Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Landhotel Guglhupf

Füssener Str. 107, 87645 Schwangau, Germany

#1 of 10 B&Bs and Inns in Schwangau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1132 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Great if visiting castles, walked to Fussen for dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet was down, but it was a local issue not a site issue.

    Staff was great and helped get our large bags up the stairs. Jetted tub and sauna were great after a long drive from Berlin.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Superb staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had some street noise. Traffic begins early, so don’t plan to sleep in past 7 am.

    Uli in reception helped secure a tandem paraglide for me in Austria.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.5
    Very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be perfect if the breakfast can start from 7;15am, as the bus time to castle is 8:08am, it is a little bit tight for us to catch the bus

    Very clean, good location. With the bus card hotel provide can take local bus for free

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    Can recommend this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi did not work well, bad and slow internet.

    Fantastic breakfast, one of the best I have seen on a place like this. Very friendly staff, nice location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.3
    Very clean, very well cared for little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet floors. Shower was unpredictable hot/cold. Didn’t notice when booking, but regular check-in until 6pm. No elevator to our 2nd floor room.

    Very clean, very well cared for little hotel. Very nice owner . Breakfast ok.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel with lovely views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel with lovely views. Our room had a balcony which was the perfect place to relax while the toddler fell asleep, in the travel crib that was already prepared when we arrived! Friendly, helpful, and accommodating staff who were able to offer dinner and grocery suggestions. Great breakfast selection. Quick drive up to the castle parking area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    Go for the breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location of our room on the property was just ok. Every room has its' pros and cons. Wifi was not great.

    Breakfast was well above average. Very good offering and always fresh. Hotel location was convenient in every way especially if you are a walker or bicycle rider.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Stay excellent, wasn’t long enough, can’t wait to go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn’t like!

    What a delight. Staff absolutely superb. Arrived towards the end of check in but they didn’t stop being given lots of help and advice. Given excellent advice on where to eat and get tickets etc. The room had a lovely view and great private surroundings, layout, decoration and facilities super.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    Surprisingly well-equipped with in-room Jacuzzi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surprisingly well-equipped with in-room Jacuzzi. From the balcony you could see the castles and the beautiful Mountain View. Breakfast was perfect and the staff was really nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Perfect for visiting the Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful host, spacious room, amazing breakfast, excellent location for visiting the Castle. Don’t miss the path nearby through the paddocks (from the property, walk along the main road away from town for about 1 minute, then turn right onto the path) - it provides an excellent view of the Castle, especially at sunset!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location, nice bathtub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, nice bathtub. Castles are very near, we could even see them from room balcony. You really must get breakfast here, so msny choices...🤭🌭🍳🥚🥐🍞🥕🌶

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Great Location and nice breakfast (both food and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to pull the luggages to 3rd floor of the cottage....

    Great Location and nice breakfast (both food and the restaruant facilities). You can easily get the access to the places to take pictures of the Castle from the foot of the mountain. Walking distance to a Germany food restaurant which offered good food and nice view to the Castle. Freidnly staff both in the evening and in the morning. Good Choice!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel, charming hosts, fabulous breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - stay was perfect.

    The staff was outgoing and friendly, made you feel so welcome and right at home. The breakfast was wonderful, hot coffee appeared out of nowhere, fresh breads, cheeses, meet, juice and homemade jam - absolutely fantastic. The rooms are smaller but very clean and comfortable. Note: to get to our rooms we had to take a flight of stairs. I think it would be difficult to find a better value in the area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely, comfortable place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely, comfortable place to stay. The breakfast was excellent with homemade jams & sweets. The staff were friendly & accommodating when we arrived after check in time. English speaking staff was a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location - super friendly staff - cozy breakfast room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wished they would provide wash cloths

    We arrived late in the evening and were greeted by the very friendly staff. He showed us the rooms and explained everything. The mid-size room had a balcony with view on the castles. The hotel was quiet and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was nice and clean. Breakfast in the beautiful decorated breakfast room was amazing and cozy. We had a lot to eat and enjoyed the view we had from the breakfast table. Overall we had a great experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Perfect location and perfect hôtel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was absolutely perfect! We couldn't have asked for a more perfect location, the staff was very friendly and the breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Very sweet hotel - would gladly return there some day :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that might be added is an air-conditioner. But in June at night it was still quite cool outside, so we did not have that problem.

    The design of the rooms in the hotel was very lovely and sweet. The most attracting was breakfast area with its bit veriaty of local delicate things. The hostess was very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic family run guesthouse with best cakes I've tasted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mobile phone reception in room was poor.

    Great breakfasts with outstanding homemade cakes as well as usual German fare. Good sheltered parking for motorcycle and walk through fields to Neuschwanstein castle as good as visit to castle.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    We loved everything about this little gem .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything about this little gem . It seemed to be family run and the staff was super helpful with everything and provided freshly made cakes that were delicious. It is very close to the castles. The breakfast is amazing!! Our only regret is we couldn’t stay longer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent breakfast, area and wonderful host family. Vielen Dank!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a wonderful place to stay in Bavaria. Beautiful surroundings, and we really enjoyed our morning walk! The hosts were kind, friendly and helpful. We stayed here because of the excellent review of the breakfast. It did not disappoint!!! I thoroughly enjoyed it!!! It was beautiful, classy and delicious! Thank you to the entire family for your hospitality!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Location was ideal and they allowed dogs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Allowed dogs but wasn’t allowed in the restaurant for breakfast, luckily for us it was sunny for us to sit outside

    Location was ideal and they allowed dogs

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Quite possibly the best hotel experience I have ever had, anywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi coverage was a little spotty in the room. Not a major problem, as on vacation I should be unplugging anyway.

    Room was spotless Staff was extraordinarily friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    We greatly appreciated the hospitality and kindness of our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing.

    We greatly appreciated the hospitality and kindness of our hosts, who go out of their way to make us feel welcome and make our stay a pleasant one. The breakfast is amazing. It includes eggs and meats, homemade jams, breads and cakes, and an increfible array of salads.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    The staff was AMAZING.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was AMAZING. They offer bus passes and discounts for the duration of your stay. Mainly though they were super friendly and quick with helpful information.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super location. Clean family run hotel who takes pride in every aspect of it. Very friendly staff who go above and beyond. Uli was very friendly and helpful. Recommended an amazingly delicious restaurant and even called and made reservations for us. The room was spacious and super clean. Breakfast far exceeded the typical. Their homemade marmalade is another reason to return. Highly recommend anyone looking for a great holiday hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Absolutely incredible-I have no complaints at all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel (more like a bed and breakfast) exceeded my expectations! I was looking for a weekend getaway for my husband and I, and this place was perfect! The room was clean and decorated beautifully. The bed was comfortable-I slept like a rock! The best part about this place though was the breakfast. Everything is homemade and tasted incredible. I have travelled around a lot, and have never had a breakfast this good. There was so much food to choose from and the staff was super helpful if you had questions about the food or needed something. The location of the hotel was also amazing. It was super close to the spa and the staff gave us several amazing restaurant recommendations which we could also walk to! The castles and lake were very close (5min drive time), and the scenery was breathtaking with the Alps surrounding you. I can not rave enough about this place! We will be going back soon!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    Perfect overnight spot close to the Castles!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room would be better off without a bath tub. Getting in and out for the shower was difficult.

    Breakfast was beyond exceptional with loads of fresh baked goodies! The room was super comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    Very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice owner. When we arrived in the morning we could directly check in and join for the breakfast. The owner welcomed us very warm and friendly. The location is very good, close to the castle and in a very nice surrounding. A beautiful room and clean, nice view and great breakfast. Good price-quality. Unfortunately we were there for a stopover so just for one night but we would go again. We recommend landhotel Guglhupf to everyone.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    My entire experience was great!
    • Couple
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that I had to leave so soon!

    My entire experience was great! The staff was great, the hotel itself was great and the location is great also! Will definitely go back to stay another time and recommend it to my friends.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    friendly, comfortable and great location to castles
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower leaked onto floor

    A nice size room for 3 people. Very quiet, warm and comfortable . Very friendly staff and the most wonderful breakfast I have experienced thus far in Europe.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel in great location - we can see the new swan castle from the balcony. The staff is very friendly and helpful. he helped us find a great local restaurant, and the place to enjoy sunset on lakeside.The breakfast is good too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real issue but you need to be aware of the angled ceiling above the bed. We hit our heads once!

    Very comfortable room. Plenty of space. Good sized bathroom. Nice to have a balcony with views to the castle. Nice breakfast. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    A wonderful family owned accommodation within sight of Neuschwanstein with efficient clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike.

    Breakfast was German country gourmet, including locally made products. Selection was nearly endless, quality was excellent. Wonderful windowed breakfast room with great service from family owners. Second stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful place to stay. Superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Family operated spotless well furnished. Excellent location to visit castles. Truly great gourmet quality country breakfast. Terrific service from family. Second visit and more impressed than ever.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast was amazing and so much choice - lots of homemade...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom was a little small and awkward to move around in

    Breakfast was amazing and so much choice - lots of homemade treats and a lovely atmosphere. staff were friendly and helpful - love Lottle the Labrador too!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.9
    Niice, Basic Accommodations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was not comfortable and room was poorly laid out. Since there are wooden floors, there is a lot of noise from floor above, especially if they have children, which top floor usually does, since I think the rooms are larger. No staff on duty after 8:00 PM.

    Nice, basic hotel with friendly staff and great breakfast. Very clean. Good location if you are going to the castle. Easy to reach and good parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    A gorgeous location with spotless spaces and a friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were too soft. No tea or coffee or shampoo in room

    Fabulous breakfast - spotless room and breakfast area - wonderful location in a quintessential Bavarian village

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Outstanding breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi did not work well in our room. Had to leave our door open. Also WIFI login method not ideal. Simple password for protected network is better.

    Outstanding breakfast. Huge rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Easy parking. Free cake!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    We had the room with jacuzzi and it's very lovely!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We payed 15€ for our dog/ one night.

    We had the room with jacuzzi and it's very lovely! Amazing view to the castles and the mountains. The staff is super nice and friendly. Amazing breakfast! A huge variety of everything! Suitable for vegetarians and vegans also.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Great stay at the Guglhupf
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could have decided to come in any other month but August! This is not an issue with the hotel though, just my poor decision making : )

    The staff at the Guglhupf were some of the nicest we're run into during our travels. Very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The room was spotless and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was actually overwhelming with choices and very good. Really I care most about the coffee and it was quite good as well. The area is easily walkable which is good because during the high season you do not want to drive anywhere once you've finally fought through the traffic to get here (we knew that August holidays were busy but this area gets especially crazy.) The rooms were quiet even though it's near a main road. They work hard here to make sure you're comfortable. Decent English speakers throughout the property for we Americans who don't speak much German (fortunately I have a husband who took it in school so we're not completely ignorant.)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Everything about this hotel exceeded my expectations. Two thumbs up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, helpful staff, comfortable and spacious room, cleanness, classy interior design and the breakfast! Everything about this hotel exceeded my expectations. Highly recommendable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    We wish Guglhupf much success in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    the staff was accommodating and outstanding - there is only one word for the breakfast: superb. We have recommended it already and would come back, but we will be 80 next year and traveling from Florida to Italy and Germany is not as easy anymore.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Great location - close to castles and tranquil scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dogs are accepted by the hotel. We had a thunderstorm during the evening that caused a dog in a neighboring room to keep barking.

    Excellent location, within a short walk or drive to Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau castle. Private parking. Simone was very helpful, informative and courteous. The room was very large by European standards - even by U.S. standards - and was very clean. Private sitting outside our room. Very nice breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.3
    A good hotel for visitors to Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau castles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were not as comfortable as some, but were quite acceptable.

    A great location with a (limited) view of both Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau castles from the balcony. Free parking is a bonus. The room was pleasant enough. Breakfast was very good, and featured a great range of traditional and local foods. Free coffee was available during the day. Only a few minutes drive to Fussen where there were plenty of shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast and the VIEW were FANTASTIC, access to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Surprise additional fee and somewhat dismissive attitude about it when questioned at checkout, no internet access on very top floor, bedding not as comfortable as other hotels

    Breakfast and the VIEW were FANTASTIC, access to Neuschwanstein Castle from this location is GREAT

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice clean room with great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other guests talking loud on the hallway and wind blows in the room through the door.

    Homemade yogurt and jams in breakfast. The mattresses are comfortable and clean. I got a room to sleep 4 people. The location is very good. It's about 5-8 minutes drive to the castle.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Must see
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely beautiful house with atmosphere of comfort and relaxation View of the mountains Staff friendly and make you feel like home Very good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spread at breakfast (included) was out of this world. Not much hot food, just scrambled eggs and sausages, but the variety of the rest of it was truly impressive. Good wifi, convenient parking. Friendly staff. Gave good advice about visiting the castles. Only a few minutes drive to the parking area and ticket office for the castles (beware there are long lines at the ticket office). We booked two rooms for a family of 4 (still inexpensive for the area), but our kids are 19 and 15 so it worked out well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Best place to stay in Schwangau!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was wonderful.

    The staff was extremely friendly and had helpful information about the local area. The breakfast buffet was unique and delicious. The room was spacious and had an amazing view. Ample and easy parking. Wifi worked great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    Large rooms, close to castles
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi sometimes didn't work, right on main road so traffic noise during the day.

    30 min walk to the Hohenschwangau castle but it is only 6 Euros to park there so I walked one day and drove the other. Nice hikes in the hills close to the property, with some ruins to discover! Daniel at the front desk was very helpful and had very good English. Rooms are huge! Very clean property, super duper breakfast option with a vast array of choices.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    3.3
    I will never stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They say guests can use free wifi but that is true only when you are in the public area at the hotel. When you need the Internet connection most, i.e. when you relax while surfing on the web and checking your emails in your room, you cannot catch the wife signal. That was very inconvenient. And there is no air conditioner in the room. I stayed the hotel in late June and without an air conditioner it was very hard to sleep well at night. If you open the windows for cool air, loud noise caused by fast passing cars will bother you a lot. The mattress was not comfortable and the staff was not friendly. All in all, I was so disappointed that I was forced to write for the first time in my life negative reviews about my stay at a hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    First Class Service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in Horn next to a bus stop. It is really easy to get to Fussen train station and the Castles. The view from our window is beautiful and it's very quiet and peaceful unlike Hohenschwangau. There are many wonderful restaurants nearby. The staff are really really friendly and helpful! We love the breakfast buffet! The bread was freshly made everyday! There's a wide range of good quality cheese, meat, fruit and yummy homemade desserts.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.6
    Awesome stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We really enjoyed our stay there. Staff were very friendly and helpful; breakfast was good; room was very clean. Location wise, if you do not have a car, you may have to walk a bit to the surroundings. However, they do provide you with a local bus card and you can use it to go to Fuessen and Neuschwanstein.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    The breakfast was killer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to carry our luggage up a flight of stairs.

    The breakfast was killer....probably the best in the World.....staff were amazing as were the owners.....they did our laundry and it looked so professional....would stay there again and again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.2
    Lovely but with issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not make the jacuzzi bath work View of castles was obstructed by tree so had to sit in corner of balcony

    Breakfast extensive and of excellent quality. House looked quintessentially alpine Bavarian. Inside was lovely. Room nice size

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    Charming Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Charming country style and decorations. Staff is super friendly, with easy check in. Room is a nice size, quiet, and very comfy. Great value. 5 mins from Neuschwanstein. Breakfast is so delicious; wish they were close to home so we could eat here regularly :) Lots of homemade bread and pastry choices, homemade jams and spreads, eggs and bacon, cold cuts, cheeses, cereals, juices, etc. Wow, simply amazing! Very charming eating area, what more could you ask for.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    Excellent B&B, high standard of accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was amazing, comprehensive and very high standard, Room was spacious and immaculately clean. For Dinner we headed about 500mtrs down the road to the local brewery which does food and often has music. Basic cuisine so not too exciting, but good beer. The second night we popped across the road from the B&B to the hotel helmerhof, it has a good restaurant and better food. We had an excellent meal on their terrace. So literally less than 100mtr walk.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    Castle view! Stay here, or you're crazy like Ludwig.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that I only booked one night. Wish it was a month. :)

    STAY HERE! If you're looking for an amazing experience at a traditional Bavarian gasthaus, look no further. Note: Check in is before 8 p.m.,parking is simple. We rented 2 standard rooms. BOTH rooms had a view of the Neuschwanstein castle. I do not recall the hotel advertising this feature but it was an amazing surprise! Breakfast was unparalleled in all my travels around Europe in the past years. It boasted ALL of the extras. Very friendly, helpful staff. 10 minute drive, at most, to the castle.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    The perfect stay in Neuschwanstein
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really loved our stay here! The staff were so lovely and helpful, even offering to carry our bags up the stairs which was much appreciated. It's a local family run hotel so everything has a personal touch, from the room decor to the homemade jams for breakfast, to the little library and store with local goods. We had a room on the second floor and could see the castles lit up in the mountains at night when we opened the bathroom window. Such an unexpected surprise and so beautiful. The room was really warm with the heaters which was nice when it was snowing outside. Only a 5min drive to Neuschwanstein castle. Would recommend dinner at the local Brauhaus in Schwangau, meals a huge and great value - a nice local experience.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.8
    PLS offer other meals to your guests :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast that I had was so good that I think this hotel should think of offfering other meals to guests. We had to walk +20 mins to one of closest restaurants.

    best breakfast during my trip through Bavaria, outstanding! Staff was very helpful. Room was very spacious but could me more modern. View from the room to the mountains would be perfect if not camper and other buildings in front of the window very good view to lightened at night Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau castles during evening walk to the restaurant

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    7.9
    The breakfast is indeed legendary and offers a huge variety...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were OK but an extra couch for my daughter proved quite small for a 9-yr-old child and rather uncomfortable.

    The breakfast is indeed legendary and offers a huge variety of delicacies, many of them homemade!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    10
    The staff was very friendly, and spoke English very well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very friendly, and spoke English very well. The breakfast was great. Rooms were large and comfortable. Will definitely plan to stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    7.1
    Hotel is located in nice area, only on the evening is not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We come one day earlier and friendly lady give us room. We were thankful for that. How we were surpriced in the morning day after to find our reservation was canceled without any notice - even we confirmed on arrival day we stay as we originally planed on Booking.com. After breakfast we were informed we have to leave.... it is experience you would not like to start your day... Thankfully in this area there are many more good (better) hotels with professional staff.

    Hotel is located in nice area, only on the evening is not much to do and dinner options are very limited. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    9.2
    Great location to castles, only praise for this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved it all

    Breakfast was divine, we spent a month travelling around Germany and this was the best breakfast by far - they even gave us the recipe for delicious buttermilk cake

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    9.2
    A friendly and clean family hotel with superb breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't get WiFi reception in our rooms and the shower in one of the rooms was quite leaky.

    Very friendly staff / owners, happy to provide information and make our stay pleasant. The place is impeccably clean and the breakfast superb. Our rooms were very spacious.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    9.6
    An Excellent Choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would definitely stay here again. Breakfast was fantastic - the most memorable of our 10 day tour through Germany, Switzerland and Italy! The staff was very gracious and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    7.5
    German tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet connection was erratic and required a log in every time the connection was temporarily paused. Very annoying. No elevator and had to manage bags up and down 2 floors but did get some help on the way up.

    Breakfast buffet was very good. Owner lady was very kind. The hotel has a cozy atmosphere and, though unpretentious, it is very comfortable for a short stay. Close to main sights in Fussen area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    7.1
    The feeling in a hotel without any help for dinner was really sad¬
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was travelling alone without a car. The reason I booked here was that I'd thought I could rent a bike riding around the area and enjoy the wonderful castle view from my balcony. Actually it's not worth to pay extra to see the castle, the distance was a little bit too far and some part of the castle was blocked by the tree in between. One very important thing I need to mention is the bike shop was far away beyond my imagination. All necessities stores were located in another village, not in Horn! For the first night I couldn't get anything to eat for dinner because the only one restaurant in Horn was fully booked and was going to closed the next night for some private party. The next day, I asked for a free bus card which they seemed not so willing to give. Still, I'm not so sure is it what the guests entitled to or a gesture of generosity from the hotel? The bed was too soft and couldn't find table or desk in the room.

    The autumn view of the neighborhood were wonderful during the right time.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    9.6
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Staff extremely helpful. Our lost luggage turned up at midnight and staff kindly collected for us. They gave good shopping and food advice. Great attention to detail at breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    10
    Wonderful Gasthaus that I would recommend to anyone planning a trip to the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didn't like. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wished we could have stayed longer.

    The staff is quite friendly and very helpful. Breakfast is outstanding! Quiet location, very clean with comfortable beds.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast!!!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    Stay for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To restaurants around your need to walk from 10 to 20 mins.

    Stay for one night. Very good staff. Free parking, tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Excellent location, staff, rooms and included breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening and weekend traffic in the town is terrible. Try to plan your arrival around it

    Excellent location, staff, rooms and included breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    Perfect spot to stay and see the castle!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly, it was all perfect.

    So friendly; beautiful walk to the castle tour. Extensive breakfast options!!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.6
    Home made Breakfirst is really great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exquisite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Home made Breakfirst is really great.

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: