Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Landhaus Zum Falken This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Tauberzell 41, 91587 Tauberzell, Germany

#1 of 1 hotels in Tauberzell

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 587 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was clean and well decorated, room was still in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing everything was great

    The hotel was clean and well decorated, room was still in the original timber framed building which was lovely. A lot of other hotels show you all the photos of the atmospheric original building but the put you up in a featureless modern annex just out the back, not so here, There was a wedding party happening that weekend but that not stop staff being uber helpful (in English as well) The building is thoughtfully soundproofed so even wedding party did not disturbed Breakfast worth every penny.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Very, very clean, well equipped apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If the restaurant of this guest house is not available (eg. they are organizing some vent), is very hard to find other options near by.

    Very, very clean, well equipped apartment. Well located house if you want to visit Rothenburg and other near gem surroundings. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful property, very authentic, great breakfast!
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to find a different restaurant for dinner.

    This was our second visit within weeks. They have the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. Great breakfast. Make sure you book for dinner and get there early, otherwise you'll not be able to eat...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Fine stay at a very reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening menu is only worth mentioning on account of its being so utterly unimaginative.

    Comfortable room/bed and a large bathroom. Close to the motorway and yet far enough away to be rural and pleasant with plenty of locas visiting. Fine breakfast with home made marmelades etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i can not imagine anything we did not like

    we liked the place very much. the ambience is relaxed, and everybody very kind. good food, and excellent breakfast in nice rustic breakfast room. close to historical places. green area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Great room, great place to stay and make sure to try the local wine and honey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very clean and comfortable. The food at this place is great and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Due to our stay we bought a bottle of the wine produced from this place as well as the honey they offer because they were very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A great place to stay, we arrived late, our room keys were available immediately, there was a mini bar, the shower was excellent, the bed very comfortable...all round excellent place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    The experience we had was unique, the hotel is located in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was pity that the restaurant was closed at the day of our arrival. However, there are a few restaurants in the towns nearby. Shower a bit too low, not so comfortable to use.

    The experience we had was unique, the hotel is located in a rural area, quite and peaceful, easy to reach by car. The landscape in the area is so beautiful. The room was spotless clean and bigger than what we thought. Very friendly and helpful staffs. The breakfast was the best I ever had, so many sorts of jams (handmade) and honey, the quality was excellent with a lot of variety. We enjoyed our stay, thank you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed creaked whendver i rolled over, it didn't bother me but some people would find it difficult to sleep.

    Fabulous. I highly recommend staying here. The food and room was outstanding with excellent service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.1
    A quaint, relaxing B&B located just outside of Rothenburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although staff did speak English, they tended to speak German to us and continued to do so even though we clearly didn’t understand what they were saying. We did our best to speak German to them but it was clear that we were’nt proficient in the language. We have experienced friendlier staff at other places that we’ve stayed in Germany.

    The room was very nice - neat, tidy, and spacious. The beds were comfortable too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Lovely little guesthouse snugged in a quiet village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are so nice and friendly. Great food and restaurant. Great beer! Room, shower, toilet are super clean and tidy. Facilities are plentiful. Walking in the village is worthwhile. Highly recommended for a couple seeking for a nice and quiet break in a lovely little village full of oxygen!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Fine place to stay more days and visit the famos site of the town Rothenburg , only 7km away.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all!

    The room was very clean. Staf vriendly and the owner makes jokes with his guests...exelent local food, mostly from there own land and wine yard... the home made jams, they had 8 different flavors for breakfast! And the home baked bread was exelent! I had a good meal with spargel and snitzel ...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.5
    Very well maintained and comfortable space. Would love to come back. Strongly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I had to say something, the lack of a reception desk was puzzling.

    The staff is really helpful. Our room was like the pictures or even better. Nice menities provided in the bathroom. Everything looked like brand new.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything met our expectations

    WONDERFUL STAY We liked everything ! It is located in the middle of the Tauber Valley, from where one can visit and enjoy all the 3 touristic *strasse* - Romantic , Castle and Wine Roads. As it is located on a small little village, it is easy to choose one of the routes all around Tauberzell. That was what we were expecting ! It is a very cosy and typical *gasthaus*, spotless clean, with comfortable beds, modern bathroom, with wonderful shower. The owners are perfect and try do make the stay even more memorable. The restaurant is worth trying, with very good food, beers and wines....don't miss it but be aware it is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Charming and worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very clean and comfortable. Great breakfast selection! Very quiet and non intrusive staff. Nice stay and would stay again and recommend to others.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    I cannot recommend the hotel and restaurant highly enough! Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in the guest house, rather than in the main building, and on the landing there is a free massage chair, which is excellent, but we arrived at night and the lights are on sensors. So they kept going off leaving me sitting there in the dark; another lamp there would have made that perfect. And I wish there had been a little refrigerator. But other than those 2 minor details, the stay was a close to perfect as possible.

    I highly recommend this hotel and restaurant! The staff could not have been better. We were lucky to have come on one of the nights when they serve homemade sausages, which were the best I have ever eaten in my entire life. The chef is a beekeeper and they use his honey. They take care to make sure that every aspect of the stay is the best possible. They serve local, healthy food in a pleasant atmosphere. They make and bottle their own grape juice and other items. It is a very old hotel, with the building dating back to the early 1600s, but the comfort is up to date. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. They even provided a selection of pillows. It wasn't 100% clear from the description that there are private bathroom/shower rooms with quality toiletries, but there were. I can't wait to go back--on sausage night! We stayed there for visiting Rothenburg ob der Tauber. The hotel is a few kilometers away in the country, but we got a better, bigger room (and free parking) for a lower price and the restaurant could not be beat! Next time we plan to come back and stay for several days.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    A cute place hidden in a small village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We drove there in the evening and it was so quiet and dark on the way there. you do need drive there.

    we would suggest to have dinner here and do order their home wine:) the room is cute and cozy. All staff can speak English and the service is really nice!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.5
    Lovely rustic hotel in rural setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is very rural, a little hard to find.

    Located in a very rural town, about 15 minutes from Rothenburg. Unusual rustic hotel, but nice rooms. Good bed. Very poor wifi in room 8 on the top floor, and only 1-2Mbits when it works. Parking is on-site but limited. 32” TV, no English channels. Small shower, but good water flow. Hosts speak pretty good English. On-site dinner is available. Room does not include breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ceiling in bathroom is a little low if you're tall, but it adds to the charm of an old building.

    Free upgrade upon arrival and very cozy and busy restaurant downstairs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Best night of our holiday and wish we had been able to stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything considering it was such good value for money.

    Charming dining room and bedroom. Very well organised and friendly staff. Very clean. Pretty location in village with surrounding vineyards and stream. Excellent meals and breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money, beautiful room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slight smell of drains in the bathroom

    Very good value for money! Room was on par with more expensive hotels, lovely exposed roof beams. Rothenburg ob der Tauber is a short drive away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    3.3
    Unfriendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were really upset with staying in this hotel. The hotel is nice, but when we arrived we've been told that we've booked two rooms, which was a surprise for us. It appeared that we by mistake did a second booking through another booking service (same date, same surname). Management said that it is a "big problem" & asked us to pay 85% of the second room price. When we asked why they didn't call or email us to check if there was a mistake, they answered: we can't call everybody. So for them more important was to punish us for a mistake & get their money than to have happy guests. It really spoiled the experience & we went to sleep very upset. However, the next morning reception lady said that they cut the fee a bit - to 50%. Good, but not really changing the whole situation.

    The room was nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.1
    Short stay close to the nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room in the Attic where one should move carefully. There were no cattle, cups in the room. However, the stuffs provided some warm water and cups for coffee when asked. This might be a perfect place if you want to stay close to nature.

    Historic place, renovated room with a modern bathroom, friendly English speaking stuff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel in a lovely place ,food was delicious and really enjoyed our stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    the bed was lovely and comfy and the room was lovely .the owners were friendly and was set in a lovely little village very picturesque the food was delicious and really enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Highly recommended, if I get the chance, I will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All aspects of this stay exceeded my expectations! No negatives to report.

    The staff was friendly and welcoming,the property was spotless, the view was spectacular, and the breakfast was great!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful village setting within easy reach of major tourist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful village setting within easy reach of major tourist sites in the area. The food at the restaurant is excellent and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.2
    Good choice outside Rothenberg ODT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a big room with a view and got a regular one . It was enough but i expect to get what i booked. Its a small amount but i didnt get refund.

    Nice rustic room with atmosphire. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay if you’re visiting Rothenburg by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay if you’re visiting Rothenburg by car. Beautiful rooms, very clean, great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.6
    Staff very helpful and so kind and smiling!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Staff very helpful and so kind and smiling! The dinner was very good and well served.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, perfect for our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel, perfect for our stay. Restaurant was closed the night we stayed so had a meal in Rothenburg. Breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    fantastic experience!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    fantastic experience!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic place to stay with super comfortable beds, fabulous breakfast and attentive staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were the most comfortable beds I had her slept in and the breakfast was just amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent dinner in the restaurant and cosy atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent dinner in the restaurant and cosy atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    We liked everything :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything :-)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice staff. Food was excellent!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Nothing actually.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing actually.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Room great location great food great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An excellent stay with excellent staff----great value

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    all was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    all was perfect

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Very clean & spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean & spacious

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.2
    Lots of charm and character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of charm and character.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Perfect stay in a quaint village near Rüdesheim.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the friendly staff and spacious room! Such a nice place to stay. <3

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Lovely stay. Dinner delicious. Great breakfast . Perfect hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.6
    Great staff, great location, lovely room
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great staff, great location, lovely room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.8
    Room was extra spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extra spacious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    CONGRATULATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - very nice people - very good room - nice, quiet place - very good Bavarian cuisine - everything was perfect

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    10
    Zum Falken
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice hotel with warm feeling and it was very beautiful building too. Breakfast is good and rooms are lovely.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    10
    Will come again for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous restaurant, great owner and chef, homemade products, quiet and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    9.6
    This was our second visit to Zum Falken and everything was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was our second visit to Zum Falken and everything was excellent again. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable, our ensuite shower was very spacious and modern. The restaurant serves excellent regional cuisine and fine local wines. Superb breakfast too! Highly recommend. An ideal place to stay when visiting the beautiful town of Rothenburg ob der Tauber.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    10
    Very helpful friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Menu a little repetitive. Restaurant shut one night and nothing else in the village. Wifi not great

    Very helpful friendly staff. Great location for cycling and walking. Large traditionally furnished bedrooms.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    9.2
    Very pleasant small hotel just north of walled town of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very pleasant small hotel just north of walled town of Rothenburg ob der Tauber. Very good English speaking staff. Nice restaurant. Excellent breakfast served in beautiful barn conversion.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.2
    Wonderful staff to help us with a number of issues we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wonderful staff to help us with a number of issues we encountered (not related to the hotel). We were delighted by the service. The food was also very, very good!

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    10
    A lovely hotel to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A lovely hotel to stay in.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent hotel

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    10
    Friendly, tranquil, excellent hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly, tranquil, excellent hospitality. Charming village on the river Tauber

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Guests also reviewed these properties: