Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Romantik Hotel Fuchsbau This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Dorfstr. 9-11, 23669 Timmendorfer Strand, Germany

#12 of 79 hotels in Timmendorfer Strand

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1208 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Stunning place near a lovely beach town
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking could have been paved. A lot of dust on the car and on us when walking from and to the car.

    The Spa absolutely stunning with the thunderstorm shower and the aroma therapy. Breakfast with real honey from the beehive. Fantastic attention to details

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Value for money, unique ambience in Northern German / Scandinavian setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shover cabin wasn’t holding all the water inside the shower so whole bathroom floor was filled with water.

    Nice room, comfy beds, nespresso machine. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Clean, comfortable, nice atmosphere, lived up to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had bikes with us, than it is only 15 min. to the beach. If not it means take a car, public transport. Too far to walk. Parking, especially when arriving late finding a spot can be a bit more intensive. Quitte chaotic, people parc everywhere. Makes turning your car troublesome.

    Clean, comfortable, nice atmosphere, lived up to expectations, spacious room. All felt clean and fresh. Breakfast is simply fantastic. Balcony also at the sunside. Enjoyed ourselves a lot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was absolutely stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is a bit too expensive and the hotel is located outside of the city. Lübeck was 30 min by car.

    The hotel was absolutely stunning. The room was huge with big balcony and comfy beds. The whole hotel, including spa was really clean and tidy. There were one small swimming pool and 4 types of saunas. The atmosphere and stuff was friendly. Free parking!But the best part was the breakfast!! Big assortment of fresh products 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.2
    Home away from home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because of poor ventilation/extraction, eggs-to-order station in the breakfast buffet area is not a very good idea

    Very clean, traditional German hotel. great atmosphere, excellent restaurant, comfortable rooms, in-house spa, value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.3
    A relaxing time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of this hotel isn't the best. You will need a car to get into town. We thought that our Superior Double room would be much larger than it was. Although very nice, it was really quite pokey and the shower was very small. If you are a larger person, this may be an issue for you. The restaurant is very expensive, but as mentioned it was very nice. We did drive into town (about 5 mins) and found other good places to eat. Overall though, we would recommend this hotel!

    This hotel is very nice. The staff are extremely attentive and nothing was a problem. The wellness centre is very good. We didn't realise kids would be permitted in the area, but this wasn't a problem if you timed your visit right (saunas open until 11pm). Kids were only allowed in the pool, not the actual saunas. We had a lovely meal in the onsite restaurant and the breakfast selection is very good, with a chef available to cook eggs to your liking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.6
    All staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    All staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The building itself and our room were very clean and in good condition. The best part though we felt was breakfast: There was lots to choose from and everything of very good quality.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    One of my best business trip night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was really nice. Perhaps only one little slightly negative thing, mattress was too soft for me... however I slept very well anyway ;-) .

    Very nice, clean, comfortable and large room, very nice people at the hotel and at the restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.6
    Very very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fake coffee capsules with the Nespresso coffee machine, bit of a shame as Nespresso coffee is so much better + could do with more parking spaces and bit far from beach if you want to walk it though

    Everything, comfy beds, enough space in the rooms, lovely garden, friendly polite helpful staff, breakfast was out of this world and so much choice, dogs allowed in 2nd restaurant which is a plus for dog owners, very good internet, very cosy comfy feel overall, must be lovely in the summer and will definitely go back

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.5
    Still a top recommendation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As they had missed out completely last time, (they had no room for us), they now offered us a free dinner in the evening. Thanks for that, we can now still say that this is a very good hotell

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    5.0
    Nice experience and nice spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Parking in front or behind the building (so all available space) was a challenge, especially in one of our stays. - Officially the breakfast starts at 7.00, at 7.45 we were still waiting on some of things to be ready. The lady at the omelet / waffle place shouldn't have access to customers, she is arrogant and rude - so different than the rest of the staff. We would have liked to sit outside to eat breakfast in the morning sun, but when we left breakfast shortly after 8.00 they were still busy making the tables ready. - We, as well as other guest, was surprised to find steambath and saunas cold in the morning - people would expected that to be turned on in due time for when the swimming pool area opens. - When a hotel doesn't have air co, I think it's good practice to make the windows open on the security locks on a warm summer day before the guest check in. We came to a room well over 30 degrees warm and hence it was still warm by the time we needed to sleep there. - It's clear from the map, that the hotel is not in walking distance to the beach etc. But it would be good to manage the expectations and say it's in the middle of nowhere. You can see similar remarks on Tripvisor for surprised guests

    The pool was better than expected, not large but good. The chair inside and outside the SPA are really good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    Two night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking may be difficult because of the restricted number of places and not really suitable for big cars: we rented a Ford Kuga and the parking area right behind the hotel (access via a narrow way on the right) was crowded so some manouvers were needed to park properly - others did not really invest much time on their steering wheels...). See comment above regarding the swimming pool.

    Staff was definitely nice and caring: this is something we really appreciated after we stayed - during our trip - in two other places where we noticed a serious lack of warmth/attention/professionalism. Breakfast was excellent and dinner was good though not excellent. Our room was tidy, clean, well equipped. Swimming pool is fine, not really big, unfortunately with no supervision at all! We went there twice, and twice children appeared diving/screaming making our 3 y.o. daughter so uncomfortable we had to leave. We did not have the chance to enjoy the spa. Slippers and bathrobe are available for free, which is a big plus. We stayed two nights using the hotel as a base camp to visit Lubeck and Travemunde and we definitely enjoyed the value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    We went to Hanza Park both days 25/7-26/7 2017 you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went to Hanza Park both days 25/7-26/7 2017 you told us, that you had a treat with the park of reduce your ticket Price but thay didnt have that kind of agreement with you.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You're a bit in the middle of nowhere and definitely need the car if you want to see e.g Lübeck or Timmendorfer Strand.

    The staff is very friendly, breakfast is nice with a small selection of everything and waffles are prepared directly in front of you. Restaurant selection was savory, cooking method is very traditional with butter and oil and could be a bit leaner but overall delicious. We had garden room that was renovated and nice. The hotel itself is in old charming building and playful decorated, reminds a bit on "home"

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It’s quite far from town. “Fitness” is only one multimachine, no free weights.

    It's a really nice, modern, clean and quiet hotel. Nice pool area and ok cardio-training. Good powerful Wi-Fi. Breakfast is fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    There can´t bee a better place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a welcoming and pleasurable place! The staff did everything to let You feel good! Such nice room with balcony to enjoy the afternoon and evening sun! Excellent food in the Restaurant! What a breakfast!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel. Wonderful food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Country Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit crowded at the pool. Could have been a bit more space. Bit cold in the bar.

    Almost everything was great. Especially the food. Also going outside after the sauna. Room was very quiet and cosy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.6
    I would certainly visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were absolutely awesome. They were hospitable and friendly. I particularly appreciate the role of the waiters at the restaurant and the receptionists. The spa services and the pool were clean and newly refurbished. The breakfast was great and comprised home-made and bio products. I appreciated the variety of food items. It is around 2.5 km away from the beach and the hotel offers bikes for rental.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.8
    Top class staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived at 19.00 and made my check-in at the reception surrounded by complete chaos due to the fact that the reception is located between the two restaurant rooms and waiters and receptionists were mixed up together! Hard to hear what the receptionist was saying... Got a room close to stairs and had a family with children in the room above me, so noise in the evening and night, got waken up several times during the first two nights, very bad... This is a romantic hotel, all couples and many of them amorous... Good for them but not for you if you are trying to relax and wind down...seeking tranquillity... Choice at the breakfast buffet could be better but fresh bio products are very good.

    Top class staff! Young but well trained competent staff could accommodate all my requests during my stay. Excellent spa area, professional and effective massage service, complimentary fruit and lemonade available at the swimming pool, bathrobe and towels for spa provided in the room inside a practical bag. Excellent room service, fair restaurant prices. Higher level hotel, room prices according to that.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    9.6
    We liked everything and really enjoyed staying
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    But... I have forgotten my swimsuit in bathroom and seems for ever. We have called to hotel the same day that we leave and have written mail but ...nothing. Does really someone need my swimsuit?? Cleaners?? By accident??

    We liked everything and really enjoyed staying

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    9.2
    Super mini-break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing which could have been better was cleaning in our Room. We found hair from a dog in our Room. Hotel did an extra cleaning but we still found hair from a dog.

    High standard and everything was served with a smile. Here was space for both baby's and older people. Excellent breakfast. Nice spa. We will come back.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Pleasent surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice overall, nice pub

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    This is a must stay, the property & surrounding area is picture perfect. The breakfast was outstandi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Country Style
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.5
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking

    Nice place, good food, excellent rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Everything the best hotel in Europe
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything the best hotel in Europe

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    so kind people with wonderful service and the berkfast is...
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    so kind people with wonderful service and the berkfast is perfect

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    Very Nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Freindly staff. Very good beds. Best brunch ever. Quality!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Just Dinner was not very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just Dinner was not very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    it's so good to stay there it's so lovely and perfect
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa facility & food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Quality and elegance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Flower on departure LLP

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.2
    A fantastic 1:st class hotel with absolutely perfect service !
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    A in all aspects 1:st class hotel. Everything absolutely perfect !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    10
    super breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    super breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    6.7
    Great stay in T Strand
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was freezing cold. I turned the heater on full, but that did not help.

    Nice clean rooms - friendly staff - Great breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    7.9
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaning was not all that great and the payment system was down.

    Excellent breakfast. Great suite for great price.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    10
    Silence everywhere around
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Silence everywhere around

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    9.6
    Everything is absolut perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Everything is absolut perfect. We can't complain at anything. The stuff, the food, the room, the pool/relax area, it's so cosy and perfect.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    6.7
    Spacious, comfortable room with nice beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a very poor experience in the restaurant. We ordered white asparagus with rumpsteak for the main course. We had to wait a long time after our starter, and when finally the main course arrived it turned out that the rumpsteak was cold and the asparagus were severely overcooked. We had the very strong feeling that for some reason our food, after having been prepared, it had been left waiting (forgotten?) in the kitchen. It had thus cooled down and when this was realised, the explanation could be that the asparagus were reheated to be overcooked but the steak was served cold. At the same time as the food was served a waiter came to ask (in a routine manner without real interest because then she should have observed that we had not yet started to eat) if the food was OK. As we had not yet started we had no reason to complain but were rather full of positive expectations. When we later complained about the quality of the main course, we had a very unfortunate discussion before finally the head waiter offered to delete the bill for our dinner. This gave an acceptable end to the story, but we left with a big questionmark regarding the quality of the kitchen. Note; be aware that there are two dining rooms; one very elegant, and one more ordinary, obviously primarily for the room and board guests, and for temporary guests.It is also used for breakfast.

    Spacious, comfortable room with nice beds.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    10
    Staff was very helpful, speaking good English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff was very helpful, speaking good English. Room and facilities were all up to highest standards, I particularly liked the little signs of extra attention i.e. umbrella in the room and some fresh fruits as well.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.6
    We had a very friendly welcome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The address says 'Timmendorfer Strand' this is not really true, pay attention if you want to be very close to the beach. Closing the door is like in most hotels very noisy - which can be annoying if a neighbour room wants to sleep - but this is a general hotel problem.

    We had a very friendly welcome! The stuff showed us our room. The room was renovated in a light and fresh country style. Bed was excellent, furniture and floor in very good quality. You get fresh fruits and free coffee in the room. The prices in the mini bar are acceptable. Breakfast buffet offers almost everything! You can sit in the renovated room or in the old dining room (is not my taste). We had no time to discover the spa section which is a pity and also we heard from our family the restaurant must be very good, but due an event we weren't able to try out. The check out was almost as friendly as the welcome, but he offered me a hand with my luggage and a large white rose - something you rarely get in a hotel. We were very pleased with our stay - we got more than expected (we were also lucky to get a great deal on our rate)

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    9.6
    Great tasty breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only coffee in the room, no tea which had to be purchased at the bar.

    Great tasty breakfast!!! Impeccable service! Great infrastructure with pool, sauna and health spa. 15 minutes away from Lũbeck!

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    9.6
    Very good food, great value for money, very clean and modern...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The gym is really not appropriate for a 4 ★ wellness resort, only 3 machines and very small, no weight lifting, The location is really too far from the sea side and not within walking distance, so you have to take a car

    Very good food, great value for money, very clean and modern, yet cosy, great hotel staff, rooms clean and spacious, great wellness and Spa area with 4+ saunas and pool,

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    9.2
    Exceptionally friendly personnel, great breakfast with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Exceptionally friendly personnel, great breakfast with plenty of choice, clean room, relaxed atmosphere. The restaurant is as well worth a visit. We really felt well cared for.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    10
    Green enviroment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only thing was unstable wifi but worked most of the times. And Netflix is blocked!

    Green enviroment. Calm and quiet. Extremely nice hotel. Luxury rooms. Good food and service.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    9.6
    We were here the first time in the summer of 2012, so were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The junior suite is not as big as you would expect - but big enough. A very very minor thing compared to all the positives.

    We were here the first time in the summer of 2012, so were very pleasantly surprised by the new spa and newly renovated rooms. Our daughter is 1.5 y/o and LOVED the swimming pool. We in turn loved the sauna's/steam bath. The personnel is very friendly - especially for (small) children. Very accomodating as well, especially when it comes down to dinner: we actually didn't plan on having dinner in the hotel, but because it was so easy going and there was enough to choose from a la carte, it was the best choice for us. Also the breakfast is very rich and great for all members of the family, young and old alike. The hotel is located very central for different activities: Sea Life and the Birdpark are close by. Also Karl's Erlebnis-Dorf (will sell everything strawberry related and is a great to hang out a day for children) is 15mins drive and Zoo Arche Noah a 30mins drive. For bigger children, there is also amusement park Hansapark.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    7.9
    Nice breakfast, coosy beds.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice breakfast, coosy beds. Free parking.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    10
    Everything was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking can be a little difficult if you come late

    Everything was excellent!!!

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    10
    Everything was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was excellent

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    7.5
    Room was unavailable but we were booked into another very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was unavailable but we were booked into another very nice hotel at their expense

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    10
    Enjoyed one night stay with our little one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Enjoyed one night stay with our little one.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.2
    a very friendly stuff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    a very friendly stuff a rich breakfast everything was fine :-))

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    10
    The staff was very helpfull and polite
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    The staff was very helpfull and polite

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    8.8
    Fantastic restaurant and very helpful and professional...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was very good.

    Fantastic restaurant and very helpful and professional personal.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: