Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Barth This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Mühlstraße 31, 67659 Kaiserslautern, Germany

#3 of 18 hotels in Kaiserslautern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 424 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    When I checked in on Sunday the clerk was awesome;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I checked in on Sunday the clerk was awesome; however on Monday when colleges of mine checked in there was a different clerk who was rude. Overall I enjoy staying here and would recommend this property.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Clean and quiet, well located to restaurants and shopping!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved this hotel. It was quiet and clean and the breakfast was also very nice. The street is quiet, though only a few minutes walk to the shopping center and old town of Kaiserslautern. I will definitely come back during my next visit!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    Lautern Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was really low! Especially for my wife since she is handicapped.

    Reception allowed me to park inside the “Hof”! Really helpful for wheelchair access. Thanks

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Great location yet quiet and calm street whether it‘s a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location yet quiet and calm street whether it‘s a night or day time. All shops and cafes within easy reach. Sweet & friendly staff at the reception. Our double room was spacious enough and clean. Stayed here for the 3rd time and enjoyed as always. Will surely come back and also strongly recommend to stay here.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Beats many 4-5 star hotels in terms of comfort, pleasantness , value for money .
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place could be a bit hot in summer, there’s no Aircon . The windows open and can let cool air in . It was winter when we stayed, so not a problem .

    Rooms are spacious and very well equipped . Very comfortable . The breakfast was really good . Staff were very helpful and friendly . It’s very close to restaurants , shops, everything you might need .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.5
    Basic, clean and nice hotel.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit complicated when arriving late - stuff works only until 10pm.

    Very basic hotel, but the room was clean and well equipped with kettle, tea & coffee etc. Breakfast was nice and coffee good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.3
    Apart from having to tackle several flights of stairs wit heavy baggage, a workable place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift!!! Wouldn't have booked this hotel if we had known (but one can't expect hotels to deliberately mention their shortcomings). Car parking space is a plus, but must be booked very firmly in advance!

    Convenient for city center and Japanese Garden (assuming good weather)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    My hometown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location in mid town . Good german restaurants in walking distance . Not much of a tourist city but if you need to staay in this city it's a nice place . Good place as a base for day trips to historic towns such as Trier and rhine river cities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel for a short stay, I'll stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is in the middle of the city so if you are looking for great views from your window, you'll need to look for a different hotel

    This hotel is in the middle of Kaiserslautern. Not hard to find but the photo of the entrance is a little misleading as this part of the hotel is in a courtyard and can't really be seen from the street but it's not hard to find. The hotel is about a one (1) minute walk from the shopping center or mall and has secure parking (not underground or covered buy fenced with controlled access). I stayed in a single room which was very clean and very functional. The bed was comfortable, the shower was hot with good water pressure, the staff were pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    The breakfast was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast was fantastic. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. The hotel was close to the train station and the shopping mall. I would recommend this place to a friend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    10
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are very nice. The receptionists are always friendly and helpful. My friend and I stay at this hotel every time we come to Kaiserslautern. Located right in front of the mall which is a huge plus because it's walking distance from the hotel. I highly recommend this hotel. They never disappoint me. Great prices on rooms as well.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    6.7
    Functional, a bit expensive and some very annoying little things missing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was two narrow singles pushed together. Each one had a duvet which was almost the same width as the bed and really a few inches too narrow. Both my husband and I found that we kept waking up cold as the duvet only just covered us. Also the bathroom had only two small hand towels and one bath towel. I asked at reception if we could have another bath towel so we could both have a shower. I was told this would be rectified but I had to go and ask again before this was sorted out. After that we had a different combination of towels each day.

    The room had a free safe, large fridge and tea and coffee making facilities (although no spoons) in the room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Best Hotel ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no issues other than the room I booked first was to small for friends, but it was very nice and clean. The room is near church so you will hear the bells ringing at night and in the mornings.

    The receptionists was very friendly and helpful. I came in and out asking questions, she had such a great attitude she didn't get annoyed with me. She's awesome! The best receptionists I've met this far. The beds were comfortable and the rooms are very nice. Hotel is near the mall and is walking distance. This was my 2nd time staying at this hotel, I would definitely come again and recommend this hotel to everyone.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Very professional
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Phone didn't work and Wlan was sometimes overloaded. But you can live without it.

    Very good, no, excellent breakfast. Human sized hotel with professional care which becames rare nowadays.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no lift

    staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow

    Service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not have any issues!

    It was close to downtown area and everything was in walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable bed and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift, pretty expensive

    Clean room and comfortable bed, helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Very weak internet connection
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very weak internet connection

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    Nice place to live for traveling
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the breakfast is great here. The room very warm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Enjoyable stay at Barth Hotel in Kaiserlautern
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly and fluent in English!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Kaiserslauten for the weekend at Barth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift

    Great location, great welcome, big bed and good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.8
    Good place in the heart of the city.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe a little expensive for the facilities offered.

    Good breakfast and nice people. Very good location, very central.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    Staff are great, very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are great, very friendly. This was my second time staying here

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    Location is very good.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is very good. Just few steps to the shopping center.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    WiFi was slow and sometimes non existent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was slow and sometimes non existent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Superb location, pleasant staff, tasty breakfast and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was sometimes lagging.

    Superb location, pleasant staff, tasty breakfast and everyday clean room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Just passing through
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice modern hotel in the centre of town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Enjoy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything , best nightsleep

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.7
    Croissant was ok, and the beds were well done.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    "Summer Day" - ventilation and air con options,

    Croissant was ok, and the beds were well done.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    Convenient location with nice staff but noisy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy Parking not free

    Staff was cheerful and hrlpful Room was clean Great breakfast Good parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Perfect Hideaway in Kaiserslautern
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillow adjustable to any thickness.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    10
    Perfect!
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing..it was great!

    lovely little haven in the middle of the altstadt..walking distance from the train station..wifi was perfect

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    10
    Our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very clean and nice. Receptionists were very friendly. The mall was walking distance and right in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No English TV channels and having to carry bags up stairs,

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.8
    Hotel Barth Stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very confortable but lacking AC was not pleasant for most of the time.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    10
    Modern hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern hotel. Spacious room including bathroom. Location in the centre. On site parking available. Really liked it!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    8.8
    Clean and new hotel in the city center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Be aware that the hotel has no airconditioning.

    Clean and new hotel in the city center. Good breakfast and decent internet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    8.3
    Beautiful little modern hotel, spotlessly clean, with small...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Pity there is no lift.

    Beautiful little modern hotel, spotlessly clean, with small but well-equipped bedrooms and good bathrooms. Secure, town centre parking appreciated. Easy walk into the town. Staff were very friendly, and helpful. Proper coffee rather than machine coffee at a very reasonably priced breakfast was a bonus. Also the free wi-fi. A bit hidden away, but well worth looking for.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    8.8
    Great Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No elevator to the room.

    Great Location! Wonderful breakfast (Only 7 Euro). Gated parking for only 5 Euro. Rooms decorated nicely and good customer service

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.2
    The room was great- comforts and amenities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was great- comforts and amenities. Loved the shower. All it needs is climate control. Stayed for two weeks and never felt confining. Additional English TV choices would have been nice.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    3.8
    No lift.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No lift. No wifi. No free parking. Tab water taste terrible even boiled and only 1/2 liter sparkling water for 1,90€ in the room. Furniture and room very old fashion. For 92€/night for one person is really over priced !

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.6
    My room was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Horrible WiFi service!!

    My room was comfortable. The bathroom was good sized. The location was good, in walking distance to a mall and several eateries.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    10
    Very modern hotel in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing! This hotel was wonderful and I would recommend this hotel to all of my friends and family. The only reason I believe it's a 3 star hotel and not a 4 star hotel is because there wasn't air conditioning in the suites. Everything else was at a 4 star hotel level and the rooms were amazing.

    Very modern hotel in the city. It's tucked away and I never would have expected such a nice hotel in a downtown setting. The staff was extremely friendly and the breakfast and eating area was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    8.8
    The staff was very friendly and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bin in the bathroom was full when I arrived, but everything else was ok (clean room, bedsheets, towels etc). Also, there were only German TV channels, the English ones were blocked.

    The staff was very friendly and professional. The place is clean and very comfy. The free wifi is a plus! The best thing is the location - walking distance from everything in the old town.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    7.5
    Clean roomy and comfortable room, excellent breakfast,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was boiling hot and stayed under the roof. Unfortunately I learned that I should have received a fan but wasn't offered one at check in... Ruined an otherwise good stay

    Clean roomy and comfortable room, excellent breakfast,

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    8.8
    The convenience to the Stadt-mitte.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wish there was a fan in the room as there was no AC during hot summer days.

    The convenience to the Stadt-mitte. The room/bathroom while small was functional. TV:modern and had satellite channels; breakfast was served with care and variety.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    8.3
    Breakfast (good selection and quality), staff (friendly and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The evenings were hot, and we were in an upper floor room so sometimes the room was too warm, even though we had a window open.

    Breakfast (good selection and quality), staff (friendly and helpful), cleanliness.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    8.8
    modern and comfortable interior
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no air conditioning, so we opened the windows. No screen on windows, so we had to close at night. Also windows are as big as doors, so anyone could walk in from the street just out the window.

    modern and comfortable interior

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    6.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room wasn't very quiet. Quite plain as well. Functional and clean but don't expect more. Parking was a little odd and not terribly convenient.

    Good location. Near city center, restaurants, mall and military bases. Fair value for the price.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    7.5
    Location was great for central shopping and new mall in...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Booked a double room..asked at front desk upon check in for one large double bed..they said they only have 2 single beds to "push together" For a new hotel, why in the world would they keep this old fashioned set up..Please where can a couple find a large double bed, where no one has to sleep in the crack..it sucks. Although I liked many things about this hotel, I will skip it because to me comfort of the bed trumps location and friendly staff.

    Location was great for central shopping and new mall in KTown. Staff was very friendly. WiFi was fast. Private , Secure Parking at reasonable rate.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff, clean and modern with...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Car park rather awkward to get to.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, clean and modern with coffee making facilities in room. Good selection of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    10
    Contemporary design , comfortable bed , luxury bedding ,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing , it was all perfect.

    Contemporary design , comfortable bed , luxury bedding , great techy twists like electric blackout blinds, lovely warm Heated floor in the shower room.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    10
    The staff was very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff was very friendly. The room was very nice (I stayed in a suite) and clean. They had a very nice continental buffet breakfast consisting of bacon, eggs, pastries, cheese, yogurt, and a variety of fruits.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    10
    Very clean & great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shower tub too shallow. Water runs out when you take a shower.

    Very clean & great location.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    10
    Great breakfast, nice people, nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great breakfast, nice people, nice location.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful, clean, modern room with a comfortable bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Limited breakfast choices

    Beautiful, clean, modern room with a comfortable bed. Good wifi connectivity. Large Walk-in shower. Private parking

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    9.2
    Where nice Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to say.

    Where nice Hotel. Warm Staff. We just loved it and it was excellent for our stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    10
    The great smile on all the receptionist faces.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The great smile on all the receptionist faces. ☺☺

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    7.1
    Location and cleanness
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very low internet speed. Reception only 6am-10pm.

    Location and cleanness

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    9.2
    Gated parking.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Didn't take a VAT form

    Gated parking. Close to down town.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    10
    The service was fantastic at the front desk and during...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Internet worked -- but it could have been faster at times.

    The service was fantastic at the front desk and during breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    10
    Absolutely perfect staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Absolutely perfect staff. Super friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    9.2
    Comfort.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No climate control.

    Comfort.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    5.8
    NICE AREA;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    NICE AREA;CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTER;GOOD LOCALS EATERY AROUND KOOL:

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    8.8
    Comfortable spacy dbl room, helpful hotel staff, quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No conditioner, a bit noisy if windows are open.

    Comfortable spacy dbl room, helpful hotel staff, quite substantial breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    9.6
    Stay was great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Stay was great.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    9.6
    Entire staff very friendly and customer service oriented.
    • Solo traveller

    No complaints :-)

    Entire staff very friendly and customer service oriented.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    8.8
    Setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No replacement of towels till Ask for

    Setting

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    10
    Excellent service provided by all staff--very happy to help!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent service provided by all staff--very happy to help! This was a great value and will be my first choice when returning to K-Town.

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Guests also reviewed these properties: