Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Landgasthaus Grüner Baum This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Neuenweg 1, 79263 Simonswald, Germany

#2 of 12 hotels in Simonswald

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 428 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels could have been changed during our stay...although we didnt ask!

    Beautiful location. Friendly, welcoming owners, comfy room. Great food. All round truly exceptional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi in the first floor room was not good as there was intermittent connectivity only.

    I and my wife liked the property for many aspects. Extremely courteous hotel staff who took personal care of our needs and provided us with all required assistance. The rooms were pretty big and the accompanying balcony provided a great view of the Black Forest. Very conveniently located as well as numerous key Black Forest spots are easily reachable. Food from restaurant was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely location, very friendly and helpful people, food and wine superb. This is the second time we've stayed and will very likely be returning again next year.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. We will definitely go back.

    Beautiful, peaceful setting. Lovely outside dining area. Genuinely excellent food from a talented chef! Nice staff. Good value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to be dissappointed about!

    We had been here before, because we loved it the last time we wanted to come again! We were not dissappointed! It has such charm and the beergarden is a lovely place to have a nice dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Huge room, spotlessly clean and very well equipped with fridge, hairdryer (proper one, not one attached to the wall!) and private balcony with lovely views. Peaceful setting in the hills, really lovely outdoor separate seating/eating area adjacent to the hotel and clearly popular with the locals. The main house has a large outdoor seating area also. Excellent food and good choice of local wine. Dietary requirements were accommodated happily and with no bother. Menu is entirely in German, however, staff speak excellent English and happy to translate/explain everything. However, wonderful as the hotel was, it is the people that make any stay truly memorable and Rudi and the rest of the staff made us feel so at home!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was excellent to discover black forest . The rooms were very comfortable with an efficient minibar and electric kettle and a spacious balcony with black forest view.Breakfast was excellent . Hospitable owners .The land lady was very helpful to us .We had a problem with our car and she helped us to solve it .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is fantastic. The owners were friendly and welcoming. The room was clean with all facilities that you need. The restaurant is very popular with locals and its easy to see why. The location is spectacular and the food is first rate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location if you want access to the famous E500. Food superb and owners very accommodating. They recommended we visit the waterfall just a few miles away and it is very much worth doing, but be prepared for the narrow road and 20min hike from the car park 👍🏽.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were charged €5 per person for breakfast each day, although initially booking.com told us that breakfast is included in the room rate. Still cheap for a breakfast, though.

    This was a fabulous place right in the heart of the Black Forest (Schwarzwald). It is all surrounded by high hills covered with the dense forest. The room was authentic and pleasant to stay in. It was quiet in the room, and even the sound of the rain wasn't so loud. They have a great dining facility with very delicious food. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was multi-lingual (menu/in-room hotel info) although the staff spoke excellent English and helped us out.

    Friendly staff, well appointed rooms, lovely peaceful area

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Set in a beautiful location, room was lovely and the bed was very comfortable. Everyone one was very friendly and helpful. We ate in their restaurant both nights we stayed and the food was first class, the wine was excellent and the service was brilliant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We are a group of 18 motorcyclists The owners were so welcoming & friendly both on arrival & throughout our stay They even allowed us to use their garage ! Food was great & rooms clean & comfortable Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel Great value for money in a traditional Black Forest Hotel with character !!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi was a bit iffy as per other reviews, but that's not what we were here for anyway :)

    Lovely hosts, great location and smashing food. Beer isn't bad too ;)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was weak in the rooms but good in the restaurant.

    We LOVED this place. Your are in the middle of the Black Forest with clean fresh air and beautiful scenery. The food was excellent. The outdoor courtyard for drinks and dining was so relaxing. Who needs to connect to the internet, just RELAX!!! Rooms were clean and had all of the basics. Hosts were very helpful with suggestions. The drive from Triberg to Simonwald will be remembered as one of our top scenic drives.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slack unfriendly stark Smelly

    Lovely location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Superb service, very helpful and accommodating, excellent food and a fantastic location. This is a very friendly and welcoming place. We loved it!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free (good) breakfast. Very nice and cozy place!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their food is fantastic!! The goat cheese salad is to die for !!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee or tea making facilities in room.

    View from the room. And the location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable room. Food was excellent. Very friendly staff,Ludwig and Tatijana were wonderful hosts.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few more vegetarian options on the menu.

    Quiet location, friendly staff, excellent WiFi, good restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    beautiful situation in the Black Forest, excellent welcome from the owner who is very helpful in telling you where to go. Also the food is delicious

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The couple that run the place were really nice . The guy was so helpful and made our short stay wonderful. Great beer great food and great staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A, I really liked the place

    Room, food, customer service

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable hotel in a lovely area with great walks for the dogs. Excellent breakfast with varied choice Very pleasant helpful host

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was big and the bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was delicious and hearty. The beds were incredibly comfy. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was a little overpriced for the type of food that is served

    Location good breakfast very good helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location staff and big rooms breakfast was excellent near to Euroa Park

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything about it. Nice situation. Plenty parking. Great food. Very helpful with maps and walking routes.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The evening meal in the restaurant was disappointing.

    A good comfortable place to stay in a lovely location. Very clean and spacious rooms. Helpful staff who spoke English and French confidently. The buffet breakfast was very good.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you are planning to go to Freiburg, it is far. About 30 min drive.

    Very large room, confortable bed and excellent bathroom. Very good breakfast. Very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was helpful, the food was excellent and I loved being tucked away in the black forest. We had a car but noticed that there was even a bus stop right outside for those traveling without one!

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lots of stairs to carry dogs up

    Restaurant had wonderful food, bedrooms very nice. Staff very helpful. Traveling with 2 puppies and they were very accommodating

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    That we couldn't stay longer!!! There was absolutely nothing to dislike!

    The location and staff were wonderful!! Ludwig and his wife were extraordinary, the food was delicious and the service was outstanding. They took the time to tell us about a favorite place to visit hiking off the regular tourist places. It will stand out in our memories.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was cool and we didn't use the balcony much but it is one long balcony and so you would be outside with all the other guests on your floor if everyone was using it at once -- for smoking or whatever.

    The owners were wonderful -- they even bought gluten free bread for one of our family members for breakfast. The dinner was very, very good.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Only thing we didn't like was, we specifically requested rooms with high ceiling, but at arrival we were told that room with high ceiling was not available. It would have been nice if they had communicated about it at the time of booking.

    The location was nice, surrounded with mountains, peaceful area. The rooms were nice and all facilities were there. A good place to relax and stay away from city life. Breakfast was nice.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to not like

    Everything, the location, the facilities, the hosts - my fourth time there which says it all really. This is a wonderful stop over and is more than comfortable and is great value as well.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi could be better - hard to get on sometimes.

    Owners and staff are super friendly and made the stay awesome! Great location to hike in the Schwarzwald.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Internet didn't work.

    Super clean rooms, simple but had everything we needed, friendly owners, excellent breakfast, restaurant was great (cream of mushroom soup was outstanding) so reasonably priced for such a nice place, such a beautiful location.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    WiFi in the room very unstable.

    We spent our winter holidays at Landgasthaus Grüner Baum, including Christmas and the New Year. There's not much to do in the village Simonswald itself, but if you have a car that's not a problem - there are lots of interesting places within one hour drive. The owners were very nice and friendly. We also liked the restaurant and had dinner there almost every evening.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great staff. We had dinner and breakfast, it was great too. الرجال و حرمته مضيافيين و ودودين .. يحترمون عاداتك و تعاليم دينك.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    friendly staff who made us very welcome.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    hallway/stairs,very tricky

    breakfest

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    - a little cold in rooms (in bathroom was ok)

    -personell -localization -breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No alpenstrudel in menu ;)

    Excellent location, people

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendliness of our host and his desire to please. Great location.nice walks on the doorstep and a friendly atmosphere in the dining room.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing of any consequence

    Superb location and excellent food. friendly & helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great Wifi, lovely welcoming host, amazing eggs for breakfast

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Best room of our stay and such friendly staff. Great breakfast too!

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was very nice but dingy as roof overhung the balcony blocking the light and view.

    Very comfortable hotel with good food and friendly service

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very friendly owners. Very good restaurant for dinner. Good location in a nice village.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Waking up to the sound of cow bells.Very helpful staff,carried our bags upstairs for us.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    None

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Superb location, family run, pleasant rooms, good food, very helpful proprietors, dog friendly

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Nice welcome, great room and fantastic food

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    same breakfast 5 days is too much

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, food was excellent

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great area.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff were friendly and helpful and spoke English well. Rooms were very clean. Great breakfast included with the stay.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Guests also reviewed these properties: