Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Am Kupferhammer This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Westbahnhofstr. 57, 72070 Tübingen, Germany

#7 of 14 hotels in Tübingen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 349 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.9
    Room was nice size, and hotel was in a very quiet area,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in was using a key safe - it was fine, and the owner made sure I had a number in case of problems, but still prefer a conventional checkin personally. Location was good if you are driving or in a group, a bit out of the way if not.

    Room was nice size, and hotel was in a very quiet area, which was good. Bed was comfy, and shower was good. Breakfast was nice, and staff were helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.3
    Was good clean rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathtub was choked. Breakfast was limited items and only one person taking care of breakfast and receptionist guest. For the price not enough standard.

    Was good clean rooms. Good WiFi network.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    4.2
    Uncomfortable, Not hospitable at all, Not recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not feel comfortable in this hotel. I'm a Singaporean scientist who lives in France and I travel alot for my work. And this would be 1 of the hotels I will not recommend foreigners who are travelling for business or hotel, to stay in. Firstly, they claimed there was high speed internet. I was put in a room, Room 1 to be specific, and the internet was terrible there. I needed wifi so that I can get some work done once I have visited clients and I had to use my data with hotspot. I think the room was dusty as I kept having allergies in the room; I was itching all over, just lying on the bed and my eyes and nose were so itchy. It felt so much better to be outside in the fresh air. During breakfast, I realized the lady at the counter gave preferential treatment to the locals compared to someone of a different continent. The extreme friendliness, smiles and hospitality was obviously provided to the locals. And when I asked a simple question, a cold answer, straight to the point and a blank look was given; which I did not appreciate for the start of the day. I'm not staying at this hotel for free. I am a paying customer. For checking out, before I headed to the lab in the afternoon, I just needed some time to sit at a table to work on my laptop. Normally, in many hotels, even B&Bs that I have stayed in, in Europe, there is alot of understanding and I am allowed to stay longer to sit at a table to work either waiting for my flight or heading out to work before catching my flight. But with this hotel, it was a no. She just directed me to a nearby restaurant which only opened at 11am and I had to checkout at 1030am. So i waited outside the restaurant, sitting by a concrete slab to get some work done. Thank god for the colleagues I was working with and the people I met at the restaurants I went to, that made Tuebingen a nice place to make up for my stay at this hotel. I really will not recommend this hotel unless you are a local.

    I liked the location. Breakfast was simple but nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    3.3
    Not good at all. Way too expensive compared to what we got.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had 2 rooms, 4 people and only 1 bath towel and one hand towel in each room. Mosquitos or some little animals in the bathroom, 4 different types. Very small room, didn’t look like that in the pictures. 139e for one night 2 persons, very very expensive compared to everything we got. Was suppose to have 2 beds, that’s why we chose this hotel. But no, had to sleep new to a co-worker on a business trip.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.9
    Fine for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted and expected a larger room than the one we had and even a crude measurement suggested it was smaller than that advertised.

    Parking at the rear of the main hotel building was helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Great stay in Tuebingen, a charming town with a beautiful riverfront.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    On map I initially thought it was closer into town and to train station so recommend cabbing it when you first arrive. After a day though was able to navigate town pretty easily. There is also a pedestrian tunnel shortcut to the river and station.

    Very comfortable quiet room and building with peaceful atmosphere. Close to main road but not noisy and nice supermarket nearby for food (and food souvenirs). A very pleasant walk into town center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.9
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was adequate but could be improved

    The receptionist was very helpful and friendly in helping me find the location of where my conference was being held. Taxis were ordered as required with characteristic German efficiency.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One morning the warm water didn't work. That can happen. But we didn't hear a sorry nor did they compensate it in any way, but talked to us excusing what happened and so on. I was surprised by that because the other days the service was really nice.

    The room was nice and clean. The bed comfortable. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    5.0
    I will never stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception staff, although we had paid the bill on line, the staff were adamant we had to pay again, we had all the paper work showing the bill had been paid.

    Rooms clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    4.6
    not woth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1.Breakfast: the coffee was sour, the waitress said for 4,80€ we could not expect more. On the other side the fee for an additional breakfast for our daughter was 10,00€ 2.The smell in the room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    Clean and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very convenient parking on site and the breakfast we very good indeed. A short walk into town, this hotel was easy to reach from the motorway by car.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    Great little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great quiet hotel in short walking distance from Tübingen west station. Only one block. Great little hotel with a good breakfast. Very hot when visited with no AC but they found us a fan that really helped. Adult only hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.2
    The only problem is that you cannot check in before 16.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only problem is that you cannot check in before 16.00 since before that time the reception is not available. The people are very kind and helpful, but you have to take this into account.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    9.2
    Very good middle class hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Far from main train station. Westbahnhof is very close but not a lot of trains stop there.

    Very good middle class hotel. Good breakfast. 10-15mins walk to the town centre and there is a big supermarket on the way.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.6
    A great place to stay for the chocolate festival
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My friend and I travelled to Tubingen for their chocolate festival. We were lucky to spend the night at this hotel as it was a quick 15 or so minute walk to the downtown area. The hotel was visually appealing, clean, quiet, and comfortable. The staff was excellent, giving us a map and directions to the festival. I would definitely stay at this hotel again if I am ever again in the area.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.5
    very comfortable bed, new and fresh bathroom, silence,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    10 minutes walk to city center

    very comfortable bed, new and fresh bathroom, silence, friendly staff, in neighborhood railway station

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Good quiet family run hotel, very clean, quiet and good wifi and working desk
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice breakfast, good wifi, quiet and comfortable bed. A nice small hotel convenient for town and university. Perfect for the business trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Very usefull in thé cityv
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast start orly at 8d

    Very clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    4.6
    Would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took over an hour and half to get access to hotel. No one there to let us in. Phone number given to contact owner on not accessible to us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight carpet smell

    Toilet clean and nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Clean rooms and a great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very clean, breakfast was good and the staff is extremely nice, welcoming and helpful. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    4.2
    Not Very Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel didn't seem clean, even though hard to say specifically what was dirty. Everything seemed very cheap and smelled musty.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.5
    Silent sleep
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ruhe

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    8.3
    Free on site parking with a short walk to the city centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free on site parking with a short walk to the city centre.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    6.3
    too expensive for the offerings
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cellar rooms the heating didn´t work correctly

    breakfast friendliness of the stuff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    7.5
    Kind staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Price

    Kind staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    7.5
    Excellent breakfast, fresh food and comfy beds.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Reception is closed at 8pm. They did left a note with telephone number to call, but nobody picked up the phone for hour or so. Some rooms (like mine) are on the ground floor, and ground floor means that you have windows with parking view (on cars' tyres)

    Excellent breakfast, fresh food and comfy beds.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    7.5
    A clean, convenient and comfortable enough place, but at...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was just sufficient, I think they could do better. Note the place is not exactly central, so not allot right there.

    A clean, convenient and comfortable enough place, but at least my room and the location made it feel more appropriate as a business traveler hotel. I stayed in the back building which was quite newly redone.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    6.7
    Amazing breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Bedbugs! Bad wifi on ground floor

    Amazing breakfast! Location just nearby Tuebingen West train staition, 5 min from old town and university, supermarket across the street.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    9.2
    Friendly staff, nice clean, if sparse, room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The reception is closed from noon until 16:00. This is important to know: if one arrives during this time, one must sit outside in the rain! (We were fortunate to arrive at 11:00 and were granted access to our room.) So, in a sense, it is more like a B & B than a true hotel. Most hotels offer a lobby in which to sit if a room is not yet ready.

    Friendly staff, nice clean, if sparse, room.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    8.3
    Lovely hotel just took about 20-25mins to walk into old town...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike.

    Lovely hotel just took about 20-25mins to walk into old town, plenty of places to eat. Can recommend the Krumme Bruecke restaurant on Kornhausstrasse we had a lovely meal. Nice atmosphere in the town it also has a University there.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    5.4
    The hotel is clean and is comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The superficial and unhelpful nature of the coupl who Own the place

    The hotel is clean and is comfortable Walkable distance and good location for parking, supermarket nearby

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms, nice...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Very friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms, nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    9.2
    Nice, friendly, fine breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice, friendly, fine breakfast

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    8.8
    Immaculately clean, comfy, spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Immaculately clean, comfy, spacious room. Easy to park (we had a bike rack).

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    5.8
    Of the three staff members I dealt with, two were quite...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Of the three staff members I dealt with, two were quite unfriendly and rather rude. The third was friendly and helpful, but I only saw her once.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    6.3
    Bed linen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast

    Bed linen

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Browse Hotel Am Kupferhammer traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: