Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Längenfelder Hof This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Längenfelderstraße 8, 82491 Grainau, Germany

#2 of 15 hotels in Grainau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 451 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Very Nice Location and Attention to Detail
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The check in time is quite restricted, we emailed ahead but got no reply and finally through Booking.com sent a message that was answered that we would be later than 2000. But this still makes you nervous trying to arrive on time. Even though it's a very nice place to stay I would say it's a bit overpriced.

    The view from the large balcony was just as advertised, beautiful mountain views. The room had a lot of amenities from an umbrella to swimming bag to a coffee machine. Swimming pool was nice and if you have time to exercise, a nice workout room and relaxation room. Breakfast was adequate but only learned on the 2nd day you could order different coffees. Since this is a garni hotel, basically a B&B, it is not manned 24 hours but the nice thing is you could take drinks and snacks and just leave a note and pay at check-out. The WiFi worked quite well and if you read other reviews to see that you really should read all the fine print beforehand as we did, you will not have any surprises!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    It´s a nice place but if you stay in the second building it comes with a bargain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was in a separated building, therefore: Accessing to the spa was very unconfortable because you have to literally walk out of the property. And there was no wifi at all in that secondary building.

    It was really neat and clean. It´s so quiet! Stuff is really nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.8
    We loved the comfortable beds, the nice breakfast and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff were visibly annoyed that we did not speak German and tried to ask some questions about booking a massage, which is a service they offer.

    We loved the comfortable beds, the nice breakfast and the great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Perfect getaway in the mountains!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Colour of the bed linen and curtains could be improved. They must be new but the colours make the room look dated.

    The hotel seemed very newly renovated and the fixtures were very modern and yet it kept its rustic country feel. Simply love the thought that was put into the design of every corner of the hotel. Staff were very friendly and made you feel right at home. The lounge area was perfect with a fireplace and a view on the Alpspitze. We also had a room with the Mountain View it was perfect in the morning - watching the snowy mountains from our private balcony and taking in the cold fresh air.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Just about great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not really a dislike, especially since I knew this before, but it really is a pity they don't have a full-time restaurant. That would really make you not want to leave the hotel at all (perhaps only for sightseeing...perhaps)

    Had a lovely time at the hotel. Although the ratings were @9.2, I did not believe they were true until I actually got to stay there. What can I say more that I really am impressed? It really deserves to be on top...and I usually do not give such high praise... Everything adds value: staff, cleanliness, breakfast, facilities (including pool&sauna), location (in between Garmish and Zugspitze)...but what really makes it special is the attention to details

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Treat yourself - stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed over Christmas and were very happy about our choice. The hostess is very accommodating and made a tour of the property, which made our stay even more pleasant. The property is right at the foot of a mountain but enjoys a good connection to public transportation (5 min walking) and to a ski resort (20 min walking). We also discovered a nice restaurant only 6 min walking. We already recommended it to our friends. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.8
    Friendly and nice staff, good swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you leave in another building - you need to come outside to get to relax/spa zone. Not sure about the rules there, but out of 4 nights there - no one clean the room and garbage. No internet in the room.

    Friendly and nice staff, good swimming pool. Really quiet and peacefull place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Superb stay with breathtaking views, exceptional service, & not to miss breakfast, sauna, and pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel Langerfelder Hof is a sensational find in an area of breathtaking beauty with a number of accomodation options. The staff were friendly, professional, and went out of the way to assure a relaxing stay including making tea to go with the gratis pastries on my late return after hiking all day. The room was top notch, breakfast superb, and pool and sauna were spotless with no detail missed. Choose Langerfelder Hof, you won't regret it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Would want to come back and stay for more days!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    May be they can add donuts and more fruits (like banana) in the breakfast.

    - location was great - hill view apartment/balcony was great - Kitchen was awesome with all needed things to do cooking - Lobby was awesome too with all the facilities available in the lobby building underground (basement floors) - highly recommend for couple/family travel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    2.5
    Worse family experience I ever had
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was put to change my booking from 1 bedroom apartment to an apartment with a living room because my 2 years old "just doesn't have space", although the bedroom contained the same bed...and I told them that my little one sleeps with us. I refused, they charged me the entire amount for the reservation, although the booking was made with "book now, pay at the hotel". I was charged immediately after our conversation and it was not the arrival day at least. Seeing that I refuse to sleep on a sofa bed (this was their proposal in the end), they offered to put a baby cot in the other room I had booked (although they did not propose that from the beginning which would have been much easier for everyone involved) and charged me 10 euro/night for the baby cot. I told them that I don't need a baby cot, they insisted that it's standard...they could have said: even if we take it, we will still charge you and I would still have agreed. I felt hostile the entire stay and if I weren't to loose 600 euros, I wouldn't have gone there. Staff didn't speak ANY English although they say they do. Breakfast was poor, you were put to choose one hot drink (tea or coffee) which was served directly in a cup. This experience made me stop using booking.com and switch to alternatives which offers more communication in advance.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    10
    This is the best place ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the best place ever! For sure will return again. Location and the view are great. Facilities are clean, well designed and you have all what is needed. Staff is very polite.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Beautifull and spacious bavarian hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really!

    Comfy, clean, spacious and very nicely decorated shower and the same for the room. Special 'pro' for the breakfast as it was really rich with wide variety of cheeses, hams, pates, etc. and situated in cozy breakfast room. Lastly the surroundings were just beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    10
    A Garmisch-Grainau winner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi was spotty being in the apartment.

    Great size apartment for 2 to 3 persons. Kitchen facilities were great. Staff was friendly and I loved having access to the pool/spa. Parking was just fine.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    9.2
    Lovely, comfortable family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was poor. Also, there was no food served in the evening and it was a short drive to the nearest restaurants in Grainau.

    Very comfortable, homely hotel. We got a lovely welcome from Karin. The pool and sauna were just lovely and breakfast was very good. The family rooms were ideal for a family of 4 with 2 separate bedrooms.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    10
    Gorgeously located, very comfy and cute place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeously located, very comfy and cute place. Perfect for relaxing and accessing the mountains. On top the staff is super friendly and make you feel welcome as a friend rather than 'just' a customer

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    10
    Beautiful location, great views, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to suggest

    Location was beautiful, staff were very friendly, but I could speak German, not sure if non-German speaking may have communication difficultly. Sauna, pool all very nice, robes included. Breakfast was great. Many nice hiking options very nearby

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    Great place to spend time in the MOuntains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Buttons don't work in the survey - this was an outstanding hotel! The views are picturesque and it is close to both the Zugspitz and the Alphspitz! Loved the extras like sauna and outside resting lounges!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    A great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great staff, clean and comfortable rooms with beautiful views. They really went out of their way to make you feel at home. We will definitely visit again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    9.6
    Great place in Grainau!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This hotel has its focus on couples. So it was a little strange to be there as a group of friends. But that is the only "negative" point I can think of.

    The staff was super friendly and super helpful. The rooms were very clean and well taken care off. The facilities ( swimming pool, sauna, infra red cabin,...) are great. There is enough private parking space for the cars and the view on the Zugspitze is just magnificent. The breakfast was okay as well, enough choice and healthy. Overall a great stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.8
    Grainau is gorgeous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was great with kids, but the guests were not the most family friendly. This is probably Germans in general, but they often look at kids with a stupefied look as if they had never been kids and seemingly offended to be in their presence. Families can keep this in mind that other guests may view this as a spa retreat accommodation.

    Grainau is gorgeous location. Beds were great. Breakfast is a delicious spread. The pool was nice (refreshing temperature as opposed to relaxing temp).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    10
    Absolutely loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very friendly, welcoming staff. beautiful location, very comfortable rooms, great view, luxurious breakfast buffet. Swimming pool, fitness room, sauna superb. Gardens perfect for relaxing in the sun. Absolutely loved it.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    9.6
    A very cosy family-run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights

    everything was great)

    A very cosy family-run hotel. We stayed in a appartment, and there was everything we needed: a balkony, a small kitchen, big towels and bathrobes and small things that made the stay even more comfortable and relaxing. The room was recently renovated and furnished. The decoration was great). The personnel were very friendly and nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Good facilities, breakfast was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was quite squeaky, otherwise a relaxing stay

    Good facilities, breakfast was delicious...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    The view is amazing and the staff and very nice and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi service in the rooms, extra charges after check out

    The view is amazing and the staff and very nice and welcoming

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.6
    Very beautiful Sauna and Pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very beautiful Sauna and Pool area. The breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredibly friendly staff! Gorgeous views, super clean and super cozy rooms, fantastic location! Would come back any time!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Definitely coming back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed for 3 days only :(

    We liked everything about this place! The room, the view, the sauna and pool, nature, breakfasts were absolutely amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    Very nice family run hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice family run hotel! Apartment clean, cosy and charming! Cross-country skying possibilities just two minutes walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay. Delivered on everything that we hoped for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was immaculate, beautifully furnished and comfortable. The pool was great too !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.0
    Beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not made to feel welcome by staff. Hotel room too hot.

    Beautiful surroundings. The Bavarian Alps are a must to visit

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Grainau is nice village. This hotel is aside from centre on quiet place with amazing view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was perfect! Amazing place, relax garden with lovely view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful location with a beautiful view of Zugspitze.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wonderful location with a beautiful view of Zugspitze. Great breakfast. Comfortable rooms. Enjoyable pool and spa facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Cute Alpine hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Amazing location, in the nature, very cozy and sweet balcony with a mountain view, lovely host

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Traditional Bavarian atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Traditional Bavarian atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The latest check-in time was poorly communicated at booking.com

    Beautiful setting

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    Very nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very nice place

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    10
    something you have to try
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amazing hotel! really nice staff and clean and pretty hotel with nice breakfast, gym, pool, yard with wonderful mountain view.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great place. Nice, friendly staff, sauna and pool were fantastic. Really high quality. Thanks.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    9.2
    Great location, very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great location, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    Very clean so relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in room

    Very clean so relaxing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    6.3
    Only if you have your own transportation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice only if you have your own transportation.

    Breakfast. Clean and confortable room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    9.6
    A wonderful quaint hotel the perfect start point for your Alpine adventure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous staff Quiet location with stunning views Very well managed

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    10
    Great hotel, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Amazing location, very friendly staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not extend one hour for check out very bad

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    5.4
    Misleading information about the rooms in Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Misleading information about the rooms in Booking.com. The single room was so tight. No mountain few in some rooms although they calming that in the head line room description during reservation.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    6.7
    Great attentive staff (2 employed ladies - breakfast service...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This is a 40yr. old hotel where modernizations had been spent very carefully and selectively. I had booked the large Comfort Double Room ("Superior Natur Doppelzimmer").. As advertised, owner would not compromise and allow to accomodate my 9year old son also in the same room not even in the large double bed which I hoped for (I was travelling single with 14+9 year old) - they were friendly to offer me a single room at 75 euro extra p. night. So the total bill for two nights was a hefty 453 Euro incl. breakfast . This is a family business but the family was not seen at all - in opposite to their advertising on the website. As I learned at checkout, the owner had a sick child which partially explains. In the relatively newly renovated room (albeit some sign of black wear on the wall) - the not new bed/wardrobe (visible at second glance) and the cheap (weak hence not useful) installed new hairdryer were striking my eye. Radiator is also original (40yrs. old). In opposite to that, when walking out of the main entrance door and virtually bumping into a local registered rather new Porsche Cayenne (Owner's ? - albeit never seen -- this is not a guest parking) demonstratively parked there, as well as parcel delivered from a reputated german horse accessory shop did leave with me some very mixed impressions...what is my role in here and who benefits most... PS: the sign inside the wardrobe still showed that this room can be occupied by up to 4 persons.... if not applicable any longer, it was obviously forgotten / overseen to remove.

    Great attentive staff (2 employed ladies - breakfast service, reception, cleaning... everything!). Good atmosphere. Good breakfast buffet, selection of coffee choices, also in the room. Proximity to alps.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    10
    The staff were very friendly, the location was just amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not flexible on cancellations. Some rooms are a bit old but the furnishing makes up for it.

    The staff were very friendly, the location was just amazing (foot of the alps!) with a great view. The room was very cosy and gave a home like feeling. Fruits and croissants were kept out throughout the day. Also they provided free travel passes for the public transport and discounts etc.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    9.2
    the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    owner was away for the week we were there. The personnel does not speak english that well...but there are so helpful that a few gestures will go a long way :-)

    the location The facilities

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    8.3
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Our visa card was supposed not to be charged according to booking.com. .we wanted to pay cash . .. but this hotel paid itself with our visa card. ..!!!

    Very nice hotel

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    10
    Perfect, quiet location with easy car access to all major...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Perfect, quiet location with easy car access to all major attractions around. Staff very friendly and attentive, always with smile. Good breakfast with high quality food and quickly replenished regardless of time. Nice building and rooms, perfectly maintained.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    8.3
    The location just outside of Garmisch was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The wifi wasn't great but that's the closest thing I can come up with as a complaint.

    The location just outside of Garmisch was perfect. The local village offered excellent "local" eating options, an unbelievable outdoor swimming facility, and excellent access to lake Eibsee. I was worried that we were too far away from Garmisch but it ended up being perfect as downtown Garmisch was a quick 5 min drive yet we were comfortably away from the tourists tucked up against the amazing mountains.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    8.3
    Great view of the Zugspitze.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extra charges for use of sauna. They charge per person and then a fee to heat the sauna.

    Great view of the Zugspitze. Nice large rooms. Hotel has pool. Close to skiing and hiking.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    9.2
    A very resonable apartment rate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No cooling contingency like a portable room fan for hot afternoons.WiFi was only available in the main building and not in the building our apartment was in.

    A very resonable apartment rate.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    10
    Great staff and owners, very nice, impressive language...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Very firm beds which seems to be typical of German guest houses.

    Great staff and owners, very nice, impressive language capabilities. Great location and views, lots of amenities. Very relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    9.2
    great hostess, awesome breakfast, good view, peaceful, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had the top floor room, and it was very hard taking a shower with no shower curtain (only a bathtub with no curtain), and I couldn't stand fully due to ceiling lopsided, downward angle.

    great hostess, awesome breakfast, good view, peaceful, and amazing location for Zugspitze

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    10
    Great location, excellent service and superb facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location, excellent service and superb facilities. Large family rooms with a balcony and superb views of the Zugspitze. Excellent service, breakfast and friendly atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    7.5
    location of hotel, near many outdoor activities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The description said that one would have to pay for kids who stay in an extra bed. I originally made the reservation for 2 (wife and I) since our kids are very small. Due to some coordination issues, my wife could not take the trip and since this hotel has a very bad cancellation policy, I decide to take the trip, otherwise I would ended up paying for the stay anyways. That said, when I showed up they were displeased that I had my kids with me, and insisted that I should pay for 3 people rather than two, I argued, but it was in vain. After all, I ended paying full price for 2 adults and 1 child, even though that did not make sense to me. They insisted that I had to be charged for three because of the water usage is higher when you have more guest and although I would normally agree with that, I don't think that's the case when you have two very small children. A very unfortunate experience for me after booking this hotel based on the excellent reviews it has and reading the hotel welcome aboard package that states how much they try to make sure you enjoy your stay. Another misleading factor is the wifi, there was absolutely no wifi in the area of the hotel where we stayed, no even a slow signal, absolutely nothing. Another thing is the pool, very nice one, but you have to go to througt the street to get to it if you're not staying on the main building. Very disappointed. Unfortunate because the facility is very nice, staff was very pleasant, location is excellent, it's just a shame that it had to turnout like this in my case. I would definitely not return to this hotel, even though I visit Garmisch several times a year.

    location of hotel, near many outdoor activities

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    10
    Simply wow!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Simply wow! Just can't say enough about how much I enjoyed my stay at L-Hof. This is a fantastic family-owned place to get away from it all...nestled almost next to the mountain and with breathtaking views. The staff was super-friendly and accomodating. Relaxed each night in the super-cozy "fireplace room" where they even have a vintage 1940s German Normende tube radio. The "Wellness Center" with heated pool and sauna is absolutely top-notch, super-clean, and will take all of your stress away. Really enjoyed being located out of the main hustle-bustle of Garmisch-Partenkirchen but able to be there in less than 5 minutes. Plus, Grainau is just next to the Zugspitze and Eibsee.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    8.8
    Room as advertised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not briefed well initially on facilities..in part as not many other guest there. Fine print states Wifi and spa convenient in hotel...mear 100 meters from apt..but try that walking on snow and ice. Very slippery, and bit dangerous for old man like me..Maybe summer convenient. Better shoveling and salt might work.

    Room as advertised. Liked layout, amenities. Clean and comfortable. Total price quote...what I pay...was 74 Euro..what I really paid was 79..?

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2015

    10
    Impressive cleanliness, comfort, breakfast, amazing views...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wireless was not included in the rate.

    Impressive cleanliness, comfort, breakfast, amazing views from the breakfast room/pool/our 2 bedroom room, high quality of the pool, sauna/massage table/tanning bed amenities. And very friendly service.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    7.9
    The WC need more care
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The WC need more care

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    10
    Everything .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Everything ............. WONDERFUL property. Owners were wonderful people. I loved everything. I loved my stay...... Dan ...Texas USA

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    9.2
    Very comfortable atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Television Quality poor (not very important for me)

    Very comfortable atmosphere quiet Location very good WLAN

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    9.6
    Cleanliness and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Manageress rather unfriendly

    Cleanliness and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    9.6
    Absolutely beautiful facility and lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Absolutely beautiful facility and lovely staff. We had a perfect view of the Zugspitze from our room balcony.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    9.2
    Location, breakfast, very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff does not speak much English

    Location, breakfast, very clean

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Everything!

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    9.6
    sauna and staff are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    sauna and staff are great.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    10
    good scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    no shops nearby

    good scenery

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    10
    The staff were great friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked it alll

    The staff were great friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    10
    Great staff, very friendly, great breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Great staff, very friendly, great breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    10
    The property was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    The property was amazing! Gorgeous mountain views. Quiet. Great location. Good breakfast. Minutes to Zugspitze.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    10
    Fabulous hotel, great service, very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No information on the hotel site charging extra fees for paying by card.

    Fabulous hotel, great service, very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    10
    Incredible views, and amazing staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Incredible views, and amazing staff!

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: