Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Lessing This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Volksgartenstrasse 6, Oberbilk, 40227 Düsseldorf, Germany

#21 of 197 hotels in Düsseldorf

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 692 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a bit uncomfortable without air conditioning. A fan would have been helpful.

    The staff was so very helpful. They gave us a great recommendation for dinner close by, free transportation voucher, many maps and tourist information.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is situated about 10mins walk from main train station so an easy walk or just 5mins in a taxi as we had bags. Hotel was a small family run hotel with a personal touch. Located in a quiet area and only 2mins from tram to city centre and 3 min walk to the beautiful Volksgarten park. The three day tram pass was definitely an added bonus and a very generous gesture from the hotel.Loved our room and the breakfast was a simple healthy continental breakfast with a hot option. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast too expensive.

    The decoration was classy, very rustic, very tasteful. The rooms had plenty more space than one would expect at a European hotel, the staff was helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lightning in the room is cosy but could be better for reading.

    Friendly and helpful staff, location close to public transport (to downtown, train station, airport), cosy room, sauna, free local transport ticket

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negative is the location, quite outside form the center

    the room was very nice, big and comfortabel, staff was kind, and providede free public transportation ticket.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The level of cleanliness was not spectacular, It was dusty under the beds (kids crawl under everything) and at the corners of the room.

    Big room suitable for family with kids. They provided public transport tickets for the whole stay for all of us for free, this was convenient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only problem was the wifi. I could not access wifi from my room at all. needed to go to lobby to get access to internet.

    location and the service of the hotel is excellent. it's 5-10 mins walk from S Bahnhof to the hotel. The room was beautiful with a bathtub. In addition, the hotel provided me local public transport tickets which is a plus for travelers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A perfect place for both relaxing and exploring the beautiful city of Dusseldorf. A sauna in the basement of the hotel is a beneficial offer that is free for all the guests and works in the afternoon and evening until 20 PM. There are also free welcome gummy sweets on pillows and a cup full of tees and instant coffees. The hotel offers a free ticket for transportation in Dusseldorf during the stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel, the staff we're extremely helpful and went out their way to assist us when necessary. Also we were grateful to get free tram tickets which were great and easy to get us around Düsseldorf. The room was fantastic very fresh and clean , bathroom lovely excellent stay in Hotel Lessing and we will recommend and we will be back again. Thank you

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    someone to take us to the room on the first day ...lol we get lost... but its ok

    it was just perfect....we are tall people so the room was big enough to accommodate us and all our extras...will definitely recommend it all the time ..our friends from Dortmund already planning a week end break there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed there with 2 kids under 18. Hotel offers us double room, and it was their answer for everything.... I asked twice for an extra towel for baby- you need to pay for that, you have double room, it's for two... I travel a lot and it happens to me the first time.

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big room and really friendly staff! Public transportation is 1min walking distance and we got a really nice gift from the hotel: public day pass to use any public transport. We recomend it very highly!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We couldn't connect to the free Wi-Fi in our room. Room was very hot even with windows open

    Comfy beds, nice large family room, friendly staff and good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I fell in love with this hotel. The furniture is old but well-kept and really cute. There is a supermarket and a train station nearby. They also give you a public transportation card for the length of your stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI on the 3rd floor was not available on the first day, we complaint and the next one was better. They advertise the possibility to lend a play station 3. I had requested it since I made the booking 3 weeks in advance. Once we arrived they said we could have it the next day but play station 2 not 3. The next day they said it is not available. not a big deal since we had much better things to do but they should be more careful.

    Very big and clean room! Very convenient 2' from tram stop. Around 20' walking distance from old town. They gave us a free public transportation card during our stay. Helpful staff to explain everything on the map.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was quite weak. No ramp to the lobby.

    Nicely decorated. A homely feel. They have a little treat placed on the pillows and a rubber ducky in the bathroom. A nice touch. The receptionist was examplary. She recommended us places to visits and a photocopy map. It is located rather near to a S-bahn but accessible by trams and buses.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a negative by any means because maybe I missed it in the reservation process, but would have been good to know to reserve available on-site parking ahead of time by calling. Slight smell of smoke at room door area.

    Good breakfast. Great staff. Nice, clean, quiet room area.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was satisfactory.

    Friendly Hospitable Courteous Polite Warm Clean Excellent customer service The Hotel gifted us a travel card which we essentially travelled for free around Düsseldorf. We had never experienced a hotel going that extra mile for guests.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Position not brilliant but okay for Christmas market trip.

    Felt very traditional. Rooms enormous. Staff friendly. Very good value. Triple room. Easy walk to the station - took 10 minutes.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi coverage was a bit problematic. The walls were paper thin

    The room was spacious and very clean. The breskfast was quite filling with variety of choices. The location was very good and quite. A few minutes walk to public transportation. The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the best small hotels that I lived in. Very comfortable, with a wonderful breakfest, very kind personal. Very clean and good located. Thank you for these great service!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very comfy and spacious. I liked the cozy feeling it gave. The service were good and efficient. Staff was friendly and helpful. A good stay and will recommend it.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is in top

    Very spacious room, nicely decorated, great bed and shower. Nice lounge area for large groups. The hotel gave us a voucher for free trnasportation to the Christmas market (about 15min away)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just met some temporary issues with WiFi availability

    Quiet location in 6-7 min walking distance to the Dusseldorf railways station, clean and big room, exellent breakfast and very supportive personnal

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large comfortable room, hotel in a quiet area but transport nearby to get into the city centre. Free travel tickets for local travel provided by the hotel. Friendly and helpful hotel staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    when I booked this hotel the site booking.com said they had free breakfast, which is a plus in Europe, but when we got to the hotel we actually had to pay for breakfast. Maybe they need to update that info in booking.com

    The location was perfect, there is limited parking, just like anywhere else in Europe. I traveled with my brother and sister, we had a 3 persons room it was very comfortable, the staff was very friendly and kind. the price was awesome for what we got, it was really worth it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem this time was we had a room on the front which was extremely noisy.it was also a very warm weekend and the room's were far too hot I hardly slept. if you opened a window it was even noisier very disappointed because we liked the hotel. If you stay ask for a room at the back!

    The room's are spacious and clean and the staff are friendly and helpful.if you are on the back it is nice and quiet with just the church bells ringing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As always the staff of Hotel Lessing is very nice and friendly. At check in they explained how totget around town by public transport. Receiving a free public transport card is a great plus so that you can easily travel to the city centre from the hotel. The room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I DONT LIKE THE VERY BIG PROBLEM WITH THE PARKING.I COME ON THE HOTEL AFTER DINER WITH FREANDS & I HAVE TOO LOOK MORE FOR 50MINETS AROUND FOR PARKING!!!!!!!!!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not air condition in the hotel. So it was quite warm in the rooms during our stay in August. We would go back here! But maybe not in the summer.

    Big and beautiful decorated room. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of AC made room a little warm even with windows open.

    Staff extremely helpful, remembered who you were. Provided free travel on city transportation.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The immediate surroundings are a bit run down (I walked through the park which is next to the hotel and saw a bunch of drunks/beggars and possibly drug users hanging out there), although in a central location.

    Cosy hotel, friendly staff, spacious room, great value for money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and the place was brilliant. The staff very helpful and breakfast was a treat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Nice and comfortable, pleasant staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast too expensive

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find a parking place nearby

    Excellent noise isolation

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought it’s gonna be double bed ,,, but instead there was 2 singles together,,,

    Was big room,,,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was cold and they could not fix it during our stay!!

    Good location, Large rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet works only beside the room door. inside the room, poor coverage

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly host. Home ambience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff - excellent breakfast - easy Access to town

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mini bar was good value for money. The staff were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is 5 tram stations from center

    Cousy,quiet,big rooms,pleasent staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Big rooms, very professional staff, clean, comfortable, there is a possibility to reserve a parking spot,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Friendly staff, clean and large rooms nicely decorated. Tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi connection was very poor on the top floors.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in room 4 floor Bad smell corridor 4 floor

    Nice room Very kind people Good breakfast Underground parkin

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surroundings are not the prettiest in Duesseldorf

    Customer service

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like the breakfast and the staff they are friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is real two stars hotel. Not four!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    staff very helpful free transport pass for entire stay and can get you back to airport.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very comfortable. Value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very stuffy at night in the room, had to open the window.

    We got a baby cot for baby and free transport tickets

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    like the decoration and its really comfortable definitely worth to book it

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel had no English stations on the TV and I think nowadays all Hotels should cater for people from different countries

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very welcoming and helpful, they made our stay really special.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection was not so good

    Staff was super kind and bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Large comfortable room and extremely friendly and polite staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no idea

    Staff are lovely and the breakfast is excellent

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very friendly and helpful. The room was quite big and beautifully furnished! I will definitely come back!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast but you have to pay 12 euro per person Clean room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent behaviour of all the staff. Beautiful environment inside the hotel with a homely atmosphere 👌

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent quality/price and nice persons.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have booked one Double room for one people use, but with 2* single beds.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room, comfortable bed, clean bathroom, but above all, friendly staff is what makes the difference.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    none

    For the price, everything is great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds and seating were a little low for older or less mobile guests.

    Very friendly obliging staff. Spacious well equipped rooms.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service, staffs are so friendly and rooms are pretty big and very clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is not very good and doesn't give feeling of safety

    Friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room large bed great free pass for transport

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    old carpet, walls and day cover of bed not clean - Not 4* and booking.com 'excellent' rating

    Convenient location, helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Location and the free transportation tickets

    Stayed in June 2016

There are also 44 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Lessing traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: