (I guess when everybody else stopped using it). Before that the connection was completely instable with constant and continuous disconnections. TV didn't work at all

    Spacious single room. Clean shower. Really huge bed for such a room category. Central location (walking distance from the railway station)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    5.4
    A Curate's Egg - good only in parts and very poor in others
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No reception staff outside of the hours 14.00-22.00 Shower head in our room produced pathetic spray Bathroom sink plug didn't work so impossible to retain water in sink

    Staff in adjoining restaurant where breakfast was served. Location close to train station - 10 mins walk maximum

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.5
    Good for a short stay business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was some leakage in the lifts

    The hotel was in a good location, lots of shops around. The hotel was very quiet and very clean. Breakfast was very basic but had a couple of choices.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.8
    You get what you pay for
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No aircon - can get very very hot in Giessen - 35C? Front rooms over busy and noisy main road - book back room Nothing worked. Desklight ewas not working Fan was not working Receptionist had to come and install extension double plug Internet did not work Phone did not work

    Hotel looked nice from street Rooms and bathrooms pretty good but fittings cheap Breakfast OK

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast was really good, buffet style, there was a great...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very late check-in - 3 p.m. and very early check-out. There is nobody at the reception, only for short time for check-in hour. It is very expensive, in my opinion.

    Breakfast was really good, buffet style, there was a great choice of everything: eggs, toasts, fruit, jam, butter, croissants, tea, coffee, milk, juice and more. The hotel location is perfect if you travel by train, a short walk from the train station. The room has a working desk, the bed is comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    4.2
    Because it was in the center
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not confortable and generally dirty. The sheet were not changed in all our stay of a week. Furthermore, they couldn't prepare something for breakfast in case the departure from the hotel was previous to 7 a clock.

    Because it was in the center

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    6.3
    The sink in the bathroom did not drain.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The sink in the bathroom did not drain. The shower holder was broken. The comforter was very small. The cushion was bad too. It basically did not have any shape. The breakfast was not good. The desk lamp did not work. There was only one outlet in the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    6.3
    Room was quite.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast started at 8, I had to leave early so paid for breakfast and couldn't eat any. Wifi didn't work at all. Staff was not very friendly. Pillows were very firm and puffy, was hurting my neck.

    Room was quite. Bathroom was big. Breakfast looked nice, unfortunately couldn't eat there. Room was clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    5.0
    Check in was so bad, that my brother ended up taking the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was so bad, that my brother ended up taking the cushions from the sofa in the reception and slept in my room on the floor. Loooolng story...but so bad!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    8.3
    Perfect position, close to all amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel needs updating, which the owner has promised to do very soon!

    Excellent position in the town, close to all amenities, as well as to the main shopping street and train station. The owner has tried to help us with all the questions we had. Good breakfast. Will return there with pleasure!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    10
    Great location and good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of the hotel is superb, less than a 10 minute walk from the main train station and an equally short distance away from the main shopping street. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. My room was clean and spacious and equipped with all the necessities. Despite its central location it is nice and quiet at night. There is also free wifi. All in all, my stay was very comfortable. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.5
    All
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    Everything was a little outdated, which is OK but given what...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was a little outdated, which is OK but given what we had to pay at the time I did not think this was good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.8
    the room was very small
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was very small

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location traveling by car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was really bad

    Location is great , parking on the site €6.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not get tv to work

    Lovely breakfast and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.5
    Good location.
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It didn't have coffee or tea in the room

    Good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Everything works perfectly, frendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything works perfectly, frendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    3.8
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaness and staff

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.8
    The breakfast was not a buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not a buffet

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    3.3
    Sleep and run good if there will be no bugs
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Floor was dirty, beds were together and nobady asked if they could. A lot of noise. No parking.

    nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    5.0
    Very basic furniture, for e.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic furniture, for e.g. not even a chair where you can leave your bag or clothes

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    6.7
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not good

    Good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    Great place, very good breakfast and amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing is that there is no receptionist... only a phone at their entrance desk.

    Great place, very good breakfast and amazing location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.1
    Although in the offer was a park place, we didn't get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although in the offer was a park place, we didn't get any and we had to drive a lot till we find a free park place for our car.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.8
    1 night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet.

    Ok for onde night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.5
    Ok for a one night stay en-route
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dated.

    Very clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    6.3
    Excelent location
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no AC in the room and wi-fi connection is unstable

    Excelent location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    The location was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was fantastic. The breakfast was very tasty and easy. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.3
    A nice stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant / Location (noise from outside)

    Clean rooms/ comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.5
    Good , very close to the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good , very close to the center

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    6.3
    Smells like cigarette
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad smell in the room, no help with luggage, nobody at reception.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    4.6
    the bed
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly personal
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I even do not know.

    Very friendly personal

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.5
    WiFi was practically non-existent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi was practically non-existent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    7.5
    Good location, worth value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hate the carpet in the room. It's the only thing I hate there

    Location is very nice. 2mins to walking area of Giessen

    Stayed in November 2016

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Browse Hotel Kübel traveller photo gallery