Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Landgasthaus Am Frauenstein This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Kaltenbach 12/B 10, 66999 Hinterweidenthal, Germany

#4 of 4 hotels in Hinterweidenthal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 277 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    6.8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Part of the shower was broken and could not be easily used. The main shower head was fully operational however!

    The standard of cooking and presentation of food is consistently high. Staff are accommodating and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We’ve stayed here a few times and all other times were great. But this time it was very disappointing. The rooms we had were not clean , the shower base was filthy including dead insects, we found several dead cockroaches the next morning too. The bathroom sink did not drain and we found this out after lifting the plug of the sink and having all the water flow right onto the floor. We had to leave the plug in the sink and drain it by scooping the water into the toilet. It is a pity because it is a nice place. It just needs more attention to maintenance and cleaning.

    Restaurant is good, staff friendly, location great for stopover to mountains.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff in the evening a bit serious, but they were busy and conversation was a little difficult owing to language problems so could have been the reason. The lady at breakfast was fine. The evening meal was excellent. The bedroom was adequate, bed comfortable and there was bottled water and apples in the room. Could have made a tea/coffee with the facilities on the landing. Only problem was the traffic noise all night even with the double glazing. However the hotel was directly on our route and most convenient so a small price to pay.

    Very generous breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have done this the wrong way round !

    The staff from Eastern Europe need to smile more and be more approacha, even though they do a good job, the other staff are fine and friendly. We stayed in room on road side and it was very noisy but you cannot change that. Food was fine and loads of it !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The standard of cleanliness has fallen over the last few years. The room we were allocated this time, was tired and a little dirty around the radiators. The ensuite shower room left quite a lot to be desired, again it was tired, dated, there was mould around the grouting in the shower, the shower head was old and did not function properly. The floor was scuffed and worn. There was a crack in the bedroom wall. The room number is 1 and I can honestly say, if this stay had been my first, I would not choose to return. Fortunately I have used all the other accommodation which is fairly well maintained; and therefore I am prepared to return, but will specifically request not be allocated room 1 unless it has been refurbished.

    The restaurant food is extremely good, the standard of cooking is consistently high. The staff are always helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly we had a bad night's sleep - soft bed, thin curtains and most of all no soundproofing against the constant traffic on the autobahn on which the guest house is situated.

    Good evening meal in restaurant. Helpful, friendly restaurant staff. Adequate breakfast. Traditional, homely atmosphere in eating and drinking areas.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the accm was a little noisy as it is located near a busy road and I was unable to turn on the radiator in the shower room on arrival.

    Good breakfast and quirkiness of accommodation. The staff we're pleasant and really helpful. Lovely location for walking if you have the time.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Struggled with luggage up the stairs. Had to ask for bedding to be changed as it was all feathers which triggers asthma. I had requested this on the booking form.

    Restaurant is very good. Best steaks always and recommend trout

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location the warm welcome & the so clean room and bathroom & all the lovely extras at such a reasonable price. We have stayed before and the standard has not changed .thank you so much and we do hope to return. I should also mention the great food.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows very flat

    The bedroom was very quirky - we liked that. Restaurant excellent-must try the steak. Friendly staff. Room well lit. Noted comments about traffic noise but did not disturb us.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise from the road, but the positives far outweigh the unavoidable noise. I have been overnighting here for years, and the standard of cleanliness has slipped over recent years. I certainly did not like the mould at the base of the shower door!

    The standard of cooking is extremely high. Rooms are well presented, tho' some a little tired, but cosy. Staff are very friendly. Very good value.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately this time the wifi had changed to "Telekom Free" which only provided very limited connection. Email service and facebook were ok but could not surf the web or use most apps. Also had to constantly reconnect as it would only stay on for a minute or two.

    Lovely room and great breakfast as always.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to dislike

    Friendliness of the staff, the quality of the furnishings. The rooms have been decorated out by someone with a flair for design. The quality of the food.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I always come here when travelling to Germany. Sadly will be my last visit. Staff lacking in service. The food was just awful. If you can't even get a snitzel right in your homeland it's worrying. Even my dog refused the sausage. Sauce was a stock cube dissolved in water. Food just an insult. Just appaling. If you have no passion to cook just leave it and don't bother.this was my last visit as its gone just done hill. Used to be good- not any more!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good dinner with Bitburg beer and nice Riesling wine by the glass. Excellent breakfast. Helpful and cheerful staff. Good location, easy to find and reasonable cost.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness has deteriorated over the last 3 years. Grubby around shower doors, mould and dirt, radiators and lights in bedroom dusty. This lets the standard down greatly. Not sure if the owners are aware of this deterioration. They should be. Maybe the have become complacent. We have been visiting for many years, but will probably look elsewhere due to this last visit!!

    Excellent cooking. Consistently very good over the last 10 years. Owners had put their hearts into making this and endearing and homely place to stay. However, ..... see over!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The roiad has been upgraded and traffic noise may increase.

    Great roadside stopover with traditional German ambience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good traditional Gasthaus in accessible location for travel between Luxembourg and Germany. Good food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would be great if the hotel would have a double bedroom with an extra bed.

    The Tirolean style restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Super friendly and helpful staff, morning and evening at the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Suitable for a single night stay but on main road

    Quite quirky, restaurant was good, staff pleasant. Links to woods etc at back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing they can do but road noise in front rooms.

    comfy beds, great food, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Does not apply

    Wonderful hotel we have stayed with you many times

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, I enjoyed my overnight stay

    I just enjoyed my overnight stay, the evening menu was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi could be more accessible

    Stayed here many times .fabulous rooms .great staff bonus to see max the cat . Great place always pleased to see you .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing of note.

    Quality of food is very high & good choice. Service is always good & with a smile & humour.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no lift.

    The bed was very comfortable and the location was quite and scenic. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing disliked.

    Good food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They ask the money as advance.

    The food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was very traditional.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location for stop over on the way to Austria. Very friendly staff and food was very good. Lovely traditional Gasthof.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room over looked a busy main road not a good nights sleep

    Very Pleased over all with the Property. Pleasant staff Good Food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sleepless night thanks to traffic noise. Sound insulation is poor.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Rural location.Very traditional to the area. Pleasant surroundings.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice people, good restaurant, comfortable rooms, excellent location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for trip to Austria. Traditional gastehaus. Good food and bear.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for journey to Austria. Wonderful food and friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The B10 goes straight through the bedroom...and these trucks are loud. Wifi was off-line, very small bathroom

    Even the place has seen better days, it offers local food, staff was friendly, big parking,

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Booking.com states "free wi-fi" however we couldn't log in. When I asked the staff I was told it sometimes works and sometimes doesn't. I needed wi-fi (phone signal very poor at location) so disappointed it didn't work AT ALL during our stay- shouldn't advertise want you can't give!!

    Convenient location when travelling back from Austrian Alps to UK

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Being sited so close to a main road, the noise is disturbing if the windows are opened, which would be a problem in Summer.

    With a lovely room and excellent food, this hotel made a great stop-over on our long journey.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location -noise from trucks through the night even tho only 70 kph limit; avoid if you're a light sleeper

    Great room size; excellent food & drink

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mastercard not accepted and I did not see a notification about this in booking.com.

    Ideal driving distance after an overnight Channel crossing and an extremely convenient location just of the main highway for breaking a long drive into Southern Europe.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy room, this time, also smaller than the room we have had on previous stays. Rather small and very threadbare towels.

    Convenient stopping point when driving from Italy to UK. Have stayed several times before. Good food.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location was perfect as we were travelling through to Austria, the room (well suite), was fantastic, spacious the staff were friendly and more than accommodating. Pleasantly surprised for a last minute booking (2 hours prior to arrival!) we will be booking again next year!

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only distraction is possible traffic noise, otherwise no complaints.

    Excellent food,value for money, staff very polite & helpful. Steaks great! Perfect for a stopover on a long journey. Quality & service has not deteriorated in the 20 years I have stayed here.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Flies at breakfast! Noise from road, although to be expected as hotel on the B10. Rubbish pillows!

    Location and dinner, room nice but bathroom bit grubby

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Traffic noise. Rooms small. Our allocated room was cold and couldn't be adequately heated, so we moved rooms. We had hoped to walk around the area, but the forest was uninviting.

    Friendly staff. Cosy bar and restaurant area

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bit of traffic noise in the front rooms.

    This hotel is placed in an ideal location for us to night stop when driving to Italy. Good rooms and great meals, you need to be hungry though.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great place to break your trip if going from Calais to Austria. Local Trifels area is good for Wine and walks

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Accommodation lovely

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The position was perfect to stop by traveling from Italy to Belgium. The room was very cosy. Breakfast and dinner delicious in true German style!

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Bit of a walk from the train station and town.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise of traffic which is almost unavoidable.

    Accommodation. Dinner

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great people, food, beer and breakfast. Will 100% stop again if we are in that area.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Ideal location to break our journey to Italy, excellent food and beer!

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very poor lighting in the room

    Food

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good location for a transit stop. Despite being on the main road the room was quiet.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: