Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Landhotel Wasgau This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Speyerstr. 4-6, 76846 Hauenstein, Germany

#4 of 4 hotels in Hauenstein

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 412 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.0
    A tired hotel that just about was OK for an overnight stop - disappointing because restaurant closed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception wasn't open when I arrived at around 2030 hrs. It wasn't made very clear what I had to do - but eventually I worked out to contact the bar staff at the bar. The restaurant had stopped serving food at 2000 hrs which was a real disappointment as I chose this hotel from Booking.com expressly because it had one. I had been travelling 800 KM and thought that at least I would be able to get something to eat at the restaurant - but no - this wasn't possible. I did not want to go out again after travelling all that way.

    Breakfast was OK

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Very Friendly and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very very warm, and the heat was turned off and there were no windows you could open in the room we had, only the balcony door.

    The staff working the night we checked in were really friendly and helpful! We came back from dinner and the bar was closed but the guy still helped us out and let us buy a bottle of some of the regional wine to take back up to our room!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.4
    Overall okay for a one night stay.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was busy and it seemed the staff was a little overwhelmed by this....

    The room we received was big but smelled musty as soon as we opened the door and had big water stains on the ceiling!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.8
    Breakfast although seating was pre arranged which meant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of noise when water/toilets in neigbouring rooms were used, throughout the night....

    Breakfast although seating was pre arranged which meant sharing our table with strangers....

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Top service, super breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were looking for a hotel to spend one night on our way to Italy. The hotel was able to make an arrangement our late arrival (23.30), which allowed us to get into our room with minimal delay. Breakfast was a real treat and the room itself was quite spacious. The hotel itself is a bit dated, but given the price, the value for money can hardly be higher.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent and friedly retro style accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place looks like a retro style apartment block from the 70s, but that actually makes it special and is a part of its charm.

    Massive clean accommodation comprising two separate rooms and a bathroom. It was spottless, had a sauna and a restaurant with nice food and drinks. Loved the breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    7.5
    Short Hiking Trip for the weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was OK. Not very helpful but simply OK

    The location was very good for hiking. Trails are right outside the door and other trails are a simply very short ride to the trail heads. The pool and sauna after hiking was nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.5
    The breakfast saved our impression...
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception closed upon arrival; difficult to find information (wifi, breakfast location...); no mini bar in the room; bulbs not all functioning, etc.

    The breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    8.3
    Very large family rooms, with extra children's room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is not the most modern design - I do not care but one should know it. Apparently the house had had better days, but all is fair including the price.

    Very large family rooms, with extra children's room, playground, swimming pool, very friendly stuff and good meals.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    7.5
    I would book it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The balconies are looking forward to some weeding (that's what my rating for cleanliness is referring to) and some of the corridors were not that good lighted. We've been almost scared to sit in the bigger breakfast room which had the flair of a factory canteen but we were lucky to be in the nice and pretty room. Breakfast was reduced to two hours only what means they were ongoing running out of some food (bread rolls, marmalade, eggs...) and because of only a few service staff members it took sometimes a while before they filled up the buffet. This hotel is obviously totally booked out for about 9 months what means the restaurant is crowded for breakfast (which was a very good one). We missed highly WLAN especially because the mobile network reception is almost not existing. Planing hikes on the mobile was getting difficult on this way.

    Nature around is awesome and the staff at the reception was very friendly, professional and helpful. A special request because of having guests for breakfast was at a first a tiny little bit difficult (we've been asked to sort this out in the morning but in the morning it was getting difficult because of the short notice) but satisfying resolved by very professional (and a bit stressed) staff. It is a really quite location and as soon we've figured out where the additional car parks are located (what wasn't easy at a first) we had as well no issues with only that few spaces in front of the hotel. The room was clean, neat and tidy and so was the bathroom (even though it was a bit tiny for the equipment of a couple).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    It was very good.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very good..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    Big rooms, clean, pet friendly, good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast

    Big rooms, clean, pet friendly, good price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice for a few nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a bit outside the town so a little far to walk.

    Nice for a few nights. Friendly and good service. Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Great value for money. Perfect place to stay if you want to go hiking/biking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect place to stay if you want to go hiking or bike riding. Hotel was clean and beds comfy. Nice breakfast buffet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    6.7
    The pool and sauna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really tired when I arrived, needed a simple fast check-in, no-one around, and no instructions on reception on how to check in after 6.00pm; only really catered for local visitors

    The pool and sauna The beer

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    4.2
    Experiencing the feeling of an adventurous stay in this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had booked 3 rooms (2 single, 1 double) for one night, as we spent the weekend in the area (hiking). When it comes to the rooms it's all about the room you get. The double room was ok with "90's area modern chic", but the two single rooms felt like a time travel back to the 50's. They were somewhat clean, but you could tell, that nothing has been done to make you feel comfy in those rooms. Dark, heavy furniture (German farmer style from back in the time when my grandparents were alive), a carpet on the floor that experienced many "incidents" with whatever liquids in the last couple of centuries, an old fashioned bathroom with dark brown (thus very depressive) tiles on the wall, and so on. I didn't feel that well, although one must say, we chose a budget stay for that one night. However, I wouldn't say it was a value-for-money thing. It was rather a pay less - get nothing experience. The hotel's facilities in general were quite weird (there was no overall style, it just seemed some stuff was improved here and there, but all in all it was a weird mix of anything old and not-that-old. I didn't feel that anyone is/was paying too much attention to things like comfort and cleanliness. Breakfast was also below standard, but yeah we didn't expect it to be different...

    Experiencing the feeling of an adventurous stay in this building... Had kind of a "Shining" touch to it... weird ambience, weird people, strange mix of tasteless styles.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    5.4
    After long journey we had a bed to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff not speaking english, problem with locating our reservation, no parking near the hotel even after stating disabled, no shower gel in the bathroom. The whole experience disappointing.

    After long journey we had a bed to sleep. Breakfast offered good choice of food.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    8.8
    If you don't mind the outdated furniture and tiles in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    If you don't mind the outdated furniture and tiles in the batch room and old TV, it is exceptional good value for your money. It is very quit, the bistro like restaurant is absolutely OK. Breakfast was also good. Comparred to other hotels I know, I find the current rating of 7,2 too low, it should be around 8 . A good place for bikers and other people.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    8.3
    The hotel has an excellent swimming pool with attached sauna...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel has an excellent swimming pool with attached sauna which was very welcome after a days travelling. Extremely good value for money hotel in a quiet wooded location.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    8.3
    Great value for a one night stop-over.
    • Family with older children

    Great value for a one night stop-over. Excellent out-door pool nearby (2 km). Good dinner, great breakfast, great service. Overall a decent economy hotel.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    5.0
    We were quite unhappy with this hotel.
    • Family with young children

    We were quite unhappy with this hotel. Unfortunately the bad reviews are all correct. I will try to list here few things and you can make your own picture: Parking : full Reception : closed when we arrived Room : different than we booked Cleaning : poor, too quick and not really clean Breakfast : one day I didnt have, because it starts at 8 (I had to leave earlier) ... and second day I didnt have, because was fully eaten. And one waitress for 40 guests had no chance to refill ... so it was really "hungry breakfast" :( Pool : too cold and not suitable for children All in all : really baaaad. But the hotel was full of senioren so, most probably they do not have to work too hard to keep the clientelle ... :(

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    6.7
    We visited the hotel for the swimming pool which was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    One of our mattresses was very old and you could feel the springs. There is no Internet. Breakfast was very simple and rather cheap

    We visited the hotel for the swimming pool which was very cold, but was still fun (including the sauna). The staff were also very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    7.5
    Pool to stretch the kids out after long day in the car
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Restaurant service was not very friendly but the food was good

    Pool to stretch the kids out after long day in the car

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    9.6
    Just a good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just a good hotel

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    6.3
    staff very cold
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    staff very cold the swimming pool in the photos seemed to be bigger than it really was

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    9.6
    spacious room, nature trail close by, quiet place, good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    spacious room, nature trail close by, quiet place, good price

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    7.9
    Frendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    People didn't speak english :(

    Frendly

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    7.5
    Easy to find, nice quiet location and large rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not much character.

    Easy to find, nice quiet location and large rooms. Great for an over night stoop over. Has a handy restaurant for dinner.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.5
    Nice location, good staffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice location, good staffs.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    7.5
    It was a nice, spacious and clean room with a nice big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was pretty saggy. That was the only negative.

    It was a nice, spacious and clean room with a nice big balcony.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room smelled poor infrastructure

    Nothing

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: