Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Lafayette This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Holstenstr. 3, Altona-Altstadt, 22767 Hamburg, Germany

#273 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 654 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not the cleanest place in the world, but I wasn't expecting that. Super hot, which meant we had to have the windows open. Which meant that the nightclub around the corner that's open until 5am Friday and Saturday became something of a nightmare. Not their fault, but worth considering.

    Perfectly placed for the madness of the Reeperbahn. But if you're not into that, then there's definitely better places to stay. You can fall out of the hotel door onto the S1 to get back to the airport, and there's bars and food aplenty seconds away. Staff were great, super helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a very old property and barely being held up. The staff at the counter in the morning sounded quite rude. They didn't even arrange breakfast as you have to tell them a day in advance. All in all just the location was great and near to where I wanted to go in the morning. Otherwise fairly average services and average property. You can get much better rooms in lesser price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff in the vending get were not helpful! No iron ask stir this in the first night, they said they would have it for me by the 2nd night and didn’t. He was very rude and watching something rude on the computer as we came down. The place was cleanish but some rooms smelt and the staff did not do anything to help with this.

    The location was very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable, clean rooms. Staff very friendly and very efficient. Check in was very easy, room was ready when I arrived, everything about the hotel was explained there and then. Room was nice and quiet despite being in a busy neighbourhood.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The guy at the check-in desk. VERY VERY RUDE !!!

    Fantastic hotel for a stag weekend but the guy on the check-in desk is very very rude and not very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need to have more staff at the hotel i guess , on the check out date NO ONE was available at the front desk at all they told me to one day before the check out to leave the keys at the front desk and leave on on the check out date since no one will be available at the site it was fine for me i left early in the morning but it was somehow weird

    Hotel location is awesome

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better price considering accommodations and reception staff.

    Basic accommodations. Ok but was expecting a bit more than what it was, considering the price. This is the reason I thought it is a bit lacking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ask for accommodations for 4 only allowed 2. Would not even allow other to enter room. Unable to rest due to constant sirens all night into the morning hours.

    Clean room and facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so much dislike,the place could fo with some new carpets in rooms and it is in a lively location so you cannot argue if you want that.

    Bed comfy and breakfast mainly continental but okay, big pot of coffee on each table.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was limited choice and we had to wait in the reception for a table, fresh coffee took forever to come. The room smelt of a drain and the decor was tired and dated. The manager reminded me of Basil Fawlty due to his unhelpful attitude, even when we was inquiring about local transport it seemed a burden to him to help us.

    Good location to station and clean bedding and fresh towels daily.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress was really bad, I woke up with a very painful shoulder. And the bed linen/pillow were smelly. I'm not sure they were cleaned at all. If yes, then stored poorly. A smelly bed really is bad and this was the worst about the hotel. Room in general was in poor condition, old, but okay for just one night. No hair dryer available in the room nor at the reception.

    Reception staff upon arrival was very friendly and location is totally fine even if it's not really nice. It's easy to commute from there, you see the hotel when exiting the S Bahn Station Reeperbahn. There's a lift in the hotel and the main door is closed at night (near Reeperbahn, this is definitely good news). It's very German and authentic in a way, if you're looking for something like this, you'll enjoy the 70's German vibe (and furniture). Bathroom was okay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy as it is located next to traficated street Rooms are so-so - but good considering the low price

    Cheap hotel and friendly staff Close to Reeperbahn

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room faced the street, and it was sometimes loud from early in the morning; and not very dark either. If you are use to noise and light, this will not be an issue, but if you are not, I'd recommend a cover and plugs.

    The location was great - it is literally above the Reeperbahn station, around the corner of St Pauli, and connected by several S-Bahn and bus lines to the rest of the city. The bed was very comfy, the breakfast good and the staff always helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After paying all the money online we got there and had to pay another tax! The view was of a crane! But if you're only going for drinks with the lads it will do fine! Shower was great!

    It was just of the reaperbarn the location was pretty good!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The on-site parking was limited to a few cars and unfortunately was full when we arrived. So we had to park across the road in a hospital carpark. The hotel probably could do with a make over. The carpet in the room did not look clean at all. The duvet had a clean cover but the stained duvet under showed through. The pillows were so flat it did not give support at all. I did not find the bed uncomfortable but my husband had a backache after staying there for 3 days, a lot in the room. The bathroom was also very small. There was so little space we don't have space to put our clothes. There were 2 towel rails; one was above the wc, yewwwww, one was so high above the sink, it was higher than the door. How on earth are we to use that? There was a small tv but no English channels. There was no fridge nor coffee/tea facilities. We did not take the breakfast.

    The staff was helpful. The room was big. There was a lift. The heater worked well. Location was close to a subway station with quick connections to the city centre and other tourist attractions.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had requested twin bed when I booked the room I was offered a double bed. Despite requesting reception staff again and again for a room with twin bed they did nothing about this. Very disappointed!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff double charge me the breakfast. As we arrived in the night, we paid the all the cost including breakfast (about 11pm); however, the staff didn't give me a receipt and next day, as I would leave, the other staff requested me to pay the breakfast, because in the receipt a small box is not ticked for breakfast pay. I really paid the breakfast, I asked them normally the people pay the breakfast in advance or not, they still say yes in advance. I think my problem is that not requested the receipt after my payment instantly; however, this is a small family run hotel, I did trusted them. The staff threated me to call police. Sure, I don't want to waste my time for £12; so I paid. But, I am not happy and don't understand what causes me to pay twice. My daughter said, if police came, if we can re-play something from CCTV, that may help to make things clear.

    location is fine

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too expensive for what you get. I would say its worth EUR 80 / night and not EUR 130. With just a little attention to details this could be made so much nicer.

    Good access to public transport. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The customer services was horrible, We called in advance to check in late at night, but when we arrived the man at the check-in was extremely rude towards me and my friends. When we arrived the receptionist was very grumpy and spoke very condescendingly towards us. We weren't even aloud to have a guest come into the hotel and he was made to stand outside while we were inside. Not a lot of space for parking and would not recommend staying here. We ended up leaving the hotel in the middle of the night and just traveled straight back to Denmark instead ,cause it was so horrifying, the rooms were disgusting.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a hostel in the 50 € range, this would be ok. For the 145 € / night I had to spend, it was a rip-off. Rooms far from new. WiFi mediocre bandwidth in the 100-200 kByte/s range. They want payment on arrival, cash preferred. When I didn't have that much cash on me, it took some convincing to be allowed to postpone payment to the second evening of my two-night stay.

    The 6 € breakfast is actually a good deal. Construction site next door started working late enough in the morning to not bother me. Bed quite ok, I've been in worse.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    OK but should say on webpage that there is construction site next to it - but it is quiet at night - they start 07:00 am

    - just 1 minute to all S-Bahn train - friendly staff - good breakfast - good bed - old but all works - feeling ok

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were not too comfortable, only one small pillow was not enough. It was not possible to leave the window open with the warm weather, it is very loud from the traffic.

    The location is very close to the S-Bahn. Further, it is walking distance to the Reepebahn.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Professional, friendly staff. Breakfast buffet with variety of choice. Location is nearby to center & key attractions. Inside closed parking, which is crucial for motorbike travellers.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast refusal

    Asked for breakfast when I came down in the morning. Not possible as needed to be ordered the day before. A woman asked for additional bread, not available as they only order so much.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    too much money for the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super noisy at night, very old facilities, poor breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staffs were very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower slighty dangerous as had to negotiate big step to enter it.

    Room size for group of 3adults

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and very close to the S-Bahn. There are many places to get food nearby too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything went uncomplicated; location is great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated rooms, small bathroom, thin walls, Street noise

    Fantastic location. Close to public transport

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is simple (but relatively cheap).

    Clean and neat rooms. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff, location and easy travel to the airport was excellent. It's basic, but very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ratio price/quality (considering the size of the room) was not the best.

    Nearby the Metro

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tramps on street

    Ease of booking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and building site next to it

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel's WiFi was unreliable.

    Close to the train station and the reeperbahn.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overpriced for level of comfort and facilities.

    Fairly basic but seemed functional and clean, staff pleasant enough.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bigger warmer duvet & extra pillows

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi isn't working very well

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is located in an interesting area.

    It is fine for a short stay. Almost next door to a subway entry.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad location, very noisy. No private car parking.

    Comfortable bed, clean room.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No brothel next door

    Considering it's virtually on the Reeperbahn it's surprisingly quiet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building work, all around, new development to the rear, builders start work at 5am? Pavement being replaced at front.

    Good location.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the carpet in the room was really NOT CLEAN - should be replaced

    very friendly staff - some of the reception staff gave good information which are not in the guide books. Excellent breakfast buffet

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    In general, - The blanket was too small for the size of the bed. - The breakfast is not worth 6€. - The wifi is stable but slow.

    - Good hotel for low budget: clean rooms and reception open 24 hours a day (except Sunday). - The underground station is just next to the hotel and it's only 2 stations from Altona central station. Direct line to the airport.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    bed too soft and shaking.

    location close to metro on a main road. decent and clean room. very reasonable price. close to the redlight district, but no disturbance visibly. Friendly and helpful staff. 24x7 attended reception.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    a bit run down - they are refurbishing some things, though. Clean but the bed was much too soft. Overall 100 euros per night is too much...

    friendly staff, well situated wrt the S bahn

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was cancelled due to sewage pipes leaking in breakfast room, WiFi barely worked (veeeery slow), lots of noise from outside, room smelled of chlorine, very thin pillow, matress doesn't breathe because of plastic covers, small room, tiny bathroom. Basically the whole hotel needs to be renovated

    There are a few parking spot behind the hotel, U-bahn is 50 meters away.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Didn't call us ahead of time-though they did call another hotel "Bei Der Esplanade" Colonnaden 45 - to book us in - said breakfast was included. Bei Der Esplanade was the most hideous experience. Rude, swearing, psychotic owner who lost his mind when we quoted the "breakfast included" deal - he went ape @#$% and threw the entire party including 3 children out of the hotel.

    That they called another hotel to book us is - though possibly the worst choice in the whole of Germany. Bei Der Esplanade - Colonnaden 45, Hamburg boasted the most psychotic owner -

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was not worth the €6,00. Save the money and go across the street to Penny's and buy something. Also, it was advertised to have International TV or news channels. Main reason for booking, come to find out only approximately 15 channels. Bed was really soft and each time you leave the premises you have to turn in your key at the front desk. Didn't feel safe.

    Staff was very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Too simple breakfast. It was ok, not more.

    Loation! Great to center and also Metrostation.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    staff seemed angry with us as we left but we didn't know why?

    The location was really good. Very easy to get home.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything was good, no dislikes.

    Position, cleanliness, friendly helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room close to street is so noise that can't sleep at all in the evening.

    location is good.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    to late for breakfast normally at 0700hr it was 720 before i have mi warm coffee

    staff very friendly

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    noisy street

    a lot of nice bars nearby

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Browse Hotel Lafayette traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: