Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Leonardo Royal Hotel Köln - Am Stadtwald This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Dürener Str. 287, Braunsfeld, 50935 Cologne, Germany

#79 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2237 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    Lots of potential but fell short on some key service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The air conditioning hardly worked - it was very hot and humid when I stayed. I had to change rooms and the air conditioning was a bit better in the second room. The Wifi was very unpredictable.

    The staff are helpful The breakfast was excellent The lakeside location was very pleasant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    High price of the breakfast

    The beautiful view of the lake, the terrace, big and clean room. The manager of the hotel welcomed us when we checked-in. Very nice neighbourhood.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Hotel Reception staff very professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On this occasion we thought the housekeeping staff were not at their most efficient. There was dirty laundry left in the bathroom when we arrived and during our five night stay coasters, glasses, coffee mugs, tea/coffee supplies & “free” bottles of water were not cleaned / replenished as we may have expected.

    Hotel Reception staff very professional. Helpful, polite & efficient. Kindly upgraded our room to one similar to one we had used on a previous stay. Great view over the lake.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.1
    Quiet and reasonably Hotel just out of the bustling City.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bacon for breakfast is traditional only for the English speaking world. Why do hotels like this offer bacon when it is full of fat and grease with almost no meat? Either offer proper bacon or , preferably, none at all. The Cooked meats selection was also poor, with inferior grades of "reprocessed" meats.

    The General Manager was very attentive in every part of the Hotel. The TV coverage of the Soccer World cup was exceptional, but alternative areas for non-spectators. Good underground parking but NO LIFT to the Hotel? Nice situation on a lake, so close to the City.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    5km from the historical downtown and Cologne Cathedral.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    5km from the historical downtown and Cologne Cathedral. Surrounded with 105ha historical Cologne Stadtswald with cascade of lakes, geese, ducks etc. Be aware you'll wake up by the twittering of birds and air super-rich in oxygen. Take your tennis shoes with you - jogging and cycling experience shall be great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    We will be back for sure! This is a great hotel!
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room service was usually very late, after 3pm. But one can get used to it.

    We love the location and the attentiveness from staff. The rooms are great and beds are comfortable. My husband is lactose intolerant and the restaurant went out of their way to take care of him, including providing lactose free items.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location, very nice views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a big thing but there was only an espresso machine in the room (hotel photos show a tea kettle in the rooms). When asked for one, the hotel did not find a kettle. So not a problem for coffee drinkers, but for tea drinkers not nice, as who would want to drink a tea stinking of coffee with water coming from the espresso machine...

    Great location, very nice views. The hotel was kind to upgrade our room to have a lake-side view, spectacular! Also Lindenthaler Tierpark is just next, great for families! Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    Swan lake, lovely park, comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - Far from all the main tourist attractions (but we enjoyed the lake, the nature, and the peaceful neighbourhood) - A bit overprised, concerning that the hotel is neither new nor central

    + First, and most important for us, there is Kahnweiher lake right in front of the hotel. There are plenty of ducks, wild geese, and beautiful white swans. The park is very green and beautiful, there is plenty of space for jogging and walking, and the view from the window is absolutely amazing + We got an upgrade. and had a view of the lake. That is the best impression we had about Cologne + Lindenthaler Tierpark is within 5 minutes walk, and it is 100% worth a visit! Especially, in the mornings + Public transportation is also quite close, but we walked to the city center, and it took about 1 hour (that was ok for us, but maybe it's an issue; the taxi to the station took about 25-30 minutes in the morning) + Good supermarkets in the same street + Friendly and pleasant staff + Complimentary water every day + Delicious treats on the first floor + Clean and comfortable room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.7
    THE LOCATION IS SO PERFECT.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staff had less knowledge and very less staff to help. The hotel is opp a lake with ducks and fountain. Its overlooks the garden where we can go running and just have a good time. Its not close to any tram station or train station. 30-40 min from the airport

    THE LOCATION IS SO PERFECT. I mean its not close to anything but opp a lake.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.0
    Such a bad experience never again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old and used towels, without bathrobe, with no disposable slippers. An old and dusty hotel that requires 250 euros per night. An extremely poor choice.

    Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    4.6
    This is not a 4 stars hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a special request for two twin rooms. We received two rooms with two queen bed. They have no other rooms available so, they decided to "upgrade" our reservation to disabled friendly room. It was very unpleasant to use the bathroom arranged for people with disabilities as long as these arrangements offer a real discomfort to people without disabilities (there was no shower bath, water flowed through the bathroom, the presence of the pulley over the closet was embarrassing etc).

    Excellent breakfast. A lot of varieties, very nice view from the restaurant, very tasty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    Overall an excellent location just outside the noise and hub of the city
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the beds are singles with single duvets. Double beds and double duvets would make the beds more comfortable

    This city hotel feels is large, beautifully placed on the lake, with excellent staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    Lake surrounding perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because of the business (FIBO, other side of the city), use of taxi needed and the traffic is heavy specially in rush hours.

    Lake surrounding perfect. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.9
    Everyyhing was ok but the hotel charged me twice for my stay...
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The charged twice for my stay

    Everyyhing was ok but the hotel charged me twice for my stay and now i have to wait about 7 days for refund. Crazy. Shouldnt be like ghis bevause its very expensive and people cant ford it to pay so much amount.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice location, friendly staff but strange that there was poorer breakfast on Easter Sunday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was the strange parfum smell in our room when we arrived. We stayed over Easter. The breakfast on Saturday morning was excellent, so we went again on Easter Sunday with the same expectations. However the breakfast table was moved to a dark room because of a Brunch that should start at noon in the room that was used for the breakfast on Saturday. There was less on the table on Easter Sunday than on the Saturday that I found very surprising. Also no lables next to the food like on the Saturday to know what was what. The pancake mashine did not work. There was just much less compared to Saturday. We would have like to take part in the Brunch but it was already over booked when we arrived to the hotel on Friday. That was Easter Sunday.

    I liked that the hotel is next to the Stadtwald which is excellent for families with children. There is an animal park there as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.0
    Small and stuffy, not what you expect for four stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was old and very small, the entire floor smelled like old smoke, the room was pretty stuffy too. The shower handle had mould. I do not understand how this hotel can have four stars or the name "royal". Parking at 15 €/night is quite high. The free internet is slow, if you want to watch anything it's 6 €/day extra.

    Big windows which open wide. Close to a beautiful park.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.2
    Incredible view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com was misleading by saying the hotel had a sauna and pool. In fact it was a different hotel that had all those amenities.

    The room was great and the view was beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    Nice atmosphere, nice people, gorgeous breakfast with gorgeous view on the park.
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. There is not much in or around the hotel, but the park- which however is marvellous.

    The atmosphere. The dining area. Breakfast. The view on the park!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.8
    Great location for relaxing and enjoying the wild
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The safe is out of battery so not able to be used; The water boiler was not cleaned

    very helpful and friendly staff; great location near the Stadtwald; many breakfast options

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.3
    Nice and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was ok to stay for one night. We booked the cheapest room for around 100 euro. Therefore the comfort was reduced somehow. Very narrow double bed and bedclothes with several old speckles. Did not look that good for 4 stars Hotel.

    Nice and friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    Our room door broke and would not lock.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room door broke and would not lock. The room was not cleaned for 2 days. The hairdryer was broken. We ran out of glasses and shower gel. Breakfast was extremely over priced.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Nice lake view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit cold in the room, we had a twin bed than double bed (it seems mistake from the website) and the parking is not free for the guests.

    The interior design inside the hotel and in the room is very beautiful. There was a very nice lake view from our room. There was a lot of space for everything in the room. It was well thought. The staff is friendly. The hotel offers additional small gifts that I have really seen somewhere else as chocolates at the reception, jelly bonbons in the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    6.7
    A good hotel in Cologne, but should aware of traveling time to the center or Koelnmesse
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit far from center! Most of staffs in hotel are helpfuls and giving professional services, however there are few are not! My minibar got problems with open bottles of beer inside, I really don't know the probes caused by whom, but already informed to the receptions in order to ask them check and fix the problems, which will not only avoid any troubles for me, but also for any next guests in this room! But I have to called several times for that make me feel not comfortable to continue using any drinks in the minibar!

    Breakfast, nice view from guest room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    2.9
    Wont be going back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom was dirty and shower head was so old the water sprayed from every direction. The curtain in the bedroom was lightweight and flimsy. The radiator in the bathroom was so noisey i had to turn it off. I visited during a Cologne festival, i had no idea. When i arrived at reception it took 5 minutes before a member of staff noticed me. There was a high security presence and many people wandering around in fancy dress. When i checked in i was told the restaurant was shut, i hadn't been made aware of this when booking. I had to find an alternative restaurant not too much of an issue except as i say there was a festival happening and nowhere was serving food. I had a lovely sandwich, bag of crisps and a coke from the shell petrol station outside. There was a club alongside the hotel, not sure what time the music stopped, fairly late, but i was on the 4th floor and could still hear it.

    Leaving Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.3
    Great service, from Front Desk to Restaurant, every employee...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me, the location was not ideal since I did not have a car. But you have access to public transportation just walking distance, which takes you directly to the City Center.

    Great service, from Front Desk to Restaurant, every employee was very personal, always helpful. Room was spacious with a nice view if the lake and park.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    Very plesant hotel in good location with helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing, what we did not like.

    The very friendly and helpful staff including the Director of the hotel. The location. The room with view to the Lake.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    5.4
    Great location, but service could be better
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room cleaning could be better for the 4* hotel. I had somebody's hair on the bathroom door. And the hairdryer was brown from dirt. And broken:(

    Great location. Amazing view to the city park from the restaurant. The breakfast is nice but doesn't worth 18€

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic stay, clean nice Hotel room, good food, eccelent location, perfect service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We and our child expected sauna wellness and swimmingpool. They wern't there. There was another Hotel in Keulen from te same organisation that had this. We asked if we could use their facillities. The Hotel did arrange that for us. It was only 15 minutes driving. Compliments that they arranged that for us and our child :-) Fantastic service !

    The restaurant was fantastic, with a beautiful view at the Stadswald and the lake ! Food was perfect with a lot to choose. Hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.8
    Excellent choice for a Köln city trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Recommendable Hotel for a city trip in Köln. Not directly in the center but all sights are easily reachable by public services. Clean rooms, perfectly equipped. We have been lucky to get a room with view towards the park with lake.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    6.7
    OK, but not a 4 star hotel anymore because of organization & service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast buffet was managed bad: e.g. cold eggs, missing bacon, longer waiting times... not all staffs in this hotel are not speaking German what cause sometimes confusion: e.g. "african guy" who controlled guests if they had booked breakfast, room service from Eastern Europe => both not understanding if you talk to them

    location is nice close to the park but a little far away from city venter

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is located very close by a nice park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and the bathroom were a bit small

    The hotel is located very close by a nice park. The room was a bit small, with a small bathroom, but very clean. The staff is very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.1
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't clean. Hair on pillowcase. Bath was not clean. Towels had stains on them.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location. Super close to city center. Next to a lake so quite beautiful surrounds.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    6.7
    Nice breakfast, good location and view from the window to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone was definitely smoking in the room before me. I tried to open the window and all the area around it was sooooooo dirty. Probably have never cleaned it since the 80s.

    Nice breakfast, good location and view from the window to the lovely lake in the park.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    4.6
    disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not clean. There was hair on the floor and on the bed. The toilet bowl was stained with limescale. The toilet flush did not work properly and the water kept running. The window frame was mouldy. At checkout the staff did not enquire whether I liked my stay so I did not bother complaining. At breakfast, there was no staff and no one to ask. The fruits were not fresh. The pineapple tasted gone off and other items such as fried eggs were not replenished quickly.

    It was nice to have a water kettle in the room and the view from the window was great. The room was spacious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.8
    Hotel manager and other staff were very kind, warm and...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel manager and other staff were very kind, warm and closely intetested in all visitors' comfort. Very peacefull atmosphere by the lake and green forest. It was easy to reach the city center.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.2
    Absolutely fantastic stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a bit weird. I took a cab on my way there and back as I was short of time and there’s no direct public transport to Köln Hbh. There’s a direct bus going to University though.

    Absolutely fantastic stay. Perfect service, polite and helpful personnel, clean rooms. It was a surprise but mini bar was for free when I stayed there. I was informed by a receptionist beforehand. Free welcoming snacks were just awesome as I came later than planned and was super hungry. Delicious breakfast. The view on a fountain was great despite cloudy morning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.3
    Lake view, breakfast, location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m still waiting the hotel to solve double charging porblem. They had to block the amount ftom my credit card, but before i arrive the hotel i mean 5 days ago it’s charged by the hotel. And while i’ m leaving they tried to charge the same amount one more time by the same credit card. Me and my friends tried to tell i had already paid but we could not!!! I show all bank documents, i called my bank next to the reception and i gave them the reference code given by my bank but they were like robots and they were repeating the same words “it is not charged, it is only blocked, it’s your problem, talk to your bank.....etc” at the end i paid city tax and left, i did not paid second times but i still waiting my receipt by email... i called booking to want help but i could not reach Turkish call center.

    Lake view, breakfast, location...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    Great place for large family reunion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cooked breakfast not as good as expected.

    The location was fantastic for walking in the park but also for public transport and being upgraded to a room with a view was great. Great cheeses, smoked salmon and soaked muesli at breakfast. Enjoyed the bar seating areas.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Great location to easy access public transportation. Directly next to park for peace and quite night
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff is very friendly and helpful. Had a small mix up on the room when checking in but it was quickly resolved. This is my second time at the hotel and I will continue to use it while in Cologne.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.6
    Unforgettable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is not so close to the central station and the downtown.

    We are so grateful to be hosted in Leonardo Hotel Royal Koln. It might be, by far, the best experience with any hotel ever. We got an upgrade, with no extra cost, for our room to a one with super lake view as I wished. The room with perfect and so clean, the staff was so kind and helpful and breakfast was unforgettable. I would diffidently recommend this hotel for anyone who visits the city of Cologne.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - We arrived at hotel at 16:45 but rooms not ready yet - safe door was closed in our 2 rooms. Needed support from reception to open them but this should have been checked before arrival of guests. - no batteries in TV remote control

    This hotel is situated next to a beautiful lake and park, away from noisy streets but still only 10 minutes by to city center. Small European style room but comfortable. Breakfast € 18.00. Parking conveniently onside but charged € 15.00 for guests.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.7
    Upgraded to a deluxe room lake view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com site says your card is not debited at the moment of reservation - this is not true! My card was debited at once! However the receptionist asked for payment again. I now have my room paid twice, and waiting for the first payment to be reimbursed. Parking is 15 Eur per day.

    Upgraded to a deluxe room lake view. Very good breakfast. Nice part of Cologne, with park and lake with swans.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    I had a good time .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check bathrooms to avoid mounding

    Location ws great. Receptionist were welcoming and informative about what's in the area.. breakfast was great and the view outside was relaxing . Rooms were clean with AC perfect because it was hot outside

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Overall very good but would not sleep there again with noise and bad matrasses
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed matrasses weren't comfortable and sleeping at the front with the winow open is not a good idea as it is very noisy but the rooms are very warm and no air conditioning

    Loved the location at the back of the hotel with beautiful views of a lake and huge park and the food was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    Unfriendly reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff. Miserable young lady at check in. When we arrived at 3pm she said she could not give us our booked room yet. When I said our booking began at 3pm she was not helpful. I said I would like to cancel my booking as I had previously stayed at the Best Western on another visit and I would stay there. She snapped at me saying 'why would I want to cancel' I replied ' because you don't have a room for me.' She then asked me to sign in and gave me the key cards to our room. Surely she could have done this 15 minutes earlier and saved all the unpleasantness. She never once smiled at anytime from when I approached the desk until leaving it. It wasn't only her the gentleman that checked us out never smiled once or asked us if we enjoyed our stay, which is normal behaviour at most hotels we stay in over the course of the year.

    The view from our room. Stunning.!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.9
    I came very early on the day of my reservation and still...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a bit far from the city center.

    I came very early on the day of my reservation and still they gave me a room very rapidly. I strongly appreciated it!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing stay with excellent view of the park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The airconditioning did not seem to be working properly.

    Spacious room with a nice view of the park. Breakfast buffet was excellent with plenty of choice. Right next to a park, perfect for a morning walk after breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    What you need after a hard day's work
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not buy the breakfast because rather pricey

    Very comfy bed, room with a nice view of the lake in the park behind the hotel, toiletries and tea/coffee facilities, bathtub. I was there because of a meeting at the Uni Clinics and these were a short walk (10-15 min) away.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Nice hotel in Koln
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little bit small

    The hotel location excellent easy to get around and the park adjacent beautiful. The staff extremely friendly especially the hotel manager

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    Everything was spot on.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was the only good bit of my first ever trip to Germany which was disinterested disorganized chaos. So much for German efficiency.....

    Everything was spot on.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Perfect and quiet location for a long weekend in Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good size of the room, normally single rooms are very small, this room had a perfect size. Well designed, very comfortable bed. Complimentary bottles of water every day. WiFi is stable and good bandwidth. Beautiful patio towards the park. Fantastic breakfast and all staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is not in the centre of the city, but well connected, just a 15-20 mins ride with the tram or bus. Very quiet. Parking cost 15 € but there is free parking available along the street.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    8.3
    Perfect Natural Scene
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Small rooms. Dinner is poor and late service.

    Scene of hotel is wonderful. Near the lake with beautiful green landscape. Very enjoyable for walking. Very silent around, you can rest very good. I will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast really okay .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The worse thing was the wifi connection. I have never ever seen that you have to pay extra money to be able work . The VPN session with mails and document downloading was like a Never ending story.

    Breakfast really okay . Parking cheap . Hotel souround fenomenal for a walk or joging.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    The park nearby was very big and lovely to walk around with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately our stay coincided with big political protests which basically shut down the centre of Cologne with thousands of protesters and several hundred police, no warning until we were in the centre.

    The park nearby was very big and lovely to walk around with a small wildlife park.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    8.3
    Good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was very good and varied, the restaurant had the best view on the lake with an open and well designed interior. Rooms were cosy and comfortable. The hotel is location in a park and you can just go for a morning walk which is very refreshing, it is also accessible by bus or by tram. The hotel staff were also friendly and helpful and it just made my stay in Koln.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    9.2
    Location of the place was excellent, with the lake view.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no fitness centre Cost of breakfast was too much

    Location of the place was excellent, with the lake view. Getting there is not difficult with good tram connections. It is a little away from the city centre but that should not stop you from heading out with good public transport connectivity.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    8.3
    Close enough to city but in the Nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Availability of public transportation schedules could be provided. S7 takes you to the shopping area and from there a walk to Dom is nice to get to know the city but it does not come very often, at least during the weekend.

    Location is awesome for a relaxing time. Having breakfast with a lake view and then walking around the park and Wildpark was a really nice experience. The sensitivity of the hotel in giving an upgrade due to the fact that there were some pre-Carneval events was really appreciated.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    10
    I was very pleased.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I was very pleased. The hotel was very nice and clean. Hotel staff was very pleasant, especially Savash. His service was very friendly and efficient. Savash organized to us cheap taxi and helped us in many ways. Everything was excellent. Will stay here again. Thanks to everyone!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    9.2
    Nice and cozy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is a little small but very cozy.

    Very nice staff and very comfortable room. We got an upgrade to a better room at no cost with beautiful views over the park beside the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    9.2
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very friendly, and super helpful! This location is awesome! You are next to a beautiful quiet park overlooking a lake. It was truly beautiful. 5mins walk from the train station, just cut through the park.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    7.9
    Bedside light broken, had to change rooms because of leaking...
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bedside light broken, had to change rooms because of leaking sink and second room had a bedside light also broken. Maintenance/ room checking poor

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    10
    The hotel is situated in a quiet district not far from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is situated in a quiet district not far from the center of the city: 5 stops by tram. Bus and tram stops are in 3 minutes by walk from the hotel. The staff is very friendly and care. The room was comfortable and clean. It's good there is a kettle in the room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    It's an excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's an excellent hotel.The staff are so friendly and professional.The room were so clean and good view.There was a good coverage of Internet.It's highly recommend.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.6
    Peaceful place in cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar closes at 10.

    The staff were very kind and generous with facilities and offers. The location is in a peaceful area which is not to far from the center.Better with a car.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    9.6
    Loved the place!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a gem. It sits by the park and the lake view is just marvelous. The food on the restaurant and breakfast is simply great! Loved the place.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    5.8
    the bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I found a bedbug behind the room number plate (made of glass). The first day I set my coffee shortly on the small tray and left a ring... it stayed there until I cleaned it up a week later. The minibar is miserable. No bellboy. Mostly focused on conferences rather than guests.

    the bed was comfy. The food at the restaurant was good, even if it was a little expensive.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.6
    Cozy and warm stay with Christmas flavor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is situated in a park with a beautiful view to the lake. The rooms are spacious, modern and comfortable. The breakfast offers huge variety for every taste and is served in a place with nice view. The staff if very helpful and friendly. The Christmas spirit is all over the place especially with the complementary gluhwein.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    2.9
    Bug Filled Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 15 nights

    1. Staff / Reception need to pay attention to the guests. I had requested specific tea bags ( Darjeeling ) to be placed in the room, it took me several reminders and finally I showed them the tea bag in the breakfast room after which they placed the tea bag in the room. 2. I had requested milk / cream to be kept along with tea bags in the room, but in the 2 weeks I stayed the milk never arrived, I finally gave up. Basically for 2 weeks I did not have my bed tea early morning. 3. There were lot of bugs in the room, and despite me complaining there was no serious effort taken to rid the room of bugs. The house keeping arrived and tried to vacuum the bugs and did not do any thing more. 4. Since winter was setting in, I had requested for body lotion to be provided after the ones which were provided was over, but new ones arrived after a week. 5. Broken phone in the room 6. On one Sunday the hot water system of the entire hotel broke down and it took them about 4 hours to fix it. The only saving grace was that it was a Sunday else would have missed atleast 1/2 day at the office.

    Sorry to say there was not much to like other than the location. There is a wonderful park behind the hotel, unfortunately I could not visit the park due to the winter and also my busy schedule. There is bus stop just outside the hotel, Bus 136 takes you to NeuMarkt from where you can change to Koln Centraal.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    9.2
    Excellent hotel for business and tourist trips to Cologne
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For walking disabled guests I do not recommend parking in the basement, as you have to carry up your luggage via a short staircase.

    The hotel is located in a beautiful park (Stadtwald). It faces a small lake with a fountain. The park is situated in the western outskirt of Cologne. The access to the hotel is via the long Duerener street (Dürener Strasse) where you can find many very nice restaurants. You can get to the city by tram (13) or bus (136), which both stop near the hotel. The staff is most friendly. Parking at the private outdoor parking area is very easy. Check-in is fast and effective. The rooms are generally very nice. I prefer the Deluxe room. They also offer"women friendly" rooms. The breakfast is excellent. The à la carte dinner is also very good. The free WiFi has been working fine the 4-5 times I have visited the hotel this year. The hotel is also very suitable for a tourist visit to the Cologne. We have used it many times in the past (when it was operated under another name) for short holiday trips to Cologne.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    9.2
    Very Nice hotel overall. Staff very hospitable and accomadating. Comfortable neat room . Nice area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pedestrian entrance is lacking into the building . Dangerous walking in with cars coming and going in and out and poor lighting

    Loved the area overlooking the lake. Nice café within walking distance. Nice to be out from the main area

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    7.5
    Good hotel for few days business/leisure stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location a bit far away from city centre, parking charge 15 eur/day for that location

    free mini bar consumption, nice view from the restaurant/bar, clean and comfortable room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    6.3
    The environment is ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of hotel computer failure, hotel sent the invoice to me by email. But I found the company was spelled wrong. I sent email to require the hotel to resend invoice. But two days passed I did not receive anything.

    The environment is ok

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    9.2
    Nice stay at Cologne
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Choice for vegetarian food is limited.

    Very nice and clean hotel, excellent location. Staff is very pleasant. Good breakfast, limited choice for vegetarians though. View from dinning room is great. Pet friendly hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    3.3
    1- my check in was in Sunday only one staff to serve many...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1- my check in was in Sunday only one staff to serve many customers 2- room picture was different as actual 3- towels was smelling 4- when i call room service nobody answer 5 - AC was switched off when we request to open it they refuse by saying open windows 6 - elevators so small only two person and 2 bags 7- it was overall bad stay

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    10
    Exactly right.
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction/ power tools in a room nearby, pretty noisy but they started after nine am so that seemed reasonable.

    Room was especially cozy and attractive. Lobby and entrance not so my taste, but the terrace on the lake and breakfast room were lovely.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Leonardo Royal Hotel Köln - Am Stadtwald traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: