Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Romantik Hotel Böld This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

König-Ludwig-Strasse 10, 82487 Oberammergau, Germany

#17 of 18 hotels in Oberammergau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 349 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 74

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.8
    It was an uncomfortable stay because the bed was hard and the pillow needs replacing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room needs updating and the bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable. Breakfast could be better. Also some information that hot eggs were located in another room would have been nice to know. I was going to stay 3 nights but stayed only 1 night. I opted for another hotel for the remaining 2 nights.

    The location is great and the spa was decent. The staff are friendly and does try to provide good service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    It was just a nice and quiet place to stay. For sure I will be back. Thanks a lot.
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    As I said, the Wifi. Just didn`t work. Perhaps because of the location.

    Everything was ok, however, the Wifi wasn`t working as it should. This is the only complaint that I have. The restaurant service was great, the food was also great. The Lady who works there is very polite and educated. Congratulations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    I will stay here again, but hope they upgrade the wifi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The free wifi had some issues. I was not able to use it for Skype/FaceTime/Whatsapp call - due to speed and instability.

    Stayed here for 11 days due to work travel. I keep coming back to this hotel for my travels to Oberammergau - as I find the rooms ok, the staff friendly and helpful, the sauna nice - and the location is close to what is important to me. Free parking, bicycle/ski-room also helps. - 20 minutes walk to NATO-school. - Nature to run in just outside the door. - City is in short walking-distance from hotel. - Two saunas and steam-room. All in all, I feel that the hotel is a good place to stay - and will most likely come back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.3
    Great German hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was touchy at times. But I could stream Netflix

    Good hotel in a small town. Has a restaurant, free WiFi, sauna, and lounge areas. Great location and a good price. Definitely worth the money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay for a week or more ! I would prefer it again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The pillows were too soft for my taste !

    The Breakfast was very good, and the personnel always gentle. Additionally when I used the sauna (specifically 3 different kinds) I was impressed by the hygiene conditions and the cleanliness, it was a great experience which is highly-recommended .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    The hotel in whole is very nice and worth the price,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy because of the church bell ringing all the time

    The hotel in whole is very nice and worth the price, however the pillows are horrible and it’s very noisy because the bell of the church located very closely to hotel was ringing every 15-30 minutes 24 hour, sometimes was hard to sleep.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.9
    Keep the good working
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't help but consider our stay in this Hotel a positive one: the staff was as kind and competent as it could get and did their best to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms were absolutely in style with what you expect to find in a place like Oberammergau.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    6.7
    Excellent breakfast not supported by he level of the room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room wasn't very satisfactory because of the old style furnitures and bathroom and the generally messy aspect. Moreover, unfortunately, the bed was very low and not very conformtable.

    Really appreciated and fully comprehensive continental and typucal german breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Hotel Bold is a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Bold is a great place to stay. The rate is reasonable, the rooms are comfortable and well decorated, and their restaurant is excellent. I can't recommend this place enough.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.1
    Overall okay, but not convincing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, we were not able to use the wellness/spa area on our main day as the area was rented out privately to some people. This was a huge disappointment as the sauna and spa area was the big reason for our choice of hotel. This concept is not very guest-friendly from our point of view. Or there should at least be a price deduction if you cannot use all facilities. Another minus was the evening vacuum cleaning (after 18:00).

    Cleanness, room size, bed, friendly staff, breakfast was good too, Königscard which gives you a free up and down pass for the Laber mountain, free parking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    Oberammergau is a great town to visit, and Romatik Hotel is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Oberammergau is a great town to visit, and Romatik Hotel is a great place to stay, it was warm and inviting, and all of the staff were very friendly. the restaurant was also good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.9
    Well located and quite good breakfast with fresh squeezed...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1) Room was not so clean. I stayed for couple of days and the floor was not cleaned well enough. 2) Not being able to browse the Internet, intermittent connection drops and dead spots. 3) I was't informed by staff that Boeld Hotel is a member of "Koenigs Card" programme which give you eg. free rides with the regional bus to the Neuschwanstein Castle or Linderhof Palace and Laber cable car.

    Well located and quite good breakfast with fresh squeezed orange juice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable! I recommend it to everyone and would be happy to return.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The internet was intermittent. I'm not sure if it was overloaded in the evening or what, but it wouldn't work many evenings.

    The breakfast was a wonderful mix of cold and hot foods. Fresh OJ was available too. The hotel was very clean and was in an excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    2.5
    no
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel does not come up to 4 stars, the slippers were missing, the towels were not spent on the whole stay, the usual breakfast, the unfamiliar waiters. The services of the hotel are 3 stars.

    no

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Clean and nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect except it was hot. When the windows were opened it cooled down but the street was a little loud. Otherwise it was a very nice place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    10
    Great location for people who love to XC ski or walk along...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding a restaurant in the evening can a challenge, but you can always eat in the hotel.

    Great location for people who love to XC ski or walk along the river. Quiet and modern rooms. Delicious breakfast. Everything that you need for a super getaway!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    We lived in Oberammergau fifty years ago. It was nice returning to one of our favorite restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine.

    Friendliness of the staff and location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    EXCELLENT!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent Service and great breakfast!!!! Everything is better than expected. Highly recommended. Definitely, we will come back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Add one more English News channel would be nice but not necessary.

    Breakfast was fantastic!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent. Will stay again!!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little disappointing! Perhaps more choice!

    Comfortable and friendly!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.8
    Nice and comfortable place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice and comfortable place to stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.1
    The hotel was warm and with a nice Bavarian atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water flow in the shower was weak.

    The hotel was warm and with a nice Bavarian atmosphere. Very nice restaurant and good sauna facility.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    A short, but pleasant stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel sent a post card to my address after I left. The staff was friendly and I'd stay again if I come back to the area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.3
    wi fi no good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wi fi no good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Hotel in Oberammergau
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    center of town, view of Kofel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice place. Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's no elevator.

    Nice stuff, clean rooms, good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Very Nice Friendly hotel in a great location, facilities and food very good. Nice for a weekend away. Easy 5 mins walk into centre.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower curtain needs to be replaced.

    Great location. Peaceful area. Small walking to downtown.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.6
    Snow in April!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to go to the lobby to get wifi reception

    Front desk had a box of adapters....very nice as my camera and iPad needed to be charged

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Great hotel and location within Oberammergau.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing bad to say. I have no dislikes.

    Very good service. Great breakfast and the restaurant offers a good variety.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast was great and the staff was very helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were too soft and uncomfortable to sleep with..

    Breakfast was great and the staff was very helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    friendly staff, excellent breakfast, wellness zone
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    friendly staff, excellent breakfast, wellness zone

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    9.2
    One of the better places to stay in Oberammergau
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minibar was empty. One of the receptionists was surly

    Comfortable, good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    9.2
    A mountain hotel that delivers great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    People were friendly and one must realize this is a mountain hotel. Good service and reasonable prices

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    7.1
    Nice and cozy place for a short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Friendly staff, very good breakfast, close to major attractions

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    10
    All things was on very high level.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All things was on very high level. The stuff were very very kind.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    10
    Great breakfast, more than enough.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great breakfast, more than enough. I was in the basic room; however, the bed was very comfortable, even though it looked soft. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    7.1
    The breakfast was very good with a great selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel advertises a sauna but 2 out of 3 nights we were there, it was unavailable to actual guests. It sounds like they allow non-hotel guests to book/pay for the services, which is misleading when you book the hotel and you think you can use that service. There was also a sign out the entire time about wireless internet not working well at the moment but they were working on it. I'm not sure if that sign is just always there? We booked thinking it was a 4 star hotel but we would say it's closer to 3-3.5. Housekeeping had their supplies in the lobby all day when no one was cleaning at the moment and our room could have used more attention to cleanliness detail, like cleaning the area people put their suitcases and the wall is therefore very dirty. Small stuff but more "3-star" than 4. Breakfast and dinner were very good at their restaurant, though.

    The breakfast was very good with a great selection. We also had dinner there one evening and it was very good. Great location, too.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    7.9
    I actually stayed here twice the first time everything was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The second time things did not work out so good. I got a room that I had to move out of and still was not the right kind of room that I paid for. The WIFI did not work at all and if they had notified me when I was checking in would have found another place. I left after one day as the WIFI still was broke. After we moved room the shower in that room leaked like crazy with water all over the floor. Room 306.

    I actually stayed here twice the first time everything was good. I got the room I wanted with a balcony. The WIFI worked good, parking is good, and has a decent restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    9.6
    -perfect location, a short walk into town but also far...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    -perfect location, a short walk into town but also far enough out to enjoy the quietness and beauty of area - good breakfast - friendly staff - very clean -spacious rooms and bathrooms

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    10
    The location of the hotel made our experience very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/A

    The location of the hotel made our experience very enjoyable. It was 100 meters from town center, on a public bus route and 1 kilometer from the train station. The room was quiet but not so quiet that we could not here the church bells. The restaurant was accommodating to our needs and the front desk helped us with public transportation for day trips.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    3.8
    Room size.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi is bad, could not connect with 4 different devices. Nobody could, I checked. So could not get any work done. Calble connection is veeeeery slooooooow. Situation did not improve over 6 day stay. If don't care about being connected for work and/or privat rating would be fair to good. Fitness is NOT indoor and costs you €5,50. Wellness area nice but steambath u.s.

    Room size. Sauna.Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.2
    Excellent location, food and proximity to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    For the price and the rating of this hotel, they should employee at least 1 or 2 young people for luggage help or other needs.

    Excellent location, food and proximity to everything.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    10
    The best part is the coziness of the hotel and all of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The best part is the coziness of the hotel and all of the amenities available through the hotel's partnership deal with others. Great value for price.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    9.2
    Hotel is nicely maintained and the staff were extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No elevator meant a bit of a challenge for us with luggage.

    Hotel is nicely maintained and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Restaurant was good and food at dinner was delicious.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2015

    9.2
    Amenities were very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I sat at the breakfast area for a long while and the waitress did not come to my table until my son came in and asked for some service.

    Amenities were very good.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    9.2
    Very nice hotel facilities, comfortable and well decorated...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Very poor WiFi in the room. Actually, never established internet connection.

    Very nice hotel facilities, comfortable and well decorated rooms, decent breakfast, free parking.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    7.5
    The bell of the church that rang Evert 15 minutes during the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bell of the church that rang Evert 15 minutes during the night, something the Landhotel Böld can't change

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    9.2
    Home like atmosphere
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    small room

    Home like atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    7.1
    Friendly and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Needs updating, getting old and tatty in places

    Friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    9.6
    Very nice breakfast, excellent service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice breakfast, excellent service.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    8.3
    The room was so comfortable and the breakfast very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff wasn't very well informed about tourism and leisure services around the hotel.

    The room was so comfortable and the breakfast very good.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    9.6
    Excellent spot in a lovely town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent spot in a lovely town. Staff couldn't do enough for you. Great for extended business stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2016

    10
    The breakfast was delicious, the fresh baked bread was just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast was delicious, the fresh baked bread was just fantastic!

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    8.3
    Very nice personals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice personals. I recomand this hotel for vacance!

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    6.7
    Staff impersonal and minor attempts to overcharge for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff impersonal and minor attempts to overcharge for services.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    7.1
    Nice location, room comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Internet very weak, losing signal every day

    Nice location, room comfortable

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    10
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.6
    Mattress on the bed was not very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mattress on the bed was not very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    8.8
    The outlook is different from Inside the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No nad exprence.

    The outlook is different from Inside the hotel. Inside is so much confert and totaly different from ather hotels.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    9.6
    Good sauna with three different types of treatment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good sauna with three different types of treatment.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    Stayed here before, good location for the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stayed here before, good location for the town. Good motorcycle roads all round.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.2
    It was very quit to rest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I have no negative comments

    It was very quit to rest. Excellent breakfast !

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    8.3
    Got a free upgrade to fit the extra bed for our child.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Got a free upgrade to fit the extra bed for our child. Thank you.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    10
    Service und Früschtuck
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Service und Früschtuck

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    9.2
    Friendly staff, Free entry to saunas.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi fi in the room is not the best, a lot of interuptions.

    Friendly staff, Free entry to saunas.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    9.6
    Very nice personell and good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Very nice personell and good breakfast. The room was spacious and the bathroom was comfortable and new.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    9.2
    Spacious room, nice bathroom
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very slow Wi-Fi Scrambled eggs with meat in it

    Spacious room, nice bathroom

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    7.9
    All staff were so friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was not good.

    All staff were so friendly.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    7.9
    Spacious single room, bathtab and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing special.

    Spacious single room, bathtab and breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    8.3
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    10
    late check in at 22pm but very friendly, and always staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    late check in at 22pm but very friendly, and always staff support us.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 74

Guests also reviewed these properties: