Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Living Hotel Großer Kurfürst by Derag This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Neue Rossstr. 11-12, Mitte, 10179 Berlin, Germany

#109 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2731 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Strategic position, clean room, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel hasn't its own parking place, so you have to find a place in the streets around the hotel (1 euro per-hour from 09 a.m. to 22 or 2 euro from 09 to 20). If available when you arrive, you can get a card from the hotel, to leave the car in the near underground parking of the supermarket at 19 euro per day.

    Strategic position at 10 minute walking from Alexander Platz! Modern structure, clean room, friendly staff, excellent cost-benefit ratio. Safe area, even in the night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Hotel is clean and bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was expensive so we did not buy but hotel has a restaurant that can be accessed from lobby.

    Hotel is clean and bed was very comfortable. What we like the most is free minibar loaded in each day with 4 local bears and 2 water. Wifi is really high speed and good quality. You can walk easily to museum island and there is also a nearby metro station. Prices are fair, I will definately stay again in my next trip.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    A bit pricey (it's Berlin!), but very clean good sized room in convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included and quite pricey - better walk down the street to the cafe/bakery Suitcases need to be carried up front stairs to reach ground level/reception/lift - very annoying and a struggle for some

    Family room (2+1) was a good size, extra bed was in separate lounge room XL bathroom was awesome U-Bahn station right next door provides great access to Berlin's easy to navigate public transport (don't buy the single or day tickets at reception, check out the Berlin Welcome card which is a much better deal) Big thumbs up for the receptionist, who searched for the best ice cream shop

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Great value hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff in the reception. Quick and efficient checkin. Barman friendly. Good location. 15 min walk to central Berlin. Great that you get 2 bottles of beer and 2 bottles of water daily.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel in good location with an excellent restaurant on site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One tiny soap for 2, not replaced on the second day. Empty tissue box not replaced. Charge a couple of euros more and replace used items!

    Very clean comfortable room. Parking garage very close by.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    The room is clean and big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is clean and big. It comes with 2 free bottles of beer and 2 bottles of drinking water. The pillows and duvets are really comfy. The location is good as well, just besides the underground.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Nearly everything was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only wish maybe is better lights in the room. It's too dim even if you turn on all the lamps/lights in the room.

    Nearly everything was superb. The hotel is comfy, nice bathroom, good location, close to museums. The personnel is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Spacious room, good location and fantastic bar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms could go with an upgrade. The room is lovely but the bathroom lets it down

    Spacious room, good location and fantastic bar! I also loved having access to a washing machine and dryer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Convenient location for the right price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of the hotel is excellent. Just at the south end of the Museum Island, next to an U-Bahn station, within a walking distance (less than 2km) from the Brandenburger Gate. The room was spacious and clean. I really liked that there is no mini-bar in the traditional sense with overpriced chocolate and water but rather two cold beers and two bottles of water free of charge.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    Mattress and pillows were very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had booked a double bed but they gave me two single beds. The room was little bit small. No windows to fresh air. The windows were opening to an internal space of the hotel

    Mattress and pillows were very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Great location to other places of interest in town and near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hypoallergenic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there is king-sized beds to provide, that would be marvelous.

    Great location to other places of interest in town and near metro station, convenient and modern facilities including gym and laundry machines

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Right next to Undreground entrance but very peaceful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hypoallergenic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location. Underground station right outside door. Clean, peaceful room. Non allergenic room and air con was very good. Bathroom had good sink area with ample space for toiletries. Kettle, teabags and safe in room . Beds comfy. What more could you ask for?

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Location excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Allergy room was clean n neat, located towards inside hall, with a small bar. All voices strengthen in the open hall and come in clearly to rooms, also to upper floors (5th). Ear plugs recommended.

    Location excellent. Clean and spacious room. Great service with the local mobile which you can take to the city with you!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    very friendly service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the price of breakfast cost 18 EUO, it is too expensive.

    very friendly service. the room is big, comfortable and clean.the location of the hotel is also very good, right next to the U bahn. our room was on the 5 floor, can see the U bahn from the window. everyday we got one free beer and water, it kind of nice. there is a mobile phone in the room. the customer can use it for guide tour and free internet, it's very special and nice of this hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No grocery shop nearby so can’t buy fruit etc, luckily the hotel provides two bottles of water everyday

    Location , right next to underground ; free water in the fridge

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    Overall an excellent price/quality ration for a cosy room in an perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Being vegan, we found it difficult not to have the possibility to get breakfast at the hotel before starting our peregrinations in the city - they were not open to selling a simple, cheaper breakfast with bread, margarine and fruit for example, and we did not want to pay €18 each for a huge breakfast buffet...

    Perfect location close to everything in Berlin on foot and by public transportation (U-Bahn at the door...). I was celebrating my birthday during my stay in Berlin and found a little bottle of bubbly with a Happy Birthday card - nice touch...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    2 beer and water in fridge for free.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Conditioner was working, but seems to be not enough. Window was damaged and could be closed well.

    2 beer and water in fridge for free. Free mobile phone with internet and calls. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Helpful staff, modern and clean hotel, good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking, you have to either hope to find a parking space on the street (not easy) or pay €20/night in the multi-storey carpark down the road

    Helpful staff, modern and clean hotel, good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were unhelpful. We struggled trying to find out where to go, every time we asked directions staff were unhelpful and didn't try help at all. Only helpful member of staff we found was when we asked if we could leave our luggage for the day after checking out, she was lovely and the cleaner was too but unfortunately the rest of reception staff weren't.

    Location, very close to subway

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Surpassed my expectations!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No real negatives. Google Maps directed me to the rear entrance (through the restaurant) of the hotel, but that's a criticism of Google Maps, not the hotel!

    Booked last minute ahead of the Berlin ePrix. Checking in and out process very smooth and fast. Staff friendly and helpful. Clean room and bathroom. Good location, within walking distance of AlexandrePlatz. Finally, the minibar (2x water + 2x Beer) was included in the already very sensible price! I will stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    okay for a business trip where you spend little Time in the hotel room itself other than to sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was pretty dated and the room which I had, had no outside light, the windows faced inside which was weird.

    Free water and beer was a nice touch and completely unexpected.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Overall it was a great stay at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hypoallergenic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was a little more two star rather than four star. More like a basic motel bathroom.

    The room was great and the amenities were fantastic. It was great that laundy was available also.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Exceptional Location and Value for Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I travelled for a city break with my parents for 3 nights from Dublin. We were all delighted with the hotel, the facilities, the service, location and also value for money. x2 free water and x2 free beers every morning was a nice touch. Bed in my single room was massive and very comfortable. Verona, Italian Restaurant was a 30 second walk and the U-Bahn a 30 second walk also. Will stay here if back in Berlin.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.4
    Great location but hotel old fashioned and felt like we stepped back into 1970
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs refurb. Bathroom needs replacing, shower leaked. Towels not very nice. Pillows uncomfortable and only three. Not a four star hotel!

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wash basin in the bathroom needed replacement. The rest was fine .

    We did not take breakfast in the hotel as there were small cafes nearby. The hotel has an excellent location. Metro and bus stations a few minutes away. Hotel modern and clean. Each day we had two bottles of water and two complimentary beers which is a nice add-on. The staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Location, staff, clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was goooood, but for the 4* it could be a bit better, but maybe I’m too picky - all in all it was good :)

    Location, staff, clean rooms. Staff is very friendly and speaks good English. Quiet hotel. WiFi worked pretty much well. On checkin - unexpectedly was given an upgrade to the apartment instead of double room - was very pleased and positively surprised. It was veeeeery useful when my 7 yo daughter requested an oatmeal-on-milk - easy with a kitchenette:) Window overlooked very green and quite neighborhood. Checkout was nice and easy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We haven't added breakfast to our stay, I think 18Є per person is a bit too much

    Nice hotel! You can leave your luggage before check-in. Hotel is really close to the city center: 20 mins to Berliner Dome, 30 mins to Potsdamer Platz by walk! Minibar: 2 beers and 2 bottles of water are free of charge, room service refill a minibar everyday. Kettle in the room, tea and coffee are also here :) In the price of our room were included a visit to sauna and gym. Rooms are quite, Wifi worked correctly. Front-office mangers were really helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Best value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. Perhaps breakfast could be included in the price.

    Great value for money. Good location, 15 minites from Alexander Platz walking, underground station in front of hotel, kind and usefull staff, minibar free of charge, sauna and fitness on hotel. Could you expect more?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    I am travelling quiet often, and have working experience in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am travelling quiet often, and have working experience in tourist agency connected with many hotels. So I could say this hotel is very good: 1. Location quiet, near to the river, very nice walk around, looks safe, near to metro U2 that connects all city center, bus station. 2. Room, it’s not newly made, but room is big, huge windows, comfortable bed, big bathroom. 3. Very good breakfast, for example 5 kind of cheese, salmon, eggs, good coffee. 4. Free sauna and gym; 5. Free mini bar 2 waters and beer. 6. Very important reasonable price! I would come back !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Everything was great, good location, 50 m from the subway,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great, good location, 50 m from the subway, very clean and the beds are extra comfy. Also, they provide a mobile phone ("handy") and you can take it out and use for making calls and internet without any extra cost. I found it super cool!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Location, Staff, Room very clean
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    During all my stay, I didn’t have internet connection in my floor and reception couldn’t help. The room was extremely hot, and room temperature was only controlled from reception, so we had to open all room windows in order to sleep and unfortunately I got sick. It was really bad experience

    Location, Staff, Room very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Everything was great, good location, just 50 m from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me the pillow was not very comfortable.. only one and too soft. I had to put a bunch of my clothes underneath..

    Everything was great, good location, just 50 m from the subway, very clean and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Would stay here again
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress was very soft/worn

    Very good value for money, good location. I was very happy that there were vegan (and gluten-free/lactose-free) options for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing that didn't always work was the re-stocking of tea and sugar bags in the room for the next day. It is a bit annoying if you already look forward to having a tea in your room before breakfast, only to discover that room service forgot to re-stock the teabags (on the one day) or the sugar bags (on the other day). But this is nothing a call to the friendly staff at the front desk couldn't fix...

    Comfortable 4-Star room, 2 bottles of free water & beer in the fridge each night (instead of the useless and expensive minibar), Kettle with tea tray in the room. I really liked that the window could actually be opened all the way to let in fresh air in the morning! The location is great IMO, quiet and a little off the main tourist routes, yet easy to walk to the city hotspots in Mitte and Kreuzberg and the U-Bahn/Subway is directly in front of the hotel entrance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    3.8
    When we booked this hotel it looked like it was included...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we booked this hotel it looked like it was included breakfast but it wasn’t. The receptionist was cold and not nice and told us that it was booking.com fault. I think it is both fault and we feel cheated about this! I will never stay or recommend a place that doesn’t know what service is!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    Great! Excellent location, service and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The steam room is small.

    The mobile phone (handy) that comes with the room is excellent. You can take it out with you during your stay at the hotel in Berlin, and use it at no extra cost. Staff were friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant comfortable hotel which was excellent value and in a convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our only problem was that the room was a bit over-warm and the heating controls were difficult to regulate or turn off

    Large comfortable room which was very quiet and clean. Everywhere we wanted to access in Berlin was accessible by walking or the U-Bahn

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    We would certainly use the Derag Living Hotel Grosser Kurfurst again if we return to Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air conditioning did not work. Not such a problem in April.

    The room was clean the bed comfortable and all the facilities were good. With the exception of one member of staff in the restaurant, all the staff were friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Absolutely perfect location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tap in our bathroom sink didn’t produce cold water, only hot, but this is only a small quibble.

    Absolutely perfect location; the underground station was just across the road with very easy access to everything we wanted to see. The excellent Middle Eastern restaurant in the hotel was a huge plus. We also really enjoyed the bar with its wide range of cocktails.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location in an unseasonably warm Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are too hard. Think the breakfasts at €18 are expensive. There are a number of easy bakery cafes for breakfast nearby.

    Excellent location but also very quiet. Many of the main sites can be visited on foot or using the U2 underground and some walking. Staff helpful. Would recommend the Cana Lebanese restaurant on site as good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too close to where the breakfast was serve, so in the morning there was too much noise. Other than that everything was great.

    The room had an excellent view and was big, the bed super comfortable. The bath had everything, the place sparkly clean. Near the metro station. They provide us with a cellphone to use, which was of great help, using the map and finding places.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.3
    Great location to explore Berlin.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One star staff in a four star hotel doesn’t work. We booked in and money was taken immediately then we found that there was no running water until 5pm each day we were there. No-one mentioned this when we checked in!!!

    Great location to explore Berlin. Large room. Comfortable bed. Good facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    Clean and well equipped room, with coffee/tea and beer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean and well equipped room, with coffee/tea and beer included. Really good location, right next to U-bahn station. Good connection to Tegel Airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    Location is superb, 1 min walk from U Bahn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought it's rated as 4 star, basic facilities were missing in room. Everything we needed to ask. The cleaning services were not really great. Not possible to get room before checking time I would say. Even When we reached on time though waited for room for 10 min. Though fair hotel I didnot felt like 4 star hotel.

    Location is superb, 1 min walk from U Bahn. Main attractions are close and within 30 min. Hotel has good wifi and bar facilities. Good to get free 2 beers and water too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.8
    Dated hotel with stained sheets and woken up by noisy staff at 6am. Would not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stained sheets (which were changed on request to be fair). Woken up at 6am by the breakfast service and staff talking loudly outside the room. Dated, tacky bathroom. Poor pillows. Cups weren’t cleaned after first night.

    Location next to ubahn station. Courteous staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Very comfortable hotel in a great location next to U-Bahn...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very comfortable hotel in a great location next to U-Bahn station but in a quiet spot out of the hustle-bustle of the main streets. Easy walking distance to Alexanderplatz and Museuminsel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Excellent stay in Berlin.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to write.

    The breakfast was very best. A coffee pot is served for each table at first. Sausages, small hamburgs, bacons, scrambled eggs are usual continental breakfast properties, but they are than expected. A variety of ham and cheese characterizes the level of breakfast, and breads are also good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    Great place to explore Berlin!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, was good value for the money! Will stay there again!

    Very clean and quiet hotel. 50 meters away from bus stop and U-bahn. Walking distance to Museum Island and right on the river Spree! Two free beers and water every day!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Cosy rooms, windows can be opened, clean sauna,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A pool would have been nice, and perhaps the hotel could consider providing a travel card for Berlin's public transport system for the duration of the visitor's stay.

    Cosy rooms, windows can be opened, clean sauna, well-equipped gym, friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    Couldn’t really have asked for more given the very competitive price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely touch of 2 bottles of beer and water in the fridge, all free, replenished each day after the cleaner had been. We were also allowed to check in over 2 hours early on our first day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    Room was clean and good, location near the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathrobe and slippers and were not in the room, but I guess for this type of hotel and for this price these should be.

    Room was clean and good, location near the center. Subway just near hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.3
    A little bit expensive but comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a little bit old Not at all a good breakfast for its price

    Clean room Comfortable bed Spacious bathroom, hot water Next to matro station Free HARIBO fruit gums

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice view of the river from the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no moisturiser or conditioner in the bathroom.

    Nice view of the river from the room. Stefan from the staff was very helpful. Great place. Highly recommended

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    n/a

    Comfort, cleanliness and walking distance to the city. Metro right nearby should you need. Nice touch with a local beer to get a taste of Berlin! Spacious bathroom and comfy bed. We were very impressed and would happily stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel with very few faults.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning wasn't very comfortable - too warm. Didn't want to open window as it was -16 outside.

    This hotel was in a quiet location but not far from the main centre. Room were a good size and comfortable. Ubahn station just outside. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel and location for our trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower gel/ shampoo wasn’t very good. Seemed cheap and was drying to the skin

    Mobile phone in room for guest use. Free of charge. What and excellent service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.2
    Good choice for visiting Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not have breakfast in the hotel due to the high price (18 €/person/night). No more inconvenients, everything was really ok.

    Excelent location. Just in front of U-bahn station "Markisches Museum" (2 stops from AlexanderPlatz). Free beer and water (with and without gas) every day. Nice room. There is a supermarket at 100 metres of the hotel. At 15 minutes walk from AlexanderPlatz and 15 minutes from Museums Island. Ratio quality-price very good! I will suggest this hotel to my friends.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast costs almost as much as the room and we didn't try it, however, there are lots of bakeries nearby.

    Great location, with the metro station just outside the hotel. The hotel is clean and comfortable, the room has everything you need, even a free minibar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Excellent stay, will be back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room decor is fairly dated but the cleanliness was superb. Complimentary beers and water in minibar fridge each day was a very nice touch. Lastly, they provide a device called a 'handy' giving you full 4G connectivity and international calling FOC

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    The location of the hotel was really good, everything was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We couldn't turn off the A/C which made the room very cold altough it was february, there were no visible instructions about it. Furthermore, I didn't like the location of our room as it was facing the indoor hall. It was very uncomfortable as we had to keep the roller blinds shut not to be seen from outside.

    The location of the hotel was really good, everything was within walking distance. The reception staff was nice and helpful. It's a good hotel for a short stay in berlin.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    Hotel in a quiet part of the city centre, directly at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was ok!

    Hotel in a quiet part of the city centre, directly at the metro line U2 with direct connections to Alexanderplatz and Potsdamer Platz.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is relatively smaller than other high-end hotels. In addition, it is situated away from the main roads of Berlin, which discourages a guest who drives a car to get there.

    This hotel is situated in the real heart of Berlin where a museum island is very close. Compared to other luxurious hotels around that area, the hotel is cheaper but can offer fairly comfortable stay to guests.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating was not enough . We'd felt cold a little bit

    Everything. The mini bar is free ( 2 water 2 beer every day). It was a surprise (for us).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    6.7
    Even it's a quite old hotel it's chill and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were told that hotel is fully booked however it wasn't and we booked over booking.com again since there are different people at the reception and not all are in the same level of understanding.

    Even it's a quite old hotel it's chill and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel with excellent location in downtown Berlin
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff seemed a bit inexperienced with checking in business clients as they first had us fill the detailed info about our stay only to find it later provided by our employer in the booking. The room they offered to me was smaller and not as quiet as the ones my colleagues had, probably because I had informed them I wished to book the same room for extended period after my business stay was over. Decoration-wise there are a lot of mirrors so mind your head when waking the corridors. Overall style is a bit kitschig. Breakfast staff could be a bit more attentive.

    Nice breakfast. Big nicely equipped bathroom. Comfortable bed (with too soft pillows though). Excellent location on the U2 line of the Berlin metro, just in 15 minutes walk from Alexanderplatz and/or the Museum Island. WiFi was stable and sustained connection to work resources.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    Good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No wheelchair access or for those who travel with big suitcases.

    The hotel has this retro vibe and decor, which is really nice. Good value for money. Great location, near bus station and U-Bahn. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was clean and tidy and the rooms had everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was clean and tidy and the rooms had everything needed. We weren’t greeted by the politest member of staff who failed to explain anything to us about what the hotel offered, I.e free coffee in reception, or any kind of explanation about the food/drink services. The free water and beer in the room everyday is a great touch. The location was great for walking access to all tourist/history type attractions but not ideal for grabbing dinner or drinks of an evening. You could travel 20 mins into the nearest neighbourhood and there is a u-bahn station right outside, but if you just wanted an easy dinner and an early night, you’d struggle.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable! Would definitely stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is immaculate. Very friendly staff. Within walking distance of a lot of lovely restaurants and tourist attractions. The hotel gave us a smart phone with the ability use the internet outwith the hotel inclusive of the room. As this was my first time in Berlin, this made finding my way around very easy!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Really surprised with how great a hotel this was,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Really surprised with how great a hotel this was, considering the price we paid. Stayed for 4 nights from Thursday to Monday. The hotel itself is very unique and impressive looking. The location, right next to an underground station and bus stop, couldn't have been better. Also the little perks, including a free phone to ramble around the city and 2 free beers in the mini bar, were nice little surprises. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.8
    Very good. Strongly suggested
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the fault of the hotel, one day the construction just infront of it started at 06:00a.m in the morning. The hotel promised to talk to the third party construction firm not to start so early again. I did not know whether they talked or not, however it did not happen again. This was the only negative thing happened during the stay. Overall it was vey good.

    Free drinks in minibar everyday (water and beer) They provided handy for free (free travel buddy). Very useful tool during the day U-bahn next to the hotel Sound proof

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, very comfortable beds and pillows
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was closed and not enough toilet paper

    Location and all the little extras. Bottles of beer and water complimentary every day was such a lovely touch.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Our room had a nice view to the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no ceiling lamps in the room, that causes serious lighting problem. We packed our luggage with all existing lamps on, but it was not enough.

    Our room had a nice view to the river. Good comfortable beds and pillows, clean bathroom. We didn't eat breakfast because of it's high price, but just around the corner there is a nice cafe with decent prices and good coffee.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    A very good 4 stars hotel 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't like the room 723 that they gave me because don't had any view from the window and the room looks little old.

    The location, the stuff, the breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.9
    It is a very beautiful hotel and the staff is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed and pillows weren't confortable at all. It was exactly like two single beds joined together to have a bigger 'double' bed.

    It is a very beautiful hotel and the staff is great! The room was nice and clean, beautiful view from the window. Very appreciated the welcome drinks. Great location!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    Great hotel at a fantastic price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There aren't an awful lot of restaurants near the hotel but everything in Berlin is spread out. 25 metres and you can be on the U-Bahn and connected to any part of the city. The breakfast prices did seem somewhat steep so we jumped into their sister hotel across the road where the price was 10 euros.

    The staff were friendly and the location of the hotel was ideal as it's located right next to the U-Bahn. The hotel had complimentary tea and coffee in reception, two complimentary bottles of beer and two bottles of water each day in your room, a couple of bags of Haribo, and a mobile phone with free calls/4g whilst you're in the city. Whilst most people in the EU can use their phones anywhere in Europe without additional charges, I'd imagine having a free mobile would be of great use to tourists from elsewhere. The beds were comfortable and the pillows comfier then any hotel i've stayed in. Would definitely stay here next time!

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Living Hotel Großer Kurfürst by Derag traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: