Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Landgasthof Eiserner Ritter This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Zur Peterskirche 10, 56154 Boppard, Germany

#1 of 14 hotels in Boppard

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 208 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    A spotless clean stay in a beautiful room with a balcony.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A family run establishment with exceptional personalities. Stefan has culinary skills that would rival large city, high Michelin rated restaurants. A real unexpected experience that is not on the beaten path.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditioning. Fan in closet was small and didn't pull air into the room through an open window well. The location was listed as Boppard, but it's actually several km away and not in walking distance of anything.

    Nice clean room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.0
    unwelcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No common parts with the small bar area in constant use by staff and their friends. Bare minimum of staff so no person ever at the hotel reception desk.

    clean hotel, bathroom and fresh, clean linen. Ample, free parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    A lovely experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is a bit further out of town than we expected - and I do like a view!

    My man and I enjoyed our stay here very much. The staff were very welcoming and the ambiance very modern and comfortable. We enjoyed the restaurant; breakfast and dinner were both of very high quality. The room was comfortable and well appointed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.2
    Great service and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is rich and fresh. Quite location and with good view from the room. Room and bathroom is clean and spacious. The people who welcoming us is very friendly and sweet. The dinner is amazing and we received great service in the restaurant. Very happy we had booked the room and the dinner at Landgasthof Eiserner Ritter! Feel great on each communication from the reservation till our leaving. Will come back if we visit Boppard again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Very nice comfortable place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you don't have a car you would struggle to get here from the nearby town of Boppard

    The room was very clean and modern. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and felt very personal with a table specially reserved for you in the breakfast room. We were travelling for a weekend break and received lots of good recommendations for local attractions including a printed sheet with details useful for satnav programming.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    Very nice and quiet hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to comment on.

    Very nice and quiet hotel. Family run hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Good food. Moderately priced. Close to the Rhine valley. What else would you want for a couple of days to calm down?

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a family run hotel & everyone was a delight to deal with. We had dinner in the restaurant & it was the best food we have had since leaving home 4 weeks ago. Would totally recommend,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom mirror light wasn't working but not really a problem. Views of distant castle and countryside were good but it was in the middle of a residential area with close views of opposite houses etc.

    Large comfortable room with balcony and excellent shower. Meal in the restaurant was wonderful. The best meal we had in the whole of our stay in Germany. This was the reason we picked this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Excellent family run hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have no complaints!

    The room was very well fitted, the finishings were superb! The staff was exceptionally friendly and cooperative! If I'm ever in the area again, I'll definitely book a stay here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    A perfect place to break a long journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we can think of.

    Nothing to fault. Friendly staff who spoke at least some English. A little away from Boppard in a pleasant village setting. Peaceful and quiet. The Dinner we had was exceptionally good. We are still thinking about the mushroom soup. Never had better. Especially welcome after some very indifferent stodgy food in Southern Germany.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely, relaxing stay and delicious food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing! Would definitely come back again if in the area :)

    The hotel is quite comfortable yet simple, but the hosts make all the difference. We felt welcome from the first second, the staff took great care of us and made us feel very relaxed. The room was big enough and bed comfortable, breakfast was nice. Food in the restaurant was excellent - try the steak and local wines, highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    No complaints whatsoever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is our second visit and everything was as good as the first time, the room was clean, comfortable and had a balcony with a beautiful view. Bathroom was spacious, clean with a good shower. Continental breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The people running this establishment are English-speaking and make you feel welcome.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    7.9
    Helpful Staff--Excellent Food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Handicap access was minimal, and promotionsal photos of views implied that the establisment was is a semi-rural setting with views of the Rhein.

    Staff was very helpful in changing our booking from three nights to one. Plus, the food was excellent, both dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    A wonderful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First of all, we would like to thank the owners and the staff of this wonderful hotel. Everything was fantastic! The staff was kind and professional. The room was extremely clean, up-to-date and comfortable. We ate at their restaurant and the food was excellent. We felt that the owners and the staff at this hotel/restaurant take pride in their work and make sure their customers feel welcomed. And we certainly felt welcomed and we hope to stay at their hotel again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.2
    Great spot on the Rhine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No big deal for us but there is no elevator

    Cozy little hotel. Spacious rooms. Super nice owners - helped us plan our day touring the Rhine. Great Creme Brulee at the restaurant!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    9.6
    Definitely on our list of hotels to return to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room (No 24) was beautifully fitted out, refurbed this year. It was roomy with a balcony overlooking the Rhine hills. The excellent bathroom had a wet room feel, but because of clever folding screen walls for showering there was no paddling about on a wet floor. This room has a banquette/third bed slightly separated from the double that makes the room useful for a small family. The hotel is situated in a rural community and local people were friendly. Parking is in front of the hotel but we had no worries about it. I was glad we stayed here rather than in tourist-congested Boppard. We pushed the boat out and ate in the small restaurant, good food, with emphasis on local wine and spirits. Reserve a table when you book, it is popular with local people having a special meal. The family care deeply about guest comfort and making your stay a happy one

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice restaurant - good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice restaurant - good value for money!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little odd that it all closed down completely on a Wednesday.

    Lovely place to stay, food , staff and service excellent. Immaculately clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very friendly and well organized, went out of their way to please us. Extremely good kitchen.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel, miles from anywhere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    6km out of Boppard, no room in restaurant, don't be deceived this is NOT in Boppard.

    Great staff, nice room, easy free parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    very nice and friendly staffs, town is worth visiting,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very nice and friendly staffs, town is worth visiting, impressive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    6.3
    Very nice owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your website offered much higher price than one offered by hotel. Very disappointed will never book through your site again

    Very nice owners

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Good stopping off point
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful and friendly. Good breakfast. Spacious clean room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Service and food were excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    10
    Highly recommended !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Great room. Excellent food. Nice people

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.2
    Good place, non-smoking, very accomodating staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't have time to eat - staff packed me some broetchen

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Highly recommend for travelers going through the area!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi coverage could be better.

    Amazing place, with extremely friendly staff, really nice rooms, extra good breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.2
    Jewel on the Rhine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Holiday could have been longer!

    Large comfortable room with balcony. Superb breakfast and quality of restaurant for lunch and dinner.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.2
    Very friendly English-speaking staff, spotless and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly English-speaking staff, spotless and comfortable rooms, lovely evening meal and breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    10
    Great find close to Boppard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Lovely family run hotel located in quiet area near Boppard. Good breakfast and friendly / helpful owners.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    9.2
    The rooms were newly renovated and everything feels like new!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was not that easy to find the hotel in the first place, but we were able to find it through the back door.

    The rooms were newly renovated and everything feels like new! Very friendly staff and we were very satisfied with our stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    10
    everything was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything was perfect! we got an upgrade to a clean beautifull newly decorated room, the staff were so nice and did their best to make us a vegetarian dinner and breakfest the area is lovely. privat free parking.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    10
    The newly redecorated interior was of excellent quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I imagine you guys are probably already on this, but updating the interior of the restaurant to match the quality and design of the rooms would be great.

    The newly redecorated interior was of excellent quality. The beds were very comfortable. The location was peaceful and near enough to the town and sites that we were there to see. We loved their restaurant. The food was delicious!

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    8.8
    The staff was fantastic and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a complaint, just tough to find. Have you're GPS's at the ready.

    The staff was fantastic and friendly. The included breakfasts were excellent and the evening dining was as well. A very warm, cozy hotel set away from the main town of Boppard. If you want to be on the Rhine, this is not the place, but more than makes up for in overall quality because of the people who staff the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    10
    Everything !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything ! Family run hotel, very comfortable room and very good food. Very friendly helpful staff. we would recommend this hotel, very quiet as in a little village, a few minutes from Boppard.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    This has got to be the best place in Boppard, Germany!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing we could possibly criticize. Thank you!

    This has got to be the best place in Boppard, Germany! A family-owned smaller hotel on the outskirts, super quiet, offering 13 spacious and comfortable rooms; parking is free on the premises. The kitchen offers a wide variety of different foods that have to be the best in the area. We tried several other restaurants in town, and this one came out at the top, second to none. The Mayer family who who owns the place are the most gracious and wonderfully accommodating private hoteliers we have met in our 40 years in the tourism business. We're definitely going back there next year.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    10
    What a great place to go to relax and get over jet lag.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None. But Wifi

    What a great place to go to relax and get over jet lag. A quiet little hotel close to Boppard. Family run and knowledgeable. So friendly and willing to help with any request. Super clean.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    10
    All. Rooms very comfortable and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    All. Rooms very comfortable and very clean. Friendly owners. Great breakfast and restaurant. Good service. We enjoyed our stay and we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    10
    Excellent food and wonderful, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent food and wonderful, helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    10
    Staff and location were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing.

    Staff and location were great.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    10
    Clean,comfortable ,exceptional food and very good value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean,comfortable ,exceptional food and very good value for money. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    7.5
    Good breakfast, very nice owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room not big enough and outdated. Wifi is not working.

    Good breakfast, very nice owners

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    7.5
    Superb restaurant and al fresco dining.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air con during a very hot spell

    Superb restaurant and al fresco dining.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    7.1
    Friendly staff, newly renovated rooms, spacious and...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    On our visit no internet worked.

    Friendly staff, newly renovated rooms, spacious and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    10
    Hard to say, it was all excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing negative

    Hard to say, it was all excellent

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: