Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Landhotel Saarschleife This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Cloefstr. 44, 66693 Mettlach, Germany

#2 of 10 hotels in Mettlach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 441 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    First time visit which is now on our list of prefered stopovers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very expensive evening meal. Too haute cuisine for us but that is just us.

    Good bedroom well furnished and with two chairs, not the customary one only

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Excellent! As always. And the culinary experience is better from visit to visit! Keep going.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Romantik
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel! Excellent gourmet gastronomic kitchen. Take the opportunity to do a walk on the many trails, enjoy the Baumwipfelpfad ("Tree top trail", a walk up to the height of the many trees around the property) and the magnificent view from above over the Saarschleife.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.9
    Good for vacation but less for business
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - WIFI, most important thing requested was to weak (room 210) and needed to connect to VPN because of unsecured WIFI, which was not possible due to slow network. For this reason I did not renew my booking, but will consider for vacation for sure. - No coffee or tee facility in the room - Menu in restaurant only in German, no translation, while the pizzeria on the other side of the street and menu in 3 languages

    - breakfast was excellent, wide choice - I did not have time to enjoy the spa, as it closed before I came back from work (20:00) but my wife liked it very much :-) - room size was good and very clean - staff friendly but except manager and reception staff only German spoken. - Very nice location easy to reach and lot's of nature.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel in great peaceful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Fantastic room, very spacious, with well appointed bathroom. Very good breakfast. The staff at Reception were exceptional, they went out of their way to help us with our enquiries, despite my limited knowledge of German. Parking was convenient, and close to the Hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Excellent location, wellness and gastronomy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Romantik
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was quite noisy early in the morning - apparently a known problem according to the staff. It did not bother us too much, but not for light sleepers! This certainly was not the case during our last stay (different room). Apparently, it depends on which room(s) you are allocated. One hopes that improved sound isolation is "in the future" for this otherwise excellent hotel.

    The pool and Spa facilities are excellent as is the restaurant (the food is delicious!). The staff were smiling and courteous. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful - with fresh (local where possible) produce.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    We were impressed with the warm welcome, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were impressed with the warm welcome, and the friendliness of all staff during our overnight stay. Our room was clean and spacious, and the dining and breakfast choices suited us well. The small nearby town of Mettlach was worth visiting, as was the Saarschleife viewpoint a short walk from the hotel - not to be missed. We will add this hotel to our guaranteed stops list as we intend to visit again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    A very good stopover hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Romantik
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was water dripping through the ceiling in the breakfast room on both mornings!

    The staff reacted immediately when we had a couple of problems in the room eg the TV wouldn't turn on. They were very helpful and professional.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    Simply perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Romantik
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wellness was a bit crowded, but in later hours it got better.

    The hotel is really nice, good design, excellent breakfast and dinner in the restaurant. The gorgeous view place is really close - it is worth it to get there.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    10
    Superb breakfast & evening meal in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Romantik
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would really be very picky, but our room was slightly too warm for us.....

    Superb breakfast & evening meal in the restaurant. Excellent swimming pool and Spa facilities. Very friendly & helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    7.9
    discounted price was about right.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Romantik
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi didn't work, romantic room booked but only got a room. Restaurant was very good food but it was over priced. We stay in many German hotels and eat in many German restaurants.

    Swimming pool was good, food.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.2
    Very close to the Saarschleife
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Romantik
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night we stayed in a room with a smoke smell. Why do German hotels still allow smoking in their rooms? Changing was not possible the same night but we were given an upgrade for the second night. Nice!

    The wellness zone is new and very comfortable. We also liked the food in the restaurant especially the lachs burger. The staff is very friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel for holiday stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was our second time stay. Friendly receptionist, comfort bed , good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Very kind hotel staffs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly hotels staffs and dinning experience at restaurant was also great! Will come back again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic but get help with Dinner menu as in German only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except no English menu, however guess we were in Germany 😊

    Loved the staff and management of this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was excellent as well was the breakfast. We really enjoyed staying ast this hotel and will definately come back later.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.6
    Great place, extra friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent overnight stay, Will consider a langer stay next time. Beautiful room, big breakfast buffet, and extremely friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    10
    The spa , swimming pool , and the room was really nice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Romantik
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trier was a little too far

    The spa , swimming pool , and the room was really nice and clean Really close from saarschleife

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Romantik
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, wonderful swimming pool

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    10
    Friendly staff, who speaks English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's not a negative, but the thing to improve: English menu in the restaurant would be really helpful...

    Friendly staff, who speaks English. Spacious and cozy room, everything new and modern. Slippers, bathrobes in the room. Wonderful spa, very relaxing. Rather big pool. We had amazing dinner in the hotel's restaurant! One of the best meal we've had in Germany. Good breakfast. Very close to the viewpoint.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    9.6
    hotel is located in a very interesting and beautiful place,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant, a little bit expensive.

    hotel is located in a very interesting and beautiful place, if you like a long walk in a open ear in a natural forests belong the river - take this hotel. All was perfect, room, we sleep well, staff was friendly.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    10
    Location excellent,very friendly and helpful staff,food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location excellent,very friendly and helpful staff,food..mouth-watering,and breakfast a feast to delight the eyes...no kidding!! Why more people don't visit this region is unbelievable!

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.6
    Staff were welcoming and the hotel calm, clean and nicely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff were welcoming and the hotel calm, clean and nicely decorated. One of the main attractions is the 10 minute walk to the view over the bend in the river Saar. Breathtaking. If you don't fancy what's on offer in the restaurant there are a couple of pizza places (decent) literally outside. There is also a restaurant set in the woodlands to the rear of the hotel. Overall a comfortable stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    7.1
    Nice relaxing pool / spa area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overall it just felt expensive for what it was. We were only there for 1 night, double room with evening meal.... Spent well over 200 euro.!!

    Nice relaxing pool / spa area. Pool was a bit cold but ok.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    8.8
    Leisure facilities very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    to have menu in English

    Leisure facilities very good

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    8.3
    Pleasant and efficient reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pleasant and efficient reception. Hotel beautifully appointed and decorated for Christmas. Excellent food.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    9.6
    breakfast was excellent and the location is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast was excellent and the location is beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    9.2
    The breakfast was fantastic, the room was so comfortable and...
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast was fantastic, the room was so comfortable and had the most relaxing bath!

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    10
    Excellent room after free upgrade very spacious and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent room after free upgrade very spacious and comfortable Great spa and breakfast. Helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    10
    Great location for hiking, nice pool and an excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location for hiking, nice pool and an excellent restaurant

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: