Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel LING BAO This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Berggeiststr. 31-41, 50321 Brühl, Germany

#4 of 8 hotels in Brühl

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 435 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    4.2
    We go another restaurant for bfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room 3: 2 Adults & 2 Children
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We go another restaurant for bfast.. really annoying... I don’t like it... the food was not great at all. Very disappointed.. we paid more then €800 for 2 night... not worth it!!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    4.6
    Very overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (1-2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude reception staff Luggage storage area not secure Can not get a drink after 9.30pm bar closed No wifi in rooms Poor signage around hotel Very noisy

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    8.8
    Fairytale hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (1-2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets have low flushing capacity. Very odd that there are no private showers in the pool area. Too few TV channels with other spoken languages than German.

    Very nicely decorated interior of the facility and a large breakfast buffet. Nice pool area. Very cosy bar by the reception.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    6.7
    Chinese design, but crazy planning and awful food
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy - if somebody drags a suitcase along the corridor while you are lying in the bed it sounds like it is going to roll over you. Very confusing floor plans - a lot of narrow corridors and different elevators make you want to use gps for navigation. The ceramic pavements in front of the reception and the staircase of the rooftop terrace are very slippy in rainy wheather The food would have been an embarrassment to any Chinese. Even sushi was the worst one could get in Germany.

    Great Chinese style buildings and gardens. The interior design offers excitement in each corner. Clean and cosy rooms. The view opening from the rooftop bar and from the Chinese garden on the first floor are awesome. It really makes you think you are out from Germany somewhere in Asia.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a room for one night for €119. On arrival the hotel insisted on payment of €270 to check in. After a very long drive ,we had no option but to pay. Have reported the situation to customer services.

    Fantastic hotel right next to great theme park. Have stayed there twice before. Possibly needs a little redecorating. Great buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room 4: 3 Adults & 1 Child
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about. everything perfect

    Fantastic place, we love it every time we visit. Free two hour (6pm until 8pm) entry into the park on our check in on the first day was a nice surprise.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    10
    A holiday to remember for years to come.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room 2: 3 Adults
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no washer&dryer service.

    It is very lovely place to stay in. The breakfast is great. The swimming pool is fantastic. The atmosphere is relaxing. And phantasialand is right there.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    9.2
    Very interesting
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was there on business, so sometimes it was a little noisy for my liking, but if I had been with my family, it wouldn't have bothered me.

    Comfortable room and excellent food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location, just near Phantasialand;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The buffet restaurant had a terrible service...

    Great location, just near Phantasialand; nice building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.6
    nice atmosphear, exotic ambiance & garden, room &...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing.

    nice atmosphear, exotic ambiance & garden, room & people are perfect

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.1
    Evening meal, a Chinese Buffet, was very poor and too...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meal, a Chinese Buffet, was very poor and too expensive

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.5
    Good food in restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet in the rooms

    Good food in restaurants

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.2
    Great stay kids enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (1-2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms facing road - too noisy. Internet didn't work.

    The garden view/pool view rooms Food was amazin. Staff helpful and friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    The breakfast buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room 3: 2 Adults & 2 Children
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard

    The breakfast buffet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    6.3
    Services
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How staff members handelnd. Things. The internet connection is horrible

    I liked the look of the property

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    Fantasia land stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast has everything you could want, something for everyone and really good. great location for fantasia land.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    8.3
    Setting of the hotel reminds China!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Quality of the food was great, the atmosphere was cosy

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    8.8
    Really good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    8.8
    Location right next door to the theme park!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bars were closed abit early

    Location right next door to the theme park! And the excellent theming to the Chinese culture.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    8.3
    A nice hotel in the park
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ok

    The hotel is in the park and has it's own access to the park. the swimming pool was nice too

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    6.3
    No wifi in the rooms !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    unbelievable but no wifi in the rooms !

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    9.2
    Weekend trip to Phantasialand
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of a decent pillow

    Excellent location, great staff and a lovely atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    7.9
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room 2: 3 Adults
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi very bad , very expensive taxi service drink expensive.

    Lovely hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    9.2
    excellent/very friendly staff, free gadgets, direct...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    on busy days, you may not be guaranteed having a parking spot @ hotel parking (open parking)

    excellent/very friendly staff, free gadgets, direct acces to parc and vice versa, all park-features are also offered by hotel-reception (returnpasses, quickpass, ..); very nice pool (in and out), extended buffet (also for kids)

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    8.8
    The buffet was great also the park was brilliant as well
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That there was no shops around where you are but a taxi ride or train ride could take you there

    The buffet was great also the park was brilliant as well

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    7.9
    The variety at dinner and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    At check in my daughter was not greeted with any type of hotel gift, she is 15 and considered an adult but is still a kid. Something to give to the teenagers from the hotel would be nice, just to feel welcome. The staff at breakfast was not as pleasant like the dinner staff was, I know that we don't tip the breakfast but some kindness would of been nice. I had to find someone to help us a few times to help me. Other than really small things I would like to say our family had a really great time and the hotel was perfect. Everything else was perfect....

    The variety at dinner and breakfast. The dinner felt like first class and you never had dirty dishes at you table and the staff in the restaurant was very kind and welcoming. The welcoming of the front desk reception spoke English. The location and entrance to the park is very covienent and purchase of the tickets at the front desk. My son was given a gift from the hotel that we brought as a surprise to the room. The hotel is very clean and quite, rooms are nice and clean and kids loved the bunk beds. The smell when you walked in was pleasant, you always see someone cleaning. I saw dogs and have severe allergies (respiratory and skin) and my allergies did not act up once. That tells me the hotel is well kept. The park was wonderful, the prices for food was very low and other attraction was perfect for everyone. My son loved looking for all the dragons to get the stamps in the book that the hotel provided.

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2015

    9.6
    very nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very nice hotel Unfortunately the Chinese buffet restaurant was closed, but it was a lot of fun with the "singing waitors" in the other restaurant! Nice and comfortable rooms. Nice views over the Phantasialand park. Good breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    7.1
    Excellent location for phantasialand rooms very well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Apart from phantasialand nothing else around, not good if you do not like Asian food.

    Excellent location for phantasialand rooms very well decorated and comfortable beds good breakfast choice.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    7.9
    The Mandala Spa Area was brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No w-lan in the rooms, only in the lobby. Check in is at 15:30 which is quite late.

    The Mandala Spa Area was brilliant! The hotel itself is fantastic. I loved the garden and you think you're in Asia.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.6
    Great place to spend your vacation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Eleveators - only one leads to garage. Some part of hotels are only reachable by one elevator and there are no stairs, so you must wait for it for quite some time, especially in the noon when cleaning staff is working.

    Great place to spend your vacation! There are a lot of special events and things to do. Beatiful - especially at night!

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    7.9
    Good location for the park helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Hard bed, the park reservations team did not pass on requests sent before we arrived. This is a frequent problem according to the staff. We did not get the family room requested.

    Good location for the park helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    8.8
    The atmosphere of this hotel is magic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This hotel definitly needs to get the wifi sorted out! I got mad two years ago when we visisted and the conection hasen't been improved since then! It's totally ridicolous!

    The atmosphere of this hotel is magic! I love the garden. Unfortunateley they seems to be slowly replacing the traditional chinese furnitures with westen stuff and I'm really disappointed to see this! Please stop!

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    5.0
    Good breakfast doesnt make it 4* worthy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bad beds, with plastic covers!!!!?? Very dear, bad key card system, bad elevators, slow at reception, bad airco system, no wifi (yes no wifi, it is 2015 and no wifi??? Come on!!!). Very rude service at hotel lobby bar. Long queues at breakfast after 08:30 Bad towels very old and bare Cabinets in bathroom terrible to close, the spring is from ancient times, when trying to close it will cut off your fingers or wake up the whole corridor! Very dark and gloomy rooms with very awkward drapes. View of the parking lot, when you open the window you find yourself on the motorway which is at the otherside of the wall! Dogs are allowed at some part of the hotel, they all stay at the same corridor, which creates a nice mahem, when one barks, they all bark, even in the middle of the night! Also a lot of families do not respect others, very noisy after 22:30 hrs, and a lot of screaming children from 07:00 hrs onwards! Not a good experience at all, book a nearby hotel and safe yourself a whole lot of money!

    Good breakfast doesnt make it 4* worthy. Bad beds, with plastic covers!!!!?? Very dear, bad key card system, bad elevators, slow at reception, bad airco system, no wifi (yes no wifi, it is 2015 and no wifi??? Come on!!!)

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    5.0
    The park itself is fairly OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I have now stayed in Phantasialand on two consecutive years. Both times I have come down with a belly flu. The quality of the buffet dinner (at Ling Bao) is going down constantly. Food is bad, tasteless and expensive. In addition, the cleaning staff could not read the sign on the door saying "please clean my room". As I put the sign up upon leaving for the park, and took it down upon returning from the park, assuming they had overlooked cleaning the room. Immediately they knocked on the door. I was upset (went to the park to get the room cleaned in the mean while, i.e. paid the ticket price to accomodate housekeeping) and showed it. Went into the corridor to wait for the room to be cleaned and lo and behold, upon leaving the room, the cleaning staff propped up the gardorobe door so that I could not get the room door open. Ridiculousness to the fullest!! Teenage behaviour. Luckily the manager of the cleaning services came by and opened the door for me. No mistake, this was not done accidentally, as you have to carefully prop the garderobe door so that it catches the handle of the room door. In addition, the hotel Ling Bao is in the habit of tricking unsuspecting customers into reserving a room with a "packet deal" which surprisingly is non-refundable and has other glitches (such as early cancellation only etc). I reserved via booking.com, assuming I could get my daughter into the hotel with extra price. Alas it was not so. The price of the four-person room was 270 € and when I tried changing the booking, the _additional_ cost was 198 €. Once I tried booking Ling Bao directly from the hotel. They requesting I transfer money to their bank account corresponding to half of the price of stay!!! Credit card was not enough!!! The wifi only works downstairs the hotel, which century do they live in?!?

    The park itself is fairly OK.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    8.8
    It was really nice and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There is a gap between the shower door and tiles, so water is splashing underneath it. When two people are taking a shower, a lot of water is on the floor. It would be great to have wifi in the rooms too

    It was really nice and comfortable. The garden was absolutely stunning. The pool was a bit cool, but still refreshing. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    9.2
    Love the design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Check out should be handled by more senior staff. Sauna on the small side and the resting room too small. No-wifi in the rooms

    Love the design. Does not come across as 'kitch' as it is well build and designed. Gardens great, too.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    9.6
    We loved the style of the hotel, the friendly and warm...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't have free Wifi as it wasn't available. That would be a great plus next time

    We loved the style of the hotel, the friendly and warm welcome, as well Mr Moers( hope I got his name right, young man on reception ) did get out of his way to make us welcome, arrange lovely dinner for us and was overall the best English speaking and friendly staff member.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    6.7
    Lovely building and gardens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Expensive at over 200 euros a night! No wifi in rooms. Paid extra to have a park view and was given a room with scaffolding up outside so saw metal bars too! Ordered meals in the bar area with an unfriendly waiter and they took over an hour to come and we had 3 children in our party who were hungry! Two meals didn't even come and we had to wait longer for them! We complained at reception and they said we didn't have to pay for the meals.

    Lovely building and gardens. Nice pool

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    10
    Staff is super , very welcoming !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff is super , very welcoming !!!

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    7.5
    overall, it was clean and very easy connection to the park
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beds were not comfortable..and the one of bed(children's bed) was broken

    overall, it was clean and very easy connection to the park

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    8.8
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location

    Breakfast Price Spa

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    7.1
    Setting, theming and ambiance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quality and staff of the restaurant. Delivered quality didn't come close to the price. Staff servicelevel not good.

    Setting, theming and ambiance

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    10
    You need to have slippers in the room!
    • Business trip
    • Group

    You need to have slippers in the room!

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    10
    Great breakfast, convenient sauna and swimming pool, amazing...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No wifi in rooms

    Great breakfast, convenient sauna and swimming pool, amazing gardens, free parking

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    6.7
    The buffet at the restaurant was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beds were too hard, uncomfortable!

    The buffet at the restaurant was great!

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    9.2
    Design and theme of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Design and theme of the hotel. Breakfast buffet. Beautiful bar and availability of choices in the drinks menu. The garden of the hotel!

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    10
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Internet only in the lobby. No self-service washing machines.

    Great staff. Every thing is wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    8.8
    Great fo kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great fo kids

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    8.8
    The hotel is pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I was told that I could only get free WiFi in the lobby. I was not given any options for the Internet in my room at all.

    The hotel is pleasant

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    10
    Every thing was wonderfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Blak out of electricity more than 5 houres and the kids ware sad

    Every thing was wonderfull.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    7.1
    Стильно.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Кухня так себе средненько

    Стильно. Хорошо продумано

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Browse Hotel LING BAO traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: