Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Landgasthof Hotel Hess This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Geistalstraße 8, 36286 Neuenstein, Germany

#1 of 2 hotels in Neuenstein

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 722 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was good!

    Very nice and comfortable guesthouse. Like your granny's home :) And fantastic breakfast with local sausages, cheese, pates. Large public parking beside the building. Unusual and interesting authentic building with family photos and plenty of trifles in halls. Friendly personnel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staircase is a bit difficult for people with walking difficulties.

    Nice large clean room. Very good breakfast. Really good evening meal in nicely decorated,cosy restuarant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located very close to the highway so we were able to find it easy and use as a stop along our journey. Dinner was excellent and breakfast had a nice variety for everyone. Our room was large and the bathroom was very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very close to route A7 but the hotel is very quiet and cosy. Extremely clean rooms. The bathroom is large, airy and comfortable (no noisy ventilation but dry and warm). Good wi-if connection. The breakfast has a wide range of cold and warm food. The stuff s friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast Are all the time very god, we like very much to returned , and we have use this place abort 20 years .When we go to holiday and home again👍 The Roms is very Big and Nice and very cleen. The flod is god and the staff is smiling and polite.😜

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of service - last time we stayed the staff were more friendly and helpful.This time we felt we are invisible.

    Location is perfect , easy access from A7

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can not think of anything!

    Our second stop here on way to Norway. Very convenient from the Autobahn. Friendly staff and comfortable, clean room. The restaurant was both times a very nice surprise: Mr.Hess must take pride in his work. Both evenings the food was excellent from an interesting menu. Well done. We come back in a week.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were to hard.

    Convenient for the A7 and still in nice small village with forest! Excellent German food in the restaurant and nice cosy small hotel with new rooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Exactly what was expected based on Hotel website and Booking.com. It was the experience I expected to get from a Provincial German Hotel. Very close to freeway. Good restaurant. Great breakfast. Biggest family room we have stayed in, in either Europe or US. A morning run gave a great experience of local German village.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived very late but the restaurant managed to make dinner for us. Thank you for that . It tasted very good. Also a garage for our cars. Near A7 Autobahn .

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosy ambience. Big nice room, many nice outdoor terraces, splendid situation near to the highway.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice and clean, good breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast buffet is excellent and so are the dinner options.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice homemade food made us feel like being invited to a family dinner. Comfortable beds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easily accessible, clean, neat, comfortable. Excellent breakfast buffé and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING

    GOOD HOTEL WITH ORIGINAL GERMAN ATMOSHERE,CLEAN AND EASY TO FIND.ON OUR WAY TO FRANKFURT WITH GPS. WILL COME BACK AGAIN.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A charming hotel, very clean, friendly staff, good food, free spacious parking lot.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Everything super as every time. We stayed in hotel Hess 12 times before.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Soft boiled eggs should be soft

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient location near highway.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great breakfast, lots of things to chose. A nice and very helpful staff!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great food, great location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    pleasent pastoral atmosphere. waked up in the morning with birds singing over the windows.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place 👍👍👍

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower

    The breakfast and the evening dinner

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Historic building, beautifully renovated, rooms very clean and spacious with new bathrooms/carpets/beds. Great place to spend the night!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Food was good. Great breakfast. Very clean

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was our second stay at Hotel Hess and both times have been a very pleasant experience. Very quiet, comfortable and the meals have been excellent.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had booked a specific room, which we knew from an earlier visit. This was confirmed by e-mail by the hotel. However, when we arrived, they had given the room to someone else, but gave us another room, promising it would be the same price. Nevertheless, next morning they charged us a higher price for this room, being rather unpleasant about the whole episode. A pity, since overall we have been very satisfied with this hotel over the years.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lots of stairs and no elevator may be a problem for some.

    Nice hotel in a traditional style. Its proximity to the A7 Autobahn makes it convenient for a stopover - in our case, on our way home from a vacation in Italy. The restaurant served good food, and we appreciated the option to eat outside on a warm evening.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Friendly staff and check-in and out. Not far from the highway when traveling by. Our room was very big, everything was in good condition. Good breakfast with nice service.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing except fresh orangejuice for breakfast

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed was quite comfortable!

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    proximity to highway with out noise disturbance.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Earlier breakfast start...

    Room was very spacious

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Close to motorway but rooms were quiet.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very easy check in the athmosphere easy access from the highway

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great stop-over ! Easy to access from A7 and very high quality for a stop-over location. The restaurant is also very good .

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Terrific "Wild" menu and first class services.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The lady in the reseption on arrival could only speak german.

    Nice hotel

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    smiling staff delicious food everything goes smooth and efficient

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Restaurant perfect food. Nice garden.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfort and food

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Rooms were very comfortable, excellent beds. Very recommandable!

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints.

    Excellent location for an overnight stay. Close to motorway. Bedroom quiet and comfortable. Food excellent!

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Browse Landgasthof Hotel Hess traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: