Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Leonardo Hotel Köln This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Waldecker Str. 11-15, Buchforst, 51065 Cologne, Germany

#106 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4303 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful chap running the place at night who managed to...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful chap running the place at night who managed to secure us rooms on busiest week during Dmexco last minute - what a legend!! V many thanks to him...hats off!! Perfect hotel for conferences at the Messe

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice comfortable and quiet hotel...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower drain seemed to be broken as it kept flooding.

    Overall a nice comfortable stay and good facilities. Good location too as its 1 stop away from Messe Deutz.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    A weekend in Cologne in a nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In my opinion there is hardly no room for improvements - having in mind the good price. Of course it's not a new-built in 2018 hotel but the current style is nice and renovated parts fit with "older" things like the bathtub.

    - good connection to bus, train and tramway - REWE supermarket next door - spacious room, good mattress, modern/renovated look - offer of a pool - but didn't use it - friendly staff, possibility to check-in earlier - you could open the window/good A/C - excellent breakfast with almost no additional wish

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.8
    Mixed feelings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel spoiled by poor service. Room had noisy leaking toilet, reported in morning came back at night ,nothing had been done as no tradesman available, moved to another room for 2nd night. Payed for stay on arrival , made to pay again on checkout due to poor communication among staff ref. room change. Was promised I will get my refund. Waiting, hope it comes.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    The location was fine, with a car the parking was easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting into the centre took a while, the facilities near the hotel didn't look very inviting

    The location was fine, with a car the parking was easy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Generally a nice, clean and comfort hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Generally a nice, clean and comfort hotel. Staff very polite. Comfortable bed. Location a bit far from the city center, but can reach easily by bus/tram 10 minutes away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel at a fair price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good varied breakfast. Coffee and pancakes maker machine. Reception helpful. Small street market on Wednesday and Saturday 100 meters away. Bus stop outside hotel doors. Metro and S-bahn also within walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    I would come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air con noises. I turned my air con off, because it was so noisy. I heard the air con from the other room. That was annoying.

    I liked the service. I had some computer issues and the personal helped me to print my boarding passes for my flight. I loved the pool and sauna. Short way to bus and train station. REWE shop next door.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    our stay was the first night of our trip to Viena and was a very nice suprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the swimming pool was an added bonus after a long drive the food at the resteraunt was exellent the trip was for my wifes 90th birthday and we were staying overnight on our way to Viena and this hotel was an exelent start to our holiday

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice quiet hotel in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, out of town but close to easy and cheap rail link. Nice breakfast. Clean, quiet rooms Nice touch to leave cakes and fruit in reception area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.9
    A gem Cologne should be proud of
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like there was holes in one of the bath towels. Petty complaint but unusual for such a lovely place

    The staff were excellent. Friendly and efficient

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    perfect to visit with friends , i love to go back there,...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    perfect to visit with friends , i love to go back there, those staffs are valued and specially the receptionist (small lady ) too friendly , i love it ... Breakfast awesome , bed too comfort , swimming pool and sauna super good !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Stayed at this hotel as our flight was cancelled at Cologne/Bonn airport taxi each way approx 30 Euros good hotel would stay again can't comment on local area as it was only an overnight stop, we also didn't stop for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    3.3
    Very dissapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room it had a glass door to the toilet they mixed up the rooms the Wifi kept going off the spa facility's pool really cold no water in the plung pool and 1 changing room

    The Bar drinks were good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Bed is comfortable, you could have a good sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking lot is not really big enough, it you arrive late... a proper space to park will be more difficult.

    Bed is comfortable, you could have a good sleep. Supermarket next to the door.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous place!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous hotel. I would definitely stay there again. Clean, quiet room. Very good breakfast. And the best thing - swimming pool and sauna. I was there ALONE!!!! Loved the place. And it's pretty easy to get there from the airport by public transport. By train till Buchforst station (you'll have to change trains at K Messe\Deutz) and from there about 7 min.walk By car - easier of course. There is a parking lot right next to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Goos Hotel.Auick axi ride to Central Railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a wake up call with the Night manager.It did not happen.

    The breakfast. Fresh honey.Lots of fruit chees abd everytging. It was free after I complained about the above

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    I asked for fireworks on July 14 in the evening and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for fireworks on July 14 in the evening and the reception said it will be on July 21 and not on 15 We went to the old city and we saw the firework

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel wasn't right in the heart of the action, but the tram is a couple of minutes walk and is very easy to use.

    The breakfast is really good and serves until 11

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    On site parking that’s very secure was a bonus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the primo location but was fine. Metros very accessible.

    On site parking that’s very secure was a bonus. Very nice sauna and indoor poor area!! Nice room, and a very nice breakfast. Took train to Cologne cathedral area for a nice dinner and kölsch beers!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    It is in an okay location, but very easy to get to the old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location, but it did not bother me though.

    It is in an okay location, but very easy to get to the old town via the tram - 5 stops. Use google map and you will be able to get there without any issues. The hotel itself is a bit outdated, but they upgraded me to a pent house! Fab!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Very comfortable, it has a pool, sauna, massage salon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable, it has a pool, sauna, massage salon. Breakfast was amazing. Bed was very comfortable. Absolutely amazing! I’ll stay there next time for sure and more days!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    excellent, both for a family stay, and for business purposes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked the very positive surprise effect. The hotel looks a bit from past decades when you approach it, but the impression radically changes once you cross the door. The interior is very modern, with lots of nice touches, such as free lemon water at the entrance. Also a swimming pool is not a usual treat in a hotel for this moderate price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice sauna, free coffee in Reception in the morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area locally a little dirty, pool too cold and plunge pool had no water in it.

    Nice sauna, free coffee in Reception in the morning. Large clean room nice modern bathroom. Lovely restaurant and lounge area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.9
    This was a great place to stay not that great of an area but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't really fault the hotel just area really

    This was a great place to stay not that great of an area but hotel was great great bar and food as was raining so had to stay in would have been better if someone explained that you walk to bridge and the train was 2 stops to main station found out the morning we were leaving

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    Only 17 minutes walk to messe tram station 2 minute walk...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 17 minutes walk to messe tram station 2 minute walk supermarket next door open until 22:00 nice food in hotel Bar open until 01:00 parking for sprinter vans no problem

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was generally clean but lots of dust in airconditionting part in toilet Reception staff asked me to join membership to use wifi. But it was free anyways

    Breakfast staff so kind. Swimming pool was quiet although sauna was not working

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    A friend that came with us decided to take another room at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We can't say we were happy to realize that the rooms booked in advance were more expensive and didn't have a fridge.

    A friend that came with us decided to take another room at the time of our check-in. Fortunately, there was a room available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice cozy Hotel with amazing Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water boiler was completely dirty. No hair brush, teeth brush, toothpaste provided. Exterior parking only.

    clean room. Amazing Staff. Free spacious parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most things were fine the breakfast was a little expensive 15.00 Eouro not quite worth that !

    Everything was clean and comfortable and all the staff were very nice and obliging

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    2.9
    The staff were rude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were rude. Took around 10 minutes to even been seen. Then an argument because they couldn’t find my booking, when they did we couldn’t be given a key to our room as the machine had broke and when I asked when I’d be able to get one she said I don’t know. So had to spend the first day waiting around to get a key. The walls were dirty and hair in the bath. 4 single gin and tonics cost £50 which is extortionate. The hotel is miles away from every where and ever our tour guide said the area is known to be rough. Personally I wouldn’t recommend it for a city break.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    Friendly reception (at arrival during the day), clean room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaners didn’t change empty shampoo bottle for the 2 nights we were there. Arrived at midnight, didn’t find space in parking lot, asked the reception and we were met with a “look more yourself” and no solution proposed.

    Friendly reception (at arrival during the day), clean room, comfortable bed, good view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Delicious breakfast and great restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have preferred one double bed instead of two single beds side by side

    Delicious breakfast and great restaurant. Very clean and good looking room. A pleasure to stay in this hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Four Star treatment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed was two singles pushed together with two single duvets.

    Breakfast was excellent. Pool and Sauna were fab. Very reasonably priced bar / lounge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bit knit picky but my room didn't have a fridge, previous stay did. Not much not to like really. The Gym would benefit from as stepper and a few free weights.

    I like this hotel and this was my second visit. Nice room and comfortable bed with excellent blackout curtains. There is a Gym which is ok if a little basic. Good bathroom and shower. The breakfast is an excellent always being kept fresh and with plentifull choice. It is close to transport links to the city. There is complementary sparkling water in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    All the equipment is queit comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No enough park position. 13 Euro for over night parking.

    All the equipment is queit comfortable. The swimming pool is for free to use, which is however only 12.5m long. Sauna is also enjoyed by many people.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.9
    Before of using your credit card here! Their payment system sucks! 3 times I had problems!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed at this hotel 3 times and I always have the same problem with getting my preauthorization money back. They charge my card to hold the room and then when I check out the room, they run my credit card again for the final payment. The final payment clears on my credit card account but the pending authorization is still pending which makes no sense. I talked to like 5 people and I always get the same run-around. My account is still not fixed and it is frustrating! I never staying at this hotel again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Single night for business visit close Cologne.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some parts from the furniture was damaged and they looked like old.

    The hotel has a very good location and it is a preferable choice for travelers by car or meetings from the fair. A bottle of water for welcome is a small thing that make us happy. Good parking with easy access. Water with fuits from to the incoming door is warmly assessed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    A comfortable stay in an ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During check in one of the receptionists was quite rude when he stated I couldn't check in due to a system error, having waited for 30 mins I had to grab the attention of another member of staff to check in who had all the information in paper form. However, all of the other members of staff were helpful.

    Very good location as it's close to Koln-Buchforst train station (6 min walk), very easy to get to the city centre from there (10 mins on the train) . Room's were cleaned each day with fresh linen and towels provided. There is a REWE supermarket next door also where you can grab anything you need. Air conditioning is also in the room for those thinking of staying in the Summer months. Generally a pleasing stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    2.9
    Horrendous.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was dirty, damaged and room was filthy, carpet was covered In disgusting stains and there was mould covering the entire interior of the air conditioning unit. Room service isn’t served if the restaurant is busy or takes up to 2 hours. Lettuce served in my sandwich was actually rotten!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast with not so fresh bread and not so much variety. I was in the hotel twice in the week. In the first time I was not allowed to pay with a card different from the one used for the reservation. Nevertheless it is usually possible (in the second staying this was no problem).

    Nice room, staff are very friendly. Restaurant is good and not so expensive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    Amazing weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is actually our second stay in this hotel this time it's before easter. The hotel is accomodating, room was comfortable and spacious for our 3 year old daughter. Also, Breakfast was amazing. will stay here again whenever we come back in this area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was lovely .Not too noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had heater with collected dust and toilet not very well cleaned.Apart from that room was neat. Parking can be a bit of a nightmare.

    Bed comfy and good breakfast. Free water and cake at reception. Friendly receptionist and quick check in and check out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.3
    Cute and comfortable little hotel with great staff and food.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom wasnt perfectly clean.

    Staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful. Breakfast and restaurant food very good. It was cosy and decent for our trip.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First we were chased out of the swimming pool (maintenance) and were told we could still use the sauna. Five minutes later we were also chased out of the sauna (maintenance) and after we showered there, we were chased out of the wellness facility.

    Not much

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is good, not new but rooms are big enough.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price during exhibition is 3 times than normal.

    The hotel is good, not new but rooms are big enough. Parking is good and location close to highway is ok. Breakfast is good but a bit expensive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was great, plenty of choice.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Hotel starts feeling its age. Not what I would call a new hotel... Especially the bath. But it was acceptable. Restaurant a bit small.

    Breakfast was great, plenty of choice. Food in the restaurant good. Wifi always reliable and fast. Caring staff all the way through.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.5
    Shower screen did not seal to the bath so water could flood...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower screen did not seal to the bath so water could flood over the bath when having a shower. heater switches off when the window is open. I like a warm room with venterlation so it is clean fresh air to breath

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.4
    Normaly I love staying at Leonardo, but they have to change, otherwise, my company will not use this
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The roomservice sucks, I have been using Leonardo Hotel many times before, always whit a good experience, but this time, the service from the hotelbar was not existing, I had booked 4 rooms for 11 days, i'm not sure i'll do that again. We diddent get what we ordered, they did not answer the phone, and when they did, they did not understand english

    I like the breakfast as always .. have stayed on this hotel many times before

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Great hotel for the value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I didn't like was that when I book the room I thought it included the breakfast but then was told it didn't and the price for breakfast was 15 euros. We found a cheaper place for that amount so that was inconvenient for us. Other than that it was amazing our stayed. We will comeback with breakfast or without it.

    I love the room and the bathroom we stayed in the 4th floor and the room was big enough for a family of 4 and the other room was great for our friends. We will definitely come back to this hotel because is great, clean and near to everything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    6.3
    I asked for a double bed and I got me 2 single instead and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I asked for a double bed and I got me 2 single instead and when I complained they said that they can do nothing because they are overbooked. The toilet and the carpet were dirty. Too expensive

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    pleasant and relaxing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I chose the hotel partly because they have a pool, but the pool is quite small, and I don't think I saw a jacuzzi. Other than that, it was all good

    Location: not in the city centre but close enough

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.3
    nice warm room, spacious room, very clean, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very disappointed that the sauna was broken, so we couldn't use it and this was on one the reasons we chose this particular hotel. not particularly in a central location

    nice warm room, spacious room, very clean, helpful staff. Nice bath and powerful shower

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    5.8
    Ok for a 1 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in employee was very stoic & after we had our room keys, he did not direct us to the correct elevator. Alone with 3 kids & luggage, we had to recross the entire lobby to find the correct one on our own. The room price was overpriced. The walls/carpets were rundown/dirty. It was near public transportation, but too far too walk to the city center.

    We liked that the beds were comfortable, water was provided as were toiletries. We also enjoyed the swimming pool. The check out process was a breeze. There were snacks in the lobby in the morning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    6.7
    Not a 4-star hotel, but great value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very cold. Even with the air conditioning unit turned to 30 degrees, there were no more than 21-22 degrees over night.

    Good value for money Cheap parking 13eur/night Good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located directly off a traffic circle if you not paying attention you can miss the garage parking. No knock on the hotel

    Excellent location close to attraction but not busy. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Indoor pool

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.3
    OK for a short overnight stay but I wouldn't go back because of the smell of smoke
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room at the 7th floor was extremely hot (we stayed in February). Also, to access the room we had to walk passed the smoking room as there was no other access and the room smelt slightly of smoke. I am a non smoker and I stayed with children and I did not appreciate this. I raised it with the hotel staff the day after and the receptionist did not offer any explanation nor apology. He actually didn't react at all, which was very poor.

    Clean rooms, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    front desk friendly , pool nice and big (some update would...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    overall very good....BUT the extra bed was very very squeaky,this made for (despite that the main beds are excellent) a rough two nights noise wise...furthermore although the bar is a nice place to be the service could be a bit more attentive to the guests....the girl behind the bar was more obsessed with getting the receipts in order and cleaning the cupboard then actually watching guests that wanted to pay or order another drink.... BUT despite this minor training issue, for me another go back to this one and other leonardos....

    front desk friendly , pool nice and big (some update would be nice) .parking easy room good and comfy, bathtub is always good ;)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    2.9
    Leaving it !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were rude, arrogant and extremely unprofessional. The room was dirty and smelled like smoke. We asked to be moved from the first room because of the smell the second room wasn’t much better. No mini bar no robes for the sauna. Very disappointed with everything.

    Leaving it !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel, few improvement areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pets are allowed but there is very little support. Can't bring her into the breakfast room, had to eat alone each day. No facility too leave her with someone when I go out.

    Very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.5
    Brilliant breakfast including sparkling wine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a lot of dog hair in the room. Housekeeping didn’t vacuum as it was one full on one corner and bed cushions.

    Brilliant breakfast including sparkling wine. Good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    Family stay in Leonardo Hotel was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 room with smell of cigarettes - no interconnection rooms - a little distance to city center

    family friendly - indoor pool - friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Pleasant, Comfortable, Good value for money and very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The receptionist was very friendly and spoke fluent english. The room was very clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay there again. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.8
    a long way to go to train the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff is really unfriendly you have the feeling you disturb them, there was no parking place available took 30 minutes to find a place, first the gave me a uncleaned room. There is a big problem of management at this hotel, it is not acceptable that the staff at the reception behaves like that,

    modern hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.9
    Nice bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late check-in (3pm). The neighbourhood is not the prettiest, but still okay.

    Less than 10 minutes walk from the closest S Bahn station (Köln-Buchforst). Our bedroom was quite large and comfortable. Bathroom was nice and clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    6.7
    The bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not smelling good at all (smelling like pi even if it looked cleaned). Bit far away of the center

    The bed was very comfortable. Spacy room. The sauna

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast was amazing and at a very reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The additional cost for using the hotel's private parking.

    Breakfast was amazing and at a very reasonable price. The beds were confortable. The room was spacious and very clean. There were beverages (coffee, muled wine) offered at the lobby, while waiting for the check-in/out. In the Christmas morning, a chocolate Santa-Clauss was placed ouside each room as a gift - a surprise really appreciated by the kids! The pool was open until late in the night (23:00).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    The cleanliness was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only complaint I have is they don't provide the big blanket for couple. They had two single beds which they combined to make it big for us - which is what I wanted. But they had only two single blankets. Upon asking for one big blanket in-stead of two single blanket they told they dont have that. Which is a bit disappointing. That directly mean they want couplet to sleep separate.. :( :( :(

    The cleanliness was good. Before our arrival they already put one cot (small bed for kids) for my 6 year old daughter which she liked most. The breakfast was open till 11 am which allowed us to get up late and have our own time of rest.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.2
    Be careful in using your credit card here if you are a foreigner in Germany
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My credit card was charged twice and I only stayed at the hotel for 1 night. I have to wait 2 days to contact hotel to credit me a refund because of the holidays. Beware of using your credit card in advance because the attendants don't pay attention if it was already prepaid in advance. This has happened to me twice since I have been living Germany. I don't understand why this always happen to me by being charged twice.

    The hotel was great...My family and I enjoyed it..I am upset that when I returned back to my house, I saw that my credit card was used twice by the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.2
    An ideal hotel for a business trip, at the upper end of the hotel market. Not cheap, but good value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Perhaps this is a little harsh, but it was a bit pricey for somewhere out of town. It's not a huge distance away from the centre, but it is the other side of the river, and you need to either get a cab or take the U-Bahn. The station is 5-10 minute walk from the hotel and runs late, though. Cologne has excellent public transport.

    There were a lot of nice little touches. Slightly difficult to describe, but the bar had 3 full length plasma screens, each with a different musician playing the jazz coming out the speakers (at a nice, background music volume); it was winter and very cold, so there was a free supply of mulled wine (gluhwein) and coffee at reception; the waiters and barstaff were exceptionally helpful and the food superb; the wifi signal was strong both at reception and in the room - and if you didnt need internet fast enough to stream it was free (there was an option for a faster connection for a small fee). The room was nice and comfortable, and there was space for me to work. So all in all, a very professional outfit - perfect for a business trip.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    Very helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful staff. Free coffee, glühwein (Christmas time) available in the evening, free glass of water next to your bed... Easy to connect to the city centre by public transport. Breakfast with all the things you need. Supermarkt next door if you need something.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    6.7
    Good hotel but disappointed with location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of hotel - next to busy major road. No nice restaurants or places to go in area around hotel - have to go into central Cologne.

    Good breakfast - good selection. Rooms soundproof as busy road adjacent. Free mulled wine a nice touch. Nice sauna.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    4.6
    Front desk personnel (especially one blond young lady)...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Front desk personnel (especially one blond young lady) couldn't manage our booking reservation and tried to make us pay twice. Also, there was a big confuson about breakfast, whether it was included or not, where I was sure. The wouldn't believe even though I showed them my reservation in booking. Definitely not coming back here. Terible client experience with the personnel in front desk.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.6
    The bed was very comfortable and the TV had terestial...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The gym was very limited. Some free weights and a stepper would make a huge difference.

    The bed was very comfortable and the TV had terestial english channels. There was complimentery sparkling water, tea and coffee in the room. The breakfast was excellent particularly loved the smoked salmon. Located within 300 meters of the tram and 600 meters of the S Bahn it was easy to get into town. The S11 goes right to Dusseldorf airport. I made use of the gym on most days.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.3
    A very comfortable and pleasant stay,would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed more coat hangers No designated sheltered smoking area

    Very comfortable bed Complimentary mulled wine and cakes in the evening and morning coffee at reception Room size was good

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Leonardo Hotel Köln traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: