Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Landgasthof Zur Post This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Münchener Strasse 5, 87645 Schwangau, Germany

#5 of 8 hotels in Schwangau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 573 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Updated property. Clean room with a view. Friendly staff. Gave discount card for attractions and free internet. Food at dinner and breakfast was good. Off street parking. Good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no lift.

    tasty breakfast. situated in the heart of the schwangau. the owner offered me a discount ticket for the crystal therme spa and free bus ride(deposit EUR2.00)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no balcony as advertised, hair dryer didn’t work ( they did give us one), carpet was dirty and the bed was so noisy and uncompftable. Rooms are in need of updating... at least new beds and mattresses.

    Staff was friendly breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The paid wifi was absolutely useless, though the hotel refunded the cost of it after I explained the problem.

    Great location near the castles, good food at dinner at the restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived we found out that the owners were away and they had left out the key for us. However as a result, there was no one to help us find things ... the tourist office across from the hotel can help you out. Because no one was around we couldn't get internet access. For internet access you need to get a ticket from the reception to log onto the wifi. This is a stupid idea especially if there is no one at reception to give you one. It would be better to leave someone at the reception or provide the password in the guest room. Our room was a double room and could barely fit two portacots. Perhaps I misread what I had booked as I thought we were supposed to get a bigger room. The staff for the breakfast room seem to like old people rather than young families as we found them to be quite rude towards us and felt unwelcome. The breakfast selection is mediocre but you do get a highchair if you need one. I don't know how good the restaurant is because it was closed.

    When you ask for a room with a view of Neuschwanstein they do deliver (pic attached). You are a short drive from the castle. Furnishings are nice in the room (but double rooms are over furnished so there isn't much room).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Wi-Fi isn't free, although it costs only 50 cents. The restaurant kitchen closes a bit early. Breakfast is quite basic but not bad overall.

    We got a room with a view of the castle, it was amazing. The rooms are clean and equipped with all the comforts. The restaurant serves good food in big portions. They let us leave our suitcases at the reception for free after we checked out, so that we could go to the castles. Parking is possible in front of the hotel for free. It's easy to find and in a great location if you travel to Schwangau by car.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is simple. Cold meats, cheese, cereal and breads.

    They went above and beyond to prepare the room for my family. We had two small children and they gave us two cribs for them to sleep. The room had a balcony with an amazing view of the mountains covered in snow and the Neuschwanstein castle. They even left cookies in our room for the night of December 24th. Wonderful stay!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating in the room and bathroom didn't work properly, which made it pretty cold in the mornings. The hotel was undergoing renovation and the staff mentioned it could've been that. Another thing - the shower was pretty small.

    The comfy bed and the amazing view from the balcony!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were asked to check out earlier than the time stated because the lady at the reception said that they were going to close. This was a bummer.

    The Handsome young man at the reception was very nice and kind to help us carry our bags to our room and also attended to us for all our needs that night. We also had dinner at the place and it was delicious. Room that we had was amazing, spacious, clean and a great balcony. Breakfast was great too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pretty expensive for one night. Breakfast was ok but not very special. Using WIFI costs 50cts on top...

    beautiful entrance, pretty breakfastroom, very beautiful house

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIFI not working. Breakfast was ok. Room & location were great. Very easy to get to castles! Beautiful area. Had dinner at the location and it was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is a family owned hotel. The family/staff were all very helpful and friendly - they gave me several tips to save some money. The breakfast was delicious. The room was very nice. The location is terrific. Thanks so much for a terrific stay!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On a road that was busy in the morning so some traffic noise

    Motorbike friendly just a mile or two from the chitty chitty bang bang castle!! we could see it from our balcony!! Bikes locked securely in a garage overnight! V friendly staff. good value evening meal . Good prices for the beer! Comfy room. clean . comfy bed. great breakfast. Would stay here again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is not free, cost EU0.50 per day and need to reconnect after idle for some time.

    Comfortable and clean room with individual balcony. Free parking. Quite near to Neuschwanstein Castle. Good breakfast. Hotel gives discount for ticket to Neuschwanstein Castle (I think is around EU2).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The one downside of being located on the main road was the noise of the traffic.

    This is a family run guesthouse that is perfectly located for exploring the area. It is convenient for Neuschwanstein Castle, Fussen and local lakes and walks. We had a lovely room with a fabulous view. The bathroom is well-appointed. Information provided in the room is in German but reception staff speak English and are very helpful. The room was tidied when we were out. Check in and out were good and free parking is available. Overall, this is an excellent place to stay and we would return if in the area again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - fridge /minibar in a premium room would be good - paid internet? these days??

    - nice accomodation in the centre of Schwangau, lots of place to eat around (+ good own restaurant) - effective staff, fast check-in, check-out, fair breakfast - quality furniture, good bedding, ...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hot so we needed the window open, it was noisy at the front of the hotel as a result of passing traffic. This wouldn't stop me staying again, I'll just take some ear plugs.

    Great hotel, really friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Absolutely nothing! Well, maybe it could have rained a little less and been a bit warmer.

    Every year we go to Europe and every year we visit Schwangau and stay at the Hotel Zur Post. It is a very nice hotel on the main street going thru town. Rooms facing the street have a balcony from which you can view the castles. The restaurant at the Post is wonderful. Many locals stop here for a beer and a meal. The breakfast is wonderful and the lady who is in charge of it is friendly and helpful. Terrific staff at the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Owner was on vacation. Keys left to room. No elevator. On main street into town and was very noisy with traffic passing by. Internet was not available and there was no one onsite to complain to or get answers. The next morning we were told there is internet, but it costs to use. When trying to access it, this information did not come up as an option. I understand going on vacation, but a real person needs to be available to handle issues.

    Good location for visiting sites.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charge for internet

    Great location. Had a balcony view of the castle. Room was adorable. NIce bathroom with walk-in shower. Excellent traditional German breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there s no lift, so we had to go up to the 4th floor with 2 little kids. expensive wi-fi

    room is spacios, very very big! with separate room for 1 child. and fantastic view at 2 castles! this hotel is like you are not at the hotel, but visiting your friend. at the reception we got all the information about castles and other sights, and the key (a real, heavy key which opens front door and our room's door). 2 times a week the hotel has rest-days when restaurant and reception are closed (but of course there's always someone who can answer all the questions). you can easily access castles and therme by foot/ local free (for guests) bus or car. Lots of beautifull hiking trails around.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator available. There's no WiFi, but we didn't really miss it.

    Great breakfast buffet! Offered variety of breads and cheeses, eggs, fresh seasonal fruit, milk, cereals, marmalade,juice and a pot of good coffee. We booked the comfort double room, which had a spacious sitting area and a balcony with view of Neuschwanstein castle. Beds were comfortable, the bathroom had a roomy shower area. Lots of closet space! Free on-site parking. Hotel offers a discount card for certain area attractions and bus fare.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower rose didn't stay up. 2 star bathroom. 1 cake of soap provided nothing else. No kettle and coffee making. Towels old and thin. Old tired carpet. No free wifi.

    Great soft fluffy quilts. Most staff friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A wonderful place to stay, the hosts were very welcoming and the family room was superb with views of the mountains and Neuschwanstein castle. Couldn't recommend this place more.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only one negative, wifi is not available in the rooms unless you pay - and it's expensive by the hour, not something you'd expect these days! However there is a PC in reception which can be used for free.

    Immaculate, spacious room with a view to the Neuschwanstein Castle. Very good quality breakfast served. Ample parking to the front and side of the premises. Very friendly staff. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wi-fi available in the room. You have to pay extra for it.

    Nice view. Pleasent stay. Helpful staff. You can get discount on the castles tickets by showing the hotel's receipt.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved my stay here. The view outside was exceptionally beautiful. The staff was friendly and helpful. The bed was super comfortable. The room was very homey and felt like a cabin in the woods. I wish I could have stayed longer!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no elevator, it’s actually not a problem, but when you have two big bags (20 kg each one) to take to the 3rd floor, it’s kinda problem.

    We stayed there for one night. Nice and quiet hotel. Big room with a lot of space, clean and comfortable, decorated with wood. We had a room with a balcony and beautiful view to mountains and castles. Huge and very comfortable bed. Has it’s own free parking outside the hotel. Hotel gives some discount for Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau Castles, which we didn’t use because we were there before. It’s only 5 minutes by car from castles. Breakfast was good and fresh. Also, there’s a restaurant on the first floor with good traditional food, local beer, comfortable prices and very nice and kind staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Schloss Neuschwanstein is very easy to access from the hotel, by just crossing the junction and go straight. A very quiet small town, nice to have an evening walk.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    With the heat during the time of our stay, air conditioning or a de-humidifier in the room would have been good. Even a fan of some sort.

    Super clean, awesome breakfast, great linens, fantastic location.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Too expensive. Almost 100 euro for one double room for one night is too much considering the modest room, facilities and quality of service. - No free Wi-fi! Only paid Wi-fi is available and it costs 1 euro per 15 minutes! It seems like the hotel management didn't notice that we're already in the year 2016 and virtually any other hotel has free Wi-fi for its costumers.

    - Very comfortable room with large balcony with an excellent view. - Very convenient location: less than 5 minutes drive to Neuschwanstein parking. - The staff gave us a discount coupon for all nearby attractions.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was excellent and the friendly welcome we received when we checked-in was just what we needed after a long day travelling.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean , lovely place and good food at the restaurant! Staff was very friendly and helpful and the place is very close to any thing you need.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise and no Wi-Fi access instructions.

    Very accommodating people and place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Internet......it doesnt work. I was given a wifi access but it didnt work at all. No movement whatsoever.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIFI very poor

    Location. Rooms style

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was not responsible and friendly.

    The location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell from the milk barn across the street. Not a big deal.

    Very nice room with a wonderful view. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning

    Close to Castle

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was excellent, the service was incredible, and the location is fantastic. For all this the price was unbelievable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    insufficient parking, wi-fi extra cost

    clean and spacious room, good breakfast, helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Like most other hotels in Germany, pillows were too flat.

    Great location--close to Neuschwanstein & Hohenschwangau Castles-good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Got in late and woke up to a view of Neuschwanstein Castle....lovely! Cozy, clean rooms Good Breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly stuff, free hasslefree car parking, nice restaurant downstairs.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No free wifi, though there is a PC with free internet available. It is not usual to pay for wifi internet nowadays...

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to fault at all

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Single beds were two separate mattress...

    Excellent starting point for mountain biking.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the friendliest of staff. I felt like I was bothering them at times.

    Breakfast was good. Location to castles is great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wifi

    Clean and beautiful room Good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Payment of 5 euros per 24 hours for a pour WIFI. Other hotels we stayed in during our holiday in Germany it was free.

    Staff and food very good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Upon arrival no one was there to check us in. Keys left on reception table with only a letter addressed to us. Rooms heater turned off when lights turned off. Very cold night.

    Friendly staff. Good continental breakfast. Superb view of the castle and the mountains.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a balcony view of the mountains and Neuschwanstein Castle. The location was excellent within walking distance of area restaurants and sites. Quaint town with the charm of southern Germany.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel located adjacent to main thoroughfare in Schwangau, resulting in quite loud traffic noise. Very poor sound-proofing between rooms. No air-conditioning, causing the room to become quite stuffy on hot days. No kettle or tea/coffee in room.

    Spacious room with couch. Balcony with a stunning view. Lovely continental breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff. Bus stops nearby.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the location and views over the local attractions. The staff local knowledge and friendliness was excellent and the attractions were easily reached on foot.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi wasn't that great. It was the only place during our two week trip that we had to pay for it. The one-day coverage we purchased only lasted until 6 am the next morning....not even 24 hours.

    Great location for visiting castles. The free breakfast was good and had a lot of selection.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff are very helpful and friendly. The hotel is well located for all amenities in the area including transport to Fussen. The lady at reception also provided us with guest cards which provided free local bus and train journeys.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    nothing.

    Good stay, discount card offered for transport visit the castle and termae swimmingpool (Cristal termae) Spacoius and very confortable room (junior suite). Very kind people in the staff , helpfull also if you don't speak german (spoken in english) . About eating , good food quality at breakfast , tipical german food , marmelade eggs , speck , cheese ; but also : koffee , milk , fruit juce , bread , butter , muesli and yogurt At dinner , nice location , tipical german stube , where you can choose tipical german dish . Very kind with children (suggested dish and small portion) offered lollypop and small toy as present at the end of the lunch. Free parking for car , just outside the door. Clean and confortable hotel , good tipical restaurant , helpfull and friendly staff. Positive experience

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was very fine. The location was easy to fine, on the main road in town. The staff was helpful, and gave good advice about getting tickets to the castles nearby. The breakfast as well as the dinners we ordered were very good.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wi-Fi not included! It is almost everywhere free, but not in this hotel. What a pity! Also there is no lift. For me it's not a problem but for the elderly it definately is.

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Our bed was noe good - you can feel that many, many people have slept here before. Didn't give us no good sleep. We were there in July when it's really hot outside and there was no water in the room when we arrived. Our kid was very thursty and we had to look for a shop nearby, which is not easy at 22.00. And no fridge in the room. Also breackfast was poor. We were traveling through Germany fo a week and here we got the weakest breackfast. I would not stay here one more time.

    The location is perfect, you can see the two famous castles out of your window and balcony was very fine. And it is very close distance, so you can reach the viewpoints by foot as well. The staff is very helpfull, they allowed to print out tickets at the check-in.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There is no lift in the hotel, so bags and children have to be carried up several flights of stairs to reach them, not easy with one toddler. Required two trips up and down the stairs for our luggage and kids.

    Family rooms are on the top floor (3rd. floor) and are top class. Loads of room - and I mean a very large room - with a separate 'ensuite' single room for the eldest child. Friendliness of the staff is excellent - they couldn't have been nicer. Food in the hotel restaurant was good and was a very busy restaurant with mostly non-residents - always a good sign. The hotel is just 2 km from Neuswanstein castle, and the room had a beautiful view of the castle. It was perfect for us returning from Italy to catch a flight from Memmingen airport, just one hour away.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some kind of farm was right outside the hotel, on the opposite side of the road. The odor was substantial when we were sitting on the balcony. (No odor inside of the room though.)

    Good location; we received a room with a view over Neuschwanstein castle. Very clean. Good breakfast. The room keys were helpfully left outside the reception since we arrived late in the evening, after the reception's been closed.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    My only concern was that the traffic noise was very noticeable while in the room.

    Overall it was a good place. It was nice and clean, comfortable, and served good breakfasts. The hostess at check-in offered us so much information to make our visit complete.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There were a few things that annoyed me about this hotel. First of all, there is no free wifi. In this day and age, I really find it ridiculous that a hotel does not offer free wifi and charges for it by the hour and by usage. I know they are not in a big city but I visited other hotels in the countryside that offered great free service. I decided to spend the 5 euro for the day that I spent there but what I didnt realize and what was not told to me was that there is also a usage limit. I purchased the day of wifi at 5pm, went out to dinner with my daughter, came back and by 11pm that night, my usage was up. When I brought it up to the owners, they offered to give back 2 euro but I asked for another hour instead. Another thing that put me off was the overall attitude of the owner. I was told in advance that the owners might be out when I arrived and that they would leave the key to the room at reception. Totally fine - I have no problem with that. When we arrived we found the key but then the owner appeared and had us fill out the normal forms, etc. When I started to ask him some questions about the area and renting bikes, he reacted as if I was putting him out. If I have no wifi to look up information, I am going to depend on the staff at the hotel to help me out. It would also be nice if they left maps for arriving guests if they are not going to be around. I asked him if we could bike to the castles nearby and he reacted as if that was impossible. Of course when we tried to drive to the castles we realized we would have enjoyed it more if we had just taken the bikes. I work with exchange students, many from Germany, and they constantly remind me that Germans are more direct than Americans and dont sugar coat things. I understand that, but I also understand the basic concept of customer service and leaving a good impression.

    It really is a very pretty setting and the town is nice and quiet, which is great given how close it is to the chaos of Neuschwanstein castle. The hotel is very nice and the breakfast was good. It really is in a perfect spot for biking the area and the scenery is beyond breathtaking. Just amazing natural beauty. Go swimming in the nearby lake!

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experiences really. We did find generally throughout Germany that the pillows were not to our normal standard - too soft and flimsy.

    All good -

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not having internet included considering the price was ridiculous. This was my 7th hotel in Europe this trip and the first without free wifi (it was also the most expensive). The "double bed" was actually 2 twin beds pushed together with a significant gap between the 2 mattresses. The rooms were a bit dated, but were generally clean at least.

    Basic toiletries provided (shampoo, soap) and everything you'd need. The breakfast was great and even afforded us the ability to make sandwiches for our hike up to the Neuschwanstein Castle. The location is great for visiting the castle, but the town it was in left a bit to be desired with minimal food options. Easy/free parking was a plus.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Road Noise Restaurant closed Mondays - not stated on website

    Large room with balcony. Good meal in the restaurant, and good breakfast. Lovely views of Neuschwanstein Castle - only 5 minutes drive away.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No elevator, limited parking, hotel restaurant closes early ( before 9 pm)

    The room had a very good size and all the amenities that we needed. The bathroom was modern. We loved having a view of Neuschwanstein from our room. Breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We thought that the charge for Wifi,even though it was only €5.00 a day was unnecessary. We used the hotel in the streets behind there was no charge for wifi. So the €5.00 came off the meal cost

    We thought the location was great,breakfast really good

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A spacious room and a nice bathroom. Breakfast was good. Parking in the yard. Very beautiful surroundings! Two interesting castles nearby. Our room was above the very busy street and it bothered us. It would be different at the garden side.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room smelled of wood burning smoke since the windows had been left open in our room! Could hear noise from hallway in room but was quiet when time to go to bed.

    Convenient for visiting castles. Beds comfy! Reception person Antonia arranged to have breakfast set out early since several guests had to check out early.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfriendliness of staff. We traveled all over Germany and this was the unhappiest place and so close to a gorgeous castle. It affected our stay.

    Breakfast was great.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wlan was extra charge, and did not work well in room. Rooms were on road side of property, and were noisy (had to keep windows open because of heat).

    Good location close to Schloss Neuschwanstein. Good breakfast. Rooms ok.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Self check in as the staff had taken the children exploring. The restaurant was closed with no notification that it was not going to open for evening meals. Didn't see any staff till breakfast and ever then it was a case of just doing my job.

    Brilliant décor, just what you would expect from a Bavarian Hotel.

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: