Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Landgasthof Zum Weissen Schwanen 3 stars

Brunnenstr. 4, 56338 Braubach, Germany

Review score

Based on 144 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    5.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    With the checkout there was nobody there and we had to wait 15 minutes. No appology that we had to wait. The beds were horrible, old, creaky and the sheets were rough. Didn't really sleep.

    Breakfast was good. There were also lunch packages for walking. The bathroom had a bath.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    * Very convenient to go to Marksburg * Amazing restaurant at the property * Clean and big room * Cozy atmosphere, with lots of works of art * Good breakfast * Good internet connection * Friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ok

    We stayed in an annex across the road from the hotel, the staff were very helpful and they have some interesting original art in the hotel and rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many stairs to climb to get to the room, almost no English

    The friendliness of the personnel as well as the owners, the breakfast, home feeling, family run, the mill was reconstructed by the owners years ago, nice museum

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was not anything that I didn't like about the hotel...it didn't have great wi-fi, but that was okay since we were out exploring the city most of the day anyway.

    This hotel has amazing German charm. It is stunning from the outside with its quaint German old-style architecture, and it is super cozy and pretty on the inside. There are lots of little public hallways and patios that my husband and I enjoyed exploring. The hiking trail to Marksburg castle is right nearby. Oh, and they offer a free breakfast every morning and it is delicious! They offer scrambled eggs, tons of sausage selections, cereal, juices, fresh fruit and vegetables, breads, etc. We looked forward to breakfast every morning!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a gem. Our favorite night in our 2 week trip. It is an old mill, and contains a museum. Decorated with antiques. Most memorable breakfast - amazing. The lady who helped us (she spoke some english) was so very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms are simple but comfortable. it feels a bit lonely.

    Very interesting place in an old house / mill in the middle of a small town just of the river Rhine. staff was helpful, the food very well cooked and they have a good wine selection

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was WAY too soft (sagging) - not comfortable. We couldn't get anyone's attention when checking it - the hotel appeared deserted. Eventually found a phone to call the hotel and someone from the restaurant ran over to check us in. Parking was very tight, but I guess that is standard in Germany.

    Beautiful hotel, nicely decorated, great location. Could walk around town and down to the river - or take hiking trails up to the castle.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel globally unprepared to receive people last minute or in winter. They do not clean the rooms immediatly after departure of the prvious customer but report them as available online and are unwilling to prepare them at 18h or 19h

    Nice hotel but lack or organization

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that was unpleasant - it was really cold in the rooms and bathroom, althouth we turned the heater on. But keep in mind - it was february.

    The hotel is very beautiful and is located in the old mill. It also has museum, garden and cozy restaurant (it was closed due to holidays). We felt there at home.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the employee in the reception at arrival day requested us to fill in the admision form but did not explain hotel facilities, especially when we were asked by her to follow her to another location. the password for the wifi connection did not work 2 of the meals offered in the menu for room service were not available the service in the gourmet restaurant needs to be trained ( bread and wine broght to the table with delay). the young lady was highly motivated and really wanted to give her best but she did not know or understand what the expectations in a goumet restaurant are

    the hotel was composed by different locations including an old water mill renovated and decorated with excellent taste and quality everything worked most of the employees were very friendly

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Total lack of service, no one could be found for check-in or assistance, internet was advertised, but inaccessible. Towels were at a premium, room was small.

    the location was good, the decor was interesting, though some of the art and display was almost disturbing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only bonus of having a kitchenette was the fridge. No kettle, no chopping board, no knives except to butter bread and one pan. Wasn't expecting a kitchenette so can't really complain. Parking a bit of a problem as very limited. There also appeared to be a lack of staff as they seemed to be juggling a number of jobs.

    Comfortable beds. Stayed in a triple room which turned out to be a small apartment in that there was a lounge and kitchenette. The village has good rail links to Koblenz and is ideal for day trips.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds too soft. Cleaning an old house is difficult. Few restaurants in the village.

    Charming historic building with genuine feeling. Nice welcome by staff. Nice room and a breakfast with everything.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Booked in March for 22nd July. At arrival, they tried to give an apartment in a new miniscule building 80 meters across the busy street by trucks. Old, spoiled, dirty, dusty. Even smells bad. "Museum" is a storeroom full of dusty junk that you can see from a cristal upstairs. I promise you. It was a celebration trip for silver wedding and they ruined us.

    Building typical German.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was extremely small for a superior room and a bit rundown, especially the carpet was old and dirty looking. The iron they provided was also old and not functioning properly, I ended up burning my dress (never burned anything while ironing before). How expensive is an iron! Another issue was the empty reception and unfriendly staff. Not a single time I found someone in the reception. I always needed to call someone by using a phone at the reception and wait until someone comes. Some of the staff were extremely unfriendly. There was no lift in the hotel which is normal for such old buildings, but at least the receptionist could offer some help carrying the luggage to the third floor. In short, it was a bad experience and I regret staying there.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved spending the night here and we wish we could've stayed longer. Food was delicious, beds comfy, staff friendly, hotel clean and interesting as it's a type of museum as well.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Very romantic atmosphere? Very kind people

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is not clean!

    Good bed. Beautiful garden. +++ for the breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were hurried and needed more help

    Style and character of the hotel were great

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was difficult. WiFi did not work in the room.

    People were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unfriendly and unavailable staff.

    Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They were short of staff and nobody was in reception most times. The poor girl and boy, the only ones running after us, they did an enormous effort to control everything, just the two of them. The sand in the salad, not well washed (see the other + comment) No wifi whatsoever, and nobody to look after the guests

    location, and the restaurant linked to the hotel, offered 4-5* food, it was excellent except for the salad that had sand! so, not well washed.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beautifully renovated and fitted out building. Almost like you were in a museum. Food at Bistro lovely, great wine list and staff really accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    flat batteries on a remote control - not a big deal.

    Nice rooms, dog friendly, private patio, quad room for smaller kids, sweet little town, walking trail to castle, nice staff, good food.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The desk staff were simultaneously being waiters and were sometimes hard to find. Asked for hypoallergenic sheets and they made me put them on the beds themselves because they didn't have enough time.

    You are staying in a 13th century mill, which is really cool. We had an old wood canopy bed, which was also really cool.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff (one lady) no evident training in craft of hotelier. Meal barely acceptable/service haphazard/slow. Disorganised front desk. All a bit shabby/uncared for.

    old world but adequate accommodation. Wine festival on day of arrival (not mentioned by hotel/access restricted as a result)!

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    there was no restaurant inside the hotel as it was open only until august. so in order to have a cup of coffee or tea you had to go out before 5 when the only cafe in town is open or have a very expensive cup of tea at the swann rest. at the bar

    the room filled with musuem quality furniture. the four posted bed the oh so soft down bedding, at the foot of the castle, beautiful hotel

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We struggled a bit with the menu - our fault - we should have brushed up on our German. Tip: bring a phrase book!

    We received a warm welcome and then a mystery tour to our room - spacious, clean and comfortable with stylish new bathroom. Very picturesque town to wander round and hill walk to the castle, but great view. Loved the artwork round the hotel and the displays of days gone by

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!! It was wonderful

    AMAZING location - beautiful building, with a water wheel and very old flour mill in the building, just SO lovely. So authentic. Wonderful place.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is in a good location, and the building (an old mill) has been really well developed/preserved in the public areas. However, the room was disappointing - cheap, uncomfortable bed and bedding, mismatched cheap furniture and a cramped bathroom (no working extractor fan). Jacuzzi bath (which was presumably part of the superior rating) didn't work and there were a few issues with housekeeping - e.g. toilet paper not replenished until asked for, carpet not vacuumed on arrival or during stay etc. The hotel has the potential to be great but needs a bit more effort in the room.

    Building great, very well done in the public areas. Nice breakfast rooms. Next door restaurant/bar very nice. Great base for exploring region by car or train. Pleasant village.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff didn't speak English well communication was difficult. Restaurant operation hours unclear. Adjoining restaurant menu not available in English servers struggled to communicate. Staff unable to help reserve train tickets.

    Quaint historical hotel near the Rhine & train stop. Delicious breakfast with lunch bags for travelers

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The WIFI signal was a little weak, but usable. There was free on-site parking, but spaces were very limited.

    The hotel had lots of character, almost like a museum. Room was pristine clean and comfortable. Clean, modern bathroom with a great corner tub/shower. Very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi connection was poor, the beds in the room where small for people 6 foot all over.

    Excellent service, lovely atmosphere, the museum was an unexpected touch, the hotel gave the overall feeling of rural Germany.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location and great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fabulously quirky hotel with a very good restaurant next door.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    we were given a room across from the actual hotel on a busy street. traffic kept us up all night. misleading

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Big family room in the attic with the whole space just for us. I've never stayed anywhere quite like it. Fantastic hotel.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception staff not very helpful

    Owner is delightful and very helpful. Accomodation very well presented

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The size of the room was good and my daughter especially enjoyed the "nook" her bed was in. The breakfast was great with plenty of choice.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff not the friendliest

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms are spread through five buildings, so had to walk across busy road to reach our rooms.

    Restaurant

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast Theme Dinner Decoration Location Staff

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    General atmosphere and style.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: