Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Landgasthof Kranz This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Hauptstr. 26, 77797 Ohlsbach, Germany

#4 of 4 hotels in Ohlsbach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 250 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel in the northern Black Forest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Paying for on-site parking was not expected. Check in time stated as 1600-2300, Doors were not unlocked until 1700 hrs.

    The bedrooms & bathroom were of a good size. The breakfasts & restaurants were good. Nice and clean and comfortable hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    3.8
    First of all, we did not order the room that we ordered.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all, we did not order the room that we ordered. Then at 6 o'clock In the morning, the bells began to ring every half hour. We went to bed for breakfast, and there were some sandwiches and a dry breakfast, asking for a canary hot (the egg) said he did not even have a virtue egg :( after leaving, I figured it was like a more expensive room, because we had booked it at least for a room for a cheaper room, so that you would never agree to somebody else and I'm sorry to go to bed after a trip because you will pay as much for more expensive :) we will not mess about it and we do not argue there :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    4.6
    OK. Slept well. Wouldn't go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decoration really old-fashioned. Loads of clutter everywhere like weird mannequins and 'tradiotional' paraphernalia. No staff hence slow service. Have to pay for parking despite over the odds room charges. Small frosted glass window only in room and metal 'ferry like' door on room.

    Breakfast was lovely. Very fresh and delicious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    This was a last minute booking and we felt we got an awesome value for our money. Host is wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Probably a very small thing but breakfast was only until 9 30.. an extra 30 mins or hour would have been nice (when travelling with little ones) but nevertheless, not a problem if you rise early!

    The owner was really nice and all staff was very friendly. We were worried from a language perspective going into a small German town but the owner spoke such wonderful english which really helps! Our view was amazing and we really appreciated a little night cap (desert wine) when we returned to our room after the dinner! :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.5
    Sleeping: Very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sleeping: Very good. The hotel is located at the main road in the village, but still very quite. Friendly staff and clean rooms. Nice beergarden at the back. Breakfast is ok, too. The quality of the kitchen in the evening was rather poor. I decided to eat at the Greek restaurant just 100m away the other nights. They have an excellent kitchen. Parking space cost 5 Euro/night - no info about that when you arrive, but you can read it in the invoice after one week. Ok, 5 Euro is not that much, but I expect to get that info when I arrive. Otherwise I maybe would have parked at the mainroad. Overall it´s a totally ok to stay here and I would recommend this hotel to everyone staying nearby Offenburg.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.3
    A nice little hotel on the edge of the Black Forest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice breakfast, but small selection to choose from. The WiFi was not working during our stay, but admittedly we didn't ask the hotel owner about it.

    A nice little hotel on the edge of the Black Forest. We stayed here during Advent; it was only 2km from the Gengenbach Adventmarkt which is worth the visit! I would like to visit during the summer. The owner speaks English.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.8
    The hostess was always willing to assist and made our stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hostess was always willing to assist and made our stay comfortable. The hotel is nice and the photos are exact. Good location for somebody who wants to visit Alcase and Black Forest.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.3
    Very comforatbale and homely , what more can you ask for when on business , it was great.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Nothing

    I was travelling on business with 3 Chinese Colleagues , we had a great welcome and the Land lady of the hotel made us all feel at home. The hotel was every bit as cute as it was on the photos , very traditional with a long history , I was really impressed. The food was excellent and the Landlady was really accommodating to suit our tastes., this lady made our stay very special for us all. If I am in this area again I will definitely stay here, so beautiful !.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    2.9
    Absolutely nonsense...what you need to know before booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely everything-we booked 2 family rooms. What we got- 4 single beds ( 2 normal, 2 extra like camping) hardly pushed to double room of each family, with no space to walk or to sit (just 1 chair), no any way to get to wardrobe. Hotel decor, so dated- like from movie " Anabel", room decor SO different from photos, be careful before submitting booking, especially if travel with family. Instead balcony and normal window, you will get garage size window and need to be happy with this. We were so unpleasantly met by old small woman- I think, host of hotel. After complaints when we entered the rooms, we were offered to leave hotel with small kids in the night if we don't like. that's all! On breakfast time she stood all time besides the door, with the feeling to count your bites. Money were taken from my credit card in the evening in advance, even we preferred to pay by cash in the morning. After very rude discussion, we got very little discount, not equal to such experience. We'd never choose, if we know in advance!!

    Absolutely nothing. You even can't expect to stay in such (nonsense) hotel in Germany, with no chance to escape. We stayed multiple times in Germany, but such horror experience - the first time, especially in such cultural country.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    5.8
    I will not come back here, not because of the facilities but because of the service.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service made me sad. Due to a misunderstanding my son could not use the babybed. As compensation we recieved a room with an extra bed. The next morning I noticed the lady charged me for the bigger room. She refused to charge the original price I booked a room for. After a firm discusion I got a "discount" of 10 euro's. Parking costs 3 euro, no-one at the hotel informed you about this (you will see it at the bill).

    Breakfast and location were good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.8
    The lady was very hospitable and overall for an overnight stay it was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were told we would have a balcony room, but there were none available. The first room we were offered was very claustrophobic but the owner was very gracious and gave us another room which was better but still small. However, it was very clean.

    The fact that there was an air conditioner in the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    6.7
    Children's bed
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the bookingform we filled in 1 child 14 years and 1 child 3years. When we arrived at 9:30pm (after 6h in the car) no children bed was provided. We had to wait 45 min until the owner turned up and gave us a fourth bed. This was charged in the end with 20€ extra.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.9
    Traditional and good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small - as ALWAYS by booking through Booking.com one seems to get alloacted the smallest, furthest away rooms.

    Traditional, friendly. Good food eaten on a pleasant terrace

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful inside and out
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here while visiting the Black Forest region and it was so nice to come back in the evening and sit in the garten. Our family of five and our dog stayed here and felt very welcomed by the staff and the other guests. The staff is wonderfully helpful and so nice! Breakfast included a lot of choices. Dinner was absolutely wonderful! If our travels take us back to the area, we would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.9
    Great place to stay ... would love to go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    view from the room could have been better

    The bed was very comfortable and the owner was very helpful and took personal care to make our stay comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    5.0
    parking facilities and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    when we arrive we didn't receive a baby crib that we have previously requested. After insisting we got one. the room was tidy but nothing to do with the pictures show es in booking. Please do not take those pictures as a guide. Too many photoshop! If you come in cold weather know that the rooms will be cold. The heating must be turned on as soon as you arrive. The bathroom is too small, one soup very small for a family, the towels are too small as well. The shower is good. The breakfast is served in a room with no windows, not in the dining as showned in the pictures of the property in booking. Bread is good but not toasted. Coffee is regular. If you stay in room 1 the wifi doesn't work.. and the tv was not working.

    parking facilities and good location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.1
    Good for a short stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cushions and mattress; towels and breakfast

    Dinner at the restaurant although a bit expensive

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.1
    A comfortable stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location not ideal with children.

    Clean room and bedding. Nice balcony. Friendly owner, great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.7
    The OFF-street parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the reception was closed when we arrived.

    The OFF-street parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Very beautiful house
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit worn interior

    Very beautiful house

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.3
    Nice lady owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appartments are next to church. You get bell sound at 6am and then every 15 mins.

    Nice lady owner. Breakfast not too bad.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.7
    The owner is really friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner is really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    We will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could be stronger

    The Owner was a lovley Lady and the service was perfect Nice cats in the Garden

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    This is an excellent b&b..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The hotel is very clean and nicely decorated. Very quiet and great location. Breakfast e Wss very nice and the dinner was excellent?

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.9
    the owner of the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no staff to carry the luggage

    the owner of the place. the decor

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    5.4
    Room was not heated at all.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not heated at all.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    10
    We booked this hotel after being recommended by family.
    • Couple

    We booked this hotel after being recommended by family. We arrived later than planned.the owner was very friendly and showed us to our room. The restaurant was excellent and very good value. Our room was larger than usual with a balcony that had excellent views of the countryside. Breakfast was very good with excellent choice. We will certainly be going back for a longer stay so we can explore the village and surrounding countryside.e

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.9
    Have used this Hotel as a stopover twice in the last few...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Have used this Hotel as a stopover twice in the last few years, and have been very impressed with the friendliness of the owners, and the resident cats. The food in the restaurant is excellent, and reasonably priced. It is very handy as a base to explore the Black Forest area, and particularly the lovely town of Gengenbach.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    5.0
    Front desk lady very rude and unethical
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Front desk lady very rude and unethical

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Guests also reviewed these properties: