Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gasthof Vossbur This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Wulfsener Straße 4, 21442 Toppenstedt, Germany

#1 of 2 hotels in Toppenstedt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 310 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Great local food, very good value for money, charming countryside Hotel for a relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been staying at Gasthof Vossbur already two times some years ago so this was the third time - always as an overnight stop including dinner on our way to the danish shore. We were really surprised how the place has evolved over the years, some rooms are already neatly renovated, the food is excellent and delivers good value for money. There might be cheaper locations in the area, but we would come back here again. Good fresh local food, very good quality and worth every Euro spent, sufficient breakfast with an amazing choice of interesting and rare homemade jams and marmalades, great place to recharge the batteries for a longer trip.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.8
    A delightful spot to stop over on the way from north to south.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room would have been even more comfortable, if there had been airconditioning

    The personnel was extremely friendly. They had even baked salt free bread to breakfast for my husband that is not allowed to eat salt. The check in was kindly arranged, even though we arrived very late from the ferry from Travemünde.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    Clean, cozy and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I really liked everything, but just a little heads up for animal lovers. Apparently the owners are into hunting, because there are several stuffed animals displayed in the building (fox, maybe a deer head), apparently trophies from hunting.

    The room was huge, a great value for the price. There was a small closet and plenty of places to hang jackets, etc. There was also a nice work desk area. The bathroom was large, the shower wonderful with ample hot water and great water pressure. The building itself is in great condition. The breakfast was typical German continental breakfast with choice of tea or coffee. The room was quiet and the bed fairly comfortable. There is also a restaurant on site for dinner. Plenty of parking and easy access to A7 motorway.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    It was the 17th time we overnighted in Hotel Vossburg, as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    absolutely nothing

    It was the 17th time we overnighted in Hotel Vossburg, as every time exelent, The rooms, the food, the staff and wellnes are in top. I celebraited my 84 birthday just as i wanted!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    10
    A place with a character
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could open earlier than 4.30 PM but this is only a minor inconvenience.

    Atmospheric and unique. This place has a long history and very subtle charm of a well aged establishment. Excellent value for money, we were surprised to get this much for so little.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    5.4
    Angry faces...
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We informed the hotel that we are travelling with 2 dogs. Big dogs (German shepperd and Bernish mountaindog) so they can not be hidden in some bags ;-) In the morning when we was leaving and standing at parking place the woman from reception run after us, with wery angry face, and told that the room was not for the dogs, and she forgot to get the payment for that... SO WHAT - is it our problem if reception gives us wrong room and forgets to get the payment for dogs? After all, we gave 20 € wich was 2 times the tariff. We travel the same rout aprx 8 times/year and this was the last night at this unfriendly place.

    Situation ok when travelling from Stodkholm to Nice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    9.2
    Nice place to stay, convenient location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only problem was the internet connection.

    I stopped there on my way from Denmark to central Germany. The hotel is located just a few kilometers from the A7 highway. The place has an old German style. I guess it is busy in summer. My room was perfectly clean, recently reconstructed in the modern style. The staff was very nice and helpful. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    3.8
    AVOID THIS HOTEL !!!!!!!!!!!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personal in restaurant more interested in conferance people !! We waited 15 minutes before we got the menu, 15 minutes before we could order. HAD TO PAY FOR CRANE WATER WHEN WE ORDERED A BOTTLE OF WINE. NOT ACCEPTABLE !!!!!!!!! AVOID THIS HOTEL !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Good breakfast !

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    perfect , great,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing i did not like

    the place and location is great. Very friendly people. plan on next trip coming back. Thanks Jerry korioth

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our five nights at Gasthoff Vossbur. Everything is great. Enjoyed every aspect.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.9
    Very good hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.9
    Wi-Fi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closes early

    Wi-Fi. Staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable and restful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast.

    Comfort and armosphere

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Clean, cost and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    T.v. had no English channels available .

    Our room was very spacious but cosy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.9
    Countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little bit far away from everything, but that can be a good thing also...

    Great place to stay for one or two nights!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.9
    Nice breakfast, very kind staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hard mattress on the bed.

    Nice breakfast, very kind staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    8.3
    Culinary stop, worth a detour ;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Culinary stop, worth a detour ;-))

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    10
    Great hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to locate close to the motorway, Very nice staff , excellent food. Very quiet place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    10
    Family feeling at Vossbur
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am used to stay - due to a job's trip - twice per year and I've been always satisfied. Great breakfast and nicest restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    9.6
    A quiet rural location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Public transport is not too good. A car is really essential although taxis are available and reasonably priced.

    A quiet rural location. Walking through the wooded area was an absolute delight. Breakfast buffet very good, the fresh rolls were particularly nice. Enjoyed 2 evening meals which were delicious.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    7.1
    The hotel and our room were very nice, our room was large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff spoke very little English so communication was a little tricky, especially at the restaurant as the menus were only in German, so we had to rely on Google Translate. The bed could have been better, but was ok. When I went to check out I was told "no card, cash only", despite it saying on here that they do accept cards, as it was our first stop I had yet to get any cash so had to drive to a small town and try to find an ATM, as we were on quite a tight schedule that day this caused us an unnecessary inconvenience.

    The hotel and our room were very nice, our room was large and had a large bathroom. The bed was a little bit awkward as it had a wooden frame running down the middle, so it was effectively 2 single beds joined together but not comfortable enough to use as a double. Dinner was good if not a slightly strange combination of foods. Breakfast was really the best part about this hotel, a great selection of food to choose from, cheese, fish, meats, cereal, fruit etc.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    9.6
    Excellent restaurant, excellent breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent restaurant, excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    8.3
    Nice gasthof with good restaurant close to the A7.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice gasthof with good restaurant close to the A7.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    9.6
    Lovely quiet country location but not too far from main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely quiet country location but not too far from main routes

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    7.5
    Breakfast was excellent, room was big and really comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    To access Wi-Fi you need to register and then confirm via e-mail.

    Breakfast was excellent, room was big and really comfortable. Staff was helpfull.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    6.7
    location, personnel, food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    smell of smoke in the nonsmoking room

    location, personnel, food

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: